Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendments filed 12/30/2024 to the abstract, claims, and specification have been reviewed and accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 34, 40-42, 44, and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Adams (US-20190099915).
Regarding claim 34, Adams teaches:
A method for manufacturing a decorative element comprising a substrate and a top layer wherein the substrate is made of an engineered stone ([0002]) and wherein the top layer comprises a decorative pattern ([0032] - [0037]), comprising the steps of:
- providing a mixture comprising at least an inorganic filler and a binder ([0017] – [0018]);
- compacting the mixture ([0010] and [0025]);
- curing the binder to obtain the substrate ([0011] and [0028]);
- inkjet printing a first decorative pattern on at least a top surface of the cured substrate ([0028] - [0035] and [0081]);
wherein before said step of inkjet printing, the method comprises the step of providing an adhesion promoter coating on the surface of the substrate ([0041]).
Regarding claim 40, Adams teaches the limitations of claim 34, which claim 40 depends on. Adams further teaches:
wherein the method comprises applying a primer coating above said adhesion promoter coating ([0041] - [0042]).
Regarding claim 41, Adams teaches the limitations of claim 40, which claim 41 depends on. Adams further teaches:
wherein the primer coating is transparent or translucent ([0042]).
Regarding claim 42, Adams teaches the limitations of claim 40, which claim 42 depends on. Adams further teaches:
wherein the primer coating is a radiation curable substance, preferably UV curable substance ([0042]).
Regarding claim 44, Adams teaches the limitations of claim 40, which claim 44 depends on. Adams further teaches:
wherein the primer coating is acrylate based, for example acrylate-based oligomers such as epoxy acrylate, polyester acrylate, urethane acrylate, or acrylate-based monomers ([0041] – [0042]), preferably having functionality from 1 to 6.
Regarding claim 46, Adams teaches the limitations of claim 34, which claim 46 depends on. Adams further teaches:
wherein the method comprises applying a protective coating above said first decorative pattern ([0041] – [0042] and [0095] – [0097]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams (US-20190099915), as applied to claim 34 above.
Regarding claim 36, Adams teaches the limitations of claim 34, which claim 36 depends on. Adams further teaches:
wherein the adhesion promoter coating is applied in a wet quantity between 20 and 60 g/sqm, preferably 40 g/sqm. While Adams is silent as to the exact wet quantity of the adhesion promoter coating applied, this is a cause effective variable which would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust and find the proper amount when performing the process taught by Adams, in the absence of a showing of criticality or unexpected results.
It is well settled that determination of optimum values of cause effective variables such as these process parameters is within the skill of one practicing in the art. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claims 35, 43, 47-50, and 52-53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams (US-20190099915) as applied to claims 34, 42, and 46 above, respectively, and further in view of Metten (US-20200157012).
Regarding claim 35, Adams teaches the limitations of claim 34, which claim 35 depends on, but does not explicitly teach the adhesion promoter being silane based. However, Metten, in a similar field of endeavor, a method for manufacturing a decorative element on engineered stone with a decorative pattern top layer, teaches:
wherein the adhesion promoter coating comprises a silane-based substance ([0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the adhesion promoter of Adams to incorporate the teachings of Metten and have it be silane based. The purpose, as stated by Metten, being to further improve the adhesion of the printing composition to the concrete ([0038]).
Regarding claim 43, Adams teaches the limitations of claim 42, which claim 43 depends on, but does not teach gelling the primer coating. However, Metten, in a similar field of endeavor, a method for manufacturing a decorative element on engineered stone with a decorative pattern top layer, teaches:
wherein the method comprises the step of gelling the primer coating ([0038] – [0039]), preferably using Gallium (Ga) UV lamp.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the primer coating step of Adams to incorporate the teachings of Metten and gel the primer coating. The purpose, as stated by Metten, being that a cover layer D based on a sol-gel coating, is also suitable as a primer ([0038]).
Regarding claim 47, Adams teaches the limitations of claim 46, which claim 47 depends on, but does not explicitly teach the protective coating comprising two coats. However, Metten, in a similar field of endeavor, a method for manufacturing a decorative element on engineered stone with a decorative pattern top layer, teaches:
wherein the protective coating comprises a base coat that is applied immediately on top of the printed pattern and a top coat that is provided above the base coat ([0036]). Metten teaches using at least one cover layer as the protective coating ([0036] – [0037]) therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using Metten to modify Adams to include a base coat and a top coat provided one on top of the other, in the absence of a showing of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 48, Adams in view of Metten teaches the limitations of claim 47, which claim 48 depends on. Adams further teaches:
wherein the base coat is transparent or translucent ([0042]).
Regarding claim 49, Adams in view of Metten teaches the limitations of claim 47, which claim 49 depends on. Adams further teaches:
wherein the base coat is preferably acrylate based, for example acrylate-based oligomers such as epoxy acrylate, polyester acrylate, urethane acrylate, or acrylate-based monomers ([0041] – [0042]), preferably having functionality from 1 to 6.
Regarding claim 50, Adams in view of Metten teaches the limitations of claim 47, which claim 50 depends on. Adams further teaches:
wherein the base coat comprises scratch resistance additives, for example hard particles ([0042]).
Regarding claim 52, Adams in view of Metten teaches the limitations of claim 47, which claim 52 depends on. Metten further teaches:
wherein the base coat is applied in an amount between 5 and 75 g/sqm, preferably between 5 to 60 g/sqm, for example 6 or 60 g/sqm While Adams is silent as to the exact amount of the protective coat applied, this is a cause effective variable which would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust and find the proper amount when performing the process taught by Adams, in the absence of a showing of criticality or unexpected results.
It is well settled that determination of optimum values of cause effective variables such as these process parameters is within the skill of one practicing in the art. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 53, Adams in view of Metten teaches the limitations of claim 47, which claim 53 depends on. Metten further teaches:
wherein the method comprises the step of at least partially, possibly fully, curing the base coat before the step of providing the top coat. While Metten is silent as to whether the first coat of the protective coating is cured before providing the second coat, Metten does provide different options for when to cure the protective coat ([0036] – [0037]), therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art looking at Adams in view of Metten as combined in the rejection of claim 47 above to perform the claim limitations of this claim, as performing the steps of curing and applying the two coats, which can be identical as far as the claimed limitations are concerned, sequentially or simultaneously does not hold any patentable weight in the absence of a showing of criticality.
In general, the transposition of process steps or the splitting of one step into two, where the processes are substantially identical or equivalent in terms of function, manner and result, was held to be not patentably distinguish the processes. Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. Pat. App. 1959).
Claims 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams (US-20190099915) as applied to claim 34 above, and further in view of Marzolin (US-20020182334).
Regarding claim 37, Adams teaches the limitations of claim 34, which claim 37 depends on. Adams further teaches:
wherein the adhesion promoter coating is a water-based substance ([0041]).
Adams does not explicitly teach:
the method further comprises the step of drying the adhesion promoter coating.
However, Marzolin, in a similar field of endeavor, a method for manufacturing an engineered stone with an adhesion promoter on top, teaches:
the method further comprises the step of drying the adhesion promoter coating ([0002], [0004], and [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the adhesion promoter step of Adams to incorporate the teachings of Marzolin and incorporate a step of drying the adhesion promoter coating. The purpose, as stated by Marzolin, being it is preferable to leave an amount of time which is sufficient for the material to dry ([0034]).
Regarding claim 38, Adams in view of Marzolin teaches the limitations of claim 37, which claim 38 depends on. Marzolin further teaches:
wherein the adhesion promoter coating, before drying, comprises a dry to water content between 1:6 and 1:2, for example 1:4 ([0041]).
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams (US-20190099915) in view of Marzolin (US-20020182334), as applied to claim 37 above, and further in view of Metten (US-20200157012).
Regarding claim 39, Adams in view of Marzolin teaches the limitations of claim 37, which claim 39 depends on, but does not explicitly teach the drying step being performing using air blowing or electromagnetic radiation. However, Metten, in a similar field of endeavor, a method for manufacturing a decorative element on engineered stone with a decorative pattern top layer, teaches:
wherein said drying step can be performed using air blowing and/or IR radiation ([0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the drying step of Adams in view of Marzolin to incorporate the teachings of Metten and have the drying step be performed using electromagnetic radiation. The purpose, as stated by Metten, being that a cover layer D based on a coating that cures under the action of electromagnetic radiation ([0039]).
Claim 45 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams (US-20190099915), as applied to claim 40 above, and further in view of Chowdhury (US-20180037514).
Regarding claim 45, Adams teaches the limitations of claim 40, which claim 45 depends on, but does not explicitly teach the primer comprising UV absorbers. However, Chowdhury, in a similar field of endeavor, a method of inkjet printing material, on a cement based substrate, teaches:
wherein the primer coating comprises UV absorbers, for example belonging to the triazine family or benzotriazole family ([0206]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the primer coating of Adams to incorporate the teachings of Chowdhury and have it comprise UV absorbers. The purpose, as stated by Chowdhury, being that it may be used as surface additives to provide good substrate wetting and good anti-crater performance by reduction of surface tension of the coatings. Suitable stabilizers encompass typical UV absorbers, such as oxanilides, triazines, benzotriazoles ([0206]).
Claim 51 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams (US-20190099915) in view of Metten (US-20200157012), as applied to claim 47 above, and further in view of Chowdhury (US-20180037514).
Regarding claim 51, Adams in view of Metten teaches the limitations of claim 47, which claim 51 depends on, but does not explicitly teach the base coat comprising UV absorbers. However, Chowdhury, in a similar field of endeavor, a method of inkjet printing material, on a cement based substrate, teaches:
wherein the base coat comprises UV absorbers, for example belonging to the triazine family or benzotriazole family ([0206]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the base coat of Adams in view of Metten to incorporate the teachings of Chowdhury and have it comprise UV absorbers. The purpose, as stated by Chowdhury, being that it may be used as surface additives to provide good substrate wetting and good anti-crater performance by reduction of surface tension of the coatings. Suitable stabilizers encompass typical UV absorbers, such as oxanilides, triazines, benzotriazoles ([0206]).
Conclusion
/A.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1741 /JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748