Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 21 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/01/2025 was filed before the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 5, 7, 10 – 15, 17 – 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Annis et al. (U. S. Patent No. 5,130,700).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Annis teaches an apparatus (torque wrench, 10; Fig. 1) operable to determine an applied torque (Col. 1, lines 13 – 37), the apparatus (10) comprising: processing circuitry (control circuit, 31) configured to at least: receive an indication of a target torque (Col. 4, lines 19 – 28); determine the applied torque (Col. 4, lines 19 – 28); determine an indication torque that is less than the target torque by an estimated torque overshoot representing an added amount over the applied torque for an estimated response time of an operator (Col. 4, lines 29 – 56); compare the applied torque and the indication torque to determine when the applied torque matches the indication torque (Col. 4, lines 29 – 56); and in response, output an alert to the operator to release a force from which the applied torque is produced (Col. 4, lines 19 – 28 and 48 – 56); and one or more transducers (strain gauges, 18; Col. 2, line 66 – Col. 3, line 11) operably coupled to the processing circuitry (31), the alert output as an output signal (Col. 5, lines 17 – 28), and the one or more transducers (19) configured to convert the output signal to user-perceptible feedback (Col. 5, lines 17 – 28).
Regarding Independent Claim 11, Annis teaches a method of operating an apparatus (torque wrench, 10; Fig. 1) to determine an applied torque (Col. 1, lines 13 – 37), the method comprising: receiving an indication of a target torque (Col. 4, lines 19 – 28); determining the applied torque (Col. 4, lines 19 – 28); determining an indication torque that is less than the target torque by an estimated torque overshoot representing an added amount over the applied torque for an estimated response time of an operator (Col. 4, lines 29 – 56); comparing the applied torque and the indication torque to determine when the applied torque matches the indication torque (Col. 4, lines 29 – 56); and in response, outputting an alert to the operator to release a force from which the applied torque is produced (Col. 4, lines 19 – 28 and 48 – 56).
Regarding Claims 2 and 12, Annis teaches the apparatus (torque wrench, 10; Fig. 1) and method wherein the apparatus (10) is embodied as an electronic torque wrench (Fig. 1), and the applied torque is a torque applied by the electronic torque wrench to a fastener (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claims 3 and 13, Annis teaches the apparatus (torque wrench, 10; Fig. 1) and method wherein the applied torque matches the indication torque when the applied torque is within a threshold torque of the indication torque (Col. 1, lines 38 – 47).
Regarding Claims 4 and 14, Annis teaches the apparatus (torque wrench, 10; Fig. 1) and method wherein the processing circuitry (31) is further configured to: determine a time rate of change of the applied torque (Col. 4, lines 29 – 56); and determine the estimated torque overshoot based on the time rate of change of the applied torque, and the estimated response time (Col. 5, lines 17 – 28).
Regarding Claims 5 and 15, Annis teaches the apparatus (torque wrench, 10; Fig. 1) and method wherein the estimated torque overshoot is determined as a product of the time rate of change of the applied torque, and the estimated response time (Abstract).
Regarding Claims 7 and 18, Annis teaches the apparatus (torque wrench, 10; Fig. 1) and method wherein the one or more transducers (18) include one or more of an electromechanical transducer configured to convert the output signal to haptic feedback (Col. 5, lines 17 – 28), or an electroacoustic transducer configured to convert the output signal to audible feedback.
Regarding Claims 10 and 21, Annis teaches the apparatus (10) and method is operable for an operation to determine the applied torque (Col. 4, lines 19 – 28) and the processing circuitry (31) is further configured to: determine an actual response time for the operation as a time between output of the alert and release of the force by the operator (Col. 5, Lines 17 – 28); and determine the estimated response time for a next operation of the apparatus from the actual response time (Col. 4, line 57 – Col. 5, line 2). Regarding Claim 17, Annis teaches the method wherein the alert is output as an output signal (Col. 5, lines 17 – 28), and the method further comprises converting the output signal to user-perceptible feedback by one or more transducers of the apparatus (10; Col. 5, lines 17 – 28).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Annis et al. (U. S. Patent No. 5,130,700) in view of Wille (DE 202004003978 U1).
Regarding Claim 6, Annis teaches the apparatus of claim 1, as discussed above.
Annis further teaches a strain gauge assembly (18) configured to measure the applied torque configured to produce an analog electrical signal that varies in voltage with the applied torque (Col. 4, lines 29 – 56).
Annis does not teach wherein the apparatus further comprises: a strain gauge assembly; and an analog-to-digital converter configured to convert the analog electrical signal to an equivalent digital electrical signal, and wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the applied torque from the equivalent digital electrical signal.
Wille, however, teaches an analog-to-digital converter configured to convert the analog electrical signal to an equivalent digital electrical signal (Paragraph [0010]), and wherein the processing circuitry (24) is configured to determine the applied torque from the equivalent digital electrical signal (Paragraph [0017]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Annis to further include an analog-to-digital converter configured to convert the analog electrical signal to an equivalent digital electrical signal, and wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the applied torque from the equivalent digital electrical signal, as taught by Willie, to provide a wrench that eliminates guesswork and provided a real-time torque reading with precision.
Regarding Claim 16, Annis teaches the method of claim 11, as discussed above.
Annis further teaches wherein determining the applied torque includes measuring the applied torque, and producing an analog electrical signal that varies in voltage with the applied torque (Col. 4, lines 29 – 56).
Annis does not teach converting the analog electrical signal to an equivalent digital electrical signal; and determining the applied torque from the equivalent digital electrical signal.
Wille, however, teaches an analog-to-digital converter configured to convert the analog electrical signal to an equivalent digital electrical signal (Paragraph [0010]), and wherein the processing circuitry (24) is configured to determine the applied torque from the equivalent digital electrical signal (Paragraph [0017]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Annis to further include converting the analog electrical signal to an equivalent digital electrical signal; and determining the applied torque from the equivalent digital electrical signal, as taught by Willie, to provide a wrench that eliminates guesswork and provided a real-time torque reading with precision.
Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Annis et al. (U. S. Patent No. 5,130,700) in view of Vizachero (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0048168 A1).
Regarding Claims 8 and 19, Annis teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and method of claim 11, as discussed above.
Annis does not teach wherein the one or more transducers include one or more electro-optical transducers configured to convert the output signal to visual feedback, and the one or more electro-optical transducers include one or more light emitting diode (LED) indicators.
Vizachero, however, teaches the one or more transducers (Paragraph [0016]) include one or more electro-optical transducers configured to convert the output signal to visual feedback, and the one or more electro-optical transducers include one or more light emitting diode (LED) indicators (Paragraph [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Annis to further include an analog-to-digital converter configured to convert the analog electrical signal to an equivalent digital electrical signal, and wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the applied torque from the equivalent digital electrical signal, as taught by Vizachero, to provide a wrench with higher accuracy in recognition, better accessibility for users with tactile limitations, and the ability to convey detailed information, making them more reliable in certain contexts than haptic alerts.
Claims 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Annis et al. (U. S. Patent No. 5,130,700) in view of Calloway et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2010/0058901 A1).
Regarding Claims 9 and 20, Annis teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and method of claim 11, as discussed above.
Annis does not teach wherein the apparatus is operable for an operation to determine the applied torque, and the estimated response time is determined from an actual response time for a previous operation of the apparatus.
Calloway, however, teaches the apparatus (hand tool, 104) is operable for an operation to determine the applied torque (Paragraph [0015]), and the estimated response time is determined from an actual response time for a previous operation of the apparatus (Claim 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Annis to further include the apparatus is operable for an operation to determine the applied torque, and the estimated response time is determined from an actual response time for a previous operation of the apparatus, as taught by Calloway, to improve measurement accuracy, process control, and predictive maintenance in mechanical systems.
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723