DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 11 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: the “at least one one”, lines 2-3 [claim 11], lines 3-4 [claim 20 ] should be changes to -- at least one --. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-13 | 15 | 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SCHEMPP et al DE 10121770 A1 [SCHEMPP].
Regarding claims 11 | 20, SCHEMPP teaches An actuator arrangement to be fastened to a unit [fig. 2], comprising: an electromagnetic actuator [see the electromagnetic regulating device (1)] including at least one electrical coil [5] and at least one armature [7] which is mounted displaceably between a first position and a second position inside the coil [claim 1 teaches that an armature of an electromagnet in a pressure tube ( 2 ) with a displacement measuring system ( 6 ) detecting the stroke of the armature], wherein the armature is configured to be moved from the first position to the second position by energizing the electrical coil [inherent property]; a control device [33] configured to control the electromagnetic actuator for energizing the electrical coil [The electronics 33 is arranged in an easily accessible and well protected and sealed manner on the actuating device 1. To connect the magnetic coil 5 and the sensor coils 21 to the electronics 33]; and a fastener configured to fasten the electromagnetic actuator to the unit [On the housing 15 a further housing part 32 is screwed, in which the electronics 33 is arranged.], wherein the control device is arranged on the fastener [figures 1-2 show that the control device is arranged on the fastener].
Regarding claim 12, SCHEMPP teaches The actuator arrangement according to claim 11, wherein the fastener is a metal spring clip [it appears that multipole cables 34 serve as a fastener too].
Regarding claim 13, SCHEMPP teaches The actuator arrangement according to claim 12, wherein the spring clip has at least one spring arm for contacting the actuator [see the part of 34 that connected to the actuator].
Regarding claim 15, SCHEMPP teaches The actuator arrangement according to claim 11, wherein the fastener [see the screws and 34] and the control device [33] are configured as an assembly [figures 1-2].
Regarding claim 17, SCHEMPP teaches The actuator arrangement according to claim 11, wherein an air gap and/or a heat- insulating medium is arranged between the control device and the coil [see the air gap between 33 and 5, figures 1-2].
Regarding claim 18, SCHEMPP teaches The actuator arrangement according to claim 11, wherein the fastener has at least one screw-on tab [see the screws, figures 1-2] configured to fasten to the unit via at least one screw [see the screws, figures 1-2].
Regarding claim 19, SCHEMPP teaches The actuator arrangement according to claim 11, wherein the control device [33] has a side which has a contact surface and faces the coil [figures 1-2], wherein the control device [33 through 32] contacts the fastener [at least the screws] via the contact surface [figures 1-2], wherein the contact surface forms a largest part of a side facing the coil, of the control device [see the side of 32 that faces the coil 5, figures 1-2].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 | 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHEMPP et al DE 10121770 A1 [SCHEMPP].
Regarding claim 14, SCHEMPP teaches The actuator arrangement according to claim 11, wherein the fastener [see the screws, figures 1-2] has a contact surface and contacts the actuator exclusively via the contact surface [figures 1-2].
SCHEMPP discloses the claimed invention except for the contact surface is smaller than 10 mm2. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the contact surface is smaller than 10 mm2, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 16, SCHEMPP discloses the claimed invention except that screws and cables instead of a detachable connection, including a snap-in clip and/or plug connection. SCHEMPP shows that screws and cables are an equivalent structure known in the art. Therefore, because these two fastening means were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute at least screws for a snap-in clip and/or plug connection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See (PTO-892).
/Mohamad A Musleh/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837