DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 10-14 are cancelled. Claims 1-9 are pending and under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 12/31/2024 and 10/30/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to for “comprises: comprising” where applicant only needs one of these recitations of comprises. The other may be deleted.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (Stem Cells International, Aug 2021, volume 2021, pages 1-14).
Wang teaches application of stem cell therapy for ACL Graft Regeneration (title and abstract, also see sections 2 and 3). Wang indicates ACL injuries and ACL tears (Introduction). Wang teaches stem cell transplantation (abstract). Wang teaches ligament stem progenitor cells as having the best potential in generating tendon/ligament lineage cells (abstract and conclusion). Wang provides for ACL graft regeneration after implantation (abstract). Wang teaches decellularized allogenic scaffold that is more similar to the original environment and enables easy seeding of cells (second column on page 7). Wang notes that a graft wrapped in stem cell collagen seem a safe and simple solution (second column on page 7). Wang teaches use of tendon graft in section 2, page 2. Wang provides that carriers with great natural biocompatibility, cell adhesion, biomechanics, biocompatibility and insertion spatial simulation are required (page 7). Wang teaches injecting of stem cells is mostly used for delivery (second column of page 7). Wang teaches injecting or transplanting stem cells (page 7). Wang teaches “Combined with materials science, it is possible to construct similar tissues and organs to substitute the injured part” (section 3). Wang teaches native ACL has roughly 90% of type I collagen by volume (section 3.2.3).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have used grafts for transplanting such as tendon grafts for carriers of ligament stem cell progenitors and further wrapped these with collagen in a method to treat an ACL injury/tear as ligament stem cell treatments are seen as effective and collagen wrapped grafts are seen as effective carriers for such cells and introducing the cells aids in tissue regeneration. Wang also teaches decellularized allogenic scaffold that is more similar to the original environment, which would include the extracellular matrix such as collagens (with type I collagen being 90% of this material in Wang). In regard to “injected into the tendon”, this is a step of getting the cells into the carrier, since Wang teaches the cells to be included with the carrier, it provides such a form. Further, it is noted that Wang notes injecting as a common way to introduce cells to an environment. Therefore, there was a reasonable expectation of providing such methods of applicant’s claims by the teaching of Wang in order to effectively treat or regeneration ACL ligaments in a subject.
Claim 3 in addition to Claims 1-2, and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (Stem Cells International, Aug 2021, volume 2021, pages 1-14) and CN104357386A (published 2015).
Wang teaches the claims as discussed above.
CN ‘386 teaches separating mesenchymal stem cells from anterior cruciate ligament stub tissue (abstract). CN ‘386 does not teach CD34 negative cells under experimental method (also surface markers of isolated cells). CN ‘386 teaches the cells are “an ideal seed cell source in future ligament regeneration and transformation medical research, and has good clinical application prospect” (abstract). CN ‘386 mentions ACL injuries including ruptures (Background technique).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have included CD34 negative ACL tissue stem cells of CN ‘386 into the methods proposed by Wang as they are seen as an ideal source of ACL ligament stem cells. Therefore, there is a reasonable expectation of success in using these stem cells of CN ‘386 as the CD34 negative cells of Wang and obtaining treatment of an ACL injury/tear through regenerative function as they are seen as being an ideal source.
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noth et al (Cytotherapy, 2005, volume 7, pages 447-455) and CN104357386A (published 2015).
Noth teaches fabricating ACL constructs with stem cells and an optimized collage type I hydrogel that is used for autologous chondrocyte transplantation (Background and Methods, figures 1 and 2, discussion on page 452). Noth teaches a ligament-like extracellular matrix (Results). Thus, the construct is made with the structure and composition of the ACL in mind and mimic such a structure of the derived material also having type I collagen. Noth sees these constructs could be implanted for reconstruction of ligaments (Discussion on page 447). Page 454 of Noth provides for ACL healing for an ACL rupture (first full paragraph). Noth notes optimizing to improve the material strength (discussion).
Noth does not teach anterior cruciate ligament-derived stem cells as a type of stem cells.
CN ‘386 teaches separating mesenchymal stem cells from anterior cruciate ligament stub tissue (abstract). CN ‘386 does not teach CD34 negative cells under experimental method (also surface markers of isolated cells). CN ‘386 teaches the cells are “an ideal seed cell source in future ligament regeneration and transformation medical research, and has good clinical application prospect” (abstract). CN ‘386 mentions ACL injuries including ruptures (Background technique).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have utilized the cells of CN ‘386 in the constructs taught by Noth as these cells of ‘386 are seen as an ideal seed cell source for ACL regenerative treatment. One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have included the stem cells of ‘386 into constructs of Noth with a reasonable expectation of achieving treatment of a ruptured ACL when transplanting the constructs to the site.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/MARK V STEVENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613