DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the clip being approximately as far as the base must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim 11 and the side webs have different heights canceled from the claim 12. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“flexible by means of recesses” in claim 2;
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites” that the cover is flexible by means of recesses”. It is unclear how recesses make the cover flexible and specification does not explain how it makes the cover flexible. For purposes of examination, the examiner is interpreting the cover to be flexible and have a net-like pattern of recesses and webs.
Claims 2, 4-5 and 11-12 are rejected due to its dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) and (a) (2) as being anticipated by US Publication 2023/0248127 by Tran (Here forth “Tran”).
Regarding claim 1, Tran discloses a holder device for cards and/or banknotes (Examiner Annotated Fig 1C of Tran), comprising an upwardly open housing which has a base (Examiner Annotated Fig 1C of Tran), wherein the base has upwardly projecting side webs arranged at a distance from one another (Examiner Annotated Fig 1C of Tran), wherein the side webs together with the base at least in sections form an insertion compartment for cards (Examiner Annotated Fig 1C of Tran), and wherein a cover is pivotably connected to the housing or to a side web (Examiner Annotated Fig 1C of Tran), wherein the cover or a part of the cover is flexibly expandable in its width and/or length at least in regions by 4% to 15% (Examiner Annotated Fig 1C of Tran and Fig 2 of Tran, flexible member 22 allows the cover to expand over the base at least 4 percent based on the length of the flexible member 22).
Examiner Annotated Fig 1C of Tran
Regarding claim 6, Tran further discloses wherein the cover has a pocket for accommodating coins (Examiner Annotated Fig 1C of Tran).
Regarding claim 7, Tran further discloses wherein the pocket is arranged on the inner side of the cover and formed by an outer layer of the cover and an inner layer, which are connected to each other, with an insertion opening for coins being provided (Examiner Annotated Fig 1C of Tran).
Regarding claim 8, Tran further discloses wherein the outer layer and the inner layer are connected to each other by a yarn or an elastic yarn (Para 27 of Tran, there is stitching).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran in view of US Patent 9894789 issued to Hamada (Here forth “Hamada”).
Regarding claim 2, Tran further discloses wherein the cover or a part of the cover is designed to be flexible [Not taught: by means of recesses formed in or on it] in such a way that it is expandable in its width and/or length at least in regions by 4% to 15% (Examiner Annotated Fig 1C of Tran and Fig 2 of Tran, flexible member 22 allows the cover to expand over the base at least 4 percent based on the length of the flexible member 22).
Tran does not expressly disclose the cover flexible by means of recesses formed on it.
Hamada further discloses the cover flexible by means of recesses formed on it (Column 3 para 1 of Hamada, the material can be used on a wallet, Column 2 lines 35-38 of Hamada, portions of the cover are flexible; Fig 5 of Hamada, there are net-like openings/recesses and webs between the opens that form the material; the net-like structure is formed by recesses and webs, wherein the webs separate the recesses from one another at least in regions).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Tran and Hamanda before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the holder device of Tran to change the material to include recesses with webs to create a net-like structure on the cover, as taught by Hamanda, to advantageously allow signals through (Column 4 Para 4 of Hamada) such as near field communication.
Regarding claim 3, Tran further discloses wherein the length of a broad side of the cover or of an outer layer of the cover in the unloaded state can be brought into a length in the expanded state that is 4% to 15% greater than the length in the unloaded state (Examiner Annotated Fig 1C of Tran and Fig 2 of Tran, flexible member 22 allows the cover to expand the length of the broad side over the base at least 4 percent based on the length of the flexible member 22).
Regarding claim 4, Tran as modified includes all of the limitations including wherein the recesses form a net-like structure (See the detailed description of the rejection of claim 2; Fig 6 of Hamanda).
Regarding claim 5, Tran as modified includes all of the limitations including wherein the net-like structure is formed by recesses and webs, wherein the webs separate the recesses from one another at least in regions (See the detailed description of the rejection of claim 2; Fig 6 of Hamanda).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran in view of US Publication 2004/0173482 by Nieves (Here forth “Nieves”).
Regarding claim 9, Tran does not expressly disclose that the inner layer has an insertion-side edge tongue.
Nieves disclose a similar wallet that teaches wherein the inner layer has an insertion-side edge tongue which is movable and/or reversibly foldable away or back relative to a remaining region of the inner layer by means of at least one slot-like cutout such that an insertion opening for coins can be enlarged (Examiner Annotated Fig 3 of Nieves, tongue is the portion from the edge of the opening to the cutout end where it meets the inner wall, this cut allows the tongue portion to fold away to a certain degree).
Examiner Annotated Fig 3 of Nieves
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Tran and Nieves before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the holder device of Tran to include cutouts so that the insertion opening can be enlarged, as taught by Nieves, to advantageously aid the user in opening the pocket to fit items within.
Regarding claim 10, Tran does not expressly disclose that the inner layer has an insertion-side edge tongue.
Nieves disclose a similar wallet that teaches wherein the inner layer has an insertion-side edge tongue which is movable and/or foldable away or back relative to a remaining region of the inner layer by means of two opposite slot-like cutouts such that an insertion opening for coins can be enlarged (Examiner Annotated Fig 3 of Nieves, tongue is the portion from the edge of the opening to the cutout end where it meets the inner wall, this cut allows the tongue portion to fold away to a certain degree).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Tran and Nieves before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the holder device of Tran to include cutouts so that the insertion opening can be enlarged, as taught by Nieves, to advantageously aid the user in opening the pocket to fit items within.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran and Hamanda in view of US Publication 2009/0199940 by Toner (Here forth “Toner”).
Regarding claim 11, Tran does not expressly disclose a clip.
Toner discloses a similar wallet that teaches wherein at least one clip is provided which engages from above into the upwardly open housing, wherein, if neither cards nor banknotes are located in the housing, the at least one clip is located partially between the side webs and extends with a free end at least approximately as far as the base (Examiner Annotated Fig 6 of Toner).
Examiner Annotated Fig 6 of Toner
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Tran as modified and Toner before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the holder device of Tran as modified to include a clip, as taught by Nieves, to advantageously secure money within the holder.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran and Hamanda in view of US Patent 6886283 issued to Arraut (Here forth “Arraut”).
Regarding claim 12, Tran does not expressly disclose the side webs having difference heights.
Arraut teaches a similar holder that teaches wherein the side webs have different heights and/or in that wherein the height of a first side web is greater than the height of a second side web such that banknotes and/or cards can project beyond the first side web with a lower height out of the housing (Examiner Annotated Fig 19 of Arraut, Arraut teaches the concept of the side webs not being the same length).
Examiner Annotated Fig 19 of Arraut
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Tran and Arraut before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the holder device of Tran to teach the concept of the side webs being difference lengths, as taught by Arraut, to advantageously allow the user to remove the card from a side.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the container taught by having the dimensions of the side webs be different. Such a modification involves only a difference in recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device. Such modification would involve no change in function (see MPEP 2144.04). Further Applicant has not disclosed criticality for the claimed dimensions.
Conclusion
/JESSICA KAVINI TAMIL/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/NATHAN J JENNESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3733 24 August 2026