DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 5-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 5-6 of copending Application No. 18/879,306 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed to a 4-step random access procedure that uses Msg1 and/or Msg3 repetition. See below for an mapping of the instant claims and the co-pending application.
Claim No.
instant application
(18/880,600)
reference application
(18/879,306 /
PGPUB 2026/0206059 A1)
Claim No.
1
A terminal comprising:
A terminal comprising:
1
a transmitting section that transmits first capability information related to a capability for a repetition of a message 1, and
claim 1, wherein the information relates to the number of repetitions of the message 1.
2
second capability information related to a capability for a repetition of a message 3; and
a receiving section that receives indication information related to the number of repetitions of a message 3; and
1
a control section that determines, based on the first capability information and the second capability information, whether to perform first random access procedure including the repetition of the message 1 and the repetition of the message 3 or
a control section that determines the number of repetitions of the message 3, based on the indication information and information related to a repetition of a message 1 in random access procedure including a repetition of the message 3.
1
second random access procedure not including at least one of the repetition of the message 1 and the repetition of the message 3.
Optional limitation not required
5
A radio communication method for a terminal, the radio communication method comprising:
A radio communication method for a terminal, the radio communication method comprising:
5
transmitting first capability information related to a capability for a repetition of a message 1, and
claim 1 (wherein Claim 1 is substantially the same scope as Claim 5), wherein the information relates to the number of repetitions of the message 1.
2
second capability information related to a capability for a repetition of a message 3; and
receiving indication information related to the number of repetitions of a message 3; and
5
determining, based on the first capability information and the second capability information, whether to perform first random access procedure including the repetition of the message 1 and the repetition of the message 3 or
determining the number of repetitions of the message 3, based on the indication information and information related to a repetition of a message 1 in random access procedure including a repetition of the message 3.
5
second random access procedure not including at least one of the repetition of the message 1 and the repetition of the message 3.
Optional limitation not required
6
A base station comprising:
A base station comprising:
6
a receiving section that receives first capability information related to a capability for a repetition of a message 1, and
claim 1 (wherein Claim 1 is substantially the same scope as Claim 6), wherein the information relates to the number of repetitions of the message 1.
2
second capability information related to a capability for a repetition of a message 3; and
a transmitting section that transmits indication information related to the number of repetitions of a message 3; and
6
a control section that determines, based on the first capability information and the second capability information, whether to perform first random access procedure including the repetition of the message 1 and the repetition of the message 3 or
a control section that determines the number of repetitions of the message 3, based on the indication information and information related to a repetition of a message 1 in random access procedure including a repetition of the message 3.
6
second random access procedure not including at least one of the repetition of the message 1 and the repetition of the message 3.
Optional limitation not required
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2 and 5-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5-6 of copending Application No. 18/879,287 (reference application) in view of Lei (US 2023/0044766 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed to a 4-step random access procedure that uses Msg1 and/or Msg3 repetition. See below for an mapping of the instant claims and the co-pending application.
Claim No.
instant application
(18/880,600)
reference application
(18/879,287 /
PGPUB 2026/0006650 A1)
Claim No.
1
A terminal comprising:
A terminal comprising:
1
a transmitting section that transmits first capability information related to a capability for a repetition of a message 1, and
a receiving section that receives information related to first random access procedure including a repetition of a message 1; and
1
second capability information related to a capability for a repetition of a message 3; and
Lei Fig 7 step 720 and Fig 8 block 805 UE transmits UE capabilities report; [0183] RACH procedure is performed with coverage enhancement (CE) based on the one or more capabilities of the UE; and the CE comprises at least one of: repetition of the PRACH preamble (i.e. Msg1), repetition of the PUSCH (i.e. Msg3)
a control section that determines, based on the first capability information and the second capability information, whether to perform first random access procedure including the repetition of the message 1 and the repetition of the message 3 or
a control section that, based on the information, uses, for the first random access procedure, a first random access resource and
(optional limitation not required)
second random access procedure not including at least one of the repetition of the message 1 and the repetition of the message 3.
uses, for second random access procedure not including the repetition of the message 1, a second random access resource different from the first random access resource.
1
2
claim 1, wherein the control section
A terminal comprising:
…
a control section that, based on the information,
1
uses, for the first random access procedure, a first random access resource and
uses, for the first random access procedure, a first random access resource and
uses, for the second random access procedure, a second random access resource different from the first random access resource.
uses, for second random access procedure not including the repetition of the message 1, a second random access resource different from the first random access resource.
5
A radio communication method for a terminal, the radio communication method comprising:
A radio communication method for a terminal, the radio communication method comprising:
5
transmitting first capability information related to a capability for a repetition of a message 1, and
receiving information related to first random access procedure including a repetition of a message 1; and
second capability information related to a capability for a repetition of a message 3; and
Lei Fig 7 step 720 and Fig 8 block 805 UE transmits UE capabilities report; [0183] RACH procedure is performed with coverage enhancement (CE) based on the one or more capabilities of the UE; and the CE comprises at least one of: repetition of the PRACH preamble (i.e. Msg1), repetition of the PUSCH (i.e. Msg3)
determining, based on the first capability information and the second capability information, whether to perform first random access procedure including the repetition of the message 1 and the repetition of the message 3 or
using, for the first random access procedure, a first random access resource and
(optional limitation not required)
second random access procedure not including at least one of the repetition of the message 1 and the repetition of the message 3.
using, for second random access procedure not including the repetition of the message 1, a second random access resource different from the first random access resource, based on the information.
6
A base station comprising:
A base station comprising:
6
a receiving section that receives first capability information related to a capability for a repetition of a message 1, and
a transmitting section that transmits information related to first random access procedure including a repetition of a message 1; and
second capability information related to a capability for a repetition of a message 3; and
Lei Fig 7 step 720 and Fig 8 block 805 UE transmits UE capabilities report; [0183] RACH procedure is performed with coverage enhancement (CE) based on the one or more capabilities of the UE; and the CE comprises at least one of: repetition of the PRACH preamble (i.e. Msg1), repetition of the PUSCH (i.e. Msg3)
a control section that determines, based on the first capability information and the second capability information, whether to perform first random access procedure including the repetition of the message 1 and the repetition of the message 3 or
a control section that, based on the information, uses, for the first random access procedure, a first random access resource and
(optional limitation not required)
second random access procedure not including at least one of the repetition of the message 1 and the repetition of the message 3.
uses, for second random access procedure not including the repetition of the message 1, a second random access resource different from the first random access resource.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 5-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5-6 of copending Application No. 18/880,608 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed to a 4-step random access procedure that uses Msg1 and/or Msg3 repetition. See below for an mapping of the instant claims and the co-pending application.
Claim No.
instant application
(18/880,600)
reference application
(18/880,608 /
PGPUB 2025/0393080 A1)
Claim No.
1
A terminal comprising:
A terminal comprising:
1
a transmitting section that transmits first capability information related to a capability for a repetition of a message 1, and
a receiving section that receives information related to random access procedure including a plurality of repetitions of a message 1
second capability information related to a capability for a repetition of a message 3; and
and a plurality of repetitions of a message 3; and
a control section that determines, based on the first capability information and the second capability information, whether to perform first random access procedure including the repetition of the message 1 and the repetition of the message 3 or
a control section that, based on the information and based on one or more first beams to be used for the plurality of repetitions of the message 1, determines one or more second beams to be used for the plurality of repetitions of the message 3.
second random access procedure not including at least one of the repetition of the message 1 and the repetition of the message 3.
Optional limitation not required
5
A radio communication method for a terminal, the radio communication method comprising:
A radio communication method for a terminal, the radio communication method comprising:
5
transmitting first capability information related to a capability for a repetition of a message 1, and
receiving information related to random access procedure including a plurality of repetitions of a message 1 and
second capability information related to a capability for a repetition of a message 3; and
a plurality of repetitions of a message 3; and
determining, based on the first capability information and the second capability information, whether to perform first random access procedure including the repetition of the message 1 and the repetition of the message 3 or
determining, based on the information and based on one or more first beams to be used for the plurality of repetitions of the message 1, one or more second beams to be used for the plurality of repetitions of the message 3.
second random access procedure not including at least one of the repetition of the message 1 and the repetition of the message 3.
Optional limitation not required
6
A base station comprising:
A base station comprising:
6
a receiving section that receives first capability information related to a capability for a repetition of a message 1, and
a transmitting section that transmits information related to random access procedure including a plurality of repetitions of a message 1 and
second capability information related to a capability for a repetition of a message 3; and
a plurality of repetitions of a message 3; and
a control section that determines, based on the first capability information and the second capability information, whether to perform first random access procedure including the repetition of the message 1 and the repetition of the message 3 or
a control section that, based on the information and based on one or more first beams to be used for the plurality of repetitions of the message 1, determines one or more second beams to be used for the plurality of repetitions of the message 3.
second random access procedure not including at least one of the repetition of the message 1 and the repetition of the message 3.
Optional limitation not required
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “transmitting section”/”receiving section” and “control section” in claims 1-4 and 6.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. In particular, examiner is interpreting these limitations in light of instant Specification [0309] which teaches that transmitting/receiving section may be antennas or communication interface(s) and [0295] which teaches that control section can be a controller or control circuit, which examiner is respectively interpreting as a transceiver and a processor/controller.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lei (US 2023/0044766 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Lei teaches the below limitation(s):
A terminal comprising:
a transmitting section (Lei Fig 2 UE 104 comprising transceiver 254a) that transmits first capability information related to a capability for a repetition of a message 1, and second capability information related to a capability for a repetition of a message 3 (Fig 7 step 720 and Fig 8 block 805 UE transmits UE capabilities report; [0183] RACH procedure is performed with coverage enhancement (CE) based on the one or more capabilities of the UE; and the CE comprises at least one of: repetition of the PRACH preamble (i.e. Msg1), repetition of the PUSCH (i.e. Msg3)); and
a control section (Fig 2 UE 104 comprising controller/processor 280) that determines, based on the first capability information and the second capability information, whether to perform first random access procedure including the repetition of the message 1 and the repetition of the message 3 (Fig 7 step 750 and Fig 8 block 815 receive a PDCCH that orders the UE to perform a type of RACH procedure on an uplink carrier using at least one of the CE (i.e. at least one of Msg1 repetition and/or Msg3 repetition per [0094], [0113], [0183])) or second random access procedure not including at least one of the repetition of the message 1 and the repetition of the message 3 (alternative limitation not mapped).
Regarding Claim 2, Lei teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 1.
Lei further teaches the below limitation(s):
wherein the control section uses, for the first random access procedure, a first random access resource (Lei Fig 7 step 705 and associated [0074] network entity determines a RACH message resource for the UE (i.e. first random access resource)) and uses, for the second random access procedure, a second random access resource different from the first random access resource ([0089] teaches first type and second type RACH procedure in which each type uses a regular or a supplementary uplink carrier (i.e. RA resources)).
Regarding Claim 5, Lei teaches the below limitation(s):
A radio communication method for a terminal, the radio communication method comprising:
transmitting first capability information related to a capability for a repetition of a message 1, and second capability information related to a capability for a repetition of a message 3 (Lei Fig 7 step 720 and Fig 8 block 805 UE transmits UE capabilities report; [0183] RACH procedure is performed with coverage enhancement (CE) based on the one or more capabilities of the UE; and the CE comprises at least one of: repetition of the PRACH preamble (i.e. Msg1), repetition of the PUSCH (i.e. Msg3)); and
determining, based on the first capability information and the second capability information, whether to perform first random access procedure including the repetition of the message 1 and the repetition of the message 3 (Fig 7 step 750 and Fig 8 block 815 receive a PDCCH that orders the UE to perform a type of RACH procedure on an uplink carrier using at least one of the CE (i.e. at least one of Msg1 repetition and/or Msg3 repetition per [0094], [0113], [0183])) or second random access procedure not including at least one of the repetition of the message 1 and the repetition of the message 3 (alternative limitation not mapped).
Regarding Claim 6, Lei teaches the below limitation(s):
A base station comprising:
a receiving section (Lei Fig 2 base station 102 comprising transceiver 232a) that receives first capability information related to a capability for a repetition of a message 1, and second capability information related to a capability for a repetition of a message 3 (Fig 7 step 720 and Fig 8 block 805 UE transmits UE capabilities report; [0183] RACH procedure is performed with coverage enhancement (CE) based on the one or more capabilities of the UE; and the CE comprises at least one of: repetition of the PRACH preamble (i.e. Msg1), repetition of the PUSCH (i.e. Msg3)); and
a control section (Fig 2 base station 102 comprising controller/processor 240) that determines, based on the first capability information and the second capability information, whether to perform first random access procedure including the repetition of the message 1 and the repetition of the message 3 (Fig 7 step 750 and Fig 8 block 815 receive a PDCCH that orders the UE to perform a type of RACH procedure on an uplink carrier using at least one of the CE (i.e. at least one of Msg1 repetition and/or Msg3 repetition per [0094], [0113], [0183])) or second random access procedure not including at least one of the repetition of the message 1 and the repetition of the message 3 (alternative limitation not mapped).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei (US 2023/0044766 A1) in view of Cozzo (US 2021/0360660 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Lei discloses the limitation(s) of Claim 1.
Lei does not disclose the below limitation(s): wherein the control section determines whether to perform the first random access procedure or the second random access procedure, based on comparison between reference signal received power and a threshold.
In the same field of endeavor of 4-step random access procedures with or without repetition, Cozzo does disclose the below limitation(s): wherein the control section determines whether to perform the first random access procedure or the second random access procedure, based on comparison between reference signal received power and a threshold (Cozzo [0138] UE determines the number of repetitions for Msg3 PUSCH retransmission based on RSRP measurement and configured threshold(s)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned terminal to include determining a number of Msg1/Msg3 repetition based on RSRP as taught by Cozzo. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to reduce the number of repetitions when RSRP is outside of an expected value to prevent errors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Lei and Cozzo to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 4, Lei discloses the limitation(s) of Claim 1.
Lei does not disclose the below limitation(s): wherein the control section controls repetition of information related to at least one of a maximum number of repetitions of the message 1 and a threshold for reference signal received power.
In the same field of endeavor of 4-step random access procedures with or without repetition, Cozzo does disclose the below limitation(s): wherein the control section controls repetition of information related to at least one of a maximum number of repetitions of the message 1 (Cozzo Fig 8 step 802 gNB configures UE with a maximum number of PRACH (.e. Msg1) transmission attempts) and a threshold for reference signal received power ([0138] UE determines the number of repetitions for Msg3 PUSCH retransmission based on RSRP measurement and configured threshold(s)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned terminal to include limiting repetition according to a threshold and/or predetermined value as taught by Cozzo. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to lower the number of repetitions when network measurements indicate poor performance. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Lei and Cozzo to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Conclusion
/SHAWN D MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412