Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milovoevic et al. US publication no.: US 2021/0099109 A1
Regarding claims 26, 35, Milovoevic et al. teach, A method for powering a motor (windings 153 and 160, figure 2) directly from a photovoltaic module (solar source 170, figure 2), wherein the motor is adapted to drive see compressor loads, paragraph 92), the method comprising the steps of: a) determining an available amount of power from the photovoltaic module, and starting the motor if the available amount of power exceeds a predetermined power level (see paragraph 99, where it is explained that the system utilizes a comparisons of power threshold and starts the motor based on comparison with the power threshold of the solar panel), b) repeatedly determining, within a predetermined time period, an available amount of power from the photovoltaic module while operating the motor (see paragraph 90, where “periodically” the power is measured to check if sufficient solar power is available to start the motor), and c) adjusting the speed of rotation of the motor in accordance with the repeatedly determined available amount of power (see paragraph 32, where it is explained that the motor speed is adjusted based on the power available from the solar power source 170).
Milovoevic et al. is silent on specifically teaching that the motor drive a piston compressor pump.
However, the feature of selecting a piston kind of compressor is merely one of several straightforward possibilities which the skilled person would select, depending on the circumstances, without exercising inventive skill, for the purpose of improving the compressor by delivering high pressure and durable.
Regarding claims 27 and 36, the method according to claim 26, wherein the determined available amount of power from the photovoltaic module prior to stating the motor is determined using a P-V curve of the photovoltaic module.
Milovoevic et al. teach maximum power point tracking (MPPT) as seen in figures 3-5 and teach determination of power as seen in paragraphs 10-11.
Although the teaching of P-V curve is absent in the prior art cited, it is one of the easily configured P-V curves by one in the ordinary skills in the art, with the teachings of Milovoevic et al. teach, as seen in figure 3-5, for the purpose of measuring the power capacity of a PV module.
Regarding claims 28 and 37, the method according to claim 26, wherein the repeatedly determined available amount of power from the photovoltaic module is determined using a P-V curve of the photovoltaic module while operating the motor.
Milovoevic et al. teach maximum power point tracking (MPPT) as seen in figures 3-5 and teach determination of power as seen in paragraphs 10-11.
Although the teaching of P-V curves is absent in the prior art cited, it is one of the easily configured P-V curves by one in the ordinary skills in the art, with the teachings of Milovoevic et al. teach, as seen in figure 3-5, for the purpose of measuring the power capacity of a PV module.
Regarding claims 29 and 38, Milovoevic et al. teach, the method according to claim 26, wherein the speed of rotation of the motor is essentially proportional to the repeatedly determined available amount of power from the photovoltaic module (see paragraphs 32 and 39-40, where the motor speed is adjusted based on the available power of the solar panel).
Regarding claim 30, the method according to claim 26, wherein the repeatedly determined available amount of power from the photovoltaic module is determined at least twice within the predetermined time period.
Milovoevic et al. teach that the power is measured “continuously” as seen in paragraphs 10-11 but is silent on specifically teaching that it’s measured “twice” within a time period.
However, it is one of the straightforward possibilities and one with ordinary skills in the art could’ve easily configured to measure in such configuration.
Therefore, in view of Milovoevic et al. teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include; wherein the repeatedly determined available amount of power from the photovoltaic module is determined at least twice within the predetermined time period, for the purpose of providing one of the many possible scenarios.
Regarding claim 31 and 32, Milovoevic et al. is silent on specifically teaching, the method according to claim 26, wherein the predetermined time period is between 100-300 ms; wherein the predetermined time period is approximately 200 ms.
However, selecting the time range to be between 100-300ms is merely an obvious design choice and one could’ve easily selected the timing based on a test and trial method in order to optimize the performance of the motor drive system.
Regarding claim 33, Milovoevic et al. is silent on specifically teaching, The method according to claim 26, wherein the predetermined power level for starting the motor is at least 50 W.
However, selecting the start wattage to be between 50W is merely an obvious design choice and one could’ve easily selected the timing based on a test and trial method in order to optimize the performance of the motor drive system.
Regarding claims 34, 39, Milovoevic et al. teach, the method according to claim 26, wherein the photovoltaic module comprises one or more photovoltaic panels (see paragraph 53).
Regarding claim 40, Milovoevic et al. teach, the power unit according to claim 35, further being configured for powering the motor at least partly from an external AC power source (see paragraphs 65-71, where the operation via solar panel and the AC source is disclosed).
Regarding claim 41, the power unit according to claim 40, further being configured for powering the motor at least partly from an AC power grid and/or an AC genset (see figures 6-10 and paragraphs 76-80).
Claims 43-47, 49-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milovoevic et al. US publication no.: US 2021/0099109 A1 in view of Thomsen US publication no.: US 2023/0109748 A1.
Regarding claims 43 and 49, Milovoevic et al. teach, A power unit for powering a motor adapted to drive a see compressor loads, paragraph 92), the power unit comprising a) a DC power input port adapted to be operationally connected to a DC photovoltaic module (solar source 170, figure 2),b) an AC power input port adapted to be operationally connected to an external AC power source (see AC line 812, figures 6-8), and c) a controllable switching arrangement adapted to control an amount of power to be provided by the power unit via the DC power input port and/or the external AC power input port (see paragraphs 64-75, where it is explained that the switching is controlled based on the power provided and carries out in multiple thresholds limits set),
Milovoevic et al. is silent on specifically teaching:
1) that the motor drives a piston compressor pump.
2) and an inverse protective element for ensuring that the polarity of the DC photovoltaic module at the DC power input port is correct; wherein at least part of the controllable switching arrangement forms part of the inverse protective element.
1) However, the feature of selecting a piston kind of compressor is merely one of several straightforward possibilities which the skilled person would select, depending on the circumstances, without exercising inventive skill, for the purpose of improving the compressor by delivering high pressure and durable.
2) Thomsen is in the same field of art and teaches: and an inverse protective element for ensuring that the polarity of the DC photovoltaic module at the DC power input port is correct; wherein at least part of the controllable switching arrangement forms part of the inverse protective element (see paragraphs 35-37 for voltage polarity protection unit 104).
Therefore, in view of Milovoevic et al. teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include; and an inverse protective element for ensuring that the polarity of the DC photovoltaic module at the DC power input port is correct; wherein at least part of the controllable switching arrangement forms part of the inverse protective element, for the purpose of safety enhancements.
Regarding claim 44, Milovoevic et al. teach, the power unit according to claim 43, wherein the power unit further comprises a power controller adapted to determine an available power from the DC photovoltaic module motor (see paragraph 90, where “periodically” the power is measured to check if sufficient solar power is available to start the motor).
Regarding claim 45, Milovoevic et al. teach, the power unit according to claim 44, wherein the power unit is adapted to power the motor at least partly from the external AC power source if the available power from the DC photovoltaic module is insufficient for powering the motor (see paragraph 70, where when “no solar power” is available condition is disclosed).
Regarding claim 46, Milovoevic et al. teach, the power unit according to claim 43, wherein the power unit is adapted to power the motor exclusively from the DC photovoltaic module or from the external AC power source (see figure 6 and paragraphs 50-52, where it is explained that the motor is powered via the DC solar source or the AC line via the contactors 520 and 522).
Regarding claim 47, Milovoevic et al. teach, the power unit according to claim 43, wherein the DC photovoltaic module comprises one or more photovoltaic modules or panels, and wherein the external AC power source comprises an AC power grid and/or an AC genset (see figures 6-10 and paragraphs 76-80).
Regarding claim 50, Milovoevic et al. teach, the method according to claim 49, wherein the predetermined control scheme comprises the step of determining an available power from the DC photovoltaic module (see paragraph 90, where “periodically” the power is measured to check if sufficient solar power is available to start the motor).
Regarding claim 51, Milovoevic et al. teach, the method according to claim 50, wherein the predetermined control scheme comprises the step of powering the motor at least partly from the external AC power source if the available power from the DC photovoltaic module is insufficient for powering the motor, or wherein the predetermined control scheme comprises the step of powering the motor exclusively from the DC photovoltaic module or from the external AC power source (see figure 6 and paragraphs 50-52, where it is explained that the motor is powered via the DC solar source or the AC line via the contactors 520 and 522).
Regarding claim 52, Milovoevic et al. teach, the method according to claim 49, wherein the DC photovoltaic module comprises one or more photovoltaic modules or panels, and wherein the external AC power source comprises an AC power grid and/or an AC genset (see figures 6-10 and paragraphs 76-80).
Claims 42 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milovoevic et al. US publication no.: US 2021/0099109 A1 in view of Pal et al. US publication no.: US 2018/0090939 A1.
Regarding claim 42, A cooling device for cooling pharmaceuticals comprising a power unit according to claim 35, and an ice bank for separate cooling purposes of the cooling device.
Milovoevic et al. teach the power unit device for a motor provided power via Solar Panel and an AC power source as seen in figures 2 and 6-10.
Milovoevic et al. is silent on specifically teaching that the device to be controlled is a cooling device.
Pal et al. is in the same field of art and teach a refrigeration device controlled via a solar panel as seen in figures 7-8 and paragraph 55. Therefore, a cooling device is one of the several possibilities of devices to be controlled by such system and one of the straightforward procedures that could’ve been easily implanted by one with the ordinary skills in the art.
Thus in view of Pal et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Milovoevic et al. to include, a cooling device to be controlled by the power unit, for the purpose of providing an obvious variant apparatus.
Regarding claim 48, A cooling device for cooling pharmaceuticals comprising a power unit according to claim 43, and an ice bank for separate cooling purposes of the cooling device, wherein the power unit powers a motor adapted to drive a piston compressor pump of the cooling device.
Milovoevic et al. teach the power unit device for a motor provided power via Solar Panel and an AC power source as seen in figures 2 and 6-10 and further see the rejection of claim 43 above.
Milovoevic et al. is silent on specifically teaching that the device to be controlled is a cooling device.
Pal et al. is in the same field of art and teaches a refrigeration device controlled via a solar panel as seen in figures 7-8 and paragraph 55. Therefore, a cooling device is one of the several possibilities of devices to be controlled by such system and one of the straightforward procedures that could’ve been easily implanted by one with the ordinary skills in the art.
Thus, in view of Pal et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the appartas as taught by Milovoevic et al. to include, a cooling device to be controlled by the power unit, for the purpose of providing an obvious variant apparatus.
Conclusion