DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: The term PVA appears to be an abbreviation. At the first instance of use, the full name of the term should be explicitly stated followed by the abbreviation. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 27 is objected to because of the following informalities: The term SDS appears to be an abbreviation. At the first instance of use, the full name of the term should be explicitly stated followed by the abbreviation. Appropriate correction is required.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/28/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The substitute specification filed 12/31/2024 is acknowledged and has been approved for entry by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10, 13-14, 17-18, 20-22, 27, 30, 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations “the foamed fibrous structure”; and “from the group of surface-active foaming agents and polymeric foaming agents”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. The examiner suggests amending the aforementioned phrases to read “the multi-layered foamed fibrous structure” and “from a
Claims 2-10, 13-14, 17-18, 20-22, 27, 30, 32-33 are rejected by virtue of their dependence upon and because the fail to cure the deficiencies of claim 1.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/880,283. Although the independent claim 1 of 18/880,287 and the independent claim 1 of copending Applicant 18/880,283 at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because application 18/880,283 claim 20 requires a hydrophobic agent which is substantially the same subject matter of independent claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/880,283 and thusly is anticipatory.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 13, 17-18, 20-22, 27, 30, 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Juvonen et al. (US 2015/0284911 A1), in view of Kiiskinen et al. (US 2016/0221233 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 33, Juvonen discloses a method of producing a moldable fibrous product. The method to include the use of a molding device and having the moldable fibrous product comprise a multilayer product, see [0042], [0079], [0081] – (corresponds to in a mold, forming a multi-layered foamed fibrous structure from foamed fibrous compositions; and each layer of the multi-layered foamed fibrous structure is formed from a respective foamed fibrous composition; and a molded multi-layered fibrous product produced by the method). The composition of the moldable fibrous product to include cellulose, water, air, and a foaming agent, see [0059], [0047], [0044] – (corresponds to each of the foamed fibrous compositions comprises cellulosic fibers, water, air and a foaming agent). The method to further include a step of draining the liquid to form a web or sheet, see [0047] – (corresponds to dewatering the foamed fibrous structure to obtain a dewatered structure). And the use of a combination of foaming agents to include anionic/non-ionic surface active agents, and polyvinyl alcohols – (construed as a polymeric foaming agent), see [0076] – (corresponds to at least two different foaming agents are applied, wherein the at least two different foaming agents are selected, independently from each other, from the group of surface-active foaming agents and polymeric foaming agents).
While Juvonen discloses impregnation is accomplished through a pressing step at an elevated temperature and a draining step – (construed as forming a dewatering structure), see [0047], [0068]; it does not explicitly does not explicitly disclose hot-pressing the dewatered structure.
Kiiskinen discloses a method of forming a lightweight fibrous product. The method to include a technique of applying heat to the material, the synthetic fibers (or the surface layer thereof) will melt and achieve bonds within the material formed by the natural fibers, thus improving interfiber bonding. And the product produced can be given a hard surface by heating the surface optionally in combination with pressing, see [0058], [0060] – (construed as using a hot-pressing technique).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known “improvement” technique in the same manner to the Juvonen’s method of producing a moldable fibrous product and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art, namely, one skilled in the art would have readily recognized that hot-pressing the dewatered structure of Juvonen would improve the bonding of the materials, as well as providing a hard outer surface.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Juvonen’s method to include a hot-pressing step as taught by Kiiskinen to provide Juvonen’s method with the aforementioned benefits.
Regarding claim 2, as previously discussed, modified Juvonen discloses the moldable fibrous product comprises a multilayer product, see Juvonen [0042], [0079], [0081] – (corresponds to each layer of the multi-layered foamed fibrous structure is formed from a respective foamed fibrous composition).
Regarding claims 3-6, as previously discussed, modified Juvonen discloses the use of a combination of foaming agents to include anionic/non-ionic surface active agents, and polyvinyl alcohols – (construed as a polymeric foaming agent), see Juvonen [0076] – (corresponds to at least two different foaming agents are applied, wherein the at least two different foaming agents are selected, independently from each other, from the group of surface-active foaming agents and polymeric foaming agents; and each foamed fibrous composition comprises, independently from each other, at least one surface-active foaming agent and at least one polymeric foaming agent; and the foamed fibrous composition for at least one fibrous layer, comprises a surface-active foaming agent; and the foamed fibrous composition for at least one fibrous layer, comprises a polymeric foaming agent; and the foamed fibrous composition for a layer comprises both a surface-active foaming agent and a polymeric foaming agent).
Regarding claim 7, as previously discussed, modified Juvonen discloses the use of a combination of different foaming agents. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust modified Juvonen’s method to include “at least two of the foamed fibrous compositions comprise a different set of foaming agents” since: Additionally, modified Juvonen further discloses the foaming agent may have properties such as surface activity and binding, see [0075]. Thus, one would have good reason to form any number of the layers to comprise a different set of foaming agents.
Regarding claim 8, modified Juvonen discloses the foaming agent is provided in an amount of 0.1 weight percent in the moldable fibrous product, see [0036], [0039] – (corresponds to and overlaps the claimed range of 0.1 to 50 wt% calculated from the mass of dry fibers in the foamed fibrous composition). Concerning the claimed ranges: Overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the foaming agent wt% of 0.1 wt% calculated from the mass of dry fibers in the foamed fibrous composition as Juvonen suggests such an amount contributes to forming large pores. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 9-10, 13, 32, modified Juvonen discloses the at least one polymeric foaming agent comprises at least one non-ionic polymer, wherein the at least one non-ionic polymer is polyvinyl alcohol (PVA), see Juvonen [0076]; and the at least one surface-active foaming agent comprises at least one anionic surfactant, wherein the at least one anionic surfactant is sodium dodecyl sulphate (SDS), see Kiiskinen [0043]; and at least two foaming agents comprise PVA and sodium dodecyl sulphate, see Juvonen [0076]; and Kiiskinen [0043]; and the foamed fibrous composition for at least one fibrous layer comprises a non-ionic surfactant, optionally in combination with an anionic surfactant, see Juvonen [0076].
Regarding claim 17, as previously discussed, modified Juvonen discloses the use of polyvinyl alcohol, see Juvonen [0076]; but does not explicitly disclose the amount used. However, as Juvonen discloses the claimed invention except for the amount of polyvinyl alcohol used. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an amount of 10% wt% calculated from the mass of dry fibers in said fibrous composition, since it has been' held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to select an amount of at least 10 wt% for the purpose of enabling the foam formation and additionally acting as a binder in the formed structure, see Juvonen [0075].
Regarding claim 18, as previously discussed, modified Juvonen discloses the use of non-ionic polymers and anionic surfactants, see Juvonen [0076]; but does not explicitly disclose the use amount. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a molar ratio of 5:95 to 50:50, since it has been' held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to select a molar ratio of 5:95 to 50:50 for the purpose of enabling the foam formation and additionally acting as a binder in the formed structure, see Juvonen [0075].
Regarding claim 20, modified Juvonen discloses the use of a hydrophobic plasticizer – (construed as a hydrophobic agent) provided in an amount of 10 to 30% by weight of the amount of the polymer, calculated by dry weight, see Juvonen [0039], [0041] – (corresponds to and overlaps at least 0.1 wt% calculated from the mass of dry fibers in the fibrous composition). Concerning the claimed ranges: Overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the hydrophobic wt% of at least 0.1 wt% calculated from the mass of dry fibers in the foamed fibrous composition as Juvonen suggests such an amount contributes to improving the compatibility of the polymer with the fibers, particularly cellulose fibers. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 21-22, modified Juvonen does not explicitly disclose the claimed amount of “1 to 50 wt-% of a non-ionic polymer as a foaming agent, and 0.1 to 5 wt-% of an anionic surfactant, calculated from the mass of dry fibers in the fibrous composition”. However, it has been held: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Modified Juvonen discloses the claimed invention except for the claimed amounts of non-ionic and anionic compounds. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the claimed amounts of non-ionic and anionic compounds, since it has been' held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to use the claimed amount of non-ionic polymer for the purpose of enabling the foam formation and acting as a binder; and the claimed amount of anionic surfactant for the purpose of enhancing the foam formation, see Juvonen [0075] – [0076]; Kiiskinen [0043].
Regarding claims 27, 30, modified Juvonen discloses the use of sodium dodecyl sulfate (SDS) as a surfactant, see Kiisjinen [0043] – (construed as an anionic surfactant).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Juvonen et al. (US 2015/0284911 A1), in view of Kiiskinen et al. (US 2016/0221233 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hult Torron et al. (US 2026/0008251 A1).
Regarding claim 14, while modified Juvonen discloses the use of polyethylene glycol, see Kiiskinen [0043]; it does not explicitly disclose the use of polyethylene glycol dodecyl ether.
Hult Torron discloses a cellulose foam object. The object being formed of a mixture of at least two surfactants. One of the at least two surfactants is preferably a fast-acting surfactant, a suitable surfactant for this purpose is an anionic surfactant, as sodium dodecyl sulphate (SDS), see [0056]. And a co-surfactant as polyethylene glycol dodecyl ether, see [0057]. Hult Torron discloses such a surfactant mixture is fast acting and contributes to a foam being re-dispersible in water and as a result be recyclable in regular paper recycling streams, see [0056], [0059].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust modified Juvonen’s method to include the use of at least two foaming agents comprising polyethylene glycol dodecyl ether (Brij) and sodium dodecyl sulphate as taught by Hult Torron to provide the composition with the aforementioned benefits.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CEDRICK S WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749