DETAILED ACTION
EXAMINER’S COMMENTS
To facilitate processing of the internet communication authorization or withdrawal of authorization, the Office strongly encourages use of Form PTO/SB/439, available at www.uspto.gov/PatentForms. The form may be filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system using the document description Internet Communications Authorized to facilitate processing. If applicant authorizes Internet communications, USPTO employees may respond to email and initiate communications with applicants via email.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a control unit that is configured to evaluate in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “a control unit that is configured to evaluate a signal that is generated by the at least one piezoelectric transducer fiber as it relates to an item of acoustic information” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function. There is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to perform the signal evaluation. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which structure or structures perform(s) the claimed function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, the phrase “textile sheet-like structure” renders the claim(s) indefinite because the phrase “textile sheet-like structure” does not actually disclosed a specific element, thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. The following amendment is suggested: “textile sheet structure”.
Claims 10-16 are rejected based on their dependency to claim 9.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed function of evaluating a signal that is generated by the at least one piezoelectric transducer fiber. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaku et al. (Hereinafter Kaku) US PG-PUB No. 2018/0281621.
Regarding claim 9, Kaku teaches
A vehicle component (Fig. 10 shows a seat cushion of the vehicle seat….Para. [0054], Lines 1-2), comprising:
A surface that is at least partially formed by a textile sheet-like structure (The actuator sheet 118 includes a plurality of laterally extending linear soft actuator 116W, a plurality of warps 152L made of fibers and a plurality of woofs 152 W also made of fiber…..Para. [0094], Lines 1-18) as shown in Fig. 10, wherein at least one piezoelectric transducer fiber (Fig. 10 shows pressure sensors 112 may consist of piezoelectric fibers….Para. [0113], Lines 13-17) is introduced into the surface as shown in Figs. 10 and 14;
wherein the piezoelectric transducer fiber (i.e. pressure sensors 112 may consist of piezoelectric fibers….Para. [0113], Lines 13-17) is configured to generate an electrical signal that indicates an acoustic sound (The electric connection as used herein should not be limited to literal electric connection, but should be understood to mean any mode of arrangement for enabling transmission of power and/or signals in optical, acoustic or any other form…..Para. [0015], Lines 5-9); and
wherein the at least one piezoelectric transducer fiber (i.e. pressure sensors 112 may consist of piezoelectric fibers….Para. [0113], Lines 13-17) is electrically connected to a control unit (Fig. 10 shows a control device 150) that is configured to evaluate a signal that is generated by the at least one piezoelectric transducer fiber (The control device 150 is configured to detect the pressures applied to the pressure sensors 112 from the changes in the electric properties of the respective pressure sensors 112 (i.e. piezoelectric fibers)…..Para. [0101], Lines 1-10) as it relates to an item of acoustic information (The electric connection as used herein should not be limited to literal electric connection, but should be understood to mean any mode of arrangement for enabling transmission of power and/or signals in optical, acoustic or any other form…..Para. [0015], Lines 5-9).
Regarding claim 10, Kaku teaches
The vehicle component according to claim 9, wherein the vehicle component is at least one of a vehicle seat (Fig. 10 shows a seat cushion of the vehicle seat….Para. [0054], Lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 16, Kaku teaches all the features with respect to claim 9 as outlined above. Kaku teaches a vehicle (vehicle seat comprises a frame member provided on a floor of a vehicle….Abstract, Lines 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
15. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaku in view of Kim et al. (Hereinafter Kim) US-PG-PUB No. 2022/0210558.
Regarding claim 11, Kaku teaches all the features with respect to claim 9 as outlined above.
Kaku does not explicitly teach that the vehicle component has at least two audio recording zones, wherein in each audio recording zone a plurality of piezoelectric transducer fibers are introduced.
Kim teaches in Figs. 1 of a vehicle component has a first sound generating apparatus SGD1 (i.e. first sound space SS1) and a second sound generating apparatus SGD2 (i.e. second sound space SS2) wherein in each audio recording zone a plurality of piezoelectric transducer (Fig. 6 shows a vibration generator 210 having a vibration device 211 having a plurality of piezoelectric elements…Para. [0132], Lines 8-14) are introduced as shown in Fig. 6.
Kaku and Kim each disclose a vehicle component. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized to modify the vehicle component of Kaku with the vehicle component has at least two audio recording zones as taught by Kim. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modify the vehicle component of Kaku with the vehicle component has at least two audio recording zones as taught by Kim. The motivation is to use the two audio recording zones record sound in specific sound spaces within the vehicle.
Conclusion
16. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Gallagher et al. US-PAT No. 10,034,631, Vehicle Seating System With Seat Occupant Vital Sign Monitoring, Fig. 1 shows an array of piezoelectric sensors 22. Due to its piezoelectric characteristics, each sensor 22 generates an electrical charge, response, or signal (“electrical signal”) in response to mechanical stress applied on that sensor. Note: Sensors 22 may be composed of basic smart fabric piezoelectric materials…...Col. 6, Lines 20-27.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANGELICA M MCKINNEY whose telephone number is (571)270-3321. The examiner can normally be reached 7AM-3PM EST M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Fan Tsang can be reached at (571)272-7574. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANGELICA M MCKINNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694