DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed to.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 12/30/2024 has been entered and made of record. Claim 13 is cancelled. Claims 1-12, 14-21 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12, 14, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CAO (US 2021/0110579 A1) in view of WEI et al. (CN113763566A).
RE claim 1, Cao teaches hiding private content contained in a screenshot [abstract]. Cao teaches an effect processing method, comprising:
(a)
obtaining a screen image to be processed and
Fig. 2 (202A), Cao teaches acquiring a screenshot image (said screen image) [0052]. The device may capture the screen display content of the electronic device to generate a screenshot image when the electronic device detects that a predefined physical key combination is triggered [0053].
(b)
determining a region to be processed that corresponds to the screen image to be processed, in response to an effect trigger operation for the screen image to be processed;
Fig. 2 (204A), Cao teaches hiding private content contained in the screenshot image [0056]. The private content may be located in a preset fixed area in the screenshot image (said determining region to be processed) [0057]. Cao also teaches the private content can be located on the device screen not in a fixed area, so then private content can be recognized to ensure completion of the hiding processing of the private content (said determining region to be processed) [0058-0059]. Additionally, Cao teaches after a screenshot operation is implemented, an option for enabling a private content hiding function provided by the application can be shown regarding the screenshot image, and when enabling option is triggered (said effect operation), the private content contained in the screenshot image is hidden (said in response to an effect trigger operation for the screen image to be processed) [0067].
Cao teaches the limitation of claim 1 apart from disclosing a three-dimensional mask model. Cao provides the example of messages being private, however Cao teaches an open-ended list of information, such as user portrait, username, user position [0065]. The content may include text, image, video, and other forms, which are not limited [0066].
Wei teaches an image generation system/method which forms a virtual effect based on a 3D model, and judges the masked area, so that the virtual effect in the enhanced image is more natural [0005].
(c)
determining a three-dimensional mask model corresponding to the region to be processed, and
In further view of Wei, Fig. 1, system (100) of Wei includes an image capture device (110), memory (130), display (150), and a processor (170) [0011]. Fig. 2, Wei processor (170) obtains one or more captured images (said obtain image) [0019]. The processor (170) determines the corresponding predetermined object (said determining region) according to the captured image using image recognition technology [0020]. Processor (170) also obtains a corresponding 3D model according to the recognition result of the reference pattern [0021]. Memory (130) stores a plurality of types, models, or styles of 3D models to form a 3D model database [0021]. After the 3D object is determined, processor (170) may determine the conversion relationship between the predetermined object and the corresponding 3D model (said determining 3D mask model corresponding to region) [0023]. Although Wei does not term the model as a mask, Wei teaches using the 3D model to apply effects to the specific region, which in turn acts as a mask since no other region besides the 3D model will have the applied effects. Additionally, the predetermined content includes an occlusion image that is an area where the occlusion object covers the predetermine object in the captured image [0031].
(d)
generating a region mask image corresponding to the region to be processed based on the three-dimensional mask model; and
In further view of Wei, after the 3D object is determined, processor (170) may determine the conversion relationship between the predetermined object and the corresponding 3D model [0023].
(e)
applying the region mask image to the region to be processed for the screen image to be processed to obtain a target effect image, and
Fig. 2B(204B), Cao teaches processing at least a part of the content contained in the screenshot image, so that at least the part of the content (said region) is invisible in the processed screenshot image [0076]. The processing may include blocking at least a part of the content [0086]. For example, a non-transparent color block is added over at least a part of the content, or the display area of at least a part of the content is mosaicked (said obtain a target effect image) [0086].
In further view of Wei, Wei teaches determining a 3D model (said region mask image) corresponding to predetermined object (said region). Wei teaches adding predetermined content (said target effect) to the image plane according to the conversion relationship to form a composite image [0030]. The predetermined content includes textures that have not previously appeared on the three-dimensional model and the pre-determined object (said target effect). A texture is a virtual special effect that is preset or selected by the user, such as color change, presentation of a predetermined pattern, etc. The processor (170) can paste/cover this texture on the characteristic interest area of the 3D model so that additional virtual special effects are formed on the 3D model, and the virtual special effects take the surface characteristics into consideration [0030]. The texture is projected on the 3D model onto the image plane according to the conversion relationship to form a composite image [0030]. Wei further teaches after the image corresponding to the predetermined content is determined, the processor (170) may combine the synthesized image with the captured image to form an enhanced image, i.e., overlay the projected texture on the captured image and then overlay the occlusion image on the new captured image [0033]. The composite image is a combination of the projected texture image and the occlusion image [0033].
(f)
displaying the target effect image.
Fig. 2B(204B), Cao teaches processing at least a part of the content contained in the screenshot image, so that at least the part of the content is invisible in the processed screenshot image [0076].
In further view of Wei, Wei teaches the processor (170) may further display the enhanced image through the display (150) [0034].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cao’s screenshot-processing method to incorporate the 3D model-based masking and image effect processing of Wei. Cao establishes that a screenshot is a digital image obtained from screen-display content and that selected portions of the screenshot can be identified and subjected to image processing in response to user operation. Wei establishes that selective image processing can be performed using a 3D model to generate a corresponding mask image, with the mask then applied to an input image to produce an image having a desired visual effect. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the 3D masking technique of Wei could be applied to the screenshot image of Cao because the masking technique operates on image data and is not dependent upon the image being obtained from a particular source. Using a 3D model to generate a corresponding mask would conform to the shape, position and perspective of an object, rather than simply defining a fixed 2D area. As Wei teaches, the orientation of an image can be changed. The 3D model mask can adjust to overlay the object properly [0034].
RE claim 12, in further view of Wei, Wei teaches wherein the determining a three-dimensional mask model corresponding to the region to be processed comprises:
(a)
constructing the three-dimensional mask model corresponding to the region to be processed based on image information contained in the region to be processed; or
The language of claim 12 recites, “or”, which limits the claim to needing only one of the limitations. Therefore, Cao in view of Wei teaches the limitation of claim 12(b). It should be noted that since only one limitation is required, the limitations of claim 12(a) are mute.
(b)
determining a three-dimensional mask model matching the region to be processed from a pre-established three-dimensional mask model library based on image information contained in the region to be processed, wherein the three-dimensional mask model library comprises at least one three-dimensional mask model.
In further view of Wei, Wei teaches obtaining a corresponding 3D model according to the recognition result of the reference pattern [0021]. Memory (130) stores a plurality of types, models, or styles of 3D models to form a 3D model database. Each 3D model has independent and corresponding identification information. The processor (170) can then combine the identification information obtained from the identification result with the 3D model database and obtain a 3D model matching the identification information in the 3D model database [0021].
The same motivation to combine as taught in the rationale of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
RE claim 14, claim 14 recites similar limitations as claim 1 but in system form. Therefore, the same rationale used for claim 1 is applied. Furthermore, Fig. 9 displays the structural schematic diagram of a device (900). The device (900) comprises a processor (902), memory (908), and non-volatile memory (910) [0142].
RE claim 15, claim 15 recites similar limitations as claim 1 but in manufacture form. Therefore, the same rationale used for claim 1 is applied. Please note, Applicant’s disclosure states the computer program product is carried on non-transitory computer-readable medium (see [0151] of PG Pub US 2025/0391089 A1) and is therefore statutory. Furthermore, Fig. 9 displays the structural schematic diagram of a device (900). The device (900) comprises a processor (902), memory (908), and non-volatile memory (910) [0142]. The processor (902) read a corresponding computer program (said computer program product) from the non-volatile memory (910) to the memory (908) [0142].
Claims 2-4, 9-11, 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CAO (US 2021/0110579 A1) in view of WEI et al. (CN113763566A) as applied to claims 1 and 14, and in further view of BOLZ et al. (US 2026/0035129 A1).
RE claim 2, Cao in view of Wei teaches the limitations of claim 2 except for discussing a vertex shader. Bolz is made of record as teaching a graphics-processing technique that allows a fragment shader to directly control which sub-samples of a pixel are treated as covered. The fragment shader creates a sample mask, which can be used to replace the coverage information. Bolz teaches wherein the generating a region mask image corresponding to the region to be processed based on the three-dimensional mask model comprises:
(a)
obtaining first coordinate data of at least one vertex of the three-dimensional mask model in a local spatial coordinate system, and
In further view of Wei, Wei teaches a conversion relationship is related to a conversion relationship between one or more first coordinates of the predetermined object on the image plane where the captured image is located and one or more corresponding second coordinates of the corresponding 3D model in 3D space [0024]. With reference to Fig. 4, Wei teaches the first feature point (C1) corresponds to a certain first coordinate that is transformed to a certain second feature point (C2) [0025]. The conversion relationship can be a conversion matrix [0026-0027, 0029].
(b)
inputting the first coordinate data into a vertex shader to convert the first coordinate data into second coordinate data in a world spatial coordinate system;
Cao in view of Wei fail to provide detail on the conversion relationship discussed in claim 2(a). In further view of Bolz, Bolz teaches a primitive may be defined as a collection of vertices, where each vertex includes a coordinate in 3D space as well as one or more vertex attributes [0025]. Bolz teaches an application writes model data for a scene (i.e., a collection of vertices and attributes) to a memory such as a system memory or memory (204). The model data defines each of the objects that may be visible on a display [0064]. The commands may reference different shader programs, such as a vertex shader [0064]. A vertex shader program processes a number of vertices defined by the model data [0064]. With reference to Fig. 6, the graphics processing pipeline (600) includes a number of stages, one being vertex shading state (620) [0070]. The data assembly stage (610) receives the input data (601) that specifies vertex data for high-order surfaces, primitives, or the like [0071]. The vertex data is then transmitted to the vertex shading state (620) for processing [0071]. Additionally, Bolz teaches vertices may be specified using coordinates in an object-coordinate space, which are transformed by multiplying the coordinates by a matrix that translates the coordinates from the object-coordinate space into a world space or a normalized-device-coordinate (NCI) space (said convert) [0072].
(c)
determining fragments corresponding to the three-dimensional mask model on the basis of the second coordinate data, and determining third coordinate data of each of the fragments in the local spatial coordinate system, and inputting the third coordinate data into a fragment shader; and
In view of Wei, Wei teaches determining a 3D model (said mask image) corresponding to predetermined object (said region) [0030]. Bolz further teaches a fragment shading stage (670) [0070]. The rasterization state (660) converts the 3D geometric primitives into 2D fragments [0076]. The rasterization stage (660) may also compute a coverage mask for a plurality of pixels that indicates where one or more sample location for the pixel intercepts the geometric primitive [0076]. The rasterization state (660) generates fragment data that are transmitted to the fragment shading state (670) [0076]. The fragment shading state (670) processes fragment data by performing a set of operations (i.e., a fragment shader) on each of the fragments [0077]. Therefore, in the combined invention, the 3D model of Cao in view of Wei can be supplied to the graphics pipeline of Bolz.
(d)
determining third coordinate data of each of the fragments in the local spatial coordinate system, and inputting the third coordinate data into a fragment shader; and
In further view of Bolz, Bolz teaches the rasterization stage (660) may be configured to utilize the vertices of the geometric primitives to set up a set of plane equations from which various attributes can be interpolated [0076]. The rasterization stage (660) may also compute a coverage mask for a plurality of pixels that indicates whether one or more sample locations for the pixel intercept the geometric primitive [0076]. The rasterization stage (660) generates fragment data that are transmitted to the fragment shading state (670) [0076]. The fragment shading stage (670) processes fragments data by performing a set of operations (i.e., a fragment shader) on each of the fragments [0077].
(e)
shading the fragment on the basis of the third coordinate data in the fragment shader to obtain the region mask image corresponding to the region to be processed.
As taught by Bolz, the fragment shading stage (670) processes fragments data by performing a set of operations (i.e., a fragment shader) on each of the fragments [0077]. The fragment shading stage (670) may generate pixel data for the fragment such as by performing lighting operations or sampling texture maps using interpolated texture coordinates for the fragment [0077].
As taught by Wei, Wei is relied upon as once the 3D object is determined, processor (170) may determine the conversion relationship between the predetermined object and the corresponding 3D model (said obtain the region mask image) [0023]. Although Wei does not term the model as a mask, Wei teaches using the 3D model to apply effects to the specific region, which in turn acts as a mask since no other region besides the 3D model will have the applied effects. Additionally, the predetermined content includes an occlusion image that is an area where the occlusion object covers the predetermine object in the captured image [0031]. Then, the processor (170) may derive an occlusion image (as a part of the composite image) according to the difference between the predetermined object in the reference image and the captured image (i.e., determine whether the predetermined object is occluded) [0031].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the 3D model/mask processing of Wei using established graphics-processing pipelines as taught by Bolz. Cao in view of Wei fail to provide details on the processing of the 3D model/mask processing. Bolz is configured to implement a graphics rendering pipeline for processing 3D graphics data to generate 2D image data to display on a display device such as a liquid crystal display (LCD) device [0034], which is a similar outcome of Cao in view of Wei.
RE claim 3, in further view of Bolz, Bolz teaches wherein the shading the fragment on the basis of the third coordinate data comprises:
(a)
shading the fragment on the basis of the third coordinate data and a color value of a pixel in the region to be processed that is associated with the fragment.
In further view of Bolz, Bolz teaches the fragment shading stage (670) processes fragments data by performing a set of operations (i.e., a fragment shader) on each of the fragments [0077]. The fragment shading stage (670) may generate pixel data for the fragment such as by performing lighting operations or sampling texture maps using interpolated texture coordinates for the fragment [0077].
The same motivation to combine as taught in the rationale of claim 2 is incorporated herein.
RE claim 4, Cao in view of Wei and Bolz teaches wherein the shading the fragment on the basis of the third coordinate data and a color value of a pixel in the region to be processed that is associated with the fragment comprises:
(a)
obtaining a pixel screen coordinate of each pixel in the region to be processed in a screen coordinate system;
In view of Wei, Wei teaches the processor (170) may determine the conversion relationship according to the first coordinate of the first feature point in the feature information of the predetermined object on the image plane [0029].
Bolz teaches the rasterization stage (660) converts 3D geometric primitives into 2D fragments [0076]. The rasterization stage (660) may also compute a coverage mask for a plurality of pixels that indicates whether one or more sample locations for the pixel intercepts the geometric primitive [0076].
Thus, the pixels relate to the screen coordinates where Wei indicates the region to be processed.
(b)
determining, for each of the fragments, the pixel in the region to be processed that is associated with the fragment on the basis of the third coordinate data and the pixel screen coordinate; and
In view of Bolz, Bolz teaches the rasterization stage (660) converts the 3D geometric primitives into 2D fragments [0076]. The rasterization stage (660) may also compute a coverage mask for a plurality of pixels that indicates whether one or more sample locations for the pixel intercepts the geometric primitive [0076]. Z-testing may also be performed to determine if the geometric primitive is occluded by other geometric primitives that have already been rasterized. The rasterization stage (660) generates fragment data (i.e., interpolated vertex attributes associated with a particular sample location for each covered pixel) [0076]. Thus, the rasterized fragment is mapped to the corresponding image pixel based on the fragments rendered/screen position.
(c)
shading the fragment based on the color value of the pixel associated with the fragment.
In view of Bolz, the fragment shading stage 670) processes fragment data by performing a set of operations (i.e., a fragment shader or a program) on each of the fragments. The fragment shading stage (670) may generate pixel data (i.e., color values) for the fragment such as by performing lighting operations or sampling texture maps using interpolated texture coordinates for the fragment. The fragment shading stage (670) generates pixel data [0077].
The same motivation to combine as taught in the rationale of claim 2 is incorporated herein.
RE claim 9, Cao in view of Wei and Bolz teaches wherein the shading the fragment based on the color value of the pixel associated with the fragment comprises:
(a)
selecting a color value of one pixel associated with the fragment as a color value of the fragment to shade the fragment; or
In view of Bolz, the fragment shading stage (670) processes fragment data by performing a set of operations (i.e., a fragment shader or a program) on each of the fragments. The fragment shading stage (670) may generate pixel data (i.e., color values) for the fragment such as by performing lighting operations or sampling texture maps using interpolated texture coordinates for the fragment [0077]. The raster operations stage (680) may perform various operations on the pixel data such as performing alpha tests, stencil tests, and blending the pixel data with other pixel data corresponding to other fragments associated with the pixel. When the raster operations stage (680) has finished processing the pixel data (i.e., the output data (602)), the pixel data may be written to a render target such as a color buffer [0078]. Furthermore, Bolz teaches a single-color value is generated by the fragment shader for each fragment. The single-color value may then overwrite, or be blended with, the value stored in each slot of the muti-sample color buffer indicated by the coverage information [0101].
(b)
calculating an average value of color values of two or more pixels associated with the fragment, and using the average value as a color value of the fragment to shade the fragment.
The language of claim 9 recites, “or”, which limits the claim to needing only one of the limitations. Therefore, Cao in view of Wei and Bolz teaches the limitations of claim 9(a). It should be noted that since only one limitation is required, the limitations of claim 9(b) are mute.
The same motivation to combine as taught in the rationale of claim 2 is incorporated herein.
RE claim 10, Cao in view of Wei and Bolz teaches wherein the determining fragments corresponding to the three-dimensional mask model on the basis of the second coordinate data comprises:
(a)
performing primitive assembly on the at least one vertex on the basis of the second coordinate data to obtain at least one first primitive corresponding to the three-dimensional mask model;
As taught by Wei, Wei teaches determining a 3D model (said 3D mask model) corresponding to predetermined object. Wei teaches adding predetermined content to the image plane according to the conversion relationship to form a composite image [0030].
In view of Bolz, Bolz teaches a data assembly stage (610) that receives the input data (601) that specifies vertex data for high-order surfaces, primitives, or the like [0071]. The vertex shading stage (620) processes vertex data by performing a set of operations for each vertex [0072]. The primitive assembly stage (630) collects vertices output by the vertex shading stage (620) and groups the vertices into geometric primitives for processing [0073].
processing each first primitive by a geometry shader to divide the first primitive into at least two second primitives; and
Bolz further teaches the geometry shading stage (640) processes geometric primitives by performing a set of operations (i.e., a geometry shader or program) on the geometric primitives [0074]. Tessellation operations may generate one or more geometric primitives from each geometric primitive, i.e., subdivide each geometric primitive into a finer mesh of two or more geometric primitives for processing by the rest of the graphics processing pipeline (600) [0074].
performing rasterization processing on each of the second primitives to obtain the fragments corresponding to the three-dimensional mask model.
Bolz further teaches raster operations stage (680) may perform various operation on the pixel data [0078].
The same motivation to combine as taught in the rationale of claim 2 is incorporated herein.
RE claim 11, Cao in view of Wei and Bolz teaches wherein the determining third coordinate data of each of the fragments in the local spatial coordinate system comprises:
(a)
interpolating the first coordinate data based on the second coordinate data to obtain the third coordinate data of each of the fragments in the local spatial coordinate system.
In view of Bolz, Bolz teaches the rasterization stage (660) converts the 3D geometric primitives into 2D fragments [0076]. The rasterization stage (660) may be configured to utilize the vertices of the geometric primitives to set up a set of plane equations from which various attributes can be interpolated. The rasterization stage (660) may also compute a coverage mask for a plurality of pixels that indicates whether one or more sample locations for the pixel intercept the geometric primitive [0076]. In one embodiment, z-testing may also be performed to determine if the geometric primitive is occluded by other geometric primitives that have already been rasterized. The rasterization stage (660) generates fragment data (i.e., interpolated vertex attributes associated with a particular sample location for each covered pixel) that are transmitted to the fragment shading stage (670) [0076]. The fragment shading stage (670) processes fragment data by performing a set of operations (i.e., a fragment shader or a program) on each of the fragments [0077]. The fragment shading stage (670) may generate pixel data (i.e., color values) for the fragment such as by performing lighting operations or sampling texture maps using interpolated texture coordinates for the fragment. The fragment shading stage (670) generates pixel data that is transmitted to the raster operations stage (680) [0077].
The same motivation to combine as taught in the rationale of claim 2 is incorporated herein.
RE claim 16, claim 16 recites similar limitations as claim 2 but in system form. Therefore, the same rationale used for claim 2 is applied.
RE claim 17, claim 17 recites similar limitations as claim 3 but in system form. Therefore, the same rationale used for claim 3 is applied.
RE claim 18, claim 18 recites similar limitations as claim 4 but in system form. Therefore, the same rationale used for claim 4 is applied.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8, 19-21 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Reference CAO (US 2021/0110579 A1) is made of record as teaching hiding private content contained in a screenshot [abstract]. Fig. 2 (202A), Cao teaches acquiring a screenshot image [0052]. Fig. 2 (204A), Cao teaches hiding private content contained in the screenshot image [0056]. The private content may be located in a preset fixed area in the screenshot image [0057]. Cao also teaches the private content can be located on the device screen not in a fixed area, so then private content can be recognized to ensure completion of the hiding processing of the private content [0058-0059]. Additionally, Cao teaches after a screenshot operation is implemented, an option for enabling a private content hiding function provided by the application can be shown regarding the screenshot image, and when enabling option is triggered, the private content contained in the screenshot image is hidden [0067].
Reference WEI et al. (CN113763566A) is made of record as teaching an image generation system/method which forms a virtual effect based on a 3D model, and judges the masked area, so that the virtual effect in the enhanced image is more natural [0005]. Fig. 2, Wei processor (170) obtains one or more captured images [0019]. The processor (170) determines the corresponding predetermined object according to the captured image using image recognition technology [0020]. Processor (170) also obtains a corresponding 3D model according to the recognition result of the reference pattern [0021]. Memory (130) stores a plurality of types, models, or styles of 3D models to form a 3D model database [0021]. After the 3D object is determined, processor (170) may determine the conversion relationship between the predetermined object and the corresponding 3D model [0023]. Although Wei does not term the model as a mask, Wei teaches using the 3D model to apply effects to the specific region, which in turn acts as a mask since no other region besides the 3D model will have the applied effects. Additionally, the predetermined content includes an occlusion image that is an area where the occlusion object covers the predetermine object in the captured image [0031].
Reference BOLZ et al. (US 2026/0035129 A1) is made of record as teaching a graphics-processing technique that allows a fragment shader directly to control which sub-samples of a pixel are treated as covered. The fragment shader creates a sample mask, which can be used to replace the coverage information. Bolz teaches a primitive may be defined as a collection of vertices, where each vertex includes a coordinate in 3D space as well as one or more vertex attributes [0025]. Bolz teaches an application writes model data for a scene (i.e., a collection of vertices and attributes) to a memory such as a system memory or memory (204). The model data defines each of the objects that may be visible on a display [0064]. A vertex shader program processes a number of vertices defined by the model data [0064]. With reference to Fig. 6, the graphics processing pipeline (600) includes a number of stages, one being vertex shading state (620) [0070]. The data assembly stage (610) receives the input data (601) that specifies vertex data for high-order surfaces, primitives, or the like [0071]. The vertex data is then transmitted to the vertex shading state (620) for processing [0071]. Additionally, Bolz teaches vertices may be specified using coordinates in an object-coordinate space, which are transformed by multiplying the coordinates by a matrix that translates the coordinates from the object-coordinate space into a world space or a normalized-device-coordinate (NCI) space [0072].
However, the cited prior art does not disclose or render obvious the combination of elements recited in the claims as whole. Specifically, the cited prior art fails to disclose or render obvious the limitations: performing a perspective division operation on the fourth coordinate matrix to obtain a fragment screen coordinate of the fragment in the screen coordinate system.
Conclusion
direct telephone number:
(571) 272-7661
email:
michelle.sams@uspto.gov
personal fax number:
(571)273-7661
The examiner is currently part-time and can be reached Mon.-Fri. 5:30am-9:30am.
/MICHELLE L SAMS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611
3 September 2026