DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9, 10, 17, 18, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zukawa et al. (US 2021/0000355, hereinafter Zukawa).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Zukawa discloses a biological measurement system as shown in figure 12. The system includes a first wearable biological sensor 111a with a first processor 112a and a second wearable biological sensor 111b with a second processor 112b (par. 0200 and 0212). The first sensor can be an ECG sensor configured to be in contact with the body (including any limb) and the second sensor can be an electrical perspiration sensor configured to contact a palm/limb (par. 0203, 0205, 0211). Based on the perspiration sensor, mental perspiration is calculated (par. 0274-0275).
Regarding claims 10, 17, 19 and 24, the ECG sensor is at least two electrodes, such that the first electrode is attached to a first side of the body and the second electrode is attached to a different location considered the second side of the body. The electrodes are configured to be attached to any skin portion of the body, including limbs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zukawa in view of Hyodo (US 2022/0401011).
Zukawa, as described above, discloses that mental perspiration can be determined based on a perspiration sensor that detects skin resistance and/or conductance (par. 0274). However, Zukawa does not explicitly teach using skin impedance to determine mental perspiration. Hyodo discloses an analogous device that determines mental perspiration based on skin impedance or skin conductance (par. 0002 and 0003). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify Zukawa to utilize skin impedance instead of skin conductance to determine mental perspiration since Hyodo discloses them to be interchangeable.
Claims 15, 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zukawa in view of Ng et al. (US 6,496,705, hereinafter Ng).
Zukawa discloses ECG sensors, as described above, but is silent as to the specific circuitry of the ECG sensor, including an amplifier and wireless transceivers associated with the ECG sensors. Ng also discloses ECG sensors, and thus is analogous art with Zukawa. Ng discloses the use of amplifiers 30 and transceivers 42 associated with each ECG sensor (figure 3 and Col. 7, lines 24-67). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify Zukawa to include an amplifier and a transceiver with each ECG sensor in order to provide the correct gain to the ECG signals for easier processing and allow for transmission of the ECG signals for further processing and diagnosis.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-14, 16, 21-23 and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892, specifically US 2016/0242672 which discloses determining mental perspiration of a subject.
/Eric D. Bertram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796