Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/10/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khorshid (US 2024/0045704) in view of Gerson et al. (US 2012/0190458) in view of Lee et al. (US 2020/0265234).
Regarding claim 1, Khorshid discloses a virtual object generation device (Khorshid, [0034], “an AR/VR system 130 may be any suitable electronic device including hardware, software, or embedded logic components, or a combination of two or more such components, and may be capable of carrying out the functionalities implemented or supported by an AR/VR system 130”) comprising:
processing circuitry (Khorshid, [0196], “processor 1502 includes hardware for executing instructions, such as those making up a computer program”) configured to:
generate a virtual object usable in a plurality of services that provide a virtual space to a user (Khorshid, [0158], “the user is switching from the first XR application to the second XR application on the same device. As an example and not by way of limitation, the user may be using a VR headset and switching from a VR tennis game to a VR travelling application. In particular embodiments, switching from the first XR application to the second XR application may mean closing the first XR application and opening the second XR application. Switching from the first XR application to the second XR application may be one type of change of context”);
determine a target service that is one of the plurality of services (Khorshid, [0166], “FIG. 12C shows that the user 1210 switched from the virtual conferencing application to a virtual zoo-touring application”);
acquire a drawing parameter indicating a drawing condition applied to the virtual object in the target service (Khorshid, [0141], “the XR assistant avatar may be based on one or more of voice, speech, emotion, tone, pitch, appearance, size, shape, clothing, orientation, position, depth, movement, gesture, facial expression, color, shading, outline, brightness, luminescence, or transparency”. In addition, in paragraph [0143], “the customization of the XR assistant avatar may be triggered by the AR/VR system 130 responsive to the change of context. In particular embodiments, the change of context may comprise one or more of a change in an application state associated with a first application, a change from the first application to a second application”);
generate and display an image showing the virtual object corresponding to the target service by applying the acquired drawing parameter to the generated virtual object (Khorshid, [0166], “the XR assistant avatar 1220 may be rendered as a companion guiding the user 1210 through the venue…Upon detecting such change of context, the AR/VR system 130 may change the morphing of the XR assistant avatar 1220. The XR assistant avatar 1220 may be rendered as a smaller icon inside an assistant panel 1230 to avoid confusion…FIG. 12C shows that the user 1210 switched from the virtual conferencing application to a virtual zoo-touring application. Accordingly, the XR assistant avatar 1220 may be rendered as an animal guiding the user 1210 through the zoo to make the user experience more interesting”);
Khorshid does not expressly disclose “provide an object generation environment”;
Gerson et al. (hereinafter Gerson) discloses provide an object generation environment to generate virtual object usable in a plurality of services (Gerson, [0046], “capable of supporting online games featuring avatars and background content that is portable across multiple games within the environment”. In addition, in paragraph [0054], “Such tools could include an editor that enables developers to create and/or modify avatars and various types of game content”);
acquire a drawing parameter indicating a drawing condition applied to the virtual object in a target service (Gerson, [0142], “Sprite render parameters can be entirely assigned by the developer in the Avatar creation tool. Alternatively, some parameters can be left undefined and the definition of those parameters can be delayed until the application is running Any sprite render-data which is not wholly defined by the avatar creation tool can be determined at run-time”);
generate and display, image showing the virtual object corresponding to the target service by applying the acquired drawing parameter to the generated virtual object (Gerson, [0229], “transmitting, over the network, the data defining the avatar and the sprite sheet to each of the requesting games, whereby each respective user application is enabled to display the sprites in the sprite sheet, and wherein the user application is further enabled to set the at least one run-time parameter associated with each of the sprites in the sprite sheet such that each respective sprite is thereby customized to the application”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Khorshid that customize an AR/VR avatar by incorporating the avatar generation and rendering functionality as taught by Gerson. The motivation for doing so would have been providing a customized representation of the avatar for use in respective applications.
While Khorshid as modified by Gerson teaches the object generation environment; they do not expressly disclose “display, within the object generation environment, a preview image”;
Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee) discloses generate and display, within an object generation environment, a preview image showing a virtual object (Lee, [0124], “FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating a user interface regarding production of a virtual character”. In addition, in paragraph [0129], “receive selection for an item of the virtual character (e.g., selection for an item of clothing) from the user, thereby applying the same to the virtual character 443, as shown in screen example 440. For example, the electronic device 300 may output selection items 445 for selecting or changing an item, and may receive a user input”. In addition, in paragraph [0139], “select the type of character in the virtual character image output in the face area through an interface 621 for changing the type of virtual character in screen example 620”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Khorshid as modified by Gerson by incorporating the preview selection interface, as taught by Lee. The motivation for doing so would have been improving user selection efficiency and providing intuitive comparison between virtual assistants.
Regarding claim 3, Khorshid disclose provides an object generation environment to determine an appearance of the virtual object to the user based on operations by the user (Khorshid, [0166], “the XR assistant avatar 1220 may be rendered as a companion guiding the user 1210 through the venue…Upon detecting such change of context, the AR/VR system 130 may change the morphing of the XR assistant avatar 1220. The XR assistant avatar 1220 may be rendered as a smaller icon inside an assistant panel 1230 to avoid confusion…FIG. 12C shows that the user 1210 switched from the virtual conferencing application to a virtual zoo-touring application. Accordingly, the XR assistant avatar 1220 may be rendered as an animal guiding the user 1210 through the zoo to make the user experience more interesting”), acquires, when the object generation environment transitions from a first state to a second state where the user uses the object generation environment (Khorshid, [0166], “the XR assistant avatar 1220 may be rendered as a companion guiding the user 1210 through the venue…Upon detecting such change of context, the AR/VR system 130 may change the morphing of the XR assistant avatar 1220. The XR assistant avatar 1220 may be rendered as a smaller icon inside an assistant panel 1230 to avoid confusion…FIG. 12C shows that the user 1210 switched from the virtual conferencing application to a virtual zoo-touring application. Accordingly, the XR assistant avatar 1220 may be rendered as an animal guiding the user 1210 through the zoo to make the user experience more interesting”);
Khorshid as modified by Lee with the same motivation from claim 1 discloses service information indicating a service used by the user in the first state and determines the service indicated by the service information as the target service (Lee, [0145-0146], “FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating a user interface screen outputting a virtual character image in a figurine mode in an electronic device according to an embodiment…if it is determined that the external object in the preview image is not a person (or does not include a face), the electronic device 300 may perform photography in the figurine mode. For example, the electronic device 300 may detect a plane area 812 of the external object in the preview image, and may output a photographed screen displaying a specified virtual character image 811 at the position corresponding to the plane area 812”. Figs. 7-8 illustrate a service used by the user in the first state and determines the service indicated by the service information as the target service).
Regarding claim 6, Khorshid discloses a method, implemented by processing circuitry of a virtual object generation device (Khorshid, [0124], “FIG. 11 illustrates an example method 1100 for morphing a virtual assistant avatar”. In addition, in paragraph [0193], “FIG. 15 illustrates an example computer system 1500”).
The limitations recite in claim 6 are similar in scope functions recited in claim 1 and therefore are rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khorshid (US 2024/0045704) in view of Gerson et al. (US 2012/0190458) in view of Lee et al. (US 2020/0265234), as taught by claim 1, in further view of Dawson et al. (US 2010/0083140).
Regarding claim 2, Khorshid discloses memory configured to store the drawing parameters corresponding to each of the plurality of services in association with each of the plurality of services (Khorshid, [0135], “The XR assistant avatar may have a first form and a first pose with respect to the first user…The XR assistant avatar may be morphed to have a second form and a second pose with respect to the first user responsive to determining to morph the XR assistant avatar based on the detected change in the context of the first user”. Figs. 8 and 9A. In addition, in paragraph [0196], “processor 1502 may retrieve (or fetch) the instructions from an internal register, an internal cache, memory 1504, or storage 1506; decode and execute them; and then write one or more results to an internal register, an internal cache, memory 1504, or storage 1506”), acquires the drawing parameter corresponding to the target service from the memory by referring to the memory using the target service (Khorshid, [0007], “The customization of the XR assistant avatar may be triggered by the system responsive to different informative cues. As an example and not by way of limitation, such informative cues may include changes in application/game state, changes in the real-world or virtual environment, or the user's actions or context”. In addition, in paragraph [0196], “processor 1502 may retrieve (or fetch) the instructions from an internal register, an internal cache, memory 1504, or storage 1506; decode and execute them; and then write one or more results to an internal register, an internal cache, memory 1504, or storage 1506”);
Khorshid as modified by Gerson and Lee does not expressly disclose “key information”;
Dawson et al. (hereinafter Dawson) discloses using a key information (Dawson, [0022], “a key recognizer component 202 configured to recognize keys associated with a virtual universe user avatar and an appearance selector component 204 configured to look-up an appearance associated with the recognized key”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to associate information with keys as taught by Dawson to retrieve assistant avatar parameters as taught by Khorshid. The motivation for doing so would have been facilitating efficient storage and retrieval of avatar configuration data.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khorshid (US 2024/0045704) in view of Gerson et al. (US 2012/0190458) in view of Lee et al. (US 2020/0265234), as taught by claim 1, in further view of Mao (US 2023/0409192).
Regarding claim 4, Khorshid discloses services usable by the user among the plurality of services (Khorshid, [0037], “A user at an AR/VR system 130 may use the AR/VR applications 136 to interact with the AR/VR platform 180 or the assistant system 140”), allows the user to specify one of the services (Khorshid, [0151], “if the user changes from a studying application to a gaming application”), determines the one of the services specified by the user as the target service (Khorshid, [0156], “The AR/VR system 130 may then receive an indication that the first user is switching from the first XR application to a second XR application. The AR/VR system 130 may then access a second rendering specification associated with the second XR application”);
Khorshid as modified by Gersen and Lee does not expressly disclose “store list information indicating a list of services”;
Mao discloses a memory configured to store list information indicating a list of services (Mao, [0118], “After the user taps the operating mode selection control 1202, a my operating mode selection list 1203 is displayed. The my operating mode selection list 1203 may include a plurality of option controls such as a virtual cinema mode selection control 1204, a virtual PC mode selection control 1205, and a screen sharing mode selection control 1204 (as shown in FIG. 12(b))”. In addition, in paragraph [0106], “The internal memory 121 may include a program storage area and a data storage area”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Khorshid to manage a plurality of applications using a mode selection control including a selection list, as taught by Mao. The motivation for doing so would have been facilitating navigation among multiple applications.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khorshid (US 2024/0045704) in view of Gerson et al. (US 2012/0190458) in view of Lee et al. (US 2020/0265234), as taught by claim 1, in further view of Lee et al. (US 2017/0011557) hereinafter Lee 557.
Regarding claim 5, Khorshid teaches the plurality of services and determines the target service (Khorshid, [0156], “The AR/VR system 130 may then receive an indication that the first user is switching from the first XR application to a second XR application. The AR/VR system 130 may then access a second rendering specification associated with the second XR application”);
Khorshid as modified by Gersen and Lee does not expressly disclose “store history information regarding usage history”;
Lee 557 discloses a memory configured to store history information regarding usage history of a user (Lee 557, [0134], “determine the display mode 1150, based on the user behavior pattern 1120. For example, the electronic device 101 may analyze a display mode usage pattern about an object to be executed. If a specific display mode has been used more than a given rate, the electronic device 101 may recommend the specific display mode to a user or automatically execute the specific display mode”. In addition, in paragraph [0080], “The resource manager 344 may manage resources, such as a source code, a memory, a storage space, and/or the like of at least one of the applications 370”);
determine a service based on the history information stored in the memory (Lee 557, [0134], “determine the display mode 1150, based on the user behavior pattern 1120. For example, the electronic device 101 may analyze a display mode usage pattern about an object to be executed. If a specific display mode has been used more than a given rate, the electronic device 101 may recommend the specific display mode to a user or automatically execute the specific display mode”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a particular application of Khorshid using the usage pattern as taught by Lee 557. The motivation for doing so would have been enabling fast access to frequently used applications.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KYLE ZHAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611