DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (CN 111114107 A), and in view of Liang (CN 114394463 A).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses a mandrel feeding device, comprising; a dispensing station (Fig. 1; ¶39, feeding device 2), an adjusting station (Fig. 1; ¶39, calibration device 4), an adhesive application station (Fig. 1; ¶39, tape application device 6), a transferring unit configured for moving to the dispensing station, the adjusting station, and the adhesive application station (Pg. 23-24, ¶41, transferring device 3); a dispensing unit provided at the dispensing station and configured for storing a plurality of mandrels and individually outputting the mandrels, wherein the transferring unit, when moved to the dispensing station, is configured for receiving the mandrels output by the dispensing units (Fig. 1-2; Pg. 22, ¶40, feeding device 2); an adjusting unit provided at the adjusting station and configured to be transferred to the adjusting station by the transferring unit for rotating the mandrel, an adhesive application unit provided at the adhesive application station and configured for applying a double-sided adhesive layer onto the mandrel transferred to the adhesive application station by the transferring unit (Fig. 6-8; Pg. 24, ¶42, calibration device 4).
Zhou discloses the claimed invention except for a feeding unit. However, Liang teaches a feeding unit configured for gripping the mandrel on the transferring unit and transferring the mandrel to a winding mechanism (Fig. 6; Pg. 20-21, ¶29, tube driving mechanism 24, corresponding to a feeding unit, winding stations 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate a feeding unit which is configured to feed the mandrel to a winding mechanism as it is an essential step for the battery winding process. Both Zhou and Liang disclose inventions pertaining to battery manufacture, thus, the incorporation of a winding element merely requires one skilled in the art to incorporate to further provide a wound electrode sheet for said manufacture.
Regarding claim 2, Zhou discloses wherein the transferring unit comprises a transferring mechanism (Pg. 23-24, ¶41, transferring device 3), which comprises: a mounting seat and a supporting board, the supporting board being mounted on the mounting seat and configured for bearing a mandrel (Fig. 3-5; Pg. 23-24, ¶41, linear slide rail 32, corresponding to a mounting seat, and linear guide rail 33, corresponding to a supporting board); and a holding structure comprising two holding blocks, which are provided on the mounting seat, are located on two sides of the supporting board in a first direction, and are configured for moving close to or away from each other in a controlled way to hold or release the mandrels on the supporting board (Fig. 3-5; Pg. 23-24, ¶41, grippers 34, corresponding to the holding blocks of a holding structure, being controlled to hold and release the drum 9).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou discloses wherein the holding structure further comprises: a first elastic member provided on the mounting seat, each of the two holding blocks being correspondingly provided with the first elastic member, and each of the first elastic members abutting against each of corresponding holding block to provide a pre-tightening force that gives the two holding blocks a tendency to move close to each other (Fig. 3-5; Pg. 23-24, ¶41, buffer 38 corresponding to a first elastic member as it prevents the grippers 34 from moving beyond a range, thus, providing a pre-tightening force); and a wedge block provided on the mounting seat and located between the two holding blocks, each of the two holding blocks being provided with each of two abutting portions that abuts against the wedge block, which is configured for moving in a controlled way between two abutting portions to drive the two holding blocks to move close to or away from each other (Fig. 3-5; Pg. 23-24, ¶41, clamping cylinder 37 corresponding to a wedge).
Regarding claim 4, Zhou discloses wherein the transferring unit comprises two transferring mechanisms, one of which is configured for moving between the dispensing station and the adjusting station, to receive the mandrels output by the dispensing unit at the dispensing station, and to transfer the mandrels to the adjusting unit at the adjusting station; wherein the other one of the transferring mechanisms is configured for moving between the adjusting station and the adhesive application station, to receive the mandrels transferred by the adjusting unit at the adjusting station, such that the adhesive application unit applies adhesive to the mandrels at the adhesive application station, and to transfer the mandrels to the feeding unit (Fig. 3-5; Pg. 23-24, ¶41, wherein multiple transfer mechanisms are depicted with their respective components).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou discloses wherein the adjusting unit comprises an adjusting mechanism, which comprises: a first supporting seat (Fig. 6-8; Pg. 24-25, ¶42, first support 41), a first rotation abutting shaft, and a second rotation abutting shaft, the first rotation abutting shaft and the second rotation abutting shaft being rotatably connected to the first supporting seat along collinear axes thereof respectively (Fig. 6-10; Pg. 26, ¶43, terminal ends 10 corresponding to first and second abutting shafts); the first rotation abutting shaft and the second rotation abutting shaft being arranged at intervals and being configured of moving close to or away from each other in a controlled way (Fig. 6-8; Pg. 24-25, ¶¶42-43, terminal ends 10 being controlled by means of motor 47); the mandrels being transferred to the adjusting station by the transferring unit, thereby moving to between the first rotation abutting shaft and the second rotation abutting shaft in a controlled way (Fig. 6-8; Pg. 24-25, ¶42); and a detector configured for detecting a position of a positioning portion on the mandrel clamped between the first rotation abutting shaft and the second rotation abutting shaft (Fig. 6-8; Pg. 24-25, ¶42, calibration modules 48 detecting positioning of the drum 9).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou discloses wherein the adjusting mechanism further comprises a guiding shaft, which is connected to an end of the first rotation abutting shaft facing towards the second rotation abutting shaft, or connected to an end of the second rotation abutting shaft facing towards the first rotation abutting shaft (Fig. 6-8; Pg. 24-25, ¶42, elastic protrusion structure corresponding to a guiding shaft); the first rotation abutting shaft and the second rotation abutting shaft are configured to move close to or away from each other, such that the guiding shaft is inserted into or withdrawn from the mandrel between the first rotation abutting shaft and the second rotation abutting shaft (Fig. 6-8; Pg. 24-25, ¶42,).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou discloses wherein the adjusting mechanism further comprises: a second moving seat movably connected to the first supporting seat, the second rotation abutting shaft being rotatably connected to the second moving seat about its axis (Fig. 6-8; Pg. 24-25, ¶42, positioning cylinder 42); a second driving member mounted on the first supporting seat, and connected to the second moving seat such that the second driving member drives the second moving seat, and thereby the second rotation abutting shaft moves close to or away from the first rotation abutting shaft (Fig. 6-8; Pg. 24-25, ¶42, heads 43, 44 being controlled by means of motor 47).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou discloses wherein the adjusting mechanism further comprises: an adjusting seat provided on the first supporting seat, the detector being mounted on the adjusting seat, and a position of the adjusting seat relative to the first supporting seat being adjustable (Fig. 6-8; Pg. 24-25, ¶42, calibration modules 48 calibration positioning cylinder 42 which corresponds to an adjusting seat).
Regarding claim 12, Zhou discloses wherein the adjusting unit further comprises a gripping mechanism which comprises a gripping assembly configured of moving to a pickup position and an adjusting position; when the gripping assembly is configured to move to the pickup position, thereby gripping or releasing the mandrel; the gripping assembly is configured to move to the adjusting position, such that the mandrel gripped by the gripping assembly is located between the first rotation abutting shaft and the second rotation abutting shaft, and the first rotation abutting shaft and the second rotation abutting shaft clamp the mandrel (Fig. 6-8; Pg. 24-25, ¶42, heads 43, 44 corresponding to the gripping assembly of the gripping mechanism).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou discloses wherein the adhesive application unit comprises: a movement mechanism comprising a first driving assembly and a shifting seat being in a transmission connection with the first driving assembly, the first driving assembly being configured for driving the shifting seat to move in a second direction and a third direction which are intersected with each other (Fig. 12-15; Pg. 27-28, ¶44, tape-applying moving frame 64, corresponding to a first driving assembly of the movement mechanism, which moves on guide rail 63, corresponding to a shifting seat of the movement mechanism); an unwinding mechanism provided on the shifting seat and configured for unwinding (Fig. 12-15; Pg. 27-30, ¶¶44-47, tape feeding cylinder 649) a double-sided adhesive tape which comprises a double-sided adhesive layer and a separation film laminated together (Fig. 12-15; Pg. 28, ¶45); a rewinding mechanism provided on the shifting seat, the rewinding mechanism being configured for rewinding the separation film (Fig. 12-15; Pg. 27-28, ¶44, tape tensioning wheel 641 corresponding to a rewinding mechanism as it opposes the feeding cylinder’s 649 rotation for tensioning); an adhesive application mechanism provided on the shifting seat and provided with an adhesive application wheel around which the double-sided adhesive tape winds (Fig. 12-15; Pg. 27-30, ¶¶46, applicator moving cylinder 648); a trimming mechanism provided on the shifting seat and configured for cutting through the double-sided adhesive layer from an upstream side of the adhesive application wheel (Fig. 12-15; Pg. 27-28, ¶44, cutting mechanism 645); wherein as the shifting seat moves in the third direction, it is capable of causing the adhesive application wheel to press the double-sided adhesive layer against the mandrel arrived at the transferring unit; the shifting seat is configured to move in the second direction, such that the adhesive application wheel rolls along a surface of the mandrel on the transferring unit (Fig. 12-15; Pg. 27-28, ¶44, tape applying pressing plate 621).
Regarding claim 14, Zhou discloses the adhesive application except for an abutting mechanism comprising an abutting wheel. However, Liang teaches an abutting mechanism provided on the shifting seat and provided with an abutting wheel downstream of the adhesive application wheel; the adhesive application wheel is configured to press the double-sided adhesive layer against the mandrel on the transferring unit arrived at the adhesive application station, such that the abutting wheel abuts against the mandrel on the transferring unit arrived at the adhesive application station, thereby smoothing the double-sided adhesive layer applied on the mandrel during the abutting wheel moving in the second direction along with the shifting seat (Fig. 4; Pg. 30, ¶40, abutment wheel 561). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate an abutting wheel to the adhesive assembly to provide a smooth transfer of the tape to the mandrel. Doing so would only require one skilled in the art as the invention of Zhou already requires abutting the tape onto the mandrel, thus adding an abutting wheel would improve such a transfer.
Regarding claim 15, Zhou discloses wherein the adhesive application mechanism is further provided with a first restraining block (Fig. 12-15; Pg. 27-30, ¶¶44-47, tape feeding clamping cylinder 643), and the trimming mechanism comprises: a cutter seat provided on the shifting seat and configured of moving towards the adhesive application mechanism in the second direction to a trimming position (Fig. 12-15; Pg. 27-30, ¶¶44-47, tape cutting cylinder 644 comprising the cutter head); a cutter (Fig. 12-15; Pg. 27-30, ¶¶44-47, stepped blade groove 6451) and a second restraining block, the cutter and the second restraining block being both provided on the cutter seat, the first restraining block and the second restraining block being arranged opposite to each other in the second direction, the first restraining block and the second restraining block forming a tape-through passage therebetween for the double-sided adhesive tape to pass through, and the tape-through passage being located upstream of the adhesive application wheel; the cutter seat is configured to moves to the trimming position, such that the second restraining block abuts against the first restraining block, and the cutter cuts through the double-sided adhesive layer between the first restraining block and the adhesive application wheel (Fig. 12-15; Pg. 27-30, ¶¶44-47, tape feed guide plate 642 and feeding clamping cylinder 643 working together for applying an adhesive).
Regarding claim 16, Zhou discloses the adhesive application mechanism further comprises: an adhesive application seat provided on the shifting seat, the adhesive application wheel being rotatably connected to the adhesive application seat, the first restraining block being provided on the adhesive application seat, and the first restraining block being adjustable in position relative to the adhesive application seat in the second direction (Fig. 12-15; Pg. 27-30, ¶¶44-47, tape positioning mechanism 62 disposed on the tape-applying moving frame 64).
Regarding claim 17, Zhou discloses wherein the first restraining block is movably connected to the adhesive application seat in the second direction, the first restraining block has a first inclined surface, and the adhesive application mechanism further comprises (Fig. 12-15; Pg. 27-30, ¶¶44-47, tape feed guide plate 642 being inclined): an adjusting wedge provided on the adhesive application seat, the adjusting wedge being provided with a second inclined surface which is parallel to and in contact with the first inclined surface, and the adjusting wedge being movable relative to the adhesive application seat in a preset direction perpendicular to the second direction, to push the first restraining block to move in the second direction under a guidance of the first inclined surface and the second inclined surface (Fig. 12-15; Pg. 27-30, ¶¶44-47, upper end face of the tape applying moving frame corresponding to an inclined wedge for guiding the tape).
Regarding claim 18, Zhou discloses wherein the adhesive application seat has a blocking surface, which is parallel to a plane perpendicular to the second direction and is located on a side of the first restraining block away from the second restraining block, and the adjusting wedge is located between the first restraining block and the blocking surface (Fig. 12-15; Pg. 27-30, ¶¶44-47, tape-applying mechanism 646).
Regarding claim 19, Zhou discloses wherein the abutting mechanism comprises: a connecting seat provided on the shifting seat (Fig. 12-15; Pg. 27-30, ¶¶44-47, tape positioning mechanism 62), but fails to disclose the abutting wheel with its connection to a supporting shaft and elastic member. However, Liang teaches a supporting shaft movably connected to the connecting seat, the abutting wheel being rotatably connected to the supporting shaft (Fig. 4; Pg. 29, ¶39, lifting cylinder 551); a second elastic member abutting between the supporting shaft and the connecting seat to provide a pre-tightening force driving the supporting shaft to give the abutting wheel a tendency to move close to the mandrel (Fig. 4; Pg. 29, ¶39, connector 552). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate a support shaft and a second elastic member in order to properly abut the abutting wheel onto the mandrel. One skilled in the art would understand that the lifting cylinder 551 of Liang provides the movement of the assembly, and the connector 552 acting as buffer.
Regarding claim 20, Zhou discloses a battery winder, comprising a mandrel feeding device according to claim 1 (Fig. 1; Pg. 5, ¶8).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (CN 111114107 A) in view of Liang (CN 114394463 A) as applied to claims 1-4 and 8-20 above, and further in view of Wang (CN 216661924 U).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou discloses wherein the dispensing unit comprises: a material box provided with a containment cavity for containing the plurality of mandrels, and an opening at a bottom of the containment cavity (Fig. 1-2; Pg. 22, ¶40, feeding barrel 21 having a discharging port). Zhou discloses the claimed invention except for a dispensing wheel. However, Wang teaches a dispensing wheel rotatably provided below the material box, the dispensing wheel being opened with a plurality of accommodation grooves on a peripheral surface thereof, and the plurality of accommodation grooves being arranged at intervals in a circumferential direction of the dispensing wheel, wherein, each of the accommodation grooves is configured for accommodating a mandrel upon the dispensing wheel rotating to the opening, and transferring the mandrel onto the transferring unit when rotating the mandrel to an outlet position along with the dispensing wheel (Fig. 1; Pg. 20-21, ¶¶36-37, rotation drive source 50 having slot 21). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate a dispensing wheel with grooves as it will simulate a controlled mandrel or core distributing means to ensure clogging does not occur.
Regarding claim 6, Zhou discloses the dispensing unit, but fails to disclose a dispensing wheel with a guiding member. However, Wang teaches a guiding member arranged around the dispensing wheel and configured for forming a conveying channel with the peripheral surface of the dispensing wheel, the guiding member being provided with an inlet end at the opening and an outlet end at the outlet position, during rotating of the dispensing wheel, the mandrels accommodated in the accommodation grooves are configured to enter the conveying channel from the inlet end and being conveyed to the transferring unit through the outlet end (Fig. 1; Pg. 19, ¶34, feeding rack 10 corresponding to a guiding member). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate a guiding member to create a path for the mandrels to follow for further prevention of clogging.
Regarding claim 7, Zhou discloses the dispensing unit, but fails to disclose a dispensing wheel with a matching guiding member. However, Wang teaches a guiding matching member provided at the outlet position and configured for forming a dispensing port with the outlet end of the guiding member, the mandrels accommodated in the accommodation grooves, when rotating to the dispensing port along with the dispensing wheel, being configured to fall onto the transferring unit from the dispensing port under gravity (Fig. 1; Pg. 21, ¶38, guide plate 30). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate a matching guiding member so to ensure the mandrels remain in position when dispensing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references refer to mandrel or core feeding devices which comprise dispensing, adjusting, adhesive application, and transfer units and stations.
ERMIA E. MELIKA
Examiner
Art Unit 3654
/ERMIA E. MELIKA/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654