DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/13/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the published application on 12/29/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a air sending device” in claim 11.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding
structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitations: The outdoor air-sending devices 9 are, for example, centrifugal fans, such as sirocco fans and turbo fans, cross-flow fans, diagonal-flow fans, or propeller fans, as described in paragraph 0048 of the published application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recite “wherein when the heat exchanger serves as a condenser”. However, it is unclear what the metes and bounds of the claim are. It is unclear to the Examiner how the heat exchanger serving as a condenser relate to the heat exchanger serving as a condenser, as recited in claim 1. Clarity is advised.
Claim 2 recite “refrigerant flows from the first refrigerant distributor into the one end portion of each of the plurality of first flat tubes”. However, it is unclear what the metes and bounds of the claim are. It is unclear to the Examiner how the refrigerant flowing from the first refrigerant distributor relate to the heat exchanger in a direction in which refrigerant flows, as recited in claim 1. Clarity is advised.
Claim 8 recite “wherein when the second heat exchanger serves as a condenser”. However, it is unclear what the metes and bounds of the claim are. It is unclear to the Examiner how the second heat exchanger serving as a condenser relate to the heat exchanger serving as a condenser, as recited in claim 1. Clarity is advised.
Claim 8 recite “refrigerant flows from the third refrigerant distributor into the one end portion of each of the plurality of second flat tubes”. However, it is unclear what the metes and bounds of the claim are. It is unclear to the Examiner refrigerant that flows from the third refrigerant distributor relate to the refrigerant recitation in claim 1. Clarity is advised.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsui et al (US 20210222893 A1, hereinafter Matsui) in view of Wang (US 20240384938 A1, hereinafter Wang), Akizuki et al (US 20200200439 A1, hereinafter Akizuki) and Zhang et al (US 20230280113 A1, hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 1, Matsui teaches a heat exchanger (outdoor heat exchanger 3) comprising: a heat exchanger (outdoor heat exchanger 3); and a second heat exchanger (right heat exchanger 3, figure 6), the heat exchanger including a first heat exchange body (heat exchange body 20) that has a plurality of first flat tubes (flat tubes 21) arranged and spaced from each other in a first direction (X axis direction, as shown on figure 6) and each of which tube axis extends in a second direction (in an Y axis, figure 6) that intersects the first direction (as shown on figure 6), a first refrigerant distributor (left refrigerant distributor 24, figure 6) into which one end portion of each of the plurality of first flat tubes is inserted (paragraph 0029) and a second refrigerant distributor (right refrigerant distributor 24, figure 6) into which another end portion of each of the plurality of first flat tubes is inserted (paragraph 0029), the first refrigerant distributor (refrigerant distributor 24, figure 6) having a first outer tube (outer pipe 24b, figure 6) that extends in the first direction (X axis direction, as shown on figure 6) and into which the one end portion of each of the plurality of first flat tubes is inserted (as shown on figure 6), a first inner tube (inner pipe 24a) that extends in the first direction (figure 5), is located inside the first outer tube (figure 5), and has a plurality of first refrigerant outflow holes (refrigerant holes 24c) arranged and spaced from each other in the first direction (figure 5), the second refrigerant distributor (right refrigerant distributor 24, figure 6) having a second outer tube (outer pipe 24b, figure 6) that extends in the first direction (X axis direction, as shown on figure 6) and into which the other end portion of each of the plurality of first flat tubes is inserted (paragraph 0029), a second inner tube (inner pipe 24a) that extends in the first direction (figure 5), is located inside the second outer tube (figure 5), and has a plurality of second refrigerant outflow holes (refrigerant holes 24c) arranged and spaced from each other in the first direction (figure 5), the heat exchanger (outdoor heat exchanger 3) being connected in series (figure 6) to the second heat exchanger (right heat exchanger 3, figure 6), which serves as a condenser (paragraph 0038), the second heat exchanger being located upstream of the heat exchanger in a direction in which refrigerant flows (as shown on figure 6).
Matsui teaches the invention as described above but fail to teach a first partition plate joined to an internal wall of the first outer tube in a state in which the first inner tube passes through a plate thickness, and a second partition plate joined to an internal wall of the second outer tube in a state in which the second inner tube passes through a plate thickness.
However, Wang teaches a first partition plate (partition plate 83, figure 32) joined to an internal wall of the first outer tube (outlet tube section 82, as shown on figure 32) in a state in which the first inner tube passes (pipe 101) through a plate thickness (figure 32), and a second partition plate (additional partition plate 83, figure 32) joined to an internal wall of the second outer tube (additional outlet tube section 82, as shown on figure 32) in a state in which the second inner tube (pipe 102) passes through a plate thickness (figure 32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the heat exchanger in the teachings of Matsui to include the limitations of wherein a part or all a first partition plate joined to an internal wall of the first outer tube in a state in which the first inner tube passes through a plate thickness, and a second partition plate joined to an internal wall of the second outer tube in a state in which the second inner tube passes through a plate thickness in view of the teachings of Wang in order to yield the predictable result of separating the inlet tube sections from each other.
Matsui et al, as modified, teaches the invention as described above but fail to teach the second heat exchanger including a second heat exchange body that has a plurality of second flat tubes arranged and spaced from each other in a third direction and each of which tube axis extends in the second direction, which intersects the third direction, a third refrigerant distributor into which one end portion of each of the plurality of second flat tubes is inserted, and a fourth refrigerant distributor into which another end portion of each of the plurality of second flat tubes is inserted, the third refrigerant distributor having a third outer tube that extends in the third direction and into which the one end portion of each of the plurality of second flat tubes is inserted, the fourth refrigerant distributor having a fourth outer tube that extends in the third direction and into which the other end portion of each of the plurality of second flat tubes is inserted, a fourth inner tube that extends in the third direction, is located inside the fourth outer tube, and has a plurality of fourth refrigerant outflow holes arranged and spaced from each other in the third direction.
However, Akizuki teaches the second heat exchanger (heat exchangers 3a/3b) including a second heat exchange body (figure 2) that has a plurality of second flat tubes (flat tubes 15, figure 3) arranged and spaced from each other in a third direction (X axis, figure 3), and each of which tube axis extends in the second direction (Y axis, figure 3), which intersects the third direction (figure 3), a third refrigerant distributor (pipe 14, figures 2-4) into which one end portion of each of the plurality of second flat tubes is inserted (as shown on figures 2-4), and a fourth refrigerant distributor (pipe 14) into which another end portion of each of the plurality of second flat tubes is inserted (figures 2-4), the third refrigerant distributor (pipe 14, figures 2-4) having a third outer tube (outer pipe 14b) that extends in the third direction (X axis, figure 3) and into which the one end portion of each of the plurality of second flat tubes is inserted (as shown on figures 2-4), the fourth refrigerant distributor (pipe 14) having a fourth outer tube (outer pipe 14b) that extends in the third direction (X axis, figure 3) and into which the other end portion of each of the plurality of second flat tubes is inserted (as shown on figures 2-4), a fourth inner tube (inner pipe 14a) that extends in the third direction (X axis, figure 3), is located inside the fourth outer tube (figure 3), and has a plurality of fourth refrigerant outflow holes (holes 14a1) arranged and spaced from each other in the third direction (X axis, figure 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the heat exchanger in the teachings of Matsui et al as previously modified above to include the limitations of wherein a part or all the second heat exchanger including a second heat exchange body that has a plurality of second flat tubes arranged and spaced from each other in a third direction and each of which tube axis extends in the second direction, which intersects the third direction, a third refrigerant distributor into which one end portion of each of the plurality of second flat tubes is inserted, and a fourth refrigerant distributor into which another end portion of each of the plurality of second flat tubes is inserted, the third refrigerant distributor having a third outer tube that extends in the third direction and into which the one end portion of each of the plurality of second flat tubes is inserted, the fourth refrigerant di10-11stributor having a fourth outer tube that extends in the third direction and into which the other end portion of each of the plurality of second flat tubes is inserted, a fourth inner tube that extends in the third direction, is located inside the fourth outer tube, and has a plurality of fourth refrigerant outflow holes arranged and spaced from each other in the third direction in view of the teachings of Akizuki in order to yield the predictable result of allowing series refrigerant flow path is formed in which refrigerant flows in series through each set of the air heat exchangers.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach a fourth partition plate joined to an internal wall of the fourth outer tube in a state in which the fourth inner tube passes through a plate thickness, when the heat exchanger serves as a condenser.
However, Zhang teaches a fourth partition plate (end cap 15, figure 2) joined to an internal wall (figure 2) of the fourth outer tube (header 1) in a state in which the fourth inner tube (connecting tube 3) passes through a plate thickness (as shown on figure 2), when the heat exchanger (heat exchanger 100) serves as a condenser (paragraph 0035).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the heat exchanger in the teachings of Matsui et al as previously modified above to include the limitations of wherein a part or all a fourth partition plate joined to an internal wall of the fourth outer tube in a state in which the fourth inner tube passes through a plate thickness, when the heat exchanger serves as a condenser in view of the teachings of Zhang in order to yield the predictable result of inputting the heat exchange medium to the heat exchanger.
Regarding claim 2, Matsui et al as modified, teaches wherein when the heat exchanger (outdoor heat exchanger 3 of Matsui) serves as a condenser (paragraph 0038 of Matsui), refrigerant flows from the first refrigerant distributor (left refrigerant distributor 24, figure 6 of Matsui) into the one end portion of each of the plurality of first flat tubes (flat tubes 21, as shown on figure 6 of Matsui), flows through inside the plurality of first flat tubes (as also shown on figure 6 of Matsui), and flows out from the other end portion of each of the plurality of first flat tubes (from the right side heat exchanger 3 distributors 24, figure 6 of Matsui) into the second refrigerant distributor (as shown on figure 6 of Matsui).
Regarding claim 3, Matsui et al as modified, teaches wherein the refrigerant that flows from the first refrigerant distributor (through the refrigerant distributor 24, paragraph 0037 of Matsui) into the one end portion of each of the plurality of first flat tubes (gasified refrigerant flows out through the first header 23, paragraph 0037 of Matsui, also interpreted as passing through tubes 21 before exiting through header 23) is in a two- phase gas-liquid state (a two-phase gas-liquid state, paragraph 0037 of Matsui).
Regarding claim 5, Matsui et al as modified, teaches wherein the plurality of first flat tubes (flat tubes 21 of Matsui) has a leeward first flat tube (left side of tubes 21, figure 3 of Matsui) that is located leeward in a direction (left portion, figure 3 of Matsui) in which air flows (as shown on figure 3 of Matsui) and has the one end portion of each of the plurality of first flat tubes (as shown on figure 5 of Matsui), and a windward first flat tube (right side of tubes 21, figure 3 of Matsui) that is located windward in the direction in which air flows (as shown on figure 3 of Matsui) and has the other end portion of each of the plurality of first flat tubes (as shown on figure 3 of Matsui), and an end portion of the leeward first flat tube that is opposite the one end portion and an end portion of the windward first flat tube that is opposite the other end portion are connected to each other through a first reverse header (via turnaround header, as shown on figure 3 of Matsui).
Regarding claim 8, Matsui et al as modified, teaches wherein when the second heat exchanger serves as a condenser (right side heat exchanger 3 functions as a condenser, paragraph 0038 and as shown on figure 6 of Matsui), refrigerant flows from the third refrigerant distributor (header 23 of Matsui) into the one end portion of each of the plurality of second flat tubes (one end of tubes 21, figure 6 of Matsui), flows through inside the plurality of second flat tubes (as shown on figure 6 of Matsui), and flows out from the other end portion of each of the plurality of second flat tubes (as shown on figure 6 of Matsui) into the fourth refrigerant distributor (refrigerant distributor 24 of Matsui).
Regarding claim 9, Matsui et al as modified, teaches wherein the refrigerant that flows from the third refrigerant distributor (header 23 of Matsui) into the one end portion of each of the plurality of second flat tubes (flat tubes 21 of Matsui) is in a gas state (the refrigerant that has flowed into the outdoor heat exchanger 3 causes heat exchange to be performed with air on the wind generated by the fan 4, and is thereby evaporated and gasified. The gasified refrigerant flows out through the first header 23, paragraph 0037 of Matsui).
Regarding claim 10, Matsui et al as modified, teaches wherein the plurality of second flat tubes (flat tubes 21 of right side heat exchanger 3, as shown on figure 6 of Matsui) has a leeward second flat tube (left side of tubes 21, figure 3 of Matsui) that is located leeward in a direction (left portion, figure 6 of Matsui) in which air flows (as shown on figure 6 of Matsui) and has the one end portion of each of the plurality of second flat tubes (as shown on figure 6 of Matsui), and a windward second flat tube (right side of tubes 21 of right side heat exchanger 3, figure 6 of Matsui) that is located windward in the direction in which air flows (as shown on figure 6 of Matsui) and has the other end portion of each of the plurality of second flat tubes (as shown on figure 6 of Matsui), and an end portion of the leeward second flat tube that is opposite the one end portion and an end portion of the windward second flat tube that is opposite the other end portion are connected to each other through a second reverse header (via turnaround header, as shown on figure 3 of Matsui).
Regarding claim 11, Matsui et al as modified, teaches a refrigeration cycle apparatus (air-conditioning apparatus 100 of Matsui) comprising an outdoor unit (outdoor unit 10 of Matsui), wherein the outdoor unit is provided with the heat exchanger of claim 1 (outdoor heat exchanger 3 of Matsui), the second heat exchanger of claim 1 (right side heat exchanger 3, figure 6 of Matsui), a refrigerant pipe (bent portions 30/31, figure 6 of Matsui) through which the heat exchanger and the second heat exchanger are connected to each other (as shown on figure 6 of Matsui), a housing (housing 9 of Matsui) that is box-shaped (as shown on figure 2 of Matsui) and houses the heat exchanger and the second heat exchanger inside (as shown on figure 2 of Matsui), and an air-sending device (fan 4 of Matsui) located at a upper portion of the housing (as shown on figure 2 of Matsui) and configured to form a flow of air by being driven to rotate and blow out the air that passes through the heat exchanger and the second heat exchanger upward from an upper face of the housing (as described in paragraph 0026 of Matsui), and the heat exchanger and the second heat exchanger are located along a part or all of four side faces of the housing (as shown on figure 2 of Matsui).
Further, it is understood, claim 11 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configured to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsui as modified by Wang, Akizuki and Zhang, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Kanagala et al (US 20220221203 A1, hereinafter Kanagala).
Regarding claim 4, Matsui et al as modified, teaches the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein a part or all of specifications of the first refrigerant distributor differ from a part or all of specifications of the second refrigerant distributor, and the specifications of the first refrigerant distributor and the specifications of the second refrigerant distributor are defined according to an uniformity state of distribution of the refrigerant in the first refrigerant distributor and the second refrigerant distributor when the heat exchanger serves as a condenser and pressure loss caused in the first refrigerant distributor and the second refrigerant distributor when the heat exchanger serves as an evaporator.
However, Kanagala teaches wherein a part or all of specifications of the first refrigerant distributor (apertures of distributor tube 612, paragraph 0063) differ from a part or all of specifications of the second refrigerant distributor (paragraphs 0060 and 0063), and the specifications of the first refrigerant distributor and the specifications of the second refrigerant distributor are defined according to an uniformity state of distribution of the refrigerant in the first refrigerant distributor and the second refrigerant distributor (first and second diameter, paragraph 0063) when the heat exchanger serves as a condenser (indoor coil 112 acting as a condenser, paragraph 0055) and pressure loss caused in the first refrigerant distributor and the second refrigerant distributor when the heat exchanger serves as an evaporator (a person of ordinary skill in the art would determine that an evaporator experiences a low-pressure or pressure loss as it absorbs heat).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the heat exchanger in the teachings of Matsui et al as previously modified above to include the limitations of wherein a part or all wherein a part or all of specifications of the first refrigerant distributor differ from a part or all of specifications of the second refrigerant distributor, and the specifications of the first refrigerant distributor and the specifications of the second refrigerant distributor are defined according to an uniformity state of distribution of the refrigerant in the first refrigerant distributor and the second refrigerant distributor when the heat exchanger serves as a condenser and pressure loss caused in the first refrigerant distributor and the second refrigerant distributor when the heat exchanger serves as an evaporator in view of the teachings of Kanagala in order to yield the predictable result of enabling the air system to provide a full-load efficiency comparable to existing air systems while also providing increased part-load efficiency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Maema et al (US 20230288145 A1) discloses a similar a heat exchanger includes a plurality of flat heat transfer tubes, and a header in which an insertion space is formed, wherein a plurality of first flow channels and a plurality of second flow channels are formed in each of the flat heat transfer tubes.
Zhang et al (US 20220214113 A1) discloses a similar heat exchanger that includes a first header, a second header, heat exchange tubes, and an end cap. Each of the heat exchange tubes has an end connected to the first header and another end connected to the second header.
/DARIO ANTONIO DELEON/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763