Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 10, 11, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. US 2021/0021860
Jang discloses:
1. and under complimentary rationale 11 and 13. An image decoding method (Figs 1 and 2), the method comprising: deriving a temporal vector of a current block based on a motion vector of one candidate in a candidate group including a plurality of candidates (Figs. 15, 16, 17; 0197; 200-9); determining a collocated block of the current block in a collocated picture based on the temporal vector (Figs. 15, 16, 17; 0197; 200-9); deriving a motion vector of the current block in a sub-block unit based on a motion vector of the collocated block (Figs. 15, 16, 17; 0197; 200-9);
13. additionally has generating a prediction sample and generating a bitstream by encoding the current block based on the prediction block; and transmitting data including the bitstream (Figs 1 and 2; 0149; 0192-3; 0328).
Jang does not explicitly disclose the following, however Jang teaches and performing an inter prediction for the current block based on the motion vector of the current block (Figs. 15, 16, 17; 0170-5; 0197; 200-9; 0213-4; clm 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to combine different aspects of the disclosure into a versatile product like using the practices of Inter prediction modes with Advanced temporal vector prediction.
Jang teaches:
4. The method of claim 1, wherein: the one candidate is selected among the plurality of candidates included in the candidate group based on a template matching (0175).
5. The method of claim 4, wherein: a cost of the template matching is calculated based on a sum of absolute differences (SAD) or a mean-removed sum of absolute differences (MRSAD) between a template region of the current block and a template region of a block specified by a motion vector of the plurality of candidates included in the candidate group (Figs. 15, 16, 17; 0175; 0197; 200-9).
6. The method of claim 4, wherein: a cost of the template matching is calculated based on a sum of absolute differences (SAD) or a mean-removed sum of absolute differences (MRSAD) between a template region of the current block and a template region of a block specified by a motion vector of a sub-block or a block derived based on the plurality of candidates included in the candidate group (Figs. 15, 16, 17; 0175; 0197; 200-9).
7. The method of claim 1, further comprising: configuring the candidate group including the plurality of candidates based on a neighboring block of the current block, wherein the candidate group is configured by adding a neighboring block at a specific position to the candidate group in a predefined order (Figs. 15, 16, 17; 0197; 200-9).
8. The method of claim 7, wherein: configuring the candidate group includes confirming whether a motion vector of the neighboring block at the specific position overlaps with a motion vector of a candidate previously included in the candidate group (Figs. 15, 16, 17; 0152; 0197; 200-9).
10. The method of claim 1, wherein: the collocated picture is determined based on a syntax element signaled through at least one syntax of a picture header or a slice header, the syntax element is signaled separately from a syntax element indicating a collocated picture for a temporal motion vector predictor (0255-62).
Claim(s) 2, 3, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. US 2021/0021860 in view of Zhang et al. US 2024/0275984
Jang teaches:
2. The method of claim 1, wherein: the candidate group includes an adjacent spatial neighboring block of the current block (Figs. 15, 16, 17; 0170-5; 0197; 200-9; 0213-4; clm 1).
Jang does not teach the following, however Zhang teaches non-adjacent spatial neighboring block of the current block as a candidate (0129-37; Fig 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to to derive the additional merge candidates from the positions non-adjacent to the current block using the same pattern as that in VVC (Zhang 0130)
3. The method of claim 2, wherein:
Jang does not teach the following, however Zhang teaches the non-adjacent spatial neighboring block includes a first block including a sample separated by a value obtained by multiplying a height of the current block by 2 from a top-left sample adjacent to a top-left corner of the current block within a left sample line adjacent to the current block and a second block including a sample separated by a value obtained by multiplying a width of the current block by 2 from the top-left sample within a top sample line adjacent to the current block (0129-37; Fig 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to to derive the additional merge candidates from the positions non-adjacent to the current block using the same pattern as that in VVC (Zhang 0130)
9. The method of claim 8,
Jang does not teach the following, however Zhang teaches wherein: whether there is the overlap is determined based on whether a difference between the motion vector of the candidate previously included in the candidate group and the motion vector of the neighboring block at the specific position is smaller than a predefined threshold value (0329).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to reduce the penalty of the uncertainty of DMVR refinement, it is proposed to favor the original MV during the DMVR process (Zhang 0329)
Conclusion
/JOSEPH W BECKER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2483