DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Downs et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2022/0074475 A1) in view of Chopra et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2021/0008969 A1).
For claim 1, Downs et al. disclose the claimed invention comprising: an electric motor (reference numeral 42, figure 2) having a motor output shaft (reference numeral 56) that is rotatable about a first rotational axis (see figure 2); an input pinion (reference numeral 60) that is driven by the motor output shaft (reference numeral 56) about the first rotational axis (see figure 2); a pair of first reduction gears (reference numeral 62) that are meshingly engaged with the input pinion (reference numeral 60, see figures 2, 4, 4A), each of the first reduction gears (reference numeral 62) being rotatable about a respective second rotational axis (i.e. reference numeral 74 as a second rotational axis, see figures 4, 4A) that is parallel to the first rotational axis (see figures 2, 4, 4A); and a differential assembly (reference numeral 46, figure 3) having a differential input (reference numeral 80) and a pair of differential outputs (reference numerals 82, 92, figure 3), each of the differential outputs (reference numerals 82, 92) being driven by the differential input (reference numeral 80). Downs et al. however do not specifically disclose a second reduction gear that is meshingly engaged with the first reduction gears, the second reduction gear being rotatable about a third rotational axis that is parallel to and offset from the first and second rotational axes; a third reduction gear that is driven by the second reduction gear, the third reduction gear being rotatable about the third rotational axis; a fourth reduction gear that is meshingly engaged with the third reduction gear, the fourth reduction gear being rotatable about a fourth rotational axis that is parallel to the second and third rotational axes; the differential input being coupled to the third reduction gear for rotation therewith about the fourth rotational axis; and the differential outputs being rotatable about the fourth rotational axis.
Chopra et al. disclose a second reduction gear (reference numeral 40, see figure 12) being meshingly engaged with first reduction gears (reference numerals 14, 16, see figure 12), the second reduction gear (reference numeral 40, figure 12) being rotatable about a third rotational axis (i.e. axis on which second reduction gear 40 is rotating) that is parallel to and offset from the first and second rotational axes (i.e. the second rotational axis being the axis on which first reduction gears 14, 16 are rotating, and can be considered parallel to and offset from the third rotational axis for second reduction gear 40 in figure 12); a third reduction gear (reference numeral 52, figure 12) that is driven by the second reduction gear (reference numeral 40, figure 12), the third reduction gear being rotatable about the third rotational axis (i.e. axis on which both second reduction gear 40 and third reduction gear 52 is rotating); a fourth reduction gear (reference numeral 54, figure 12) that is meshingly engaged with the third reduction gear (reference numeral 52, see figure 12), the fourth reduction gear being rotatable about a fourth rotational axis (i.e. axis on which fourth reduction gear 54 is rotating) that is parallel to the second and third rotational axes (i.e. the axes on which second reduction gear 40 and first reduction gears 14 and 16 are rotating can be considered parallel to the fourth rotational axis for fourth reduction gear 54 in figure 12). Downs et al. already disclose the differential input being coupled to a gear component (i.e. gear 66 in figure 3 of Downs et al. being coupled to differential input 80), and when combined with the third reduction gear of Chopra et al. this would disclose the differential input being coupled to the third reduction gear for rotation therewith about the fourth rotational axis; and the differential outputs being rotatable about the fourth rotational axis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second reduction gear, third reduction gear, and fourth reduction gear as disclosed by Chopra et al. for coupling with the differential assembly of Downs et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for optimizing axle assembly performance in the device.
For claim 10, Downs et al. disclose an inverter (reference numeral 514, figure 19) that is directly mounted to the electric motor (reference numeral 510, see figure 19).
Claim(s) 2-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Downs et al. in view of Chopra et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Engerman (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2020/0096084 A1).
For claim 2, Downs et al. in view of Chopra et al. disclose the claimed invention except for a planetary reduction disposed between the second and third reduction gears, the planetary reduction having a planetary input, which is coupled to the second reduction gear for rotation therewith, and a planetary output, which is coupled to the third reduction gear for rotation therewith. Engerman discloses a planetary gear set (reference numeral 151) disposed between a gear (reference numeral 150, see figure 2), which can be considered a second gear, and another gear (reference numeral 154, see figure 2), which can be considered a third gear, the planetary gear set having a planetary input (i.e. ring gear 157, figure 2) coupled to the second gear (reference numeral 150, figure 2), and a planetary output (i.e. an output of planetary gear set 151) coupled to the third gear (i.e. the output of planetary gear set 151 can be considered to be attached to third gear 154, see figure 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the planetary reduction as disclosed by Engerman for the second and third reduction gears of Downs et al. in view of Chopra et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for optimizing axle assembly performance in the device.
For claim 3, Downs et al. in view of Chopra et al. and Engerman disclose the claimed invention except for the planetary reduction being at least partly housed in the second reduction gear. Engerman further discloses the planetary gear set (reference numeral 151, figure 2) being at least partly housed in the second gear (reference numeral 150, see figure 2), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the planetary reduction being at least partly housed in the second reduction gear as disclosed by Engerman for the second reduction gear of Downs et al. in view of Chopra et al. and Engerman for predictably providing desirable configuration for optimizing axle assembly performance in the device.
For claim 4, Downs et al. in view of Chopra et al. and Engerman disclose the claimed invention except for the planetary input being a ring gear that is fixedly coupled to the second reduction gear. Engerman further discloses the planetary input being a ring gear (reference numeral 157) that is fixedly coupled to the second gear (reference numeral 150, figure 2), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the ring gear as disclosed by Engerman for the planetary input of Downs et al. in view of Chopra et al. and Engerman for predictably providing desirable configuration for optimizing axle assembly performance in the device.
For claim 5, Downs et al. in view of Chopra et al. and Engerman disclose the claimed invention except for the ring gear and the second reduction gear being unitarily and integrally formed. Engerman further discloses the ring gear (reference numeral 157) and the second reduction gear (reference numeral 150) being unitarily and integrally formed (see figure 2), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the ring gear and the second reduction gear being unitarily and integrally formed as disclosed by Engerman for the ring gear and the second reduction gear of Downs et al. in view of Chopra et al. and Engerman for predictably providing desirable configuration for optimizing axle assembly performance in the device.
For claim 6, Downs et al. in view of Chopra et al. and Engerman disclose the claimed invention except for the planetary reduction being a two-speed reduction. Chopra et al. disclose a speed change mechanism (see paragraph [0065]) which when combined with the planetary reduction of Downs et al. in view of Chopra et al. and Engerman would disclose the planetary reduction being a two-speed reduction, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the speed change mechanism as disclosed by Chopra et al. so that the planetary reduction is a two-speed reduction for Downs et al. in view of Chopra et al. and Engerman for predictably providing desirable configuration for optimizing axle assembly performance in the device.
For claim 7, Downs et al. in view of Chopra et al. and Engerman disclose the claimed invention except for the planetary reduction including a sun gear, a planet carrier and a plurality of planet gears, the planet carrier journally supporting each of the planet gears for rotation about a respective planet gear axis, each of the planet gears being meshingly engaged with the sun gear, wherein one of the planet carrier and the sun gear is axially movable along the third rotational axis between a first position, in which relative rotation is permitted between the planet carrier and the sun gear, and a second position in which relative rotation between the planet carrier and the sun gear is inhibited. Engerman further discloses a sun gear (reference numeral 152, figure 2), a planet carrier (reference numeral 156) and a plurality of planet gears (reference numeral 153, figure 2), the planet carrier (reference numeral 156) journally supporting each of the planet gears (reference numeral 153) for rotation about a respective planet gear axis (see figure 2), each of the planet gears (reference numeral 153) being meshingly engaged with the sun gear (reference numeral 152, see figure 2); and Engerman further discloses one of the planet carrier and the sun gear (i.e. carrier 156, figure 2) being axially movable (Engerman discloses "At least one of the second gear 150 and the carrier 156 is operatively connected to at least one of the idler shaft 142, the sun gear 152, the planet gears 153, and the annulus 157 in such manner to allow movement thereof in both the first and second axial directions", see paragraph [0068]), which would allow a first position, in which relative rotation is permitted between the planet carrier and the sun gear, and a second position in which relative rotation between the planet carrier and the sun gear is inhibited. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the sun gear, planet carrier, and planet gears as disclosed by Engerman for the planetary reduction of Downs et al. in view of Chopra et al. and Engerman for predictably providing desirable configuration for optimizing axle assembly performance in the device.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Downs et al. in view of Chopra et al. and Engerman as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Xiao et al. (Foreign Patent Document No.: CN 215763202 U).
For claim 8, Downs et al. in view of Chopra et al. and Engerman disclose the claimed invention except for the first and fourth rotational axes being coincident. Having axes that are coincident is a known skill as exhibited by Xiao et al. (i.e. an axis for power gear 7 and an axis for differential mechanism 6 are coincident, see figure 2), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the coincident axes as disclosed by Xiao et al. for the first and fourth rotational axes of Downs et al. in view of Chopra et al. and Engerman for predictably providing desirable configuration for optimizing axle assembly performance in the device.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Downs et al. in view of Chopra et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xiao et al. (Foreign Patent Document No.: CN 215763202 U).
For claim 9, Downs et al. in view of Chopra et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the first and fourth rotational axes being coincident. Having axes that are coincident is a known skill as exhibited by Xiao et al. (i.e. an axis for power gear 7 and an axis for differential mechanism 6 are coincident, see figure 2), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the coincident axes as disclosed by Xiao et al. for the first and fourth rotational axes of Downs et al. in view of Chopra et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for optimizing axle assembly performance in the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references disclose embodiments of axle and gear assemblies: US 11318828 B2 (Chopra; Vikram et al.), US 11293534 B2 (Downs; James P. et al.), US 11280391 B2 (Engerman; Eric M.), US 11236804 B2 (Engerman; Eric M. et al.), US 10203028 B2 (Kubo; Aizoh et al.), US 9777818 B2 (Valente; Paul J. et al.), US 20240059132 A1 (DOWNS; James P. et al.), US 20220196126 A1 (DOWNS; James P. et al.), US 20220099168 A1 (Lee; Chi Teck et al.), US 20190113119 A1 (Keeney; Christopher et al.), US 20160153537 A1 (KUBO; Aizoh et al.), US 20120129644 A1 (Palfai; Balazs et al.), US 20060180366 A1 (Brill; Lawrence D. et al.).
/ALEX W MOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834