Status of Claims
This is in response to applicant’s filing date of December 31, 2024, filed with preliminary amendment. In the preliminary amendment, claims 1-10 were cancelled and claims 11-20 were added. Claims 11-20 are currently pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority to Application DE102022119064.1, filed on July 29, 2022. The certified copy of the application as required by 37 CFR 1.55 has been received.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 31, 2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority National Stage Application
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application, PCT/EP2023/067571 filed on 6/28/2023, under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections -- 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyaki et al (US-20220081030-A1)(“Miyaki”), provided by Applicant in the IDS filed on 12/31/2024, and Witte et al (US-20160176440-A1)(“Witte”).
As per claim 11, Miyaki discloses a method for controlling (Figure 2) a steering actuator (Figure 1, turning motor 33.), wherein the steering actuator is set up to adjust at least one wheel of a motor vehicle or to assist adjustment of the at least one wheel by a steering torque (Miyaki at least Para. [0034] disclosing that turning motor 33 effectuates a turning of the wheel as commanded by a driver at steering wheel 3:” the steering control device 1 executes a turning control such that the steered wheels 5 are turned in accordance with a steering state through a drive control on the turning motor 33.”), the method comprising the steps of:
determining a change in steering angle (ψϊ) of the at least one wheel (Miyaki at Figure 2, steering angle calculation 51, and Paras. [0039],[0040], and [0047] where it discloses determining the steering angle change by the driver turning the steering wheel:” The steering angle calculation portion 51 calculates a steering angle θh by multiplying the accumulation angle obtained by the conversion by a scaling factor based on a rotation speed ratio of the steering speed reducer 14. Note that, when the steering angle θh is an angle on the right side from the steering neutral position, the steering angle θh is positive, and when the steering angle θh is an angle on the left side from the steering neutral position, the steering angle θh is negative, for example. The steering angle θh thus obtained is output to the turning controlling portion 60.” At Para. [0040].);
ascertaining a cumulative change in steering angle (ψϊ) on the basis of the change in steering angle (ψϊ), wherein the change in steering angle (ψϊ) or ) (Miyaki at Figure 2, Module 66 and 67 showing a summation of various variables, and Paras. [0040]-[0047] disclosing an accumulation of various inputs to determine the steering angle:” steering angle calculation portion 51 calculates a steering angle θh by multiplying the accumulation angle obtained by the conversion by a scaling factor based on a rotation speed ratio of the steering speed reducer 14.” At Para. [0040].);
ascertaining a reduction factor (Ra) on the basis of the cumulative change in steering angle (ψk) (Miyaki at Figure 4, reduction module 67, and Para. [0047] disclosing the use of reduction/scaling factor to ascertain the inputted steering angle:” pinion angle calculation portion 61 calculates a pinion angle θp that is an actual rotation angle of the second pinion shaft 32 by multiplying the accumulation angle obtained by the conversion by a scaling factor based on a rotation speed ratio of the turning speed reducer 34.”);
ascertaining a preliminary steering angle target value or a preliminary steering torque target value for the steering actuator (Miyaki at Paras. [0047]-[0050] disclosing ascertaining a preliminary steering angle:” steering angle ratio variable calculation portion 66 changes the adjustment amount Δθ in accordance with the vehicle speed V. The adjustment amount Δθ is used to change a steering angle ratio that is a ratio of the converted angle θvg to the steering angle θh.” At Para. [0049].); and
reducing the preliminary steering angle target value or the preliminary steering torque target value on the basis of the reduction factor (Ra) ascertained, whereby a scaled steering angle target value or a scaled steering torque target value for the steering actuator is obtained (Miyaki at Paras. [0049]-[0050] discloses :” reduction processing portion 67 calculates an offset angle θofst based on the vehicle speed V, the steering torque Th, the converted angle θvg, and the turning-side actual current value It. The offset angle θofst is a compensation amount at the time when the target pinion angle θp* is calculated.” At Para. [0050].).
Miyaki does not disclose, but Witte discloses that the determined steering is based on a weighted change in steering angle (ψϊ) (Witte at Para. [0068] disclosing applying a weighted steering angle to a steering column for a vehicle:” device 5 for determining the resulting setpoint value rSW which is determined as a sum of the weighted AM setpoint value and the weighted MM setpoint value is also illustrated. A regulating device 6, which adjusts a phase current I of an electric machine 7 of the steering device as a function of a difference between the resulting setpoint value rSW and an actual value IW, is also illustrated. “).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the weighted steering method taught in Witte in the steering control device in Miyaki with a reasonable expectation of success because this results in the steering device being utilized as uniformly as possible over time by suitably adjusting the weighting factors of the steering angle to improve the steering sensation of the driver (see Witte at Para.[0041]).
As per claim 12, Miyaki and Witte disclose a method according to claim 11, wherein the cumulative change in steering angle (ψk) is reduced on the basis of a decay constant (c) (Miyaki at Para. [0093] discloses changing the steering angle gradually over time:” it is assumed that an appropriate offset angle θofst to decrease the difference between the target pinion angle θp* and the pinion angle θp varies each time.”).
As per claim 13, Miyaki and Witte disclose a method according to claim 11, wherein the reduction factor (Ra) is ascertained on the basis of a predefined characteristic curve from the cumulative change in steering angle (ψk) (Miyaki at Figure 5, gain maps 121 & 122, and Para. [0077] disclosing a predefined characteristics for changing the input steering angle:” decrease map calculation portion 122 includes a map that defines a relationship of the absolute value of the target pinion angle speed pp.* with a decrease base amount θdb that is a base amount of a decrease Od. The decrease map calculation portion 122 performs map calculation to find the decrease base amount θdb based on the absolute value of the target pinion angle speed ωp* by referring to the map.”).
As per claim 14, Miyaki and Witte disclose a method according to claim 11, wherein the change in steering angle (ψϊ) is weighted on the basis of a speed-dependent characteristic curve in order to ascertain the cumulative change in steering angle (ψk) (Miyaki at Figure 5, gain maps 121 & 122, and Para. [0076] discloses using vehicle speed as a characteristics:” vehicle speed V is input into the vehicle speed gain map calculation portion 121. The vehicle speed gain map calculation portion 121 includes a map that defines a relationship of the vehicle speed V with a vehicle speed gain G. The vehicle speed gain map calculation portion 121 performs map calculation to find the vehicle speed gain G based on the vehicle speed V by referring to the map.”).
As per claim 15, Miyaki and Witte disclose a method according to claim 11, wherein the change in steering angle (ψϊ) is weighted on the basis of a degree of electromechanical utilization (F) of the steering actuator in order to ascertain the cumulative change in steering angle (ψk) (Miyaki at Para. [0090] and Para. [0091] disclosing in part:” application of the turning force by the turning motor 33 rather than continuing the application of the turning force by the turning motor 33, it is assumed that the driver can hardly have an uncomfortable feeling or any inconvenience. Accordingly, the state where the reduction process is executed can be made more appropriate under the condition that the vehicle speed V is a low vehicle speed.” At Para. [0091]).
As per claim 16, Miyaki and Witte disclose a method according to claim 11, wherein the change in steering angle (ψϊ) is only summated when an absolute amount of the change in steering angle is greater than a predefined limit value (Miyaki at Para. [0062] disclosing a predefined limit value before performing the steering reduction:” input is larger than a current threshold I0, the switching portion 102 controls a selection state such that the basic offset angle θo1 input into the first input N1 is output to the accumulated offset angle calculation portion 104. When the turning-side actual current value It thus input is the current threshold I0 or less, the switching portion 102 controls a selection state such that the minimum offset angle θ min input into the second input N2 is output to the accumulated offset angle calculation portion 104.”).
As per claim 17, Miyaki and Witte disclose a method according to claim 11, wherein a predefined minimum value (Rmin) for the reduction factor (Ra) is provided (Miyaki at Para. [0061] discloses a minimum value is defined:” turning-side actual current value It, the basic offset angle θo1, and a minimum offset angle θ min are input into the switching portion 102. The minimum offset angle θ min is set as a minimum angle to be output when no offset is performed. In the present embodiment, the minimum offset angle θ min is set to “0.” The basic offset angle θo1 is input into a first input N1 of the switching portion 102. The minimum offset angle θ min is input into a second input N2 of the switching portion 102.”).
As per claim 18, Miyaki and Witte disclose a method according to claim 11, wherein the reduction factor (Ra) is only updated when the steering angle (yi) passes through zero (Miyaki at Para. [0085] discloses that the reduction factor is applied at points other than zero:” when the unprocessed offset angle θofstp has a value of zero, the offset angle correcting portion 108 operates such that the decrease θd output from the lower limit guard processing portion 124 is not reflected on the unprocessed offset angle θofstp. Hereby, the offset angle θofst for correcting the converted angle θvg is gradually changed.”).
As per claim 19, Miyaki and Witte disclose a method according to claim 11, wherein the preliminary steering angle target value or the preliminary steering torque target value is only reduced below a predefined limit speed (vmax) of the motor vehicle (Miyaki at Paras. [0088]-[0091] discloses application of a reduction at a predetermined vehicle speed:” the state where the reduction process is executed can be made more appropriate under the condition that the vehicle speed V is a low vehicle speed.” At Para. [0091].).
As per claim 20, Miyaki discloses a steering system, comprising:
at least one electromechanical steering actuator (Miyaki at least Para. [0034] disclosing that turning motor 33 effectuates a turning of the wheel as commanded by a driver at steering wheel 3:” the steering control device 1 executes a turning control such that the steered wheels 5 are turned in accordance with a steering state through a drive control on the turning motor 33.”); and
a control unit for the steering actuator (Miyaki at Figure 1, control device 1.), wherein the control unit is configured to:
determine a change in steering angle (gii) of the at least one wheel (Miyaki at Figure 2, steering angle calculation 51, and Paras. [0039],[0040], and [0047] where it discloses determining the steering angle change by the driver turning the steering wheel:” The steering angle calculation portion 51 calculates a steering angle θh by multiplying the accumulation angle obtained by the conversion by a scaling factor based on a rotation speed ratio of the steering speed reducer 14. Note that, when the steering angle θh is an angle on the right side from the steering neutral position, the steering angle θh is positive, and when the steering angle θh is an angle on the left side from the steering neutral position, the steering angle θh is negative, for example. The steering angle θh thus obtained is output to the turning controlling portion 60.” At Para. [0040].);
ascertain a cumulative change in steering angle (<pk)on the basis of the change in steering angle (pi), wherein the change in steering angle (gii) or a is summated in terms of absolute amounts in order to ascertain the cumulative change in steering angle (cpk) (Miyaki at Figure 2, Module 66 and 67 showing a summation of various variables, and Paras. [0040]-[0047] disclosing an accumulation of various inputs to determine the steering angle:” steering angle calculation portion 51 calculates a steering angle θh by multiplying the accumulation angle obtained by the conversion by a scaling factor based on a rotation speed ratio of the steering speed reducer 14.” At Para. [0040].);
ascertain a reduction factor (Ra) on the basis of the cumulative change in steering angle (cpk) (Miyaki at Figure 4, reduction module 67, and Para. [0047] disclosing the use of reduction/scaling factor to ascertain the inputted steering angle:” pinion angle calculation portion 61 calculates a pinion angle θp that is an actual rotation angle of the second pinion shaft 32 by multiplying the accumulation angle obtained by the conversion by a scaling factor based on a rotation speed ratio of the turning speed reducer 34.”) ;
ascertain a preliminary steering angle target value or a preliminary steering torque target value for the steering actuator (Miyaki at Paras. [0047]-[0050] disclosing ascertaining a preliminary steering angle:” steering angle ratio variable calculation portion 66 changes the adjustment amount Δθ in accordance with the vehicle speed V. The adjustment amount Δθ is used to change a steering angle ratio that is a ratio of the converted angle θvg to the steering angle θh.” At Para. [0049].); and
reduce the preliminary steering angle target value or the preliminary steering torque target value on the basis of the reduction factor (Ra) ascertained, whereby a scaled steering angle target value or a scaled steering torque target value for the steering actuator is obtained (Miyaki at Paras. [0049]-[0050] discloses :” reduction processing portion 67 calculates an offset angle θofst based on the vehicle speed V, the steering torque Th, the converted angle θvg, and the turning-side actual current value It. The offset angle θofst is a compensation amount at the time when the target pinion angle θp* is calculated.” At Para. [0050].) (Miyaki at Paras. [0049]-[0050] discloses :” reduction processing portion 67 calculates an offset angle θofst based on the vehicle speed V, the steering torque Th, the converted angle θvg, and the turning-side actual current value It. The offset angle θofst is a compensation amount at the time when the target pinion angle θp* is calculated.” At Para. [0050].).
Miyaki does not disclose, but Witte discloses that the determined steering is based on a weighted change in steering angle (ψϊ) (Witte at Para. [0068] disclosing applying a weighted steering angle to a steering column for a vehicle:” device 5 for determining the resulting setpoint value rSW which is determined as a sum of the weighted AM setpoint value and the weighted MM setpoint value is also illustrated. A regulating device 6, which adjusts a phase current I of an electric machine 7 of the steering device as a function of a difference between the resulting setpoint value rSW and an actual value IW, is also illustrated. “).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the weighted steering method taught in Witte in the steering control device in Miyaki with a reasonable expectation of success because this results in the steering device being utilized as uniformly as possible over time by suitably adjusting the weighting factors of the steering angle to improve the steering sensation of the driver (see Witte at Para.[0041]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
KIM; Tae Hong et al. (US-20170267279-A1) STEERING TORQUE COMPENSATION APPARATUS AND METHOD FOR ELECTRIC POWER STEERING SYSTEM;
Di Cairano; Stefano (US-20140288779-A1) Determining Steering Angle of Steering Column of Vehicle;
LAZIC; Nenad et al. (US-20160121925-A1) METHOD AND SYSTEM FOR INTELLIGENT SCALING OF TORQUE OVERLAY INTERVENTION FOR SEMI-AUTONOMOUS ROAD VEHICLE STEERING SYSTEMS;
Bolio; Robert R. et al. (US-20090228173-A1) Authority Limits For A Vehicle Steering System;
Michelis; Andre et al. (US-8712646-B2) Device for determining the absolute angular position of the steering wheel of an electric power-assisted steering column of a motor vehicle using weighted dynamic parameters of the vehicle;
Klier; Willy et al. (US-8571758-B2) Continuous correction for steering wheel angle offset;
LEE; Jeong Min et al. (US-20250256774-A1) VEHICLE STEER-BY-WIRE SYSTEM AND CONTROL METHOD THEREOF;
LIESNER HENRIK et al. (EP-4155170-A1) STEERING SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR OPERATING SAME.
ELLIS B. RAMIREZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3658
/ELLIS B. RAMIREZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3658