DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
All claims recite subject matter falling within one of the four categories of invention.
Claims 1-17 recite:
1. (Original) A computer-implemented method for tracking at least one transfer associated with a material and at least one product containing said material in a decentral network comprising a distributed ledger that includes multiple member nodes, the distributed ledger including material transfer transactions containing material data associated with the material and product transfer transactions containing product data associated with the at least one product containing the material, the method including the steps of:- receiving at least one data set, each data set including data of at least one material transfer transaction containing the material data and/or data of at least one product transfer transaction containing the product data associated with the product(s) containing the material,- retrieving the material data and the product data based on the received data set(s), - tracking at least one transfer by determining a transfer balance associated with the material and the at least one product based on the received or retrieved material data and the received or retrieved product data, and- providing the at least one tracked transfer.
2. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein the material is a chemical raw material or chemical material.
3. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1 , wherein the material data includes material transaction meta data and the amount of the material.
4. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1,wherein the product data includes product transaction meta data and the amount of the product containing the material.
5. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1,wherein each data set includes a decentral identifier, and data related to the material or data related to the product containing the material.
6. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 1,wherein each data set is received from a data providing service.
7. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1,wherein the material and the at least one product containing the material are transferred in a linear production process or in a circular process.
8. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 1,wherein retrieving material data based on the received data set(s) includes determining the identity of at least one material transfer transaction based on the data of the material transfer transaction(s) contained in the received data set(s) and retrieving the material data associated with the determined at least one identity of the material transfer transaction(s).
9. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 1,wherein retrieving material data based on the received data set(s) includes determining at least one material transfer transaction associated with the product(s) containing the material based on the data of the product transfer transaction(s) contained in the received data set(s) and retrieving the material data associated with the determined material transfer transaction(s).
10. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 1,wherein retrieving product data based on the received data set(s) includes determining the identity of at least one product transfer transaction based on the data of the product transfer transaction(s) contained in the received data set(s) and retrieving the product data associated with the determined at least one identity of the product transfer transaction(s).
11. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 1,wherein retrieving product data based on the received data set(s) includes determining at least one product transfer transaction associated with the material based on the data of the material transfer transaction(s) contained in the received data set(s) and retrieving the product data of the determined product transfer transaction(s).
12. (Currently Amended) The method of The method of wherein determining the transfer balance include - determining the total amount of material from the retrieved material data and determining the total amount of product(s) containing the material from the retrieved product, and- comparing the determined total amount of material with the determined total amount of product(s).
13. (Currently Amended) An apparatus for tracking at least one transfer associated with a material and at least one product containing said material in a decentral material network comprising a distributed ledger that includes multiple member nodes, the distributed ledger including transfer transactions containing material data associated with the material and transfer transactions containing product data associated with the at least one product containing the material, the apparatus comprising:one or more computing nodes; and one or more computer-readable media having thereon computer-executable instructions that are structured such that, when executed by the one or more computing nodes, cause the apparatus to perform the method as claimed in claim 1.
14. (Currently Amended) A method of using the material transfer balance as generated according to claim 1, the method comprising using the material transfer balance to validate material transfers associated with a material and product(s) containing the material.
15. (Currently Amended) A computer element with instructions, which when executed on one or more computing node(s) is configured to carry out the steps of the method of claim 1.
16. (New) A method of using the material transfer balance as generated by the apparatus of claim 13, the method comprising using the material transfer balance to validate material transfers associated with a material and product(s) containing the material.
17. (New) A computer element with instructions, which when executed on one or more computing node(s) is configured to be carried out by the apparatus of claim 13.
But for the recitation of the underlined additional elements, claims 1-17 recite steps for validating inventory in a supply chain by evaluating information in relation to stored records. Per MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), The courts have used the phrases “fundamental economic practices” or “fundamental economic principles” to describe concepts relating to the economy and commerce. Evaluating supply chain records to ensure accuracy is related to commerce. Thus claims 1-17 recite a method of organizing human activity (fundamental economic practice), an abstract idea (Step 2A_1).
The additional elements comprise generic computer implementation and a generic blockchain implementation.
The additional elements are recited at a high degree of generality such that they amount to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea, which per MPEP 2106.05(f) means they do not provide a practical application or significantly more. Additionally MPEP blockchain can be considered to be providing necessary data gathering/output and thus per 2106.05(g) it can be regarded as extra-solution activity that does not provide a practical application or significantly more. Furthermore, blockchain to store transaction records does not provide significantly more because it is conventional (see Yan US 20200160328 A1 paragraph 3).
Thus claims 1-17 are considered directed to an abstract idea without a practical application or significantly more (Step 2A_2, Step 2B) and are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Stollman (US 20220277261 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Stollman discloses:
1. (Original) A computer-implemented method for tracking at least one transfer associated with a material and at least one product containing said material in a decentral network comprising a distributed ledger that includes multiple member nodes (fig. 1, fig. 2, paragraph 39), the distributed ledger including material transfer transactions containing material data associated with the material and product transfer transactions containing product data associated with the at least one product containing the material (fig. 2 transfers related to material units are recorded on the blockchain), the method including the steps of:- receiving at least one data set, each data set including data of at least one material transfer transaction containing the material data and/or data of at least one product transfer transaction containing the product data associated with the product(s) containing the material (fig. 5 manifest serial number),- retrieving the material data and the product data based on the received data set(s) (fig. 5 320 compare serial numbers match between manifest and shipment), - tracking at least one transfer by determining a transfer balance associated with the material and the at least one product based on the received or retrieved material data and the received or retrieved product data (fig. 5 350 confirm transfer), and- providing the at least one tracked transfer (fig. 5 350 update transfer on blockchain).
Regarding claim 2, Stollman discloses: 2. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein the material is a chemical raw material or chemical material (paragraph 34).
Regarding claim 3, Stollman discloses: 3. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, wherein the material data includes material transaction meta data and the amount of the material (paragraph 43).
Regarding claim 4, Stollman discloses: wherein the product data includes product transaction meta data and the amount of the product containing the material (paragraph 43 identifying information, quantity of asset).
Regarding claim 5, Stollman discloses: wherein each data set includes a decentral identifier (paragraph 43 serial number), and data related to the material or data related to the product containing the material (paragraph 43 quantity, description).
Regarding claim 6, Stollman discloses: wherein each data set is received from a data providing service (fig. 2 blockchain runs data providing service to collect).
Regarding claim 7, Stollman discloses: wherein the material and the at least one product containing the material are transferred in a linear production process or in a circular process (paragraph 53 linear process, fig. 1 shows linear transfer until final custodian).
Regarding claim 8, Stollman discloses:
wherein retrieving material data based on the received data set(s) includes determining the identity of at least one material transfer transaction based on the data of the material transfer transaction(s) contained in the received data set(s) (paragraph 46 serial numbers for product) and retrieving the material data associated with the determined at least one identity of the material transfer transaction(s) (paragraph 46 determine quantity and determine is quantity is consistent with new info).
Regarding claim 9, Stollman discloses:
wherein retrieving material data based on the received data set(s) includes determining at least one material transfer transaction associated with the product(s) containing the material based on the data of the product transfer transaction(s) contained in the received data set(s) (paragraph 46 determine transfer details) and retrieving the material data associated with the determined material transfer transaction(s) (paragraph 46 recognize mismatch relative to custodial records).
Regarding claim 10, Stollman discloses:
wherein retrieving product data based on the received data set(s) includes determining the identity of at least one product transfer transaction based on the data of the product transfer transaction(s) contained in the received data set(s) (paragraph 46 serial number) and retrieving the product data associated with the determined at least one identity of the product transfer transaction(s) (paragraph 46 comparison to serial number records to determine mismatch)
Regarding claim 11, Stollman discloses:
wherein retrieving product data based on the received data set(s) includes determining at least one product transfer transaction associated with the material based on the data of the material transfer transaction(s) contained in the received data set(s) (paragraph 46 current serial number) and retrieving the product data of the determined product transfer transaction(s) (paragraph 46 compare to serial number in past records and determine if there’s a mismatch).
Regarding claim 12, Stollman discloses: wherein determining the transfer balance include - determining the total amount of material from the retrieved material data and determining the total amount of product(s) containing the material from the retrieved product (paragraph 46 inconsistent quantity involves comparison of current to past amount of product), and- comparing the determined total amount of material with the determined total amount of product(s) (paragraph 46 inconsistent quantity involves comparison of current to past amount of product).
Regarding claim 13, Stollman further discloses: 13. (Currently Amended) An apparatus for tracking at least one transfer associated with a material and at least one product (fig. 1, fig. 2) containing said material in a decentral material network comprising a distributed ledger that includes multiple member nodes (paragraph 39), the distributed ledger including transfer transactions containing material data associated with the material and transfer transactions containing product data associated with the at least one product containing the material (figure 2-figure 7), the apparatus comprising:one or more computing nodes (paragraph 39); and one or more computer-readable media having thereon computer-executable instructions that are structured such that, when executed by the one or more computing nodes, cause the apparatus to perform the method as claimed in claim 1 (fig. 1 and fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Stollman discloses: using the material transfer balance to validate material transfers associated with a material and product(s) containing the material (paragraph 46 quantity mismatch).
Regarding claim 15, Stollman discloses: 15. (Currently Amended) A computer element with instructions, which when executed on one or more computing node(s) is configured to carry out the steps of the method of claim 1 (paragraph 23).
Regarding claim 16, Stollman discloses: 16. (New) A method of using the material transfer balance as generated by the apparatus of claim 13, the method comprising using the material transfer balance to validate material transfers associated with a material and product(s) containing the material (paragraph 46 quantity mismatch).
Regarding claim 17, Stollman discloses: 17. (New) A computer element with instructions, which when executed on one or more computing node(s) is configured to be carried out by the apparatus of claim 13 (paragraph 23 computerized system).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cantrell (US 10521806 B2) discloses a blockchain system for supply chain control.
/NATHAN A MITCHELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627