DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: main control unit in claim 15, 24, 28; sub-modules claim 15, 19, 24, 26, 28; main-modules claim 15, 19, 24, 26; main module communication interface claim 15, 24, 26; transport system claim 18, 25; seat claim 19, 28; sub-module communication interface claim 19, 24; sub-module control unit claim 20; at least one machine part claim 19, 24, 28.
Claim Objections
Claim 26 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 3 the limitation “through a the first positioned main module”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bailey WO 2006/032874.
In regards to claim, 15. Bailey discloses A main module (fig. 1) for a modular packaging system for packaging of medical articles, wherein the main module comprises:
a main control unit (76),
a mounting backbone (fig. 1) structure configured to receive a plurality of sub-modules (sub modules 100 see at least abstract, the sub modules 100 are mounted interchangeable to the device see fig. 1),
a plurality of main-module communication interfaces (see at least abstract, and fig. 4, 5 and 10), each associated with a specific order position of a respective sub-module received on the mounting backbone structure (see fig. 4 bay positions and page 11 lines 17-18),
the main control unit is configured to receive a sub-module identification via the main-module communication interfaces (fig. 10), and the sub-module identification at least gives access to at least one dimensional parameter of a respective sub-module (see at least page 3 lines 3-31, col 6 lines 0-18 and 25-30, fig. 5 and 6 discusses tracking of the sub-modules as well).
In regards to claim 16. Bailey further discloses A main module according to claim 15, wherein the at least one dimensional parameter at least comprises one of the width, height and depth of the respective sub-module (see at least page 3 lines 3-31, col 6 lines 0-18 and 25-30, fig. 5, 6, and 10 illustrate tracking, size and data of sub-modules).
In regards to claim 17. Bailey further discloses A main module according to claim 15, wherein the mounting backbone structure is provided with means for positioning a sub-module in an exact position on the mounting backbone structure (see at least bay in fig. 3 and 4 fig. 2 illustrate sub-modules mounted to backbone structure and fig. 1 illustrates connection of sub-modules. Fig. 10 shows the schematic connection between main module and sub modules).
In regards to claim 18. Bailey further discloses A main-module according to claim 15, wherein the main module comprises a transport system (see at least hopper, fig. 10 for transport control as well as robots 110 ), wherein the transport system is configured to transport a packaging substrate to the sub-modules (see abstract product is transferred on carriers between modules carries are equivalent to a packaging substrate.).
In regards to claim 19. Bailey discloses A sub-module (at least element 100) for a modular packaging system for packaging of medical articles, wherein the sub-module is configured to be received upon a mounting backbone structure (fig. 1) of a main module of a modular packaging system (fig. 1), and wherein the sub-module comprises:
at least one machine part for performing at least one function in a modular packaging system (see abstract and at least page 9 lines 9-26),
a seat (at least fig. 2) for positioning the sub-module upon a mounting backbone structure of a main-module (fig. 1),
a sub-module communication interface for communicating with a main module (see at least page 3 lines 23-26), and at least configured to communicate a sub-module identification via a plurality of main-module communication interfaces arranged on a main module (at least fig. 10), and the sub- module identification at least gives access to at least one dimensional parameter of the sub-module (at least fig. 10 and see at least page 10 lines 21-31).
In regards to claim 20. Bailey further discloses A sub-module according to claim 19, wherein the sub-module comprises a sub-module control unit (fig. 10 each module has its own control unit), configured to be in communication connection with a main-module control unit (fig. 10 illustrates the main control interface for connecting all the sub-module controllers).
In regards to claim 21. Bailey further discloses A sub-module according to claim 19, wherein the at least one dimensional parameter at least comprises one of the width (X), height (Y) and depth (Z) of the sub-module (see at least page 6 lines 0-18 depending on module type dimensions or carriers, robots, or other packaging operations which have location or dimensional parameters are shared between sub-modules such that carriers and packages can be transferred or operated on between sub modules. ).
In regards to claim 22. Bailey further discloses A sub-module according to claim 19, wherein the seat is configured for positioning the sub-module in an exact position on a mounting backbone structure of a main module by interacting with means for positioning the sub-module provided on a mounting backbone structure of a main module (illustrated in fig. 2 is positioning of two sub-modules at exact positions relative to each other, also noted in fig. 5 and 6 is positioning of modules relative to each other such that there location is known for operation of for example the turn tables listed, as well as movement and action on the product or carriers.).
In regards to claim 23. Bailey further discloses A sub-module according to claim 19, wherein the sub-module comprises a fastening structure configured to fixating the sub-module upon a mounting backbone structure of a main-module (abstract and page 1 lines 28-32).
In regards to claim 24. Bailey discloses A modular packaging system for packaging of medical articles, comprising a main module and at least one sub-module, wherein the main module comprises:
a main control unit (fig. 10),
a mounting backbone structure (illustrated in fig. 1 and fig. 2 see abstract) configured to receive a plurality of sub-modules (110).
a plurality of main-module communication interfaces (connection between main control and each module see fig. 10), each associated with a specific order position of a respective sub-module received on the mounting backbone structure (the location of each sub-module is known to the main module see at least the tracking of fig. 5 and 6 as well as the control noted in fig. 10),
and wherein the at least one sub-module comprises:
at least one machine part for performing at least one function in a modular packaging system (see abstract and at least page 9 lines 9-26),
a seat (at least fig. 2) for positioning the sub-module upon a mounting backbone structure of a main-module (fig. 1),
a sub-module communication interface for communicating with the main module(see at least page 3 lines 23-26), and at least configured to communicate a sub-module identification via the main-module communication interfaces, and the sub-module identification at least gives access to at least one dimensional parameter of a respective sub-module(at least fig. 10 and see at least page 10 lines 21-31), and wherein
at least one sub-module seat is seated upon the mounting backbone structure of the main module (at least fig. 2), and wherein
the sub-module communication interfaces and the main-module communication interfaces are connected to one another and the main control unit is configured to receive the sub-module identification via the main-module communication interfaces, and the sub-module identification at least gives access to at least one dimensional parameter of a respective sub-module, via the main-module communication interfaces (illustrated in at least fig. 10).
In regards to claim 25. Bailey further discloses A modular packaging system according to claim 24, wherein the modular packaging system further comprises a transportation system (see at least hopper, fig. 10 for transport control as well as robots 110 ) configured to transport a packaging substrate between the main module and the at least one sub-module (see abstract product is transferred on carriers between modules carries are equivalent to a packaging substrate.).
In regards to claim 26. Bailey discloses A method for positioning a sub-module in relation to a main module in a modular packaging system, wherein the method comprises:
- detecting a first sub-module through a the first positioned main-module communication interface (fig. 10 first sub-module),
- detecting a sub-module identification, from the first sub-module (this includes type, location and action to be performed see at least page 15 lines 28- page 16 line 8),
- accessing at least one dimensional parameter of the first sub-module (noted in fig. 5 and 6 as well as fig. 10 which illustrates picking and placing which require position to be known), and
- positioning the first sub-module in relation to the main module (fig. 10 link set up data also illustrated in fig. 11) (additionally See at least page 15 lines 21-27).
In regards to claim 27. Bailey further discloses A method according to claim 26, wherein the method further comprises:
- detecting a second sub-module through the second positioned main-module communication interface (fig. 10 second mod),
- detecting a sub-module identification, from the second sub-module (this includes type, location and action to be performed see at least page 15 lines 28- page 16 line 8),
- accessing at least one dimensional parameter of the second sub-module, and- positioning the second sub-module in relation to the main module based on the one dimensional parameter of the second sub-module and the position of the first sub-module (noted in fig. 5 and 6 as well as fig. 10 which illustrates picking and placing which require position to be known).
In regards to claim 28. Bailey further discloses A method according to claim 26, wherein the modular packaging system comprises:
a main control unit (fig. 10),
a mounting backbone structure (fig. 1 and 2) configured to receive a plurality of sub-modules (100),
a plurality of main-module communication interfaces (connections between sub-modules 100 and main module see at least fig. 10), each associated with a specific order position of a respective sub-module received on the mounting backbone structure (noted in at least fig. 5, 6, 1, and 11 each module has a specific location based on its associated task during operation and each module communicate with each other through the main module, the sub-modules include things like robots and turn tables for moving carrier from one sub-module to the next and therefore communication location and position information of the sub-module structure and well as the items or carriers of items.);
and wherein the at least one sub-module comprises:
at least one machine part for performing at least one function in the modular packaging system (see at least abstract and at least page 9 lines 9-26),
a seat (see at least fig. 2) for positioning the sub-module upon the mounting backbone structure of the main-module (at least fig. 1),
a sub-module communication interface for communicating with the main module, and at least configured to communicate a sub-module identification via the main-module communication interfaces arranged on a main module, and
the sub-module identification at least gives access to at least one dimensional parameter (X, Y, Z) of the sub- module, and the sub-module identification at least gives access to at least one dimensional parameter of a respective sub-module (at least fig. 10 and see at least page 3 lines 23-26, page 10 lines 21-31, the robot positions x, y, z are shared between sub-modules such that they can communicate location and position for transfer and manipulation of product), and wherein
at least one sub-module seat is seated upon the mounting backbone structure of the main module (illustrated in at least fig. 1, fig.2 and fig. 11 showing configuration of the sub-modules into the main module), and wherein
the sub-module communication interfaces and the main-module communication interfaces are connected to one another (illustrated in at least fig. 10) and
the main control unit is configured to receive the sub-module identification via the main-module communication interfaces, and the sub-module identification at least gives access to at least one dimensional parameter of a respective sub-module, via the main-module communication interfaces (detailed in fig. 10 as well as at least fig. 10 and see at least page 3 lines 23-26, page 10 lines 21-31 ).
Conclusion
/Lucas E. A. Palmer/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731