Status of Claims
Claims 1-12 are pending.
Priority
Claims 1-12 are a 371 of PCT/KR 2023/009366 filed on July 4, 2023, which claims priority to KOREA, REPUBLIC OF 10-2022-0081790 filed on July 4, 2022, and to KOREA, REPUBLIC OF 10-2023-0086061 filed on July 3, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on December 30, 2024, and on May 7, 2026, were filed before the mailing of the First Office Action on November 7, 2026. The Non-Patent Literature is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose et al. [Immortalization of erythroblasts by c-MYC and BCL-XL enables large-scale erythrocyte production from human pluripotent stem cells, Stem Cell Reports, 2013], in view of Liu et al. [BMI1 enables extensive expansion of functional erythroblasts from human peripheral blood mononuclear cells, Molecular Therapy, 2021], in view of Kyba et al. [HOXB4 confers definitive lymphoid-myeloid engraftment potential on embryonic stem cell and yolk sac hematopoietic progenitors, Cell, 2002], in view of Faubert et al. [Complementary and independent function for HOXB4 and BMI1 in HSC activity, Cold Spring Harbor Symposia on Quantitative Biology, 2008], In view of Zhang et al. [The significance of controlled conditions in lentiviral vector titration and in the use of multiplicity of infection (MOI) for predicting gene transfer events, Genetic Vaccines and Therapy, 2004], in view of Jang et al. [Optimizing lentiviral vector transduction of hematopoietic stem cells for gene therapy, Gene Ther., 2021], in view of Refaeli and Turner (Hereinafter Refaeli) [US 2010 047217 A1], in view of Tang et al. [Expansion of hematopoietic stem cells from normal donors and bone marrow failure patients by recombinant hoxb4, Br J Haematol, 2009].
For claim 1, Hirose et al. teaches immortalized erythroid progenitor cell line generated through transduction of c-MYC and BCL-xL into multipotent hematopoietic progenitor cells derived from human pluripotent stem cells [Abstract, Creation of a self-replicable erythrocyte-producing cell line from human PSCs ¶ 2]. Specifically, Hirose et al. teaches that combined overexpression of c-MYC and BCL-xL promotes sustained exponential proliferation of erythroid progenitor cells, but that cells transfected individually with either c-MYC or BCL-xL did not produce comparable sustained proliferation [Creation of a self-replicable erythrocyte-producing cell line from human PCSs ¶ 2]. Hirose et al. also taught that the resulting immortalized erythroid progenitor cells retain the ability to undergo erythroid maturation following suppression of the introduced genes [Fig. 1 & 2]. However, Hirose et al. does not teach an immortalized erythroid progenitor cell line that has also been transduced with a BMI1 gene and a HOXB4 gene.
With respect to the BMI1 limitation, Liu et al., discussing how BMI1 enables expansion of functional erythroblasts derived from mononuclear cells, teaches that introduction of BMI into human erythroid progenitor cells using lentiviral transduction to promote extensive erythroblasts expansion [Introduction]. Additionally, Liu et al. disclosed that BMI1 expression supports sustained erythroblast proliferation while maintaining the capacity for the resulting cells to undergo terminal erythroid differentiation [BMI1 induces extensive expansion of erythroblasts from adult healthy donors ¶ 2] and establishes that BMI1 was a known genetic factor capable of promoting erythroid progenitor expansion.
With respect to the HOXB4 limitation, Kyba et al. teaches that HOXB4 expression promotes the developmental and functional potential of hematopoietic progenitor cells [HoxB4 transduction of yolk sac cells]. Here, Kyba et al., similar to Liu et al., shows that HOXB4 expression was a known factor associated with hematopoietic progenitor expansion and maintenance [HOXB4 transduction of yolk sac cells (Results), Discussion ¶ 1].
Here, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the claimed invention to modify the systems and methods of Hirose et al. that teaches transducing c-MYC and BCL-XL into multipotent hematopoietic progenitor cells derived from pluripotent stem cells allow for exponential self-replication with the teachings of Liu et al. that taught BMI1 induces expansion of erythroblasts with the additional teachings of Kyba et al. that discloses HOXB4 promotes expansion of hematopoietic populations in order to provide an erythroid progenitor cell line having enhanced proliferative and progenitor-maintenance characteristics. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings because Hirose et al. specifically establishes genetically modifying erythroid progenitor cells to obtain sustained proliferation where Liu et al. establishes the benefits and effects of BMI1 expression on erythroblast expansion, and Kyba et al. discloses the role that HOXB4 plays in supporting hematopoietic progenitor function. Lastly, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the cited references given that the prior art demonstrated that the respective genes perform recognized functions associated with cellular proliferation, survival, and progenitor-cell maintenance, and because viral transduction was an established method of introducing such genes into hematopoietic and erythroid progenitor cells and would have represented an obvious combination of known genetic modifications for promoting erythroid progenitor proliferation and maintenance.
For claim 2 where the BMI1 has an 8 fold or less gene expression level compared to HOXB4 gene expression level, although the combined teachings of Hirose et al., Liu et al., and Kyba et al. disclose or suggest an immortalized erythroid progenitor cell line transduced with c-MYC, BMI1, HOXB4, and BCL-XL, as previously discussed in the analysis of claim 1, the cited references do not expressly disclose or suggest that BMI1 gene has an expression level of eightfold or less when compared to the expression level of HOXB4. However, Liu et al. does disclose the BMI1 expression promotes extensive proliferation of human erythroblasts while suppressing spontaneous erythroid differentiation during expansion culture [Discussion]. This discussion in Liu et al. specifically establishes that BMI1 expression influences the proliferative and differentiation characteristics of erythroid progenitor cells. Additionally, Faubert et al., discussing the complementary and independent functions of both HOXB4 and BMI1, teaches that BMI1 and HOXB4 perform distinct but related functions in hematopoietic stem cell maintenance and expansion [Abstract]. More specifically, Faubert et al. teaches that co-overexpression of BMI1 can interfere with HOXB4-mediated hematopoietic stem cell expansion [BMI1 impairs HOXB4-induced HSC expansion]. In addition, Zhang et al. establishes that viral multiplicity of infection is a known and controllable parameter affecting lentiviral gene-transfer efficiency [Background]. More particularly, Zhang et al. teaches that varying MOI influences the efficiency of gene delivery into mammalian cells showing that viral dosing conditions can be adjusted to regulate transduction outcomes [Abstract, Figure 3B, and Discussion].
Given this, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the claimed invention to modify the systems and methods of Hirose et al. that discloses immortalization of erythroblasts transduced by c-MYC and BCL-XL with the further teachings of Liu et al. and Kyba et al. with the additional teachings of Faubert et al. and Zhang et al. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to regulate these genes given that Liu et al. establishes the importance of BMI1 expression in erythroid progenitor proliferation and differentiation while Faubert et al. demonstrates that BMI1 and HOXB4 exhibit functional relationship in hematopoietic progenitor maintenance and expansion while Zhang et al. establishes that viral transduction conditions, including MOI, is a known adjustable parameter for controlling gene delivery. Given this, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to vary the respective viral transduction conditions to evaluate the resulting BMI1 and HOXB4 expression levels to obtain suitable balance between sustained erythroid proliferation and differentiation potential. Additionally, MPEP § 2144.05 states “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).” Here, Liu et al. teaches that BMI1 expression influences erythroid progenitor proliferation and differentiation while Faubert et al. teaches that BMI1 and HOXB4 exhibit functionally related activities in hematopoietic progenitor maintenance and expansion. Furthermore, Zhang et al. teaches that viral transduction conditions, including multiplicity of infection, were known and controllable parameters affecting gene delivery and absent evidence showing that the claimed range is critical and/or unexpected, the art establishes the multiplicity of infection would result from routine optimization.
For claim 3 where the erythroid progenitor cells are derived from mononuclear cells or hematopoietic stem cells, Liu et al. specifically discloses functional erythroblasts transduced with BMI1 from human peripheral blood mononuclear cells [Abstact].
For claim 4 where the HOXB4 gene is introduced at a multiplicity of infection two folds higher than the MOI of the c-MYC gene, BMI1 gene, and BCL-XL gene and as discussed in the rejection for claim 2, the prior art established that BMI1 and HOXB4 perform recognized functions in hematopoietic progenitor proliferation, maintenance, and differentiation, and that their respective activities may influence the resulting cellular characteristics. Furthermore, Zhang et al. establishes that viral multiplicity of infection (MOI) was a well-known result-effective variable affecting transduction efficiency. Based on this and similar to the analysis of claim 2, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reason to adjust relative viral MOIs of the introduced genes, including increasing the MOI of HOXB4 relative to c-MYC, BMI1, and BCL-XL in order to obtain suitable transgene delivery and cellular characteristics and that such adjustments, absent evidence of unexpected results or criticality, would have involved routine optimization of established viral transduction parameters as also cited above in MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 5, the combined cited references do not expressly disclose introducing HOXB4 at a multiplicity of infection of 7 to 100 and each of c-MYC, BMI1, and BCL-XL at an MOI of 3.5 to 50 as claimed. However, Zhang et al. teaches that the viral MOI was a known and controllable parameter affecting lentiviral gene transfer efficiency [See analysis for claim 2]. Furthermore, Zhang et al. demonstrated that varying MOI influences transduction efficiency showing that MOI would fall under a result-effective variable [See Abstract, Figure 3B, and Discussion]. Additionally, Jang et al. teaches that optimization of lentiviral MOI in hematopoietic stem/progenitor cells, including MOI of approximately 26, 50, and 100 [Results, Figures 1-2] were known ranges for viral transduction of hematopoietic progenitor cells.
Here, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the claimed invention to modify the systems and methods of Hirose et al. and Liu et al. with the further teachings of Zhang et al. in view of Jang et al. where both references teach that viral MOI was a known result-effective variable affecting transduction efficiency with Jang et al. specifically demonstrating that viral MOIs that encompass the claimed ranges were routinely investigated and employed in hematopoietic progenitor cells. Given this, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reason to select and optimize the respective MOIs to achieve suitable transduction efficiency and expression of the introduced genes using established techniques. Furthermore, the determination of workable MOI ranges would have involved routine optimization of a known result-effective variable, absent evidence of criticality and/or unexpected results consistent with MPEP § 2144.05 which recognizes that determining optimum or workable ranges through routine experimentation ordinarily does not confer patentability where the general conditions of the claimed invention are disclosed in the prior art. A person of ordinary skill in the are would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the cited references demonstrate that viral transduction of hematopoietic progenitor cells were established and that transduction efficiency could be adjusted by varying MOI.
For claim 6 where the immortalized erythroid progenitor cell line is an erythroid cell line prior to enucleation, Hirose et al. teaches the production of immortalized erythroid progenitor cells that retain the ability to undergo terminal erythroid differentiation that includes the subsequent maturation toward enucleated erythrocytes [Results, Discussion, and Figures 1-3].
For claim 7 is directed towards a kit for producing the immortalized erythroid progenitor cell comprising an expression vector expressing a c-MYC gene, a BMI1 gene, a HOXB4 gene, and a BCL-XL gene, Refaeli teaches expression vectors encoding c-MYC and BCL family proteins, including BCL-XL, for producing conditionally immortalized hematopoietic cells capable of erythroid differentiation [¶ 0005, 0076]. Furthermore, Refaeli expressly identifies BMI1 as a transgene encoding a polypeptide capable of inducing cellular immortality and contemplates the use of immortaliziation-inducing transgenes in combination with additional agents promoting cell immortality, survival, and/or proliferation [¶ 0080]. However, Refaeli does not expressly teach the inclusion of HOXB4 in the expression-vector system.
However, Kyba et al. teaches that introduction and expression of HOXB4 in hematopoietic progenitor cells for the purpose of enhancing hematopoietic development potential [Abstract, Introduction ¶ 2].
With respect to the claim 7 limitation of a kit, Refaeli discloses a kit for identifying compounds that selectively induce differentiation of conditionally immortalized stem cells, e.g. hematopoietic stem cells by providing a conditionally immortalized stem cell, contacting the conditionally immortalized stem cell with a compound, detecting or measuring the effect of the compound on the state of differentiation, and optionally isolating and characterizing the compound that was contacted [¶ 0126]. Based on this, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems and methods of Refaeli that discloses a kit for preparing and differentiating enucleated cells by providing an expression vector or vectors as components of a kit where said components are intended to be used together for producing conditionally immortalized hematopoietic cells capable of erythroid differentiation. Furthermore, Refaeli specifically discloses the use of c-MYC, BMI1, and BCL-XL for promoting cellular immortalization while Kyba et al. teaches that HOXB4 expression enhances hematopoietic progenitor function. Because of this, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide expression vectors encoding the requisite genes for expression together in a kit to facilitate their use in producing immortalized erythroid progenitor cells and would have represented the use of a known combination, namely the combination and/or packaging of necessary components, allowing the components to be used in a kit for conventional genetic engineering techniques. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to combine the known components, including viral vectors containing the genes to be expressed, because the cited references demonstrate that the respective genes could be introduced and expressed in hematopoietic cells using established expression-vector systems where the individual functions of each gene was related to progenitor cell proliferation, maintenance, and/or survival.
Regarding claim 8 where the kit further comprises an erythroid progenitor line proliferating medium that contains at least one protein or peptide selected from the Markush listing, Tang et al. teaches a hematopoietic progenitor cell proliferation medium comprising recombinant HOXB4 protein [Fig. 2A-B] where the culture medium for hematopoietic stem and progenitor cells contains exogenously added recombinant HOXB4 protein. Tang et al. further teaches that the supplementation of the culture medium with HOXB4 protein significantly increases the expansion of colony-forming cells and long-term culture-initiating cells compared to control cultures lacking recombinant HOXB4 [Id.]. In addition, Tang et al. also demonstrates that a concentration-dependent effect of recombinant HOXB4 supplementation on progenitor expansion with 50 nM produced the greatest colony forming cell expansion among the tested concentrations, and thus, teaches that incorporation of HOXB4 protein into progenitor cell proliferation mediums promote expansion and maintenance of hematopoietic progenitor populations [Id].
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the claimed invention to modify the systems and methods of Refaeli that discloses a kit and Kyba et al. to include the further teachings of Tang et al. where the erythroid progenitor cell proliferation medium contained HOXB4 protein. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of the cited references given that Refaeli teaches the expression vector components for producing conditionally immortalized hematopoietic cells capable of erythroid differentiation, while Tang et al. expressly teaches supplementing the cell culture medium with recombinant HOXB4 supplementation because adding HOXB4 significantly increased the expansion of colony-forming cells and long-term culture-initiating cells compared to control mediums lacking HOXB4. Because of this, the teachings of Tang et al. would have provided specific motivation to include HOXB4 protein in a suitable progenitor proliferation medium as an additional component of the kit taught by Refaeli combined with Kyba et al. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the cited teachings to arrive at the claimed kit because Refaeli establishes the use of expression-vector systems for producing conditionally immortalized hematopoietic cells capable of erythroid differentiation with Tang et al. that demonstrated that recombinant HOXB4 protein can be incorporated into culture medium in order to promote hematopoietic progenitor expansion, and thus, providing known expression vector components with a proliferation medium comprising recombinant HOXB4, which was known in the art for promoting progenitor expansion, would have involved the application of established genetic engineering and cell-culture techniques for their recognized purposes.
Regarding claim 9, the same analysis that is applied to claim 1 is applied to claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, the same analysis that applied to claims 1 and 9 are applied here given that Hirose et al. teaches populations of immortalized erythroid progenitor cells genetically modified to express c-MYC and BCL-XL, as discussed in claim 1. The cell populations disclosed by Hirose et al. constitute cellular compositions comprising erythroid progenitor cells. Furthermore, Liu et al. teaches the introduction of BMI1 into erythroid cells to promote cellular expansion, while Kyba et al. teaches the introduction of HOXB4 into hematopoietic progenitor cells to enhance progenitor function. Here, the combined teachings, as stated in claim 1, teach a cell composition that would comprise a genetically modified erythroid progenitor cell population as recited in claim 9.
For claims 11 and 12 where an erythrocyte differentiated and matured from the immortalized erythroid progenitor cell line of claim 1 and is found in a cell composition, Hirose et al. teaches producing erythrocytes through terminal differentiation and maturation of immortalized erythroid progenitor cells [See Claim 1 analysis] where Hirose et al. discloses that immortalized erythroid progenitor cells generated through introduction of c-MYC and BCL-XL retain the capacity to undergo terminal erythroid differentiation that includes maturation toward enucleated erythrocytes [Enucleated imERYPCs are capable of intact circulation in vivo]. Although Hirose et al. does not expressly teach erythrocytes differentiated from progenitor cells additionally transduced with BMI1 and HOXB4, claim is directed to the resulting erythrocyte and defines a product by the process which it is produced. MPEP § 2113(I) states “E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).” Here, Hirose et al. teaches erythrocytes produced through terminal differentiation of immortalized erythroid progenitor cells which is the same or substantially the same as the erythrocyte differentiated and matured in claim 11. Furthermore, Hirose et al. teaches compositions comprising erythrocytes produced through terminal differentiation and maturation of immortalized erythroid progenitor cells. Additionally, Claim 12 is also rejected under MPEP § 2113 given the erythrocyte of claim 11 and the cell composition of claim 12 result in an erythrocyte that is the same or substantially the same as what is taught in Hirose et al.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the claimed inventions to modify the systems and methods of the cited references to arrive at the claimed inventions recited in claims 1-12 as discussed above. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Hirose et al., Liu et al., and Kyba et al. to produce immortalized erythroid progenitor cell lines and cell populations that comprise c-MYC, BMI1, HOXB4, and BCL-XL, as recited in independent claims 1 and 9 given that the cited references establish the respective roles of these genes in promoting hematopoietic and erythroid progenitor cell proliferation, survival, maintenance, and expansion. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings further with Refaeli and Kyba et al. to provide the expression vector components recited in Refaeli in the form of a kit. With respect to the additional limitations found in claims 2-6, 8, and 10-12, the cited references further teach known genetic engineering parameters, cellular sources, culture conditions, proliferation media, and erythroid differentiation techniques that were employed for their recognized utility. For example, Faubert et al., Zhang et al., and Jang et al. provide teachings relevant to regulating gene expression and optimizing viral transduction conditions, while Tang et al. demonstrates that supplementation of hematopoietic progenitor culture medium with recombinant HOXB4 protein promotes progenitor expansion. Furthermore, Hirose et al. establishes the production of erythrocytes through terminal differentiation and maturation of immortalized erythroid progenitor cells. Lastly, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the cited teachings because the respective references demonstrate established methods of introducing and expressing the claimed genes, culturing and expanding hematopoietic and erythroid progenitor cells, supplementing progenitor cell culture media, and inducing terminal erythroid differentiation to obtain the claimed genetically modified cells, expression vector kit components, proliferation medium, and erythroid cell products.
The Supreme court has acknowledged:
When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one. If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable varition..103 likely bars its patentability…if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill. A court must ask whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior-art elements according to their established functions…
…the combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 U.S. 2007) emphasis added.
In KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), the Supreme Court reaffirmed "the conclusion that when a patent 'simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform' and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious." Id. at 417 (quoting Sakraida v. Ag Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273,282 (1976)). The Supreme Court also emphasized a flexible approach to the obviousness question, stating that the analysis under 35 U.S.C. § 103 "need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at 418; see also id. at 421 ("A person of ordinary skill is... a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.").
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/JOHN DAVID MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 1638
/JAMES D SCHULTZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1631