Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 and 18-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Objections
Claims 18 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims depend on canceled claim 17. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 12, 13, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2023/0245000) (“Yang”) in view of Bui et al. (US 2021/0295191) (“Bui”).
For claims 1, 13, and 25; Yang discloses: determining an importance level of channel measurement information about a communication channel for updating a classification model (paragraph 324-327, 344: The neighboring cell coverage information measured by the terminal device may include a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement result, a reference signal received quality (RSRQ) measurement result, and a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) measurement result of the neighboring cell that are obtained by the terminal device through measurement… accuracy of the machine learning model is a correctness rate … accuracy of the machine learning model is an error rate), the classification model configured to determine an estimated classification result of the communication channel based on the channel measurement information (paragraph 343: An example in which the machine learning model is a load prediction model is used for description); in accordance with a determination that the importance level of the channel measurement information exceeds an importance threshold for the classification model update learning model (paragraph 324-327: If the correctness rate of the machine learning model is less than the preset correctness threshold, the machine learning model in the inference device needs to be updated, and the update device may retrain the machine learning model based on the new data set… If the error rate of the machine learning model is greater than or equal to the preset error threshold, the machine learning model in the inference device needs to be updated, and the update device may retrain the machine learning model based on the new data set).
Yang does not expressly disclose, but Bui from similar fields of endeavor teaches: obtaining a ground-truth classification result for the communication channel (paragraph 92-101: the predicted result 606, the hyper-parameter determination system 102 further performs a comparison 608. In particular, the hyper-parameter determination system 102 compares the predicted result 606 with a ground truth result); and causing the classification model to be updated based at least in part on the channel measurement information and the ground-truth classification result (paragraph 92-101: By comparing the predicted result 606 with the ground truth result 610, the hyper-parameter determination system 102 the hyper-parameter determination system 102 further performs a back propagation…modifies the weights or parameters by changing values to adjust how the machine learning model 604 analyzes data. Indeed, by changing various internal parameters, the hyper-parameter determination system 102 modifies how the machine learning model 604 passes data between layers (e.g., with regard to a neural network) and thereby modifies how the machine learning model 604 generates predictions). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the training model as described by Bui in the AI/ML as described by Yang. The motivation is to improve accuracy of the inference model updates.
For claims 4; Yang discloses: determining the importance level comprises: obtaining intermediate information extracted by the classification model from the channel measurement information; and determining the importance level of the channel measurement information based on the intermediate information (paragraph 324-327: If the correctness rate of the machine learning model is less than the preset correctness threshold, the machine learning model in the inference device needs to be updated, and the update device may retrain the machine learning model based on the new data set… If the error rate of the machine learning model is greater than or equal to the preset error threshold, the machine learning model in the inference device needs to be updated, and the update device may retrain the machine learning model based on the new data set).
For claims 5; Yang discloses: determining the importance level based on the intermediate information comprises: determining an uncertainty level of the estimated classification result based on the intermediate information; in accordance with a determination that the uncertainty level is a first uncertainty level, determining the importance level of the channel measurement information to be a first importance level; and in accordance with a determination that the uncertainty level is a second uncertainty level higher than the first uncertainty level, determining the importance level of the channel measurement information to be a second importance level, the second importance level being higher than the first importance level (paragraph 324-327: If the correctness rate of the machine learning model is less than the preset correctness threshold, the machine learning model in the inference device needs to be updated, and the update device may retrain the machine learning model based on the new data set… If the error rate of the machine learning model is greater than or equal to the preset error threshold, the machine learning model in the inference device needs to be updated, and the update device may retrain the machine learning model based on the new data set).
For claims 12; Yang discloses: wherein the device comprises a terminal device or a location management function (paragraph 260-263: the inference device may be the source access network device shown in FIG. 2, or may be the access network device shown in FIG. 3).
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Bui as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Iio et al. (US 2019/0138852) (“Iio”).
For claim 2; Yang discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action.
Yang does not expressly disclose, but Iio from similar fields of endeavor teaches: determining an accuracy level of the updated classification model; and updating the importance threshold based on the accuracy level, to obtain an updated importance threshold for the updated classification model (paragraph 53-55: the estimation accuracy verification unit 160 calculates the estim n accuracy of the estimation model generated… If the estimation accuracy of the estimation model is equal to or greater than the threshold value t (NO in step S403), then in step S404, the estimation accuracy verification unit 160 updates the threshold value t to the estimation accuracy ac of the estimation model generated). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the training model as described by Iio in the AI/ML as described by Yang. The motivation is to improve training model updates.
For claim 3; Yang discloses the subject matter in claim 2 as described above in the office action.
Yang does not expressly disclose, but Iio from similar fields of endeavor teaches: updating the importance threshold based on the accuracy level comprises: in accordance with a determination that the accuracy level of the updated classification model is higher than an accuracy level of the classification model, increasing the importance threshold by a predetermined value (paragraph 55: If the estimation accuracy of the estimation model is equal to or greater than the threshold value t (NO in step S403), then in step S404, the estimation accuracy verification unit 160 updates the threshold value t to the estimation accuracy ac of the estimation model generated). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the training model as described by Iio in the AI/ML as described by Yang. The motivation is to improve training model updates.
Claim(s) 10 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Bui as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hirzallah et al. (US 2026/0140220) (“Hirzallah”).
For claim 10 and 22; Yang discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action.
Yang does not expressly disclose, but Hirzallah from similar fields of endeavor teaches: obtaining the ground-truth classification result comprises: causing a positioning reference device to perform classification labelling for the channel measurement information at a location associated with the communication channel; and receiving the ground-truth classification result from the positioning reference device (paragraph 149-150: Machine learning positioning techniques have been shown to provide superior positioning performance when compared to classical positioning schemes. In machine learning-RFFP-based positioning, a machine learning model (e.g., neural network 700) takes as input the RFFPs of downlink reference signals (e.g., PRS) and outputs the positioning measurement (e.g., ToA, RSTD) or mobile device location corresponding to the inputted RFFPs. The machine learning model (e.g., neural network 700) is trained using the “ground truth” (i.e., known) positioning measurements or mobile device locations as the reference (i.e., expected) output of a training set of RFFPs). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the training model as described by Hirzallah in the AI/ML as described by Yang. The motivation is to improve training model updates.
Claim(s) 11 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Bui as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oteri et al. (US 2025/0287337) (“Oteri”).
For claim 11 and 23; Yang discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action.
Yang does not expressly disclose, but Oteri from similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the estimated classification result indicates whether the communication channel is classified as a line-of-sight channel or a non-line-of-sight channel (paragraph 62: Data from the specified gNBs is used as input into the AI based positioning scheme 460. This input may include channel impulse response (CIR) input that may be selected based on AI-based LOS/NLOS classification). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the inference model as described by Oteri in the AI/ML as described by Yang. The motivation is to improve transmission efficiency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Alawieh et al. (US 2025/0056488); Alawieh discloses report to a network entity of the wireless communication system one or more signal characteristics of at least one received reference signal comprising at least one of the following information a signal strength, a LOS/NLOS probability.
/JOHN D BLANTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466