DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 objected to because of the following informalities: claim(s) should be amended to recite “a lock holder, wherein the rotary latch engages around the lock holder at least in [[a]] the latch position”. Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim(s) 2 objected to because of the following informalities: claim(s) should be amended to recite “wherein the reinforcing plate, in at least [[a]] the latch position of the locking mechanism, is brought into an engaging position”. Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim(s) 4 objected to because of the following informalities: claim(s) should be amended to recite “wherein a positive overlap between the lock holder and the reinforcing plate is achieved in at least [[a]] the latch position of the locking mechanism”. Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim(s) 10 objected to because of the following informalities: claim(s) should be amended to recite “moving the reinforcing plate at least in certain regions into the engaging position with [[a]] the lock holder”. Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kiekert (DE-202007012253-U1).
With regards to claim 1, Kiekert discloses a motor vehicle door lock (1 Figure 1) comprising:
a locking mechanism (4 Figure 1) including a rotary latch (5 Figure 1) and at least one pawl (6 Figure 1), wherein the rotary latch is engaged in at least one latch position (the single position shown Figures 1-3) by the at least one pawl,
a reinforcing plate (3 Figure 2), wherein at least a shaft of the rotary latch and a shaft of the at least one pawl are connected by the reinforcing plate (as shown by Figures 1-2), and
a lock holder (7 Figure 2), wherein the rotary latch engages around the lock holder at least in a latch position (as shown Figure 1), and wherein the lock holder is brought into an engaging position with the reinforcing plate (as shown Figure 2).
With regards to claim 2, Kiekert discloses the motor vehicle door lock according to claim 1, wherein the reinforcing plate (3 Figure 2), in at least a latch position of the locking mechanism (4 Figures 1-3), is brought into an engaging position (as shown by Figure 2) between the rotary latch (5 Figure 1) and at least one of a projection (distal end of 17 extending beyond locking pin 12, Figure 4) and/or a central piece of the lock holder.
With regards to claim 3, Kiekert discloses the motor vehicle door lock according to claim 1, further comprising a locking pin (12 Figure 4), wherein the lock holder (7 Figure 2) includes a projection (distal end of 17 extending beyond locking pin 12, Figure 4), and wherein at least a portion of the projection extends beyond the locking pin.
With regards to claim 4, Kiekert discloses the motor vehicle door lock according to claim 1, wherein a positive overlap between the lock holder (7 Figure 2) and the reinforcing plate (3 Figure 2) is achieved in at least a latch position of the locking mechanism (as shown Figures 2-3).
With regards to claim 5, Kiekert discloses the motor vehicle door lock according to claim 1, wherein the lock holder (7 Figure 2) includes a projection (distal end of 17 extending beyond locking pin 12, Figure 4) in a direction (left/right, Figure 3) of a longitudinal extension of a central piece (17 Figure 4) of the lock holder.
With regards to claim 6, Kiekert discloses the motor vehicle door lock according to claim 1, wherein the lock holder (7 Figure 2) includes a projection (distal end of 17 extending beyond locking pin 12, Figure 4) in a plane of a central piece (17 Figure 4) of the lock holder, wherein the projection extends in a direction (up/down, Figure 3) transverse to a center axis (extending left/right, Figure 3) of the central piece.
With regards to claim 7, Kiekert discloses the motor vehicle door lock according to claim 6, wherein the projection (distal end of 17 extending beyond locking pin 12, Figure 4) extends in more than one direction (up/down and left/right, Figure 3) in a plane of the central piece (17 Figure 4).
With regards to claim 8, Kiekert discloses the motor vehicle door lock according to claim 1, wherein the reinforcing plate (3 Figure 2), at least on one side, is brought into an engaging position (as shown Figure 2) with the lock holder (7 Figure 2).
With regards to claim 9, Kiekert discloses the motor vehicle lock according to claim 1, wherein the reinforcing plate (3 Figure 2) is a one-piece metallic stamped and bent part (Para. 0007).
With regards to claim 10, Kiekert discloses a method (Para. 0016) for locking a moveable component (15 Figure 1) attached to a motor vehicle (16 Figure 1) with a motor vehicle lock (1 Figure 1) according to claim 1, the method comprising the steps of:
when the moveable component is closed and at least one latch position (Figures 1-3) of the motor vehicle lock is reached, moving the reinforcing plate (3 Figure 2) at least in certain regions into the engaging position with a lock holder (7 Figure 2).
With regards to claim 11, Kiekert discloses the motor vehicle door lock according to claim 1, wherein the lock holder (7 Figure 4) includes a lock holder plate (8 Figure 4).
With regards to claim 12, Kiekert discloses the motor vehicle door lock according to claim 1, wherein the lock holder (7 Figure 4) includes a lock holder bracket (9 Figure 4).
With regards to claim 13, Kiekert discloses the motor vehicle door lock according to claim 12, further comprising a connecting web (8 Figure 4), wherein the lock holder bracket (9 Figure 4) is at least one of angled, S-shaped, and round-shaped in the region of the connecting web (the lock holder bracket 9 is rounded in the region of the connecting web 8, Figure 4).
With regards to claim 14, Kiekert discloses the motor vehicle door lock according to claim 1, further comprising a locking pin (12 Figure 4), wherein the reinforcing plate (3 Figure 2) engages positively around at least a portion of the locking pin (by means of the recess 11 as shown Figure 3).
Additional Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20060123619-A1: A related motor vehicle lock and lock holder.
US-7140652-B2: A related motor vehicle lock and lock holder.
US-5382062-A: A related motor vehicle lock and lock holder.
US-7703818-B2: A related motor vehicle lock and lock holder.
US-5316354-A: A related motor vehicle lock and lock holder.
US-6106037-A: A related motor vehicle lock and lock holder.
US-5209532-A: A related motor vehicle lock and lock holder.
US-8469413-B2: A related motor vehicle lock and lock holder.
US-6073980-A: A related motor vehicle lock and lock holder.
US-6095576-A: A related motor vehicle lock and lock holder.
US-6581990-B1: A related motor vehicle lock and lock holder.
WO-2021121481-A1: A related motor vehicle lock and lock holder.
Conclusion
/NOAH HOROWITZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3675