Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Dependent claims 3, 5, 16, and 18 disclose a plurality of associated items, while independent claims 1 and 13-14 discloses a singular associated item. It is unclear how a singular item could become multiple items. As such, the aforementioned claims do not establish clear metes and bounds.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “Learning Tarkov - Stash & Item Guide for New Players - Beginner Series PT 2” by cztl (hereinafter cztl).
Concerning claim 1,
Cztl discloses a display control method for a virtual item, comprising: providing a graphical user interface through a terminal device, wherein the graphical user interface comprises an item display area of a first item container and an item display area of a second item container, the first item container is configured to hold a virtual item possessed by a controlled virtual object outside a game match, and the second item container is configured to hold a virtual item carried by the controlled virtual object into the game match (5:20 - 5:50, See Reference 1);
Reference 1
in response to a moving operation for a first virtual item in the first item container, controlling the first virtual item to move from the first item container to the second item container (5:20 - 5:50, the video shows a primary weapon/first virtual item being moved from the first container to the second container around the 5:33 mark); and
determining that an associated item of the first virtual item is located outside the second item container, and displaying an information prompt mark, wherein the associated item is an item used in combination with the first virtual item in the game match, and the information prompt mark is configured to prompt a storage status of the associated item in the first item container (5:20 - 5:50, the associated item used in combination with the primary weapon is considered to be the magazine of the gun. As broadly claimed, the GUI elements of the magazines in the first container meets the claimed limitations, as it indicates a storage status).
Concerning claims 13-14, see the rejection of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 6, 15-16, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Learning Tarkov - Stash & Item Guide for New Players - Beginner Series PT 2” by cztl in view of “ESCAPE FROM TARKOV | The Non-Confusing Guide to Starting” by Boomstick Gaming (hereinafter Boomstick) and further in view of “Found a bug with 1911 reloads, figured I would share so it doesn't kill you” by kingsaw100 (hereinafter kingsaw100).
Concerning claim 2,
Cztl discloses associated items in both the first and second container (5:20 - 5:50), but does not clearly disclose determining that the associated item of the first virtual item is located outside the second item container, and in response to a first trigger operation for the first virtual item, determining that the associated item is located in the first item container, and displaying a first prompt mark, wherein the first prompt mark is configured to prompt a position of the associated item in the first item container.
Boomstick teaches a first trigger operation to check the ammunition of the first virtual item (3:00-3:20, See Reference 2).
Reference 2
Kingsaw100 teaches the inspection of ammunition for a primary weapon/first personal item determines the presence of the associated item in the first item container/storage in response to a first trigger operation for the first virtual item, and displays a first prompt mark, wherein the first prompt mark is configured to prompt a position of the associated item in the first item container (See Reference 3).
Reference 3
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the game mechanics shown in Boomstick with the game mechanics shown in cztl as both appear to be concerned with the same game, Escape from Tarkov. Implementing the mechanics of Boomstick with the mechanics of cztl would create a more cohesive and enjoyable game experience.
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the ammunition inspection mechanics shown in kingsaw100 with the military simulation game shown in Boomstick and cztl as all concern realistic shooting games. Incorporating the magazine inspection mechanics shown in kingsaw100 with the miliary simulation game shown in Boomstick and cztl would give the player more information and allow them to better manage their gameplay.
Concerning claim 3,
Kingsaw100 teaches displaying at least one of the associated item or a placement position of the associated item in a first display format in the item display area of the first item container (See Reference 3).
Concerning claim 6,
Kingsaw100 teaches in response to the first trigger operation for the first virtual item, determining that the associated item is located outside the first item container, and displaying a second prompt mark, wherein the second prompt mark is configured to prompt that the associated item is located outside the first item container (See Reference 3).
Concerning claims 15, 16, and 19, see the rejections of claims 2, 3, and 6 respectively.
Claim(s) 4-5 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Learning Tarkov - Stash & Item Guide for New Players - Beginner Series PT 2” by cztl, in view of “ESCAPE FROM TARKOV | The Non-Confusing Guide to Starting” by Boomstick Gaming, further in view of “Found a bug with 1911 reloads, figured I would share so it doesn't kill you” by kingsaw100, and further in view of “Escape From Tarkov - Reloading Explained | Patch .12.11” by JonnyBooSock (hereinafter JonnyBooSock).
Concerning claim 4,
JonnyBooSock teaches in response to a second trigger operation for the first virtual item, controlling the associated item to move from the first item container to the second item container (4:03-4:53, See Reference 4, the reloading operation is considered to be a second trigger operation).
Reference 4
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the game mechanics shown in JonnyBooSock with the game mechanics shown in cztl as both appear to be concerned with the same game, Escape from Tarkov. Implementing the mechanics of JonnyBooSock with the mechanics of cztl would create a more cohesive and enjoyable game experience.
Concerning claim 5,
JonnyBooSock teaches in response to a first control operation for the first virtual item, controlling the plurality of associated items of a specified unit number to move from the first item container to the second item container (4:03-4:53, See Reference 4, the reloading operation is considered to be a first control operation)
Boomstick teaches in response to a second control operation for the first virtual item, continuing to perform the step of controlling the plurality of associated items of the specified unit number to move from the first item container to the second item container until all the plurality of associated items in the first item container are moved to the second item container (3:40-4:00, See Reference 5, wherein continuous operation of the R key/reload button meets the limitation as claimed).
Reference 5
Concerning claims 17 and 18, see the rejections of claims 4 and 5 respectively.
Claim(s) 7-11 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Learning Tarkov - Stash & Item Guide for New Players - Beginner Series PT 2” by cztl in view of “Escape From Tarkov - Reloading Explained | Patch .12.11” by JonnyBooSock.
Concerning claim 7,
JonnyBooSock teaches determining that the associated item of the first virtual item is located outside the second item container, and displaying a third prompt mark, wherein the third prompt mark is configured to prompt that the associated item is located outside the second item container (3:45 - 4:00, See Reference 6, wherein the circled magazine icon is considered to be the third prompt mark).
Reference 6
Concerning claim 8,
JonnyBooSock teaches in response to a moving operation for the associated item in the first item container, controlling the associated item to move from the first item container to the second item container; and canceling the display of the third prompt mark (3:45 - 4:00, See Reference 6).
Concerning claim 9,
JonnyBooSock teaches in response to the first virtual item being displayed in the item display area of the first item container, determining that the associated item of the first virtual item is located outside the first item container and the second item container, and displaying a fourth prompt mark, wherein the fourth prompt mark is configured to prompt that the associated item is located outside both the first item container and the second item container (3:45 - 4:00, See Reference 6, wherein the circled magazine icon is considered to be the fourth prompt mark).
Concerning claim 10,
JonnyBooSock teaches in response to a third trigger operation for the first virtual item, displaying an operation control at a specified position of the first virtual item, wherein the operation control is configured to provide an interface for obtaining the associated item (3:45 - 4:00, See Reference 7).
Reference 7
Concerning claim 11,
Cztl discloses in response to a display operation for the second item container, displaying the item display area of the second item container (5:20 - 5:50, See Reference 1).
determining that the associated item is not in the second item container, and displaying a fifth prompt mark, wherein the fifth prompt mark is configured to prompt that the associated item is located outside the second item container (5:20 - 5:50, See Reference 1, As broadly claimed, the GUI elements of the magazines in the primary weapon in the second container meets the claimed limitations, as it indicates a storage status).
JonnyBooSock teaches in response to an operation of entering the game match, displaying a game scene screen in the graphical user interface (4:05-4:55, see Reference 8);
Reference 8
Concerning claims 20 and 21, see the rejections of claims 7 and 8 respectively.
Conclusion
/I.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/DMITRY SUHOL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715