DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the listed below must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
a vehicle assembly (Claim 1)
a vehicle (Claim 1)
a vehicle test bench (Claim 1, 3, 4, 5)
inclination measuring unit (Claim 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102019113441 A1 in view of EP 3771922 A1.
Claim 1
DE 102019113441 A1 discloses the following features of a method for calibrating and/or adjusting an intrinsic coordinate system of a vehicle assembly (a first unit; see translation abstract) relative to a coordinate system of a vehicle (a vehicle; see translated abstract), wherein the calibration and/or adjustment is/are carried out by the vehicle being positioned in a vehicle test bench (Fig. 3, Ref. 107)(See Abstract and claims "A method for mapping the intrinsic coordinate system of a first assembly of a vehicle for capturing the space to the side of the vehicle relative to a vehicle-related coordinate system by measurement in a test bench,"); wherein, on the basis of an interaction of the vehicle assembly (a first unit) to be calibrated with a test bench assembly (Fig. 4, Ref. 403), a calibration and/or adjustment of the vehicle assembly (a first unit) is/are carried out (See claims "that the test bench has a measurement unit (102) which cooperates with the first assembly of the vehicle"); wherein the test bench assembly (Fig. 4, Ref. 403) is able to be positioned in different positions in the vehicle test bench (See claims “can be moved in a defined manner in the test stand”); wherein the intrinsic coordinate system of the test bench assembly (Fig. 4, Ref. 403) has been defined relative to the coordinate system of the vehicle test bench (See claims "wherein the intrinsic coordinate system of the measurement device (101) was mapped in a defined manner relative to a coordinate system (401) of the test bench beforehand during calibration of the test bench"; Page 8 of translation); wherein the coordinate system of the vehicle positioned in the vehicle test bench (Fig. 3, Ref. 107) has been defined relative to the coordinate system of the vehicle test bench (Fig. 3, Ref. 107) (See claims "that the test bench has a measurement unit (102) which cooperates with the first assembly of the vehicle in order to measure the intrinsic coordinate system of the first assembly of the vehicle in relation to the intrinsic coordinate system of the measurement unit (102)"); wherein the intrinsic coordinate system of the test bench assembly (Fig. 4, Ref. 403) relative to the coordinate system of the vehicle test bench (Fig. 3, Ref. 107) is defined by the test bench assembly (Fig. 4, Ref. 403) being fastened to a carrier (Fig. 4, Ref. 101)(See translation “wherein the test stand has a measuring device (101) for measuring at least one axis of the vehicle-related coordinate system based on a coordinate system assigned to the test stand, with the intrinsic coordinate system of the measuring device (101) relative to a coordinate system (401) of the Test bench has been assigned defined, characterized in that the test bench has a measuring unit (102) which interacts with the first unit of the vehicle to measure the intrinsic coordinate system of the first unit of the vehicle based on the intrinsic coordinate system of the measuring unit (102), that the measuring unit (102) is mechanically attached to the measuring device (101) (103, 104) in such a way that the intrinsic coordinate system of the measuring unit (102) is related to the intrinsic coordinate system of the measuring device (101)”); wherein the position of at least one reference point of the carrier (Fig. 4, Ref. 101) in the coordinate system of the vehicle test bench (Fig. 3, Ref. 107) is identified in a starting position of the carrier (Fig. 4, Ref. 101) (See Page 5 of translation); wherein the position and/or orientation of the intrinsic coordinate system of the carrier (Fig. 4, Ref. 101) of the test bench assembly (Fig. 4, Ref. 403) in the coordinate system of the vehicle test bench (Fig. 3, Ref. 107) is/are determined in the starting position of the carrier (Fig. 4, Ref. 101) (See translation Pages 5, 7); wherein the position and/or orientation of the intrinsic coordinate system of the test bench assembly (Fig. 4, Ref. 403) in a current position in the coordinate system of the vehicle test bench (Fig. 3, Ref. 107) is/are identified (See translation Page 5), wherein, to that end, the current position of the at least one reference point of the carrier (Fig. 4, Ref. 101) in the coordinate system of the vehicle test bench (Fig. 3, Ref. 107) is determined (Page 5; “XO position”); wherein the position and/or orientation of the intrinsic coordinate system of the carrier (Fig. 4, Ref. 101) in the coordinate system of the vehicle test bench (Fig. 3, Ref. 107) in the current position is/are determined as a displacement of the intrinsic coordinate system of the carrier (Fig. 4, Ref. 101) in the current position with respect to the starting position by determination of the displacement of the at least one reference point of the carrier (See Page 5; starting position) in the coordinates of the coordinate system of the vehicle test bench (Fig. 3, Ref. 107) in the current position with respect to the position of the at least one reference point of the carrier (Fig. 4, Ref. 101) in the coordinate system of the vehicle test bench (Fig. 3, Ref. 107) in the starting position (Page 5, “XO position) of the carrier (Fig. 4, Ref. 101), wherein the intrinsic coordinate system of the test bench assembly (Fig. 4, Ref. 403) relative to the coordinate system of the vehicle test bench (Fig. 3, Ref. 107) is defined taking into consideration the position and/or orientation of the intrinsic coordinate system of the test bench assembly (Fig. 4, Ref. 403) relative to the intrinsic coordinate system of the carrier (Fig. 4, Ref. 101) in the current position of the test bench assembly (Fig. 4, Ref. 403), taking into consideration the change in the position and/or orientation of the intrinsic coordinate system of the carrier (Fig. 4, Ref. 101) in the current position of the test bench assembly (Fig. 4, Ref. 403) compared with the position and/or orientation of the intrinsic coordinate system of the carrier (Fig. 4, Ref. 101) in the starting position (See Page 5), and taking into consideration the position and/or orientation of the intrinsic coordinate system of the carrier (Fig. 4, Ref. 101) in the starting position relative to the coordinate system of the vehicle test bench (Fig. 3, Ref. 107)(See Page 5), wherein: the at least one reference point of the carrier (Fig. 4, Ref. 101) is defined by a straight line on which the reference points lie (See Page 5 "rail", Figure 4), wherein this straight line forms a pivot axis about which the carrier (Fig. 4, Ref. 101) rotates as a result of a torque when the common center of gravity of the carrier (Fig. 4, Ref. 101) and of the test bench assembly (Fig. 4, Ref. 403) has been shifted in a vertical direction to the side of this straight line (See Pages 5-6, Figure 4), wherein the orientation of the carrier (Fig. 4, Ref. 101) in the position is measured with regard to an inclination (coordinate) about the pivot axis by means of an inclination measurement unit (the unit) in the intrinsic coordinate system of the inclination measurement unit (See Page 8, "The calibration gauge 401 has measurement faces 402 into which holes 404 have been introduced. The calibration gauge 401 is configured such that the laser beam of the laser measurement units 108 passes in each case through one of the holes 404 in the measurement faces 402."); wherein the orientation of the carrier (Fig. 4, Ref. 101) in the current position is measured with regard to an inclination about the pivot axis by means of the inclination measurement unit (a unit) in the intrinsic coordinate system of the inclination measurement unit (See Page 7 "The coupling means 103 and the mating coupling means 104, with the aid of the laser measurement unit, are thus oriented with respect to the calibration gauge 401 such that the laser beams pass through the holes 404 in the measurement faces 402."); wherein a change in the orientation of the carrier (Fig. 4, Ref. 101) with regard to an inclination about the pivot axis in the current position compared with the orientation of the carrier (Fig. 4, Ref. 101) with regard to an inclination about the pivot axis in the position is identified from the measurement data of the inclination measurement unit (a unit)(See Page 7, 8 "The position and orientation of the calibration gauge 401 are identified by the tracking means 405 relative to the starting point of the calibration gauge 401 - the XO position. Furthermore, an orientation and measurement of the y distance of the coupling means 103 and of the associated mating coupling means 104 with respect to the calibration gauge 401 are carried out by means of the laser measurement unit(s) 108); wherein the orientation of the intrinsic coordinate system of the carrier of the test bench assembly (Fig. 4, Ref. 403) in the coordinate system of the vehicle test bench (Fig. 3, Ref. 107) is identified from: the orientation of the carrier (Fig. 4, Ref. 101) in the coordinate system of the vehicle test bench (Fig. 3, Ref. 107) in the position (See Pages 5-6 "It is possible, from the mapping of the current position and the current orientation of the calibration gauge in accordance with the current position of the calibration gauge with respect to the Xo position of the calibration gauge, to calibrate the intrinsic coordinate system of the measurement device 101 onto the calibration system of the test bench for the further positions of the measurement device 101").
DE 102019113441 A1 substantially teaches the claimed invention except that it does not show the identified change in the orientation of the intrinsic coordinate system of the carrier from the measurement data of the inclination measurement unit. EP 3771922 A1 shows that it is known to provide (Page 1 of translation, an inclination measurement unit "inclination indicators", "inclinometer") serves to take into consideration an identified change in the orientation of the intrinsic coordinate system of the carrier from the measurement data of the inclination measurement unit (Page 2 "detect the inclination of the support structure, or of the calibration device, relative to the horizontal reference plane, along the longitudinal direction, and/or a transverse inclination", (Pages 1-2 "The correction factors indicate a reference inclination at which the one or more inclination indicators must be positioned to compensate for the inclination of the service surface relative to the reference surface.") for calibrating sensor of a vehicle. It would have been obvious to modify the device of DE 102019113441 A1 with the change of orientation of EP 3771922 A1 before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of providing improved calibration of the system, therefore increasing the accuracy of the driver assist system.
Claim 2
DE 102019113441 A1 discloses a measurement of the position and/or orientation of a test bench assembly (Fig. 4, Ref. 403) and/or the carrier (Fig. 4, Ref. 101) of the test bench assembly (Fig. 4, Ref. 101) in the starting position in the coordinate system of the vehicle test bench (Fig. 3, Ref. 107) takes place in the starting position of the carrier (Fig. 4, Ref. 101) the measurement is taken into consideration in the determination of the orientation of the intrinsic coordinate system of the carrier (Fig. 4, Ref. 101) of the test bench assembly (Fig. 4, Ref. 403) in the coordinate system of the vehicle test bench (Fig. 3, Ref. 107) in the current position (Pages 5-6 of translation).
Claim 3
DE 102019113441 A1 discloses that the position of the at least one reference point of the carrier (Fig. 4, Ref. 101) in the coordinate system of the vehicle test bench (Fig. 3, Ref. 107) is measured in the current position of the carrier (Fig. 4, Ref. 101)(Pages 7-8).
Claim 5
DE 102019113441 A1 discloses a vehicle test bench (Fig. 3, Ref. 107) for performing a method wherein the vehicle test bench (Fig. 3, Ref. 107) has a test bench assembly (Fig. 4, Ref. 403) having a linearly guided (Fig. 2, Ref. 104; counter-coupling means) position change, wherein the carrier (Fig. 4, Ref. 101) is mounted by a bearing element (Fig. 2, Ref. 103; coupling agent) on or at a rail (Fig. 2, Ref. 104) wherein the mounting of the bearing element (Fig. 2, Ref. 103) takes place such that the bearing element (Fig. 2, Ref. 103) of the carrier (Fig. 4, Ref. 101) of the test bench assembly (Fig. 4, Ref. 403) is movable into various positions in a longitudinal direction of the rail (See Fig. 4) via drive means or manually, and wherein the bearing element (Fig. 2, Ref. 103) has a support element (Fig. 2, Ref. 105), via which the bearing element is additionally mounted adjacent to the rail (Fig. 2, Ref. 104)
Claim 6
DE 102019113441 A1 when modified with EP 3771922 A1 discloses the claimed invention except for the bearing element includes two parts connected to one another via a pivot axis, wherein the first part of the bearing element is mounted on the rail and wherein the second part of the bearing element is mounted via a support element adjacent to the rail. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify DE 102019113441 A1 and EP 3771922 A1 with pivot and mounting disclosed above since it was well known in the art that being able to mount a device on a rail with a pivot axis allows the device more adjustability for positioning the device for different application, therefore increasing the accuracy of the device. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claim 7
DE 102019113441 A1 discloses the bearing element (Fig. 2, Ref. 103) includes two parts connected to one another, wherein the first part of the bearing element (Fig. 2, Ref. 103) is mounted on the rail (Fig. 2, Ref. 104) and wherein the second part of the bearing element (Fig. 2, Ref. 108; laser measuring device) is displaceable in relation to the first part of the bearing element (Fig. 2, Ref. 103) in a Z direction (See Fig. 1, vertical direction) and is mounted via the support element (Fig. 1, Ref. 105) adjacent to the rail (Fig. 2, Ref. 103).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102019113441 A1 in view of EP 3771922 A1 and in further view of WO 2020/141455.
Claim 4
DE 102019113441 A1 discloses a correction of the position and/or orientation of the intrinsic coordinate system of the test bench assembly (Fig. 4, Ref. 403) relative to the coordinate system of the vehicle test bench (Fig. 3, Ref. 107) is carried out by the following measures; determining a target position and target orientation of the intrinsic coordinate system of the test bench assembly (Fig. 4, Ref. 403) in the coordinate system of the vehicle test bench (Fig. 3, Ref. 107) from; determining the position of the at least one reference point of the carrier (Fig. 4, Ref. 101) in the current position in the coordinate system of the vehicle test bench (Fig. 3, Ref. 107), determining the position and orientation of the intrinsic coordinate system of the test bench assembly (Fig. 4, Ref. 403) in the intrinsic coordinate system of the carrier (Fig. 4, Ref. 101), taking into consideration the orientation of the intrinsic coordinate system of the carrier (Fig. 4, Ref. 101) relative to the coordinate system of the vehicle test bench (Fig. 3, Ref. 107) in the starting position, adjusting positioning elements of the carrier (Fig. 4, Ref. 101) such that the actual position and actual orientation of the intrinsic coordinate system of the test bench assembly (Fig. 4, Ref. 403) in the coordinate system of the vehicle test bench (Fig. 3, Ref. 107) in the current position correspond to the target position and target orientation of the test bench assembly (Fig. 4, Ref. 403) in the coordinate system of the vehicle test bench (Fig. 3, Ref. 107)(See Pages 5-6).
DE 102019113441 A1 when modified by EP 3771922 A1 substantially teaches the claimed invention except that it does not show a carrier having actuatable drive elements for one or more telescoping elements and/or having actuatable drive elements for rotating parts of the carrier around one or more pivot joints. WO 2020/141455 shows that it is known to provide a carrier having actuatable drive elements for one or more telescoping elements (Fig. 1, Ref. 38, robotic manipulator) and/or having actuatable drive elements (pivot points on robotic arm) for rotating parts of the carrier (Fig. 1, Ref. 36; target) around one or more pivot joints (robotic arm) for an target alignment for vehicle sensor calibration. It would have been obvious to combine the device of DE 102019113441 A1 and EP 3771922 A1 with the drive elements and pivot joints of WO 2020/141455 before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of providing the ability to manipulate the device into different position, therefore improving the ability to measure devices for different applications.
/MICHAEL P STAFIRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877 September 10, 2026