Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-16, 20, 21, 28, 29, 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(2) as being anticipated by Rusch (11,612,247).
Regarding claim 13, Ellsworth et al. disclose 13 an assembly type bar stool base 10, characterized in comprising: a connecting member 40 and at least three leg components 50, wherein the connecting member comprises a vertical joint, and at least three transverse joints 111 equal in number to the leg components, one end of each of the leg components is in detachable connection with a corresponding transverse joint of the connecting member.
Regarding claim 14, Rusch discloses the detachable connection is a screw connection 104.
Regarding claim 15, Rusch discloses a reinforcement frame, wherein the reinforcement frame 70 is in detachable fixation with the leg components from outside the assembly type bar stool base.
Regarding claim 16, Rusch discloses the detachable connection is a screw connection 104.
Regarding claims 20 and 21, Rusch discloses each of the leg components 50 is a tubular leg, which is a steel tube with a circular, rectangular or square cross-section (col. 5, lines 3-21).
Regarding claims 28 and 29, Rusch discloses the reinforcement frame 70 is a tubular reinforcement frame, which is in a circular ring shape.
Regarding claim 32, Rusch discloses an assembly type bar stool, characterized in comprising: the assembly type bar stool base of claim 13; a lifting column 32 with a lower end thereof fitted in the vertical joint of the connecting member of the assembly type bar stool base; and a seat mounted 20 to an upper end of the lifting column.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rusch.
Regarding claims 22, 23, Rusch fails to disclose the number of the transverse joints of the connecting member is three, and the number of the leg components is also three.
However, Rusch has no limitations that prevents from using only three legs. Furthermore, Rusch discloses any modifications are apparent without departing from the scope of the invention. In this instance, modifying the Rusch invention to have three legs will not depart from the scope. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to three legs to reduce cost, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a ornamental design on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claims 24, 25, Rusch in figures 1-8 discloses the number of the transverse joints of the connecting member is four, and the number of the leg components is also four.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to four legs to reduce cost, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a ornamental design on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 26, 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rusch in view of Hasegawa (11,891,149).
Regarding claims 26 and 27, Hasegawa discloses wherein each of the leg components comprises an upright section supported on floor, a horizontal section as the one end, and an inclined section connecting the upright section and the horizontal section (see figure A below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Hasegawa and include the leg features in the invention of Rusch because it is durable and cost effective.
Figure A
Claim(s) 30, 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rusch in view of Rheault et al. (11,103,072).
Regarding claims 30, 31, Rheault et al. discloses the reinforcement frame 38 is a tubular reinforcement frame, which is in a polygonal ring shape having the same number of sides as the number of the leg components (fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Rheault et al. and use a polygonal ring shape in the invention of Rusch in order to make the invention more durable with low cost.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 17-19, Rusch fails to disclose a fixed cover plate, wherein the fixed cover plate is detachably covered over the connecting member, the fixed cover plate has a vertical mounting hole aligned with and fixed to the vertical joint of the connecting member, and a plurality of transverse mounting recesses equal in number to the leg components, and each of the plurality of transverse mounting recesses snaps and fastens a corresponding leg component.
No other prior art references in the record whether taken alone or in combination can solve these dissimilarities.
Conclusion
/SYED A ISLAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636