Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: WASTE CLASSIFICATION SYSTEM BASED ON FUSING A VISION CAMERA AND AN INFRARED CAMERA.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it says “hyperspectral,” but the specification only discloses infrared. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to for reciting “and” rather than “or.” MPEP 2111.01(II), citing Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 358 F.3d 870, 875, 69 USPQ2d 1865, 1868 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Appropriate correction is required.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed December 31, 2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Specifically, the NPL by Song does not have an English translation. The IDS identifies it as a 113 page document, but the 113 page document in the file as of December 31, 2024 is in Korean.
For the foreign patent documents, only the translated abstracts have been considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
Claim 1 – “first learning data generation unit,” “second learning data generation unit,” and “waste classification unit”
Claim 2 – “target object specifying unit”
Claim 4 – “semi-supervised learning processing model unit” and “target object material prediction unit”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
A preliminary review of the specification suggests that there is insufficient disclosure to demonstrate possession of the variously claimed artificial intelligence. However, because the claims are drafted with a means-plus-function format, this issue is not reached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 (all claims) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “hyperspectral,” but the specification only teaches infrared. The specification does not, for instance, teach use of ultraviolet or x-ray. Thus the specification has only demonstrated possession of infrared, rather than the entire genus of “hyperspectral.”
Claims 1-9 (all claims) are rejected as a formality because the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph language in these claims does not have sufficient structure in the specification. This rejection matches the below indefiniteness rejection for the same language. Once that rejection is overcome, this one will be as well.
Dependent claims are likewise rejected.
Claims 1-9 (all claims) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-9 (all claims) recite the claim elements identified in the 112(f) claim interpretation section (above) that are limitations that invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to clearly link the corresponding structure, material, or acts for the claimed function. The disclosure of the means plus function claim terms is by way of example, rather than specifying a complete list. The reliance on exemplary language requires one of ordinary skill in the art to know what structures to use to accomplish the claimed function(s). Reliance on the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art to know what structures to use renders the claim indefinite. MPEP 2181.
MPEP 2181 states “In cases involving a special purpose computer-implemented means-plus-function limitation, the Federal Circuit has consistently required that the structure be more than simply a general purpose computer or microprocessor and that the specification must disclose an algorithm for performing the claimed function. See, e.g., Noah Systems Inc. v. Intuit Inc., 675 F.3d 1302, 1312, 102 USPQ2d 1410, 1417 (Fed. Cir. 2012); Aristocrat, 521 F.3d at 1333, 86 USPQ2d at 1239.” Therefore, each of these claim limitations is indefinite.
Claim 1 recites “via,” but this is unclear as to whether the claimed AI is part of the claimed unit or not. The same issue arises for the waste classification unit and the third AI model.
Dependent claims are likewise rejected.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 (all claims) are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of each of U.S. Patent App. No. 18/880,321 in view of the prior art as applied below.
Both the pending claims and the conflicting patents are all directed to infrared waste classification. Therefore, all of the conflicting patents are directed to the same problem as the present application. Further, any differences between the present claims and the claims in any of the conflicting patents are obvious in view of the prior art as applied below. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the below prior art with any of the conflicting patents for implementation details (especially as the patent claims lack implementation details). Based on the findings herein, this is an example of “(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.” MPEP 2143.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7-9 (all claims except those rejected under 103, below) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by US20220331841A1 (“Filler”). References are listed in the Notice of Cited References when they were first cited. If a reference is not identifiable (e.g., due to a typo), it can be identified by searching for the quoted text.
[Claim 1] A vision-hyperspectral fusion data-based waste classification system, comprising:
a first learning data generation unit generating first learning data for a target object via a first artificial intelligence model trained using a hyperspectral image of waste acquired via a hyperspectral sensor; (Filler, Fig. 13, “AI camera” and [0168] “imagery may be collected at plural different near infrared wavelengths.” [0168] describes what the AI camera can capture. Filler’s infrared teaches the claimed hyperspectral.)
a second learning data generation unit generating second learning data for the target object via a second artificial intelligence model trained using a vision image of waste acquired via a vision camera; and (Filler, Fig. 13, “AI camera” and [0168] “an AI camera can capture simultaneous multi-spectral image data, e.g., with white light illumination and an RGB sensor”)
a waste classification unit that performs waste classification for the target object by applying the first learning data and the second learning data to a third artificial intelligence model. (Filler, Fig. 12 and [0022] “FIG. 12 shows an annotated map of an image frame produced by a trained classifier.”)
[Claim 2] The system of claim 1, further comprising a target object specifying unit that specifies the target object using the hyperspectral image and the vision image, (Filler, Fig. 12 and [0022] “FIG. 12 shows an annotated map of an image frame produced by a trained classifier.”)
wherein the target object specifying unit specifies the target object by considering locations of the vision camera and the hyperspectral sensor and a moving speed of the waste on a conveyor. (Filler, Fig. 1. Note that Fig. 1 includes the belt speed in the bottom right corner.)
[Claim 3] The system of claim 2, wherein the target object specifying unit determines an analysis region of the target object by excluding a portion in which the target object overlaps with other waste. (Filler, Fig. 24 and [0033], “FIG. 24 depicts a convolutional neural network suitable for judging whether imagery depicts plural adjoining or overlapping items, or not.”)
[Claim 4] The system of claim 1, wherein the first learning data generation unit comprises:
a semi-supervised learning processing model unit that processes the hyperspectral data through a semi-supervised learning processing model to generate integrated data; and (Filler, [0189] “In such instances each label is already effectively “self-labeled,” greatly simplifying the training effort, and enabling “semi-supervised training” to occur.”)
a target object material prediction unit discriminating a material of the target object using the integrated data through a deep learning model. (Filler, Fig. 12 and [0022] “FIG. 12 shows an annotated map of an image frame produced by a trained classifier.” Fig. 12 recognizes objects as “plastic” versus “aluminum,” teaching the claimed material prediction.)
[Claim 7] The system of claim 4, wherein the deep learning model uses one or more of a convolutional neural network (CNN) and a recurrent neural network (RNN). (Filler, Fig. 24 and [0033], “FIG. 24 depicts a convolutional neural network suitable for judging whether imagery depicts plural adjoining or overlapping items, or not.”)
[Claim 8] The system of The system of wherein the second artificial intelligence model uses one or more of the CNN and the RNN; and (Filler, [0252] “a convolutional neural network used in object identification”)
wherein the second learning data discriminates a shape and color of the waste for the target object. (Filler, [0252] “The context(s) can comprise color information (e.g., histogram), partial or complete decoding of a machine-readable symbology (e.g., barcode or watermark), detection of certain edges or shapes (e.g., suggesting particular objects), detection of SIFT, SURF or other image keypoints with associated descriptors (e.g., suggesting particular objects), etc.” [0252] specifies that the context is for “a convolutional neural network used in object identification.”)
[Claim 9] The system of claim 1, wherein the third artificial intelligence model is one or more of multiple linear regression (MLR) analysis, support vector machine (SVM), or K-nearest neighbor (k-NN) classification. (Filler, [0330] “One of many other suitable alternatives is a SVM (support-vector machine) classifier.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 6 (the claims not rejected under 102, above) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20220331841A1 (“Filler”) in view of CN111626317A (“Liu”). References are listed in the Notice of Cited References when they were first cited. If a reference is not identifiable (e.g., due to a typo), it can be identified by searching for the quoted text. Citations to the Liu are to the attached espacenet translation.
[Claim 5] The system of claim 4, wherein the hyperspectral data comprises labeled data and unlabeled data, and the semi-supervised learning processing model processes the labeled data and the unlabeled data through a principal component analysis network. (Liu, [0016] “The output layer classifies spectral curve/principal component image sample pairs into three categories: ① real label/real data, ② pseudo label/real data, ③ real label/pseudo data.” See also, [0031] “Principal component analysis is performed on the effective pixels in the 3D data block”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Liu to the teachings of Filler such that Liu’s principal component analysis is used with Filler’s AI for the purpose of identifying principal components in the images to avoid overfitting. Liu, [0059].
Based on the above, this is an example of “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.” MPEP 2143.
[Claim 6] The system of claim 5, wherein the hyperspectral data comprises spatial information and spectral information; and (Filler, Fig. 13, “AI camera” and [0168] “imagery may be collected at plural different near infrared wavelengths.” [0168] describes what the AI camera can capture. Filler’s infrared teaches the claimed hyperspectral.)
wherein the semi-supervised learning processing model unit generates the integrated data by integrating respective results obtained after training each of the spatial information and the spectral information through the semi-supervised learning processing model. (Filler, [0189] “In such instances each label is already effectively “self-labeled,” greatly simplifying the training effort, and enabling “semi-supervised training” to occur.”)
Conclusion
/DAVID ORANGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2663