DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-12, 15-17, 19-22, and 26 are presented for examination. Claims 13-14, 18, and 23-25 have been canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) submitted by applicant on 01/15/2025 has/have been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97. Form PTO-1449 signed and attached hereto.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 15-17, 19-22, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sebastien et al. (EP 3917078 A1) (Hereinafter Sebastien) in view of Acar et al. (US Patent Application No. US 20140281525 A1) (Hereinafter Acar).
As per claim 1, Sebastien discloses computer-implemented method for proving ownership and/or possession of data m, the method comprising:
generating, based on a secret value r and the data m, a data commitment value (para 23, 34, c.sub.i = g.sup.di ∗ h.sup.xi, wherein g and h are prime order generators, d.sub.i represents a hah of the personal data i and x.sub.i represents as associated secret required to open the commitment);
generating a challenge solution π associated with a designated verifier (para 15,16,24, 35, interactive Schnorr protocol between user (prover and verifier, The prover generates the proof messages exchanged with verifier), wherein the challenge solution π is a zero-knowledge proof proving knowledge of the secret value r (para 15, 16, 19 24, zero knowledge proof is a Schnorr proof, prover proves knowledge of secret value without revealing it); and
making the data m, the challenge solution π , and the data commitment value available to the designated verifier (para 27, 34-35, user sends data and commitment to verifier, user send a proof message);
wherein the secret value r is not known by, or made available to, the designated verifier (para 15, 34-36, zero knowledge proof where verifier learns no secret).
Sebastien does not explicitly disclose a designated verifier. However, Acar discloses a designated verifier
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combining the teachings of Sebastien and Acar. The motivation would have been to improve security by binding the proof to a specific verifier and enhancing privacy-preserving authentication during verification of committed data. so that the proof is cryptographically bound to particular verifier.
The Examiner notes that this motivation applies to all dependent and/or otherwise subsequently addressed claims.
As per claim 2, Acar discloses wherein the step of generating the challenge solution π associated with the designated verifier comprises generating a verifier commitment value associated with the designated verifier, wherein the challenge solution π comprises the verifier commitment value (para 17, 20, 24, Challenge solution/ZKP, Verifier-generated challenge)
As per claim 3, Acar discloses wherein the method further comprises receiving, from the designated verifier, a verifier commitment key associated with the designated verifier, wherein the zero-knowledge proof associated with the designated verifier is generated based on the verifier commitment key (para 17,20,21, verifier designated key, verifier generated challenge, designated verifiable proof/signature).
As per claim 4, Acar discloses wherein the method further comprises generating a hash of the data commitment value and making the hash of the data commitment value available to the designated verifier (para 20, the credential's commitment to generate a hash value for comparison with the presentation proof).
As per claim 5, Sebastien discloses wherein the method further comprises: generating a proof blockchain transaction which, when stored on a blockchain, renders the hash of the data commitment value available (para 21,26, 30-34, user registered to blockchain, commitment committed to blockchain, indication written to blockchain) ; and
causing the proof blockchain transaction to be made available to one or more nodes of the blockchain (para 21,26, 30-34, user registered to blockchain, commitment committed to blockchain, indication written to blockchain, the commitment is uploaded on the blockchain).
As per claim 6, Sebastien discloses wherein the data commitment value is derived based on a data owner commitment key (para 9, 34, the users would be able to register their public key on the blockchain along with commitments of their personal data).
As per claim 7, Sebastien discloses wherein the method further comprises: providing, to a notary, the data commitment value and the data m (para 20, 42-43, a private key for presenting/signing the attributes and the transaction related data. One example implementation may utilize, in part, the credential's commitment to generate a hash value for comparison with the presentation proof); and receiving, from the notary, a signed version of the data (para 5, 42-43,verifier-generated challenge is signed by the user with the credential's private key and returned to the verifier for verification; para 20, a private key for presenting/signing the attributes and the transaction related data. One example implementation may utilize, in part, the credential's commitment to generate a hash value for comparison with the presentation proof).
As per claim 8, Sebastien discloses wherein the signed version of the data is generated by signing the data commitment value (para 20, 42-43, a private key for presenting/signing the attributes and the transaction related data. One example implementation may utilize, in part, the credential's commitment to generate a hash value for comparison with the presentation proof).
As per claim 9, Sebastien discloses wherein the signed version of the data is generated by signing a hash of the data commitment value, wherein the hash of the data commitment value is received from the notary (para 5, verifier-generated challenge is signed by the user with the credential's private key and returned to the verifier for verification; para 20, a private key for presenting/signing the attributes and the transaction related data. One example implementation may utilize, in part, the credential's commitment to generate a hash value for comparison with the presentation proof).
As per claim 10, Sebastien discloses wherein the method further comprises generating a notarisation blockchain transaction which, when stored on the blockchain, renders the signed version of the data received from the notary available (para 5, 42-43, verifier-generated challenge is signed by the user with the credential's private key and returned to the verifier for verification; para 20, a private key for presenting/signing the attributes and the transaction related data. One example implementation may utilize, in part, the credential's commitment to generate a hash value for comparison with the presentation proof).
As per claim 11, Sebastien discloses wherein the method further comprises generating a notarisation blockchain transaction which, when stored on the blockchain, renders the hash of the data commitment value received from the notary available (para 38, fig 2, can be open only to one hash of data (so an adversary can find two different hashes such that the protocol works). The commitment "commitment" is therefore shared first on the blockchain/public platform).
As per claim 12, Sebastien discloses wherein the method is implemented by a notary, the method further comprising: receiving, from a data owner of the data m, the data m (para 10, 23, 34, 42-43, c.sub.i = g.sup.di ∗ h.sup.xi, wherein g and h are prime order generators, d.sub.i represents a hah of the personal data i and x.sub.i represents as associated secret required to open the commitment) ; and
generating a signature associated with the data m (para 10,t he registration takes as input the public keys of the users, commitments of their personal data and a signature to ensure the integrity of the previous fields).
As per claims 15-17 and 19-22, claims are rejected for the same reasons and motivations as claims 1-12, above.
As per claim 26, claims is rejected for the same reasons and motivations as claim 1, above.
Conclusion
Please see the attached PTO-892 for the prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MOHAMMAD A SIDDIQI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493