DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a non-final action in response to application filed on 12/31/2024. Claims 1-3, 5-7 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed 12/31/2024, 08/11/2025, 11/07/2025, 11/20/2025, 02/23/2026, 06/30/2026 are considered.
Claim Objection
Claims 1 is objected because the last two limitation should includes further indents. This appears to be a typo.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitamura (US 20210075801) in view of Qiao (CN 112528297)
As per claim 1, Kitamura discloses a programmable controller, comprising:
processing circuitry to
receive an access event from an external device and perform communication through a network (0053, see also 0002 regarding PLC application);
detect the exceptional access event from a newly received access event using the
Kitamura does not explicitly disclose, but Qiao teaches:
train a model to identify an exceptional access event occurring less frequently than other access events based on a history of received access events (page 9, last paragraph to page 10 first paragraph regarding SVM used to detect illegal access. See page 7, 3rd paragraph that illegal access can mean an executed instruction where execution frequency is very small);
using the trained model to detect exceptional access event (page 9, last paragraph to page 10 first paragraph regarding SVM used to detect illegal access. See page 7, 3rd paragraph that illegal access can mean an executed instruction where execution frequency is very small);
process the detected exceptional access event, wherein
the history includes identification information identifying a communication device that has caused an received access event in the network in a manner associated with at least one of a time of the access event or a predetermined time segment including the time (see page 6, last paragraph to page 7, 3rd paragraph, where address (e.g., IP address) is logged as collected as part of behavior log. The behavior log model show regularity where hacker generally attack database at particular time such as 2 o’clock (2 am) as opposed to work time. Examiner notes this also indicate a time segment of 24-hour in each day.), and
the processing circuitry trains, for the time segment, the model to identify the exceptional access event occurring less frequently than the other access events occurring in the time segment (see page 11, 1st, 2nd, and 6th paragraph regarding training model using updated sample behavior log set. See page 7, 2nd-3rd paragraph regarding segmenting access time period on a per day basis).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to apply Qiao’s SVM to detect intrusion event to Kitamura’s access control using black/white list for the purpose of providing more effective and responsive access control to prevent intrusion.
As per claim 2, Kitamura further discloses the programmable controller according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry blocks the exceptional access event (0108, black list would prohibit access).
As per claim 3, Kitamura further discloses the programmable controller according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry indicates information about the exceptional access event through a user interface (Fig. 5, item 506, see also 0199-0200).
As per claim 5, Kitamura further discloses the programmable controller according to claim 3, wherein
the identification information is an address of the communication device in the network (See Fig. 5, black list shows IP address),
the history includes, in a manner associated with one another, the address of the communication device, a port number specified by the access event, and at least one of the time of the access event or the time segment including the time (see at least Fig. 11, security event including time. See 0263, security event further includes network address, port number), and
Kitamura does not disclose training a model but discloses having a black list showing address and port number (Fig. 5) and collect information including time, address and port number for security events (0263).
Qiao teaches training a model for the time segment to identify exception access event (see page 11, 1st, 2nd, and 6th paragraph regarding training model using updated sample behavior log set. See page 7, 2nd-3rd paragraph regarding segmenting access time period on a per day basis)
The rationale to combine would persist.
Claim 6 contains limitations substantially similar to claim 1 except with the additional step of sharing device data with another device. Kitamura teaches this limitation in 0187-0188 where notification is sent via e-mail, which would be another device. Therefore, claim would be rejected over similar rationale set forth above.
Claim 7 also includes limitation substantially similar to claim 1 and Kitamura further includes the steps of PLC is connectable to another PLC (Fig. 14, 0213-0214 regarding multiple control devices. See 0002 that control devices can be PLC) and providing first access information indicating the history to the other programmable controller and acquiring from other programmable controller, second access information indicating an access event to the other programmable controller to share the first access information and the second access information with the other programmable controller (0213-0214 regarding information collection and notification. See Fig. 14 for the flow of data).
Therefore, claim would be rejected over similar rationale set forth above.
Double Patenting
Claim 7 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent Application 18/863,689 (‘689).
In this case, each limitation of claim 7 can be found in claim 5 of ‘689. Claim 7 is essentially broader than claim 5 of ‘689 because it does not require storing data in an distributed ledger.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
GEORGE CHEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3628
/GEORGE CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628