DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 10 and 11 appear to be written in an independent form, yet also refers back to the other independent claim 1 (and claim 10). In an interpretation, claims 10 and 11 may be construed as independent claims; and in another interpretation they may also be construed as a dependent claim. In order to prevent any foreseeable ambiguity, it is suggested to bring the entire claim 1 in to the claim 10 (and claim 11 as well respectively) to have the claims construed as a proper independent claim; or, correct the dependency of the claims 10 and 11 (as shown in other depending claims e.g., claim 12, claim 2, etc.) to have the claim construed as a proper dependent claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gamm et al (US 20200330162 A1) in view of Mariampillai et al (US 20180078317 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gamm teaches
An optical monitoring device for tracking (tracker 10) comprising;
a base layer that serves as a sterile drape and has an interior face intended to face skin of a patient and an exterior face opposite the interior face (paragraph 77 discloses the tracker 10, which can be attached to the surface of the skin and which therefore has an inner surface and an outer surface);
the base layer comprising an intervention region corresponding to an opening or to a region that is intended to be cut in order to expose an zone of the patient's skin where the intervention is to take place (figure 6A shows the base layer in the form of a covering which is then shown in figure 6B with an incision made in the middle in order to interact with the patient's skin where the intervention is to take place);
and a marking region (14) that at least partially surrounds the intervention region (see figures 6A and 6B),
wherein said marking region comprising:
on the interior face, an adhesive material for fixing the optical tracking device on to the patient's skin (paragraph 77 discloses that the tracker 10 is attached to the surface of the skin by an adhesive);
on the exterior face, at least three optical markers (14) or at least three fixing supports each intended to receive an optical marker (see figures 6A and 6B);
a fiber optic sensor fastened to the base layer and comprising at least one measurement point associated with each of the optical markers or fixing supports (paragraph 40 and figures 6A and B disclose the tracker supported by the patch 12, which are electrical connectors, and that the markers 14 may comprise a light source and an optical fibre),
Gamm does not point out the specifics of an optical fiber incorporating Bragg gratings.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Mariampillai teaches present disclosure relates to guidance and tracking systems for tracking flexible implements, such as flexible medical instruments. More specifically, the present disclosure relates to an integrated system of markers (active or passive) and fiber Bragg grating (FBG) arrays arranged for interventional and/or surgical procedures and the tracking of flexible medical implements used in these procedures [0002]. A Fiber Bragg Grating (FBG) is a type of optical sensor, which can be constructed by exposing a photosensitive fiber to a spatially varying distribution of light to induce a periodic index of refraction change within the core of the fiber [0007].
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the method and/or device of the modified combination of reference(s) as outlined above with as taught by Mariampillai because measurements can be used to infer a local bending radius of curvature the FBG undergoes, yielding information about the shape of the fiber and/or a device to which it is securely attached ([0012] of Mariampillai).
Regarding claim 2, Gamm teaches wherein the base layer is a polyethylene film lined with a cellulose absorbent film (“The patch 12 comprises a deformable material. The patch 12 may, for example, comprise at least one of polyimide (PI), liquid crystal polymer (LCP) and polyurethane (PU), such as thermoplastic PU (TPU). Additionally or alternatively, the patch 12 may comprise other materials that result in a deformability of the patch 12, such as rubber or textile. The patch 12 may comprise an open-pored and/or closed-pored foamed material. The patch 12 may be manufactured as a molded article.” [0036]).
Regarding claim 3, Gamm teaches the intervention region is precut in the base layer (opening 28 is arranged over an incision 30 made on the patient's surface and therefore predetermined [0077]).
Regarding claim 4, Gamm teaches the base layer comprises visual indications defining the marking region (see e.g., figures 6A & 6B and the associated pars).
Regarding claims 5, Gamm teaches the adhesive material takes the form of an adhesive tape connecting together the various points at which the optical markers or the fixing supports are situated (“The tracker 10 shown in FIGS. 6A, B is attached to a skin surface of a patient (e.g., by an adhesive), wherein the opening 28 is arranged over an incision 30 made in the surface of the patient.” [0077]).
Regarding claims 8 and 12, Gamm teaches all the claimed limitations except for active optical marker being configured to emit a differently modulated infrared signal.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Mariampillai teaches an optical tracking system may be configured to operate with visible or infrared light [0091].
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the method and/or device of the modified combination of reference(s) as outlined above with as taught by Mariampillai because measurements can be used to infer a local bending radius of curvature the FBG undergoes, yielding information about the shape of the fiber and/or a device to which it is securely attached ([0012] of Mariampillai).
Regarding claims 9, Gamm teaches the optical markers are passive and there are at least four optical markers (see e.g., figures 6A & 6B and the associated pars).
Regarding claims 10, Gamm teaches an optical monitoring device of claim 1 (see rejections above for claim 1) said optical monitoring device being equipped with optical markers (“tracker element in form of a light source 14” [0040])
a measuring device configured to cooperate with the fiber optic sensor to determine a relative position of each of the optical markers in a frame of reference of the measuring device (“tracker 10 and a sensor system (not shown) configured to detect information indicative of at least one degree of freedom (e.g., position and orientation) of the tracker 10” [0041]; “light source 14 may comprise at least one of a light emitting diode (LED)… an optical fibre” [0040]), and
a locating device configured to cooperate with the optical markers to determine a position of each of the optical markers in a frame of reference of the locating device (“the tracker 10 and a sensor system (not shown) configured to detect information indicative of at least one degree of freedom (e.g., position and orientation) of the tracker 10” [0048]).
Regarding claims 11, Gamm teaches an optical navigation method utilizing an optical navigation system of claim 10 (see the above rejections for claim 10), said method comprising:
determining with the aid of the locating device of the position of at least one optical marker visible to the locating device identifying said at least one visible optical marker from among all the optical markers determining with the aid of the measuring device of the positions of all of the optical markers relative to one another (“tracker 10 further comprises tracker element in form of a light source 14 supported by the patch 12. The light source 14 may comprise at least one of a light emitting diode (LED), an organic light emitting diode (OLED), a laser, an incandescent light source and an optical fibre. The tracker 10 may comprise a plurality of light sources 14. With a larger number (such as two, three, four, or more) of light sources 14, the amount of trackable degrees of freedom and/or the tracking” [0040]),
determining the position of at least one optical marker that is not visible to the locating device on the basis of the position of the visible optical marker and the positions of the optical markers relative to one another (“the tracker 10 and a sensor system (not shown) configured to detect information indicative of at least one degree of freedom (e.g., position and orientation) of the tracker 10” [0041]), and
estimating the position of the optical monitoring device from the positions of at least three optical markers (“the tracker 10 is attached to the skin of the patient, a force is acting on the tracker 10. The patch 12 and the electrical connections 16 (due to their meandering shape) are deformable and can therefore adapt to the force by deformation. FIG. 6B shows the tracker 10 in a deformed configuration. In its deformed configuration, a distance between the light sources 14 is increased. The increased distance is compensated by a (partial) straightening of the meandering shapes of the electrical connections 16. From the deformed position illustrated in FIG. 6B, the tracker 10 may deform back to the non-deformed position illustrated in FIG. 6A when the incision is closed again, without impairing or interrupting the tracking process. Deviations of individual light sources 14 from their preceding position upon deformation or relaxation can easily be compensated” [0079]).
Regarding claims 13, Gamm teaches the optical markers are passive and there are at least four optical markers (see e.g., figures 6A & 6B and the associated pars), the distances between two optical markers taken two by two all differ by at least one predetermined margin value, and the method further comprises:
determining with the aid of the locating device of the position of at least three optical markers visible to the locating device (see e.g., fig. 6 and the associated pars)
identifying said three optical markers from among all of the optical markers on the basis of the distances between two optical markers determined for at least two different pairs of optical markers formed from among said at least three visible optical markers (“FIG. 6B shows the tracker 10 in a deformed configuration. In its deformed configuration, a distance between the light sources 14 is increased. The increased distance is compensated by a (partial) straightening of the meandering shapes of the electrical connections 16. From the deformed position illustrated in FIG. 6B, the tracker 10 may deform back to the non-deformed position illustrated in FIG. 6A when the incision is closed again, without impairing or interrupting the tracking process” [0079]).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gamm et al (US 20200330162 A1) in view of Mariampillai et al (US 20180078317 A1) further in view of Buchalter (US20130150703A1).
Regarding claim 6, Gamm teaches all the claimed limitations except for adhesive tape is a polyethylene film coated with an acrylic adhesive or a rayon woven fabric covered with an acrylic adhesive.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Buchalter teaches biopsy grid is provided that is useful in medical imaging. Strips that serve as markers in an image. The biopsy grid can be used to locate the position of the marker relative to a tissue of interest in a medical image (abst). Identifying the location of a marker relative to a tissue of interest in medical images [0005]. Medical grade adhesive that is suitable for affixing the grid to the skin of a subject. In some embodiments, the adhesive layer is made of acrylic [0015]. The adhesive layer 30 may be, for example, a low tack acrylic based adhesive made of medical grade adhesive suitable for releasably securing the frame to the skin of a subject, such as an animal or human patient. A release liner 20 may be used to cover the adhesive layer 30 to prevent drying of the adhesive and the hydrogel prior to use. The release liner 20 may be provided with a pull tab 22 for easy removal. The release liner is widely available from many suppliers (e.g., Avery Dennison, Brea, Calif.) and is typically polyethylene material coated [0025]
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the method and/or device of the modified combination of reference(s) as outlined above with adhesive tape is a polyethylene film coated with an acrylic adhesive as taught by Buchalter because it provides an improved manufacturing method for making marking grids, and improved materials for use in the radio-opaque strip material ([0003] of Buchalter).
Regarding claims 7, Gamm teaches all the claimed limitations except for radio-opaque markers.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Buchalter teaches biopsy grid is provided that is useful in medical imaging. Strips that serve as markers in an image. The biopsy grid can be used to locate the position of the marker relative to a tissue of interest in a medical image (abst). Identifying the location of a marker relative to a tissue of interest in medical images [0005]. Marking grids are useful for locating the position on the surface of a patient where a biopsy needle should be inserted. The grids typically include a radiopaque material, arranged in strips, mounted on a radio translucent border or frame [0002].
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the method and/or device of the modified combination of reference(s) as outlined above with radio-opaque markers as taught by Buchalter because it provides an improved manufacturing method for making marking grids, and improved materials for use in the radio-opaque strip material ([0003] of Buchalter).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SERKAN AKAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797