DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the references as used in the current rejection.
After consultation with primary examiner concerning claim 1 amendment of “the at least one radiative surface corresponds to an outer skin of a structural panel of the spacecraft”, newly found reference Basuthakur et al is looked to for the limitation. Basuthakur et al discloses external thermal radiative panels for a spacecraft. Applicants’ arguments have been responded to in advisory action of 3/26/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-4, 8-10, 12, 13, 15, 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bigelow et al (US 6481670) in view of Aston et al (US 20210247140) in view of Basuthakur et al (US 5954298).
In regards to claim 1, Bigelow discloses a system for thermal regulation of a spacecraft, comprising:
- a hot source interface (Bigelow abstract discloses thermal interface “protective barrier provides a thermal heat sink, temperature equalization, and a waste heat rejection system”),
- a radiator having a thermally conductive body comprising at least one radiative surface (as seen in Figs. 1 and 2, ref. 120 acting as radiator, transfers heat from a fluid to an area outside of it)
- a single-phase cooling fluid circuit arranged in or on said hot source interface (schematic Fig. 9 circuit comprising refs. 12, 30, C7:45 discloses fluid used to carry heat through lines), the single-phase cooling fluid circuit comprising a pump (Fig. 9 ref. 62) for activating the circulation of the single-phase cooling fluid circuit (Fig. 9 ref. 62 disclosed as pump),
the system further comprising a heat exchange device arranged in or on the body of the radiator (Fig. 9 ref. 30 disclosed as heat exchanger, seen oriented on ref. 120), the heat exchange device comprising a casing comprising an internal cavity having respective input and output ports for connecting-with the single-phase cooling (as suggested in Fig. 9 of Bigelow for ref. 30 heat exchanger, enclosed unit, having input and output ports for lines refs. 11 and 12),
while Bigelow discloses a circuit that comprises a plurality of ducts, Fig. 9 circuit comprising pump ref. 61 flowing medium through segment 1- segment X, and ref. 11 through ref. 30,
however, Bigelow does not expressly disclose: the plurality ducts are of diphasic ducts,
Aston [0038] teaches cooling fluid is heated within ducts/lines while cooling equipment and changes phase “Source 44 may be configured to transfer heat from the output coolant fluid to ambient air, to a waste heat recovery unit, and/or to any appropriate system. In some examples, coolant fluid 30 and/or some portion of the coolant fluid may undergo a phase change as a result of heat absorbed from cold plate 10. In such examples, source 44 may be configured to return coolant fluid 30 to a liquid phase. Any appropriate coolant fluid source may be used,” the ducts thus diphasic ducts.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Bigelow with Aston by providing that the plurality ducts are of diphasic ducts, ducts through which a medium is changed of phase, due to absorbing heat from equipment or outer skin and the medium is transported away in accordance with the cooling cycle in order to cool/heat as is well known in the art.
Bigelow further discloses: the plurality of diphasic ducts being separate from each other and separate from the single-phase cooling fluid circuit (Bigelow as seen in Fig. 9, single-phase circuit comprising pump ref. 62, separate from circuit comprising pump ref. 61),
Bigelow does not expressly disclose as taught by Aston:
each diphasic duct of the plurality of diphasic ducts comprising a first section (Fig. 4 comprising ref. 128) and a second section (Fig. 4 comprising ref. 130), the first section of the plurality of diphasic ducts being arranged in the heat exchange device, in-thermal-contact with the internal cavity (seen in Fig. 4 of Aston, for ref. 100 heat exchanger),
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Bigelow with Aston by providing each diphasic duct of the plurality of diphasic ducts comprising a first section and a second section, the first section of the plurality of diphasic ducts being arranged in the heat exchange device, in-thermal-contact with the internal cavity in order to allow greater amount medium flowing through for heat exchange.
Bigelow as combined further discloses:
the second sections of the plurality of diphasic-ducts being arranged in or on said body of said radiator, and extending-from the heat exchange device (Bigelow as seen in Fig. 9 for ref. 30).
Bigelow as combined does not expressly disclose:
and wherein the at least one radiative surface corresponds to an outer skin of a structural panel of the spacecraft.
Basuthakur teaches an external surface of a spacecraft which acts as a thermal radiative panel (Fig. 1 ref. 44, C4:1 “This embodiment actively moves thermal energy from components inside spacecraft 10 or on its external surface 16 to thermal radiator panel 44 for thermal rejection to space”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Bigelow as combined with Basuthakur by providing the at least one radiative surface corresponds to an outer skin of a structural panel of the spacecraft in order to allow a greater surface area to directly radiate heat away from the spacecraft.
In regards to claim 2, Bigelow as combined discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the first section of each diphasic duct extends along a direction transverse to a direction of said single-phase cooling fluid circuit in the internal cavity (Bigelow as suggested in Fig. 9 for circuits of pump ref. 61 and pump ref. 62) and the internal cavity is shaped to extend to at least part of a circumference of each duct section (Bigelow as combined, Aston Fig. 4 cavities within the casing ref. 100 wrap around an outer circumference/outline of ref. 100).
In regards to claim 3, Bigelow as combined discloses the system according to claim 1, but does not expressly disclose: wherein the first sections of the diphasic ducts comprise at least two superposed layers of first duct sections, however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, the device of Aston, to provide for the first sections of the diphasic ducts comprise at least two superposed layers of first duct sections in order to add strength to the joint, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Bigelow as combined further discloses: wherein the first duct sections of a layer of the first duct sections are offset relative to the duct sections of an adjacent layer, and the internal cavity extends between the first duct sections of two adjacent layers (Aston, in Fig. 4, duct sections at top and bottom of ref. 100 are offset to one another, then the doubled layers would be offset).
In regards to claim 4, Bigelow as combined discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the first diphasic ducts sections extend parallel to each other, and the second duct sections extend in different directions in a plane parallel to the radiative surface (Bigelow as combined, suggested in Fig. 9 and in Fig. 4 of Aston for heat exchanger, the ducts oriented in different directions).
In regards to claim 8, Bigelow as combined discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the casing comprises the cavity (Bigelow as combined, as seen in Fig. 4 of Aston, cavity within heat exchanger) and the first diphasic duct sections is formed as a single piece manufactured by additive manufacturing (Bigelow as combined, Aston abstract “An additively manufactured heat transfer device”), and each first duct section is assembled to a second duct section extending from the casing (Aston as seen in Figs. 3-5).
In regards to claim 9, Bigelow as combined discloses the system according to claim1, wherein each first diphasic dust section protrudes from a wall of the casing delimiting the internal cavity (Aston as seen in Fig. 4, at refs. 134-140), and is assembled to a second diphasic duct section in order to form a respective diphasic duct (Aston as seen in Fig. 2, ducts extending from ref. 10), said assembly being achieved by welding, brazing, or by a shape- memory fitting (Aston [0062] discloses welding “outer walls 108 and internal walls 132 may form a single piece and the intake and outtake ports may be separately manufactured and fastened, welded, or otherwise fixed to the outer walls”).
In regards to claim 10, Bigelow as combined discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the casing-comprises a plurality of open grooves configured to receive a corresponding first diphasic duct section (Aston as seen in Fig. 4, open grooves, refs. 144, 130, receive product from further duct sections attached to ref. 100).
In regards to claim 12, Bigelow as combined discloses the system according to claim 16, wherein each first diphasic duct section has the same thermal exchange surface with both internal cavities (Bigelow as combined, as suggested in Fig. 3 of Aston ref. 118 surface shared by both internal cavities).
In regards to claim 13, Bigelow as combined discloses the system according to claim 16, but does not expressly disclose: comprising two casings each comprising one of the internal cavities, each casing comprising a plurality of open grooves configured each to receive a corresponding first diphasic duct section, and the two casings are assembled together with the open grooves of a casing facing the open grooves of the other casing. However, it would have been an obvious substitution of functional equivalents to substitute the single casing of Bigelow as combined which comprises the internal cavities as claimed, for the two casings as mated in order to produce the casing as a single stronger unit, since a simple substitution of one known element for another would obtain predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1739, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395, 1396 (2007).
In regards to claim 15, Bigelow as combined discloses a spacecraft comprising at least one heat-producing component and a system for thermal regulation according to claim 1 (Bigelow abstract discloses spacecraft and “protective barrier provides a thermal heat sink, temperature equalization, and a waste heat rejection system”).
In regards to claim 16, Bielow as combined discloses the system according to claim 1, but does not expressly disclose: comprising at least two separate single-phase cooling fluid circuits and the heat exchange device comprises at least two internal cavities, each internal cavity having respective input and output ports for connecting to a respective single-phase cooling fluid circuit.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, was made to provide at least two separate single-phase cooling fluid circuits and the heat exchange device comprises at least two internal cavities, each internal cavity having respective input and output ports for connecting to a respective single-phase cooling fluid circuit in order to provide a greater thermal transfer by increasing the colling circuits, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claim 5, 6, 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bigelow, Aston, Basuthakur as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ahmed et al (US 20160091258).
In regards to claim 5, Bigelow as combine discloses a system for thermal regulation of a spacecraft according to claim 1, but does not expressly disclose: wherein the internal cavity comprises an internal lattice structure disposed transversally to an internal circuit joining said input and output ports.
Ahmed teaches an internal lattice structure arranged transverse to flow (Figs. 2a, 2b, lattice formed from refs. 21a, forming a regular geometrical arrangement of points or objects over an area or in space).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Bigelow with Ahmed by providing the internal cavity comprises an internal lattice structure disposed transversally to an internal circuit joining said input and output ports in order to increase heat transport capacity.
In regards to claim 6, Bigelow as combined discloses the system according to claim 5, wherein the internal cavity is formed by walls of a thermally conductive material (Bigelow the material of the ducts would have a thermal conductive property, Aston [0031] discloses conductive thermal material), and the internal lattice is formed of a thermally conductive material (Aston [0031] discloses conductive thermal material for device and parts of device).
In regards to claim 14, Bigelow as combined discloses the system according to claim 1, while Bigelow discloses diphasic ducts (detailed in claim 1 rejection), Aston does not expressly disclose: wherein each diphasic duct comprises at least one internal canal for vapor circulation and a capillary structure for liquid circulation.
Ahmed teaches an internal canal/structure arranged for vapor circulation and a capillary structure for liquid circulation (Figs. 2a, 2b, capillary formed from refs. 21a, similar to that of instant application figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Bigelow with Ahmed by providing the system for channeling vapor and a liquid circulation through the ducts/conduits in order to keep the free flow of product through the ducts.
Claim 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bigelow, Aston, Basuthakur as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Killion et al (US 20120087088).
In regards to claim 11, Bigelow as combined discloses the system according to claim 9, but does not expressly disclose: wherein each first diphasic duct section is inserted in a corresponding open groove,
Killion teaches a duct section inserted into a receiving coupling (Fig. ref. 250a coupled into ref. 253a).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Bigelow with Killian by providing each first diphasic duct section-is inserted in a corresponding open groove in order to provide a leak free seal as is well known in the art.
Bigelow as combined further discloses: and assembled to the corresponding open groove by thermal glue, welding or brazing (Aston [0062]).
Claim 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bigelow, Aston, Basuthakur as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Goodzeit et al (US 8960608).
In regards to claim 7, Bigelow as combined discloses the system according to claim 1, but does not expressly disclose: wherein the first diphasic duct section of each diphasic duct forms an end of the diphasic duct (Bigelow, Aston Fig. 2 ref. 140 mirrored for ends of ref. 100).
Goodzeit teaches cooling lines/ducts for a spacecraft, Fig. 5 ref. 210, which form ends of a radiator circuit.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Bigelow with Goodzeit by providing the first diphasic duct section of each diphasic duct forms an end of the diphasic duct in order to allow for a more compart structure.
Conclusion
/V.R./ Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/MEDHAT BADAWI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642
1. (Currently Amended) A system for thermal regulation of a spacecraft, comprising:-
a hot source interface,
- a radiator having a thermally conductive body comprising at least one radiative surface,
- a single-phase cooling fluid circuit arranged in or on said hot source interface, the single-phase cooling fluid circuit comprising a pump for activating the circulation of the single-phase cooling fluid circuit,
the system further comprising a heat exchange device arranged in or on the body of the radiator,
the heat exchange device comprising a casing comprising an internal cavity having respective input and output ports for connecting with the single-phase cooling fluid, and
wherein the system further comprises a plurality of diphasic ducts, the plurality of diphasic ducts being separate from each other and separate from the single-phase cooling fluid circuit,
each diphasic duct of the plurality of diphasic ducts comprising a first section and a second section,
the first section of the plurality of diphasic ducts being arranged in the heat exchange device, in thermal contact with the internal cavity, and
the second sections of the plurality of diphasic ducts being arranged in or on said body of said radiator, and extending from the heat exchange device, and
wherein the at least one radiative surface corresponds to an outer skin of a structural panel of the spacecraft.