DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action in response to communications received on 12/30/2024. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on 12/30/2024 is recognized.
Priority or Provisional
Priority to 06/30/2022 is recognized.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 12/30/2024 are acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22 and 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites “ …. a first part of the joint section …a second part of the joint section…”, which lacks antecedent basis and therefore makes the claims indefinite.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 29 recites “ ….wherein the joint allows the joint section of the end piece …”, which lacks antecedent basis and therefore makes the claims indefinite.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 30 recites “ …. wherein the joint allows the joint section of the end piece…”, which lacks antecedent basis and therefore makes the claims indefinite.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 31 recites “ …. indirectly connected to the joint section…”, which lacks antecedent basis and therefore makes the claims indefinite.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-30, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Beck (US 10,266,186) in view of Sprainis (US 2009/0308829), and further in view of Westman (US 2017/0225696).
Regarding claim 17, Beck in view of Sprainis and further in view of Westman discloses the limitations of claim 17 as follows:
An end piece suitable to be used as part of a draft gear of a coupler for a multi-car vehicle, the end piece comprising: Beck, Abstract, Col. 1, ll. 14-25, Col. 6, ll. 36-40, Figs. 1-2, teaches an end piece suitable to be used as part of a draft gear of a coupler for a multi-car vehicle. And teaches a coupling linkage 150 for a central buffer coupling of a railway vehicle. a first joint section configured to be mounted to a car of a multi-car vehicle such that it can rotate about a generally vertical axis; Beck, Col. 2, ll. 8-32, Col. 7, ll. 10-21, Figs. 1-2, teaches that the coupling linkage includes a bearing block 101 (i.e., the first joint section) configured to be mounted to the undercarriage of a vehicle, including bearing shells 131, 132 that define a “vertical axis of rotation R” around which the linkage horizontally pivots.
a rod having a longitudinal axis (B) which, in use, is substantially horizontal; Beck, Col. 6, ll. 44-50, 61-65, Figs. 1-2, teaches a drawgear comprising a “push/pull rod 51” which “projects coaxially” from the housing along a horizontal plane relative to the undercarriage.
an elastic connection that connects the rod to the first joint section, the elasticity of the elastic connection allowing the rod to swivel about its longitudinal axis (B) relative to the first joint section; Beck, Col. 1, ll. 14-25, Figs. 1-2, teaches the necessity for the linkage to enable “axial rotation of the coupling rod relative to the car body” to prevent damage. But Beck does not explicitly disclose the internal mechanism of the torsional swiveling.
However, Westman, Paras. [0038], [0071]-[0078], Figs. 1-3, teaches an elastic connection comprising a first rubber element 9 and a second rubber element 11 situated between the connection portion 4 of the joint bracket 3 and the end portion 12 of the rod 2, as “ring-shaped rubber elements”. And teaches that their elasticity “allows the rod to freely swivel relative to the connection portion”.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the joint of Beck with the specific ring-shaped elastic rubber connection as taught by Westman, in order to prevent torsional damage to the bearing block as the multi-car vehicle transverses uneven tracks..
and at least one spreading element, including a first spreading element which is suitable to create a spreading force (F), the first spreading element comprising: a first end which is in contact with a part of the rod; a second end which is in contact with a part of the first joint section; and a spring element arranged between the first end and second end, the spring element generating a spreading force (F) which is directed to increasing the distance between the first end and second end when the first end is moved towards the second end. Beck, Col. 6, ll. 51-65, teaches a drawgear 50 with elastomer spring elements 52.1 to 52.3 within a housing 53 to absorb compressive forces.
Sprainis, Paras. [0011], [0041]-[0043], Fig. 1, teaches a draft gear assembly 84 (the spreading element) comprising a housing member 300 with an internal compressible elastomeric spring 102g. And teaches that the front end of the spring is in abutting engagement with the coupler shank 12 (the rod) to transfer dynamic impact forces. The rear end of the spring 102g abuts the inner surface 314 of the closed end 310 of the housing 300 which in turn connects to the vehicle (joint structure). and further teaches that the compressible elastomeric spring 102g is arranged between the ends. When the coupler shank (first end) is moved towards the closed end (second end) during a buff impact, the spring is compressed. The spring’s molecular shape factor enable “repetitive absorption and dissipation of dynamic impact forces, creating an opposing, separating force (spreading force) to increase the distance between the ends and returning the assembly to its neutral position.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the elastomer spring elements of Beck with the specific elastomeric spring mechanism as taught by Sprainis, in order to utilize a “lightweight and cost effective draft gear employing compressible elastomeric spring and capable of withstanding a higher impact forces during cushioning”. [Sprainis, Para. 0010]
Regarding claim 18, Beck-Sprainis and Westman disclose the limitations of claim 17. Beck-Sprainis and Westman disclose:
The end piece according to claim 17, wherein the first spreading element comprises: a spreading element housing with a chamber, wherein the chamber comprises a chamber end wall; Sprainis, Paras. [0041]-[0045], Fig. 1, teaches a draft gear assembly 84 (the spreading element) that comprises a housing member 300 (spreading element housing) having a front portion 322 and rear portion 312 that define an internal cavity or chamber. And further teaches that this chamber comprises a chamber end wall, where the housing 300 has a “closed end 310” with an “inner surface 314”.
and a spreading element rod which is at least partially arranged in the chamber and moveable relative to the chamber end wall; Sprainis, Paras. [0041]-[0047], Fig. 1, teaches a force receiving means, such as a friction cushioning mechanism 350 or plunger, that acts as the spreading element rod. The force receiving means extends longitudinally into the front portion 322 (chamber) of the housing member 300 and is configured to move longitudinally inward relative to the closed end 310 (chamber end wall) when dynamic impact forces are applied.
wherein the spring element is arranged between the chamber end wall and a holding part of the spreading element rod. Sprainis, Paras. [0041]-[0045], Fig. 1, teaches that the compressible elastomeric spring 102g (spring element) is arranged inside the housing member 300 between the closed end 310 (chamber end wall) and the rearward face of the friction cushioning 350 or a corresponding plate like member 150 (the holding part of the rod). Specifically teaches that the rear end of the spring 102g abuts the inner surface 314 of the closed end 310, and the front end of the spring 102g is in abutting engagement with the plate like member 150 or friction cushioning mechanism 350 to transfer the dynamic impact forces.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 17 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 19, Beck-Sprainis and Westman disclose the limitations of claims 17-18. Beck-Sprainis and Westman disclose:
The end piece according to claim 18, wherein the spring element comprises at least one disc spring, Sprainis, Paras. [0011], [0041]-[0043], Fig. 1, teaches that the compressible elastomeric spring 102g (the spring element) includes a “predetermined plurality of elastomeric pads disposed coaxially and in series with each other”. And further teaches that these pads 110 are separated by plate-like members 190 to form a multi-tiered stack.
wherein the at least one disc spring is arranged between the chamber end wall and the holding part, Sprainis, Paras. [0041]-[0045], Fig. 1, teaches that the spring 102g – comprising the pad/disk springs- is positioned centrally within the rear portion 312 of the housing member 300. Specifically teaches that the rear end of the spring 102g abuts the inner surface 314 of the closed end 310, when the front end of the spring 102g engages a plate-like member 150 or the friction cushioning mechanism 350, which serves as the holding part.
wherein the holding part radially extends from the spreading element rod. Sprainis, Paras. [0043]-[0045], Fig. 1, teaches that the front end of the spring 102g engages a plate-like member 150 or a spring seat of the friction cushioning mechanism 350. This member sits in abutting engagement with the coupler shank 12 (the rod) or the central friction plunger elements.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 17 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 20, Beck-Sprainis and Westman disclose the limitations of claims 17-18. Beck-Sprainis and Westman disclose:
The end piece according to claim 18, further comprising a threading provided in the spreading element rod, the threading extending from an end of the spreading element rod along a longitudinal axis (C) of the spreading element rod, wherein the threading is an internal threading and wherein a screw is screwed into the internal threading, Sprainis teaches a force receiving rod/plunger within the spreading element housing.
Westman, Paras. [0036], [0074], Fig. 1, teaches a connecting rod or pin 14 having a central longitudinal axis A-A. explicitly teaches that an end of the pin 14 is provided with a thread along its longitudinal axis, that “An abutment element 17 in form a screw screwed onto a thread on the end of the pin 14…”, “This provides an easy way of dismantling and putting together the assembly”. And Fig. 1 shows an internal threading (a tapped hole) extending into the end of the pin 14 along its longitudinal axis, into which the screw 17 is threaded.
and wherein the second end of the first spreading element is provided by a surface of a head of the screw. Westman, Para. [0074], Fig. 1, teaches that the head of the screw 17 acts as the abutment surface (the second end) which contacts and rests against the adjacent wall or joint section.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 17 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 21, Beck-Sprainis and Westman disclose the limitations of claim 17. Beck-Sprainis and Westman disclose:
The end piece according to claim 17, wherein the at least one spreading element comprises a second spreading element which is suitable to create a spreading force (F), the second spreading element comprising: Westman, Paras. [0071]-[0074], Fig. 1, teaches an elastic connection assembly utilizing a dual-element configuration. Specifically teaches a “first rubber element 9” and a “second rubber element 11” which acts as the claimed second spreading element.
a first end which is in contact with a part of the rod; Westman, Paras. [0071]-[0074], Fig. 1, teaches that the second rubber element 11 has one end that faces and contacts a support surface 15 of the pin 14. As the pin 14 is the central connecting shaft extending from the rod 2, it constitutes a part of the rod assembly.
a second end which is in contact with a part of the first joint section; Westman, Paras. [0071]-[0074], Fig. 1, teaches that the opposite end of the second rubber element 11 is placed against the “second support surface 10 of the bracket 3”, which corresponds to the first joint section.
a spring element arranged between the first end and second end of the second spreading element, the spring element generating a spreading force (F) which is directed to increasing the distance between the first end and second end of the second spreading element when the first end of the second spreading element is moved towards the second end of the second spreading element. Westman, Paras. [0071]-[0074], [0082], Fig. 1, teaches that the second rubber element 11 itself functions as the elastomeric spring element arranged between the pin 14 and the bracket 3 (joint section). And explicitly describes that when operational forces cause the rod and pin to shift or swivel, it “compresses the first rubber element 9 and the second rubber element 11”. Since the element is made of compressible rubber, the compression stores energy and generates a restorative spreading force directed at pushing the support surface 15 (first end) and the bracket surface 10 (second end) back apart as the rubber seeks to decompress.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 17 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 22, Beck-Sprainis and Westman disclose the limitations of claims 17 and 21. Beck-Sprainis and Westman disclose:
The end piece according to claim 21, wherein the first end of the first spreading element is in contact with a first part of the rod and the first end of the second spreading element is in contact with a second part of the rod, the first part of the rod being arranged on a first side of the rod and the second part of the rod being arranged on a second side of the rod, the second side being opposite to the first side; Westman, Paras. [0071]-[0077], [0082], Fig. 1, teaches that the first rubber element 9 (first spreading element) is in contact with a support surface 13 of the end portion 12 of the rod 2 (the first part of the rod). And further teaches that the second rubber element 11 (second spreading element) is in contact with a support surface 15 on a pin 14 (the second part of the rod, as the pin forms the extension of the rod assembly). As shown in Fig. 1, the support surface 13 and support surface 15 are arranged on opposite inward-facing sides of the rod assembly to capture the joint.
and the second end of the first spreading element is in contact with a first part of the joint section and the second end of the second spreading element is in contact with a second part of the joint section, Westman, Paras. [0071]-[0077], Fig. 1, teaches that the opposite end of the first rubber element 9 contacts the first support surface 8 of the bracket 3 (second part of the joint section).
the rod being arranged between the first part of the joint section and the second part of the joint section. Beck, Col. 7, ll. 10-21, Fig. 2, teaches a clevis-style joint section comprising a first part (upper bearing shell 131) and a second part (lower bearing shell 132). And further teaches that the rod assembly (drawgear housing 53) is vertically arranged between the first and second parts of the joint section.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 17 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 23, Beck-Sprainis and Westman disclose the limitations of claim 17. Beck-Sprainis and Westman disclose:
The end piece according to claim 17, wherein the first joint section comprises a housing Beck, Col. 2, ll. 8-19, Col. 7, ll. 22-33, Figs 1-2, teaches that the bearing block 101 acts as the first joint section. And explicitly teaches that the bearing block 101 features a “cage or housing structure 110” via which the bearing shells 131, 132 are connected. and the rod comprises a housing part arranged in the housing of the first joint section. Beck, Col. 1, ll. 62-66, Col. 6, ll. 61-65, Col. 7, ll. 11-33, Figs 1-2, teaches that the rod assembly is represented by the drawgear 50 and push/pull rod 51. And explicitly teaches that the drawgear 50 “exhibits a housing 53”. And further teaches that the drawgear solution, including its housing, is “accommodated within the bearing block 101”. As shown in Fig. 2 the drawgear housing 53 is arranged inside the overarching cage/housing 110 of the bearing block 101, pivoting between the bearing shells 131, 132.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 17 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 24, Beck-Sprainis and Westman disclose the limitations of claims 17 and 23. Beck-Sprainis and Westman disclose:
The end piece according to claim 23, wherein the housing part of the rod comprises at least one circumferential groove; the housing comprises an inward-facing surface with said at least one circumferential groove arranged on the inward-facing surface, Westman, Paras. [0025]-[0030], teaches an elastic connection installed between the joint section bracket and the rod assembly. And explicitly teaches providing the inward-facing support surfaces of the joint section (bracket 3) and the rod assembly (rod 2/ pin 14) with a “rim-shaped trough surrounding the hole”. A circular rim-shaped trough surrounding a central hole is synonymous with a circumferential groove. And further teaches that the trough is provided on the surface of the connection portion (the housing of the first joint section) and the end portion of the rod (the housing part of the rod in the combined Beck assembly).
Beck, Col. 6, ll.61-67, Col. 7, ll. 1-10, also teaches securing elastic damping mechanisms by utilizing spaces/grooves formed by “circumferential annular beads” on the inward-facing surfaces of the housing 53 and the corresponding exterior surfaces of the rod (push/pull rod 51).
and the elastic connection comprises one or more ring-shaped elastic elements, each of said one or more ring-shaped elastic elements having an inner part being arranged in one of the at least one circumferential groove of the housing part and an outer part being arranged in one of the at least one circumferential groove on the inward-facing surface of the housing of the first joint section. Westman, Paras. [0025]-[0030], [0078]-[0082], teaches that the elastic connection utilizes “ring-shaped rubber elements” (elements 9 and 11). And teaches that these ring-shaped elements are seated between the rod assembly and the joint section, such that a portion of the rubber element is arranged to expand into the rim-shaped trough/groove of the rod part, and an opposing portion expands into the rim-shaped trough/groove on the inward-facing surface of the bracket housing.
Beck, Col. 4, ll. 38-53, teaches arranging “resilient rings made from elastic material” such that they are “held in spaces between two adjacent annular beads” (i.e., circumferential grooves), where the elastic ring abuts both the groove of the inner shaft/rod and the opposing groove on the inward-facing surface of the housing.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 17 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 25, Beck-Sprainis and Westman disclose the limitations of claim 17. Beck-Sprainis and Westman disclose:
The end piece according to claim 17, wherein the first joint section comprises a pin As discussed in the rejection of claim 17, the elastic connection of Westman is utilized to modify the joint section of Beck. Westman, Paras. [0074], [0082], teaches that the bracket 3- corresponding to the first joint section- accommodates a connecting “pin 14 having a central axis A-A passes through the hole 7 of the bracket”. Since the pin 14 extends from and is anchored through the bracket 3, it forms a component part of the first joint section.
Alternatively, Beck teaches that the bearing block 101 comprises “essentially vertically extending pivot pins 54.1, 54.2” to establish the axis of rotation. and the rod comprises an opening in which the pin of the first joint section is arranged. Westman, Paras. [0074], [0082], teaches that “The pin 14 passes through a hole 16 in the end portion 12 of the rod 2”. The hole 16 corresponds to the claimed opening in the rod, and Fig. 1, shows that the pin 14 is arranged within the opening.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 17 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 26, Beck-Sprainis and Westman disclose the limitations of claims 17 and 25. Beck-Sprainis and Westman disclose:
The end piece according to claim 25, wherein the elastic connection providing a connection between the pin of the first joint section and the opening of the rod is ring-shaped Westman, Paras. [0078]-[0082],teaches that the elastic connection, which connects the pin and the hole/opening of the rod assembly, comprises the first rubber element 9 and second rubber element 11. And explicitly teaches that “the first rubber element 9 and the second rubber element 11 are ring-shaped rubber elements”. And further teaches that the pin 14 passes through these ring-shaped rubber elements for connection. and comprises at least one of: a spherical outer surface facing the opening of the rod and a spherical inner surface facing the pin of the first joint section. Westman, Paras. [0042]-[0043],teaches that the ring-shaped rubber elements can be “doughnut-shaped” with curved, convex surfaces. Specifically teaches that the first and second rubber elements can comprise a “doughnut-shaped rubber elements”, where these doughnut-shaped rings have “convex side surfaces”. A doughnut-shaped (toroidal) elastomeric ring with convex side surfaces provides a curved, spherical-like inner surface that faces the central pin it surrounds, as well as a curved, spherical-like outer space that faces the opening/hole it is seated.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 17 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 27, Beck-Sprainis and Westman disclose the limitations of claim 17. Beck-Sprainis and Westman disclose:
The end piece according to claim 17, wherein the at least one spreading element is arranged separately to the elastic connection that connects the rod to the first joint section. As discussed in the rejection of claim 17, Sprainis, Paras. [0041]-[0043], Fig. 1, provides the “spreading element” as its draft gear assembly 84 comprising housing 300 and elastomeric spring 102g. And Westman provides the separate “elastic connection” as the ring-shaped rubber elements 9 and 11 arranged around the joint pin. Therefore, integrating these components into the railway linkage of Beck, they are separated. The spreading element of Sprainis is arranged longitudinally along the main axis of the rod assembly (within Beck’s drawgear housing 53) to absorb buff and draft forces. In contrast, the elastic connection of Westman is arranged separately at the distinct articulation joint (Beck’s bearing shells 131, 132 and pivot pins 54.1, 54.2) to facilitate torsional swiveling.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 17 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 28, Beck-Sprainis and Westman disclose the limitations of claim 17. Beck-Sprainis and Westman disclose:
The end piece according to claim 17, wherein the first end comprises two substantially perpendicular contact surfaces, where one of said contact surfaces is substantially parallel to a surface of the second end. Sprainis, Paras. [0041]-[0045], Fig. 1, teaches that the draft gear assembly 84 includes a force receiving means, such as the friction cushioning mechanism 350, which acts as the “first end” contacting the rod/coupler shank, and a closed housing end 310, which acts as the “second end”. And teaches that the closed end 310 (second end) has a vertical inner surface 34. Figure 1 illustrates that the friction cushioning mechanism 350 (first end) presents a vertical, flat front face for “abutting engagement” with the coupler shank 12 (the rod). The vertical front contact surface of the first end is parallel to the vertical inner surface 314 of the second end. Also shows that the front abutting face of the friction cushioning mechanism 350 (first end) is not entirely flat, with a socket (a horizontal cavity) designed to receive, align, and engage a corresponding mating profile on the coupler shank/rod. The inner horizontal wall of this recess provides a second contact surface for the rod that is perpendicular to the main vertical front face.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 17 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 29, Beck in view of Sprainis and further in view of Westman discloses the limitations of claim 29 as follows:
A draft gear for a coupler of a multi-car vehicle, the draft gear comprising: Beck, Abstract, Col. 1, ll. 11-25, Col. 6, ll. 36-40, Figs. 1-2, teaches a draft gear (drawgear 50) for a coupler of a multi-car vehicle a bearing bracket configured to be attached to a car of a multi-car vehicle and having a bearing joint section; Beck, Abstract, Col. 1, ll. 11-25, Col. 7, ll. 10-22, Figs. 1-2, teaches a bearing block 101 (bearing bracket) configured to be mounted to the car body/undercarriage of the vehicle. And further teaches that the bearing block 101 includes upper and lower bearing shells 131, 132 (the bearing joint section).
an end piece comprising: a first joint section configured to be mounted to a car of a multi-car vehicle such that it can rotate about a generally vertical axis; a rod having a longitudinal axis (B) which, in use, is substantially horizontal; an elastic connection that connects the rod to the first joint section, the elasticity of the elastic connection allowing the rod to swivel about its longitudinal axis (B) relative to the first joint section; and at least one spreading element, including a first spreading element which is suitable to create a spreading force (F), the first spreading element comprising: a first end which is in contact with a part of the rod; a second end which is in contact with a part of the first joint section; and a spring element being arranged between the first end and second end, the spring element generating a spreading force (F) which is directed to increasing the distance between the first end and second end when the first end is moved towards the second end; The combination of Beck, Sprainis and Westman renders the entire assembly unpatentable as set forth in the rejection of claim 17.
and a joint arranged between the rod of the end piece and bearing bracket and comprising the first joint section of the end piece, in the form of a joint pin, Beck, Abstract, Col. 1, ll. 11-25, Col. 7, ll. 10-22, Figs. 1-2, teaches a pivot joint arranged between the drawgear 50 (rod assembly) and the bearing block 101 (bearing bracket). And explicitly teaches that the joint comprises “essentially vertically extending pivot pins 54.1, 54.2 (joint pins) extending from the drawgear housing (first joint section of the end piece).
and the bearing joint section of the bearing bracket, in the form of an opening in which the joint pin is arranged, wherein the joint allows the joint section of the end piece to swivel relative to the bearing bracket. Beck, Abstract, Col. 1, ll. 14-25, Col. 2, ll. 8-32, Col. 7, ll. 10-22, Figs. 1-2, teaches that the bearing shells 131, 132 of the bearing block 101 possess openings that accommodate the pivot pins 54.1, 54.2. and explicitly teaches that the pin-and-opening joint arrangement defines a “vertical axis of rotation R”, which allows the drawgear to horizontally pivot or swivel relative to the bearing block 101 (bearing bracket).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the internal draft gear components of Beck’s drawgear 50, incorporating Sprainis’s spreading element and Westman’s torsional elastic connection while retaining Beck’s overarching bearing block 101 and vertical pin joint assembly, in order to ensure that the draft gear cab be mounted securely to railway undercarriages while pivoting right and left along track curves.
Regarding claim 30, Beck in view of Sprainis and further in view of Westman discloses the limitations of claim 30 as follows:
A coupler for a multi-car vehicle, the coupler comprising: a draft gear; Beck, Col. 1, ll. 11-25, Col. 6, ll. 36-40, Figs. 1-2, teaches a draft gear (drawgear 50) utilized within a railway coupling linkage for a multi-car vehicle.
and a coupler head; Westman, Para. [0012], teaches that multi-car connection devices “can have a coupler head as part of the connection device”.
wherein the draft gear comprises a bearing bracket configured to be attached to a car of a multi-car vehicle and having a bearing joint section; an end piece comprising: a first joint section configured to be mounted to a car of a multi-car vehicle such that it can rotate about a generally vertical axis; a rod having a longitudinal axis (B) which, in use, is substantially horizontal; an elastic connection that connects the rod to the first joint section, the elasticity of the elastic connection allowing the rod to swivel about its longitudinal axis (B) relative to the first joint section; and at least one spreading element, including a first spreading element which is suitable to create a spreading force (F), the first spreading element comprising: a first end which is in contact with a part of the rod; a second end which is in contact with a part of the first joint section; and a spring element being arranged between the first end and second end, the spring element generating a spreading force (F) which is directed to increasing the distance between the first end and second end when the first end is moved towards the second end; and a joint arranged between the rod of the end piece and bearing bracket and comprising the first joint section of the end piece, in the form of a joint pin, and the bearing joint section of the bearing bracket, in the form of an opening in which the joint pin is arranged, wherein the joint allows the joint section of the end piece to swivel relative to the bearing bracket; the combination of Beck, Sprainis and Westman teaches the limitations of the overarching draft gear assembly as set forth in the rejection of claim 29.
wherein the coupler head is attached to the rod. Westman, Paras. [0004], [0012], teaches that the connection device is equipped with coupler heads, and attaching them to the terminal end of the linking rod assembly to connect the trains.
Sprainis, Para. [0056], explicitly teaches that its draft gear assembly, which serves as the rod and spreading element in the combination, is attached to a “coupler shank 12” to form standard “AAR E-type”, “F-type”, and “R-type couplers”.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the draft gear rod assembly of Beck, Sprainis and Westman combination by attaching a standard coupler head to its distal end, in order to allow “for an easy decoupling of the cars, whereby easy decoupling is understood to be accomplished within a couple of minutes”. [Westman, Para. 0004]
Regarding claim 32, Beck-Sprainis and Westman disclose the limitations of claim 29. Beck-Sprainis and Westman disclose:
A method comprising providing a draft gear according to claim 29, and further comprising the steps of: removing at least one of the at least one spreading element from the draft gear; providing a corresponding spreading element for replacing the at least one removed spreading element, and attaching the corresponding spreading element to the draft gear. Sprainis, Para. [0011], teaches that the spreading element (the draft gear assembly 84 and elastomeric spring 102g) is designed to absorb impact forces during the operation of a train consist.
Westman, Para. [0036], teaches modifying the joint and rod components to provide “an easy way of dismantling and putting together the assembly”.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 29 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Beck (US 10,266,186) in view of Sprainis (US 2009/0308829), and further in view of Westman (US 2017/0225696), and Xiao (US 2019/0344812).
Regarding claim 31, Beck-Sprainis and Westman disclose the limitations of claim 30. Xiao discloses:
The coupler according to claim 30, wherein the rod comprises: a first rod part directly or indirectly connected to the joint section; a second rod part; Xiao, Paras. [0059]-[0063], [0107], teaches modifying a railway draft gear/rod assembly to include a segmented rod architecture. Specifically teaches a coupler assembly including a buffering mechanism 500 provided with a “pull rod 513” (the first rod part), which is connected to the mounting base 600 (the joint section). And further teaches a forward structural portion (the second rod part) extending from the folding mechanism.
a rod joint arranged between the first rod part and second rod part; Xiao, Paras. [0059]-[0063], [0107], teaches a rod joint arranged between the two rod segments, disclosing a “folding mechanism 400”. And teaches that a first end of this folding mechanism 400 is “interconnected movably with the pull rod 513” (first rod part) and the second end is interconnected with the forward assembly (second rod part).
wherein the coupler head is attached to the second rod part; Xiao, Paras. [0059]-[0063], [0107], teaches that “one end of the coupler head 100 is interconnected with a second end of the folding mechanism 400” (the distal/second rod part).
and wherein the rod joint allows the second rod part to be folded backwards towards the first rod part. Xiao, Paras. [0059]-[0063], [0107], teaches that the folding mechanism 400 allows the coupler assembly to move between a linear “stretching position” and a “folding position”. And teaches that “the pull rod 513 can be folded conveniently” when a locking part is released. Where a folding mechanism situated centrally on a linear shaft allows the distal end (the second part with the coupler head) to pivot and fold backwards toward the proximal end (the first rod part/pull rod).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the coupler rod assembly of Beck, Sprainis and Westman combination to include the folding mechanism (rod joint) as taught by Xiao, in order to allow the protruding coupler head to be tucked out of the way, creating more space for the vehicle operation.
References Considered But Not Relied Upon
Koch (US 2017/0197640) teaches a linear actuator including a moveable end configured to be connected to the front hatch at a second connection point, and is effective, when actuated, to change a distance between the first and second connection points.
Nikolaus (US 10,246,108) teaches a linkage articulately connects a railcar end portion of a coupling rod to a railcar body.
Conclusion
Accordingly, claims 17-32 are rejected.
The examiner can normally be reached M-F, 9:00 - 5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/P.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615