DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information ([0011]: project information) Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed to date have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hamilton (US 20190324260) herein after referred to as D1.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches an observation device comprising a mechanical structure, in at least (Fig. 1A-1E); a camera ([0281]) and a display module ([0012]) comprising a first microdisplay ([0099]: microdisplay; [0160]: The terms “active display,” “digital display” and “microdisplay” are used interchangeably) configured to display an image ([0164]: generating an image) of a spectral piece of information ([0011]: project information) measured by the camera ([0281]), further comprising an optical combiner ([0012]: beam combiner) and an arrangement of optical components (Fig. 1E, and Fig. 14) configured to direct towards the optical combiner ([0012]: beam combiner) an image ([0164]: generating an image) output by the display module ([0012]) and comprising the spectral piece of information ([0011]: project information) displayed by the first microdisplay ([0099]: microdisplay; [0160]: The terms “active display,” “digital display” and “microdisplay” are used interchangeably), the arrangement of optical components (Fig. 1E, and Fig. 14) being an arrangement of optical components (Fig. 1E, and Fig. 14) of the free-form type (fig. 15) comprising between one and three optical surfaces (fig. 15, element 320) of the free-form type (fig. 15), the optical combiner ([0012]: beam combiner) directing towards an observation zone ([0168]: visual observation) the superimposition of an image ([0164]: generating an image) of an observed scene ([0168]: observation of the target) and of the image ([0164]: generating an image) output by the display module ([0012]: display system).
With regard to claim 2, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an observation device, in at least (Figs. 1A-1E, 14 and 15); wherein the optical combiner ([0012]: beam combiner) is of the free-form type (Fig. 15).
With regard to claim 3, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an observation device, in at least (Figs. 1A-1E, 14 and 15); wherein the optical combiner ([0012]: beam combiner) comprises a free-form type (fig. 15) dichroic filter ([0598]; light filter) or a free-form type (fig. 15) semi-reflective mirror ([0021]: mirror) or a free-form type (fig. 15) splitter cube ([0501]: beam splitter).
With regard to claim 4, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an observation device, in at least (Figs. 1A-1E, 14 and 15); wherein the optical combiner ([0012]: beam combiner) of the free-form type (fig. 15) comprises a free-form optical component (fig. 15) comprising two identical surfaces (320 and 1230) translated from one another along a line of sight of the scene so as to be of constant thickness (parallel) along the line of sight.
With regard to claim 5, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an observation device, in at least (Figs. 1A-1E, 14 and 15); comprising a moving attenuating filter ([0598]; light filter) configured to be placed upstream of the optical combiner ([0012]: beam combiner) on an optical path of light rays passing through the optical combiner ([0012]: beam combiner).
With regard to claim 6, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an observation device, in at least (Figs. 1A-1E, 14 and 15); wherein the arrangement of optical components (Fig. 1E, and Fig. 14) comprises at least two optical surfaces of the free-form type (fig. 15, element 320).
With regard to claim 7, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an observation device, in at least (Figs. 1A-1E, 14 and 15); wherein the arrangement of optical components (Fig. 1E, and Fig. 14) comprises three optical surfaces of the free-form type (fig. 15, element 320).
With regard to claim 8, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an observation device, in at least (Figs. 1A-1E, 14 and 15); wherein the first microdisplay ([0099]: microdisplay; [0160]: The terms “active display,” “digital display” and “microdisplay” are used interchangeably) is also configured to display at least one contextual piece of information ([0011]: project information).
With regard to claim 9, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an observation device, in at least (Figs. 1A-1E, 14 and 15); wherein the display module ([0012]) comprises a second microdisplay ([0099]: microdisplay; [0160]: The terms “active display,” “digital display” and “microdisplay” are used interchangeably) configured to display at least one contextual piece of information ([0011]: project information) and a second optical combiner ([0012]: beam combiner) configured to overlay the image ([0164]: generating an image) of the first microdisplay ([0099]: microdisplay; [0160]: The terms “active display,” “digital display” and “microdisplay” are used interchangeably) and the image ([0164]: generating an image) of the second microdisplay ([0099]: microdisplay; [0160]: The terms “active display,” “digital display” and “microdisplay” are used interchangeably) so that the image ([0164]: generating an image) output by the display module ([0012]) also comprises the contextual piece of information ([0011]: project information) displayed by the second microdisplay ([0099]: microdisplay; [0160]: The terms “active display,” “digital display” and “microdisplay” are used interchangeably).
With regard to claim 10, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an observation device, in at least (Figs. 1A-1E, 14 and 15); wherein the display module ([0012]) comprises one or more additional microdisplays ([0284]: plurality of device including displays) each associated with an additional camera ([0281]) and configured to display an image ([0164]: generating an image) of an additional spectral piece of information ([0011]: project information) measured by said associated camera ([0281]), the display module ([0012])comprising one or more additional optical combiner ([0012]: beam combiner)s configured such that the image ([0164]: generating an image) output by the display module ([0012])also comprises the information ([0011]: project information) displayed by the additional microdisplays ([0284]: plurality of device including displays).
With regard to claim 11, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 7, wherein D1 further teaches an observation device, in at least (Figs. 1A-1E, 14 and 15); wherein the three optical surfaces of the free-form type (fig. 15) form a free-form type (fig. 15) prism (320).
Conclusion
Information ([0011]: project information) regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information ([0011]: project information) in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information ([0011]: project information) about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information ([0011]: project information) about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GRANT A GAGNON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872