DETAILED ACTION
Priorities
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN202210760138.6, filed on 06/30/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 02/24/2025 and 10/21/2025 have been acknowledged and considered by the examiner. An initialed copy of the PTO-1449 is included in this correspondence.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II in the reply filed on 02/03/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22-25, 30-35, and 40-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jin et al. (US Pub. 2026/0003561 A1).
Regarding claim 22; Jin teaches a display method, applied to an electronic device (an electronic device 200, Fig.2A, comprises a first housing 210 and a second housing 220) that comprises a first display screen (a first display screen 230a is included in the first housing 210, Fig.2A) and a second display screen (a second display screen 230b, Fig.2A), wherein the display method comprises:
obtaining a third direction (Figs.13A and 13B, a direction of the electronic device when it is fully unfolded) based on a first direction (Fig.2A, para. [0015 and 0086], the first housing 210 comprises a first sensor 283a configured to detect movement of the first housing so as to determine a display direction of a content on the first display 230a), a second direction (Fig.2A, para. [0015 and 0086], the second housing comprises a second sensor 283b configured to detect a movement of the second housing so as to determine a display direction of a content on the second display 230b), and information about a folding angle (para. [0110], the processor detects a folding angle of the electronic device), wherein the folding angle is an included angle between the first display screen and the second display screen (para. [0110]), the first direction is a direction of an interface displayed by the first display screen (para. [0164], Figs.13A-13B, the display direction on the first display screen is determined by the first sensor 283a. For example, when the orientation angle of the electronic device 300 is landscape, the processor 310 may control the first display 320 to display a content 1300, based on the display direction of the content. As shown in FIG. 13B, when the orientation angle of the electronic device 300 is portrait, the processor 310 may control the first display 320 to display a content 1310, based on the display direction of the content), and the second direction is a direction of an interface displayed by the second display screen (para. [0164], Figs.13A-13); and
displaying, based on the third direction, the interface displayed by the first display screen and/or the interface displayed the second display screen (Figs. 13A and 13B, para. [0119], when the folding angle is 180 degrees (i.e., unfolded state), a display direction of a content 1300 on the electronic device is determined based on data obtained from the first sensor 283a and the second sensor 283b. For example, Fig.13A, when the orientation angle of the electronic device (i.e., orientation angles of first housing and the second housing) is landscape, the processor 310 may control the first display 320 and the second display 330 to display the content 1300 in a landscape mode. In another example, FIG. 13B, when the orientation angle of the electronic device 300 is portrait, the processor 310 may control the first display 320 to display the content 1310 in a portrait mode).
Regarding claim 23; Jin teaches the display method of claim 22 as discussed above. Jin further teaches determining a current attitude of the electronic device based on the information about the folding angle (para. [0022], the operation method may further include selecting the first display when the folding angle between the first housing and the second housing is in a second range different from the first range; determining the display direction of the content, based on sensor data obtained by at least one of the first sensor and the second sensor; and displaying the content on the first display, based on the display direction of the content), wherein the current attitude is used for indicating a current unfolded state or folded state of the electronic device (para. [0091], Fig.2C, folded and unfolded states); wherein when the folding angle is less than or equal to a first preset threshold, the current attitude is a folded attitude (para. [0091], the folded state of the first housing 210 and the second housing 220 may include an operation state in which the folding angle between the first housing 210 and the second housing 220 is included in a second reference range of, for example, from about 0 degrees to about 20 degrees); wherein when the folding angle is less than or equal to a second preset threshold, the current attitude is an intermediate attitude (para. [0091], the intermediate state may include an operation state in which a folding angle between the first housing 210 and the second housing 220 is included in a third reference range of, for example, from about 20 degrees to about 170 degrees), wherein the intermediate attitude is used for indicating an instantaneous attitude of the electronic device, and the second preset threshold is greater than the first preset threshold (para. [0091], the first preset threshold is 20 degrees. The second preset threshold is 170 degrees); and wherein when the folding angle is in a first preset range and the first display screen is in a horizontal state, the current attitude is a first unfolded attitude (para. [0113], when the folding angle of the electronic device 300 is included in the designated first range (e.g., from about 20 degrees to about 75 degrees), the processor 310 may select the second display 330 to display a content. For example, when the folding angle of the electronic device 300 is included in the designated first range (e.g., from about 20 degrees to about 75 degrees), the electronic device 300 may operate in a first sub-mode or a second sub-mode, based on an area which is placed on a horizontal plane).
Regarding claim 24; Jin teaches the display method of claim 23 as discussed above. Jin further teaches when the current attitude is the folded attitude, the third direction is the same as the first direction (Figs. 15A and 15B, para. [0041, 0170, and 0171], when the electronic device is in a folded state, a display direction is the same as a display direction of the first (or second) display screen. For example, Fig.15A, in the folded state, when the orientation angle of the electronic device 300 is landscape, the processor 310 may control the second display 330 to display a content 1500 in the landscape mode. In another example, FIG. 15B, when the orientation angle of the electronic device 300 is portrait, the processor 310 may control the second display 330 to display the content 1510 in the portrait mode).
Regarding claim 25; Jin teaches the display method of claim 23 as discussed above. Jin further teaches when the current attitude is the folded attitude, the third direction is the same as the first direction (similar to the analysis of claim 22, see Figs. 13A and 13B showing the electronic device in a unfolded state).
Regarding claim 30; Jin teaches the display method of claim 22 as discussed above. Jin further teaches obtaining first data and second data, wherein the first data is data of the first display screen acquired by a first motion sensor (Fig.3, para. [0103], the first sensor 340 obtains data related to a movement of the first display), and the second data is data of the second display screen acquired by a second motion sensor (Fig.3, para. [0103], the second sensor 350 obtains data related to a movement of the second display); obtaining the first direction based on the first data; and obtaining the second direction based on the second data (para [0119], a display direction is determined based on the data obtained from the first and second sensors).
Regarding claim 31; Jin teaches the display method of claim 22 as discussed above. Jin further teaches determining a current attitude of the electronic device based on the information about the folding angle, wherein the current attitude is used for indicating a current unfolded state or a folded state of the electronic device; and obtaining the third direction based on the current attitude, the first direction, and the second direction (similar to the analysis of claims 22 and 23 above).
Regarding claim 32; Jin teaches an electronic device (an electronic device 101, Fig.1), comprising:
a first display screen (a first display screen 230a, Fig.2A; or a first display 320, Fig.3);
a second display screen (a second display screen 230b, Fig.2A; or a second display 330, Fig.3);
one or more processors (a processor 310, Fig.3); and
a memory (a memory 360, Fig.3), wherein the memory is coupled to the one or more processors (Fig.3), the memory is configured to store computer program code (para. [0068]), the computer program code comprises computer instructions, and the one or more processors invoke the computer instructions to enable the electronic device to perform the following operations: obtaining a third direction based on a first direction, a second direction, and information about a folding angle, wherein the folding angle is an included angle between the first display screen and the second display screen, the first direction is a direction of an interface displayed by the first display screen, and the second direction is a direction of an interface displayed by the second display screen; and displaying, based on the third direction, the interface displayed by the first display screen and/or the interface displayed the second display screen (similar to the analysis of claim 22 above).
Regarding claim 33; Jin teaches the electronic device of claim 32 as discussed above. The limitation of claim 33 is substantially similar to claim 23. Accordingly, claim 33 is rejected based on the same analysis of claim 23.
Regarding claim 34; Jin teaches the electronic device of claim 33 as discussed above. The limitation of claim 34 is substantially similar to claim 24. Accordingly, claim 34 is rejected based on the same analysis of claim 24.
Regarding claim 35; Jin teaches the electronic device of claim 33 as discussed above. The limitation of claim 35 is substantially similar to claim 25. Accordingly, claim 35 is rejected based on the same analysis of claim 25.
Regarding claim 40; Jin teaches the electronic device of claim 32 as discussed above. The limitation of claim 40 is substantially similar to claim 30. Accordingly, claim 40 is rejected based on the same analysis of claim 30.
Regarding claim 41; Jin teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (a memory 360, Fig.3) storing a computer program (para. [0068]) that, when executed by a processor (a processor 310, Fig.3), enables the processor to perform the following operations: obtaining a third direction based on a first direction, a second direction, and information about a folding angle, wherein the folding angle is an included angle between the first display screen and the second display screen, the first direction is a direction of an interface displayed by the first display screen, and the second direction is a direction of an interface displayed by the second display screen; and displaying, based on the third direction, the interface displayed by the first display screen and/or the interface displayed the second display screen (similar to the analysis of claim 22 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 27 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. (US Pub. 2026/0003561 A1) in view of Abe et al. (US Pub. 2006/0046848 A1).
Regarding claim 27; Jin teaches the display method of claim 23 as discussed above.
Jin does not teach the information about the folding angle is data obtained at moment t, and when the current attitude is the intermediate attitude, the third direction is a historical direction, wherein the historical direction is a direction that is of the interfaces displayed by the first display screen and the second display screen and that is obtained based on data obtained at a moment t-1.
Abe discloses a method of determining a rotation angle at a current time based on a rotation angle at a previous time (Fig.5, para. [0081], Abe discloses a method of detecting a rotation angle of a game apparatus 10. In particular, a rotation angle at a current time is determined based on a rotation angle at a previous time).
Modifying the method of Jin of controlling a foldable display as taught by Jin to include the teaching of Abe of determining a rotation angle at a current time based on a rotation angle at a previous time. Accordingly, a combination of Jin and Abe would teach that the information about the folding angle is data obtained at moment t, and when the current attitude is the intermediate attitude, the third direction is a historical direction, wherein the historical direction is a direction that is of the interfaces displayed by the first display.
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Jin of controlling a foldable display to include the teaching of Abe of determining a rotation angle at a current time based on a rotation angle at a previous time. Accordingly, a combination of Jin and Abe would teach that the information about the folding angle is data obtained at moment t, and when the current attitude is the intermediate attitude, the third direction is a historical direction, wherein the historical direction is a direction that is of the interfaces displayed by the first display. The motivation would have been in order to improve the responsiveness of the system.
Regarding claim 37; Jin teaches the electronic device of claim 33 as discussed above. The limitation of claim 37 is substantially similar to claim 27. Accordingly, claim 37 is rejected based on the same analysis of claim 27.
Claims 29 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. (US Pub. 2026/0003561 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. 2013/0027364 A1).
Regarding claim 29; Jin teaches the display method of claim 22 as discussed above. Jin does not teach detecting a first operation, wherein the first operation is an operation for instructing the first display screen to enable screen rotation; based on the third direction and in response to the first operation, displaying by the first display screen the interface displayed by the first display screen; detecting a second operation, wherein the second operation is an operation for instructing the second display screen to enable screen rotation; detecting a third operation, wherein the third operation is an operation for instructing the first display screen and the second display screen to enable screen rotation; and based on the third direction and in response to the third operation, displaying by the first display screen the interface displayed by the first display screen and displaying by the second display screen the interface displayed by the second display screen.
Kim teaches detecting a first operation, wherein the first operation is an operation for instructing the first display screen to enable screen rotation; based on the third direction and in response to the first operation, displaying by the first display screen the interface displayed by the first display screen; detecting a second operation, wherein the second operation is an operation for instructing the second display screen to enable screen rotation; detecting a third operation, wherein the third operation is an operation for instructing the first display screen and the second display screen to enable screen rotation; and based on the third direction and in response to the third operation, displaying by the first display screen the interface displayed by the first display screen and displaying by the second display screen the interface displayed by the second display screen (Fig.6, para. [0023], para. [0023 and 0091], Kim discloses an electronic device 100 comprises a first display 151A and a second display 151B. A controller 180 can rotate a screen of the first and second displays 151A and 151B in response to a touch gesture).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Jin of controlling a foldable display to include the teaching of Kim of rotating a screen in response to a touch gesture. The motivation would have been in order to improve the user experience.
Regarding claim 39; Jin teaches the electronic device of claim 32 as discussed above. The limitation of claim 39 is substantially similar to claim 29. Accordingly, claim 39 is rejected based on the same analysis of claim 29.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 28 and 38 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Prior art fails to teach all limitations recited in claims 28 and 38.
Inquiries
/NGUYEN H TRUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 2623
/CHANH D NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2623