DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant' s communication filed January 2, 2025. In view of this communication, claims 1-10 are now pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 2, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 29, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the encoder” should read “the encoder unit”, consistent with claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshiyama et al. (US 20050212366 A1, hereafter referred to as Yoshiyama) in view of Yamamoto et al. (WO 2018216200 A1, hereafter referred to as Yamamoto).
Regarding Claim 1, Yoshiyama discloses (see Figures 2 and 11) an actuator (1, ¶ [0029]), comprising:
a stator (12, ¶ [0030]), wherein
the stator (12, ¶ [0030]) includes a housing (18/20, ¶ [0031] – [0032]), and a stator core (21, ¶ [0033]) which is affixed in the housing (18/20, ¶ [0031] – [0032]) (¶ [0033]: “The stator core 21 is fixed to the rear housing 20.”) and around which a plurality of coils (22A-L, ¶ [0033]) are wound, the actuator (1, ¶ [0029]) further comprising:
a rotor (11, ¶ [0030]) which is arranged so as to face the stator (12, ¶ [0030]), wherein
the rotor (11, ¶ [0030]) includes a rotor core (14, ¶ [0031]) for forming a plurality of magnetic poles (24, ¶ [0034]) (¶ [0006]: “A rotor core is fixed around the rotor shaft, with a plurality of poles having lower magnetic reluctances and provided at a radial outer side of the rotor core.”), and a shaft (13, ¶ [0031]) which is coupled to the rotor core (14, ¶ [0031]), the actuator (1, ¶ [0029]) further comprising:
an encoder unit (60, ¶ [0045]), wherein
the encoder unit (60, ¶ [0045]) includes a rotary disk (61, ¶ [0046]) which is connected to the shaft (13, ¶ [0031]) (¶ [0046]: “The encoder 60 is an incremental type including a magnet 61 integrally rotating with the rotor 11,”), a detection unit (62, ¶ [0046]) for detecting rotation of the rotary disk (61, ¶ [0046]), and a fixed part (63, ¶ [0046]) (¶ [0046]: “a substrate 63 supporting these Hall ICs 62 in the rear housing 20”) which is affixed in the housing (18/20, ¶ [0031] – [0032]), the actuator (1, ¶ [0029]) further comprising:
a first structure for determining a relative angle between the plurality of coils (22A-L, ¶ [0033]) of the stator core (21, ¶ [0033]) and the housing (18/20, ¶ [0031] – [0032]) (¶ [0033]: “As shown in FIG. 5, the stator core 21 includes a plurality of inward salient-poles 23 provided at the same angular intervals of 30 degrees.”),
a second structure for determining a relative angle between the magnetic poles (24, ¶ [0034]) of the rotor core (14, ¶ [0031]) and a fixed reference position of the rotary disk (61, ¶ [0046]) provided on the shaft (13, ¶ [0031]) (¶ [0006]: “The encoder detects a rotational angle of the rotor core based on the magnetism generating from the magnet detected by the magnetism detecting element.”),
a third structure for determining a relative angle between the shaft (13, ¶ [0031]) and the rotary disk (61, ¶ [0046]) (¶ [0002]: “The present invention relates to a rotor angle detecting apparatus for a reluctance motor, which is capable of detecting the rotational angle of rotor core and/or rotor shaft of a reluctance motor.”).
Yoshiyama does not disclose a fourth structure for determining and adjusting a relative angle between the housing and the detection unit.
However, Yamamoto, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figures 1-2) a fourth structure (13, Page 3, ¶ 4) for determining and adjusting a relative angle between the housing (2, Page 3, ¶ 4) and the detection unit (15, Page 3, ¶ 2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the actuator disclosed by Yoshiyama with a fourth structure for determining and adjusting a relative angle between the housing and the detection unit, as disclosed by Yamamoto, in order to simplify maintenance of the actuator (Page 3, ¶ 11: “For this reason, the attachment angle of the angle detector 11 can be adjusted more easily, and the magnetic pole can be easily aligned.”).
Regarding Claim 3/1, Yoshiyama in view of Yamamoto has been discussed above.
Additionally, Yamamoto discloses (see Figures 1-2 above) the fourth structure (13, Page 3, ¶ 4) includes a plurality of slots (13a, Page 3, ¶ 8) formed in the fixed part of the encoder unit (11, Page 3, ¶ 2), and a plurality of second screws (14, Page 3, ¶ 4) which are inserted into the respective slots (13a, Page 3, ¶ 8).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the actuator disclosed by [] such that the fourth structure includes a plurality of slots formed in the fixed part of the encoder unit, and a plurality of second screws which are inserted into the respective slots, as further disclosed by Yamamoto, in order to simplify maintenance of the actuator (Page 3, ¶ 11: “For this reason, the attachment angle of the angle detector 11 can be adjusted more easily, and the magnetic pole can be easily aligned.”).
Regarding Claim 9/1, Yoshiyama in view of Yamamoto has been discussed above.
Additionally, Yoshiyama discloses (see Figure 11) that the rotor core (14, ¶ [0031]) and the shaft (13, ¶ [0031]) are integrally formed in the second structure (¶ [0046]: “The encoder 60 is an incremental type including a magnet 61 integrally rotating with the rotor 11,”) (¶ [0049]: “the magnet 61 has a plurality of projections 61a provided on its contact surface to be jointed with the rotor core 14.”).
Regarding Claim 10/1, Yoshiyama in view of Yamamoto has been discussed above.
Additionally, Yoshiyama discloses that the encoder (60, ¶ [0045]) is an optical encoder or a magnetic encoder (¶ [0055]: “Furthermore, this embodiment discloses an example using a magnetic detecting encoder 60 having Hall ICs 62. However, it is possible to use an encoder having pickup coils or an optical encoder.”).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshiyama in view of Yamamoto as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shibuya et al. (JP 3990591 B2, hereafter referred to as Shibuya).
Regarding Claim 2/1, Yoshiyama in view of Yamamoto has been discussed above.
Yoshiyama in view of Yamamoto does not disclose that the third structure includes a plurality of first screws for affixation of a boss attached to the rotary disk or the rotary disk and the shaft, and a plurality of screw holes formed in the shaft for engaging with the first screws.
However, Shibuya, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 1) that the third structure includes a plurality of first screws (12, ¶ [0024]) for affixation of a boss (8, ¶ [0024]) attached to the rotary disk (2, ¶ [0024]) or the rotary disk (2, ¶ [0024]) and the shaft (31, ¶ [0024]), and a plurality of screw holes formed in the shaft for engaging with the first screws. (¶ [0024]: “a hollow cylindrical boss 8 is fitted into the upper end portion of the rotary shaft 31”, “The screw 12 is screwed into a screw hole provided in a side portion of the boss 8, and the screw 12 is strongly pressed against the rotating shaft 31, thereby rotating the rotating shaft 7 of the boss 8 (and thus the rotating plate 2 and the permanent magnet).”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the actuator disclosed by Yoshiyama in view of Yamamoto such that the third structure includes a plurality of first screws for affixation of a boss attached to the rotary disk or the rotary disk and the shaft, and a plurality of screw holes formed in the shaft for engaging with the first screws, as disclosed by Shibuya, in order to firmly secure the rotary disk to the shaft (¶ [0024]: “When tightening or loosening the screw 12 used for positioning, a driver may be inserted through a hole or slit (not shown) provided in the peripheral wall portion 5c of the base member 5.”).
Claims 4-5, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshiyama in view of Yamamoto as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kawabata et al. (JP H08205437 A, hereafter referred to as Kawabata).
Regarding Claim 4/1, Yoshiyama in view of Yamamoto has been discussed above.
Yoshiyama in view of Yamamoto does not disclose that the first structure includes a plurality of keyways formed in the stator core and the housing, and a plurality of parallel keys for engaging with the respective keyways.
However, Kawabata, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figures 1-3) that the first structure includes a plurality of keyways (36, Page 4, ¶ 13) formed in the stator core (20, Page 3, ¶ 10) and the housing (60, Page 4, ¶ 4), and a plurality of parallel keys for engaging with the respective keyways (Page 5, ¶ 1: “the key groove provided on the case 60 and the key groove on the outer periphery of the stator 30 are aligned with each other, and a key for preventing rotation is interposed therein, and the key groove is provided on the case 60.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the actuator disclosed by Yoshiyama in view of Yamamoto such that the first structure includes a plurality of keyways formed in the stator core and the housing, and a plurality of parallel keys for engaging with the respective keyways, as disclosed by Kawabata, in order to secure the stator and the housing against relative movement (Page 5, ¶ 1 “After assembling the stator 30 in this way, the key groove provided on the case 60 and the key groove on the outer periphery of the stator 30 are aligned with each other, and a key for preventing rotation is interposed therein, and the key groove is provided on the case 60.”).
Regarding Claim 5/1, Yoshiyama in view of Yamamoto has been discussed above.
Yoshiyama in view of Yamamoto does not disclose that the first structure includes a plurality of keyways formed in one of the housing and the stator core, and a plurality of protrusions provided in the other of the housing and the stator core for engaging with the respective keyways.
However, Kawabata, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figures 1-3 above) that the first structure includes a plurality of keyways (36, Page 4, ¶ 13) formed in one of the housing (60, Page 4, ¶ 4) and the stator core (20, Page 3, ¶ 10), and a plurality of protrusions provided in the other of the housing (60, Page 4, ¶ 4) and the stator core (20, Page 3, ¶ 10) for engaging with the respective keyways (Page 5, ¶ 1: “the key groove provided on the case 60 and the key groove on the outer periphery of the stator 30 are aligned with each other, and a key for preventing rotation is interposed therein, and the key groove is provided on the case 60.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the actuator disclosed by Yoshiyama in view of Yamamoto such that the first structure includes a plurality of keyways formed in one of the housing and the stator core, and a plurality of protrusions provided in the other of the housing and the stator core for engaging with the respective keyways, as disclosed by Kawabata, in order to secure the stator and the housing against relative movement (Page 5, ¶ 1 “After assembling the stator 30 in this way, the key groove provided on the case 60 and the key groove on the outer periphery of the stator 30 are aligned with each other, and a key for preventing rotation is interposed therein, and the key groove is provided on the case 60.”).
Regarding Claim 7/1, Yoshiyama in view of Yamamoto has been discussed above.
Yoshiyama in view of Yamamoto does not disclose that the second structure includes a plurality of keyways formed in the rotor core and the shaft, and a plurality of parallel keys which engage with the respective plurality of keyways.
However, Kawabata, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 1 above) that the second structure includes a plurality of keyways (58, Page 4, ¶ 8) formed in the rotor core (57, Page 4, ¶ 8) and the shaft (55, Page 4, ¶ 8), and a plurality of parallel keys (56, Page 4, ¶ 8) which engage with the respective plurality of keyways (58, Page 4, ¶ 8).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the actuator disclosed by Yoshiyama in view of Yamamoto such that the second structure includes a plurality of keyways formed in the rotor core and the shaft, and a plurality of parallel keys which engage with the respective plurality of keyways., as disclosed by Kawabata, in order to fix the angle between the rotor core and the shaft (Page 5, ¶ 9: “As shown in FIG. 1, this rotor 57 is provided with salient poles 71 to 74 at four positions on the outer circumference thereof at intervals of 90 degrees. The salient poles 71 to 74 may be formed integrally with the rotor 57, or may be formed as separate members as shown in FIG. The rotor 57 is provided with holes for inserting pins 59 for assembly at four places. After positioning and stacking with the pins 59, the end plates 57A and 57B are arranged before and after the stacked body. In this state, the ends of the pins 59 are welded or caulked to the end plates 57A and 57B to fix the laminated rotor 57. The center portion of the rotor 57 is removed so that the rotating shaft 55 is press-fitted, and a key groove 58 for preventing rotation is further provided. Therefore, the rotating shaft 55 is driven in a state where the key 56 is driven. 55 is inserted into the laminated rotor 57. Thus, the rotor 50 is assembled.”).
Regarding Claim 8/1, Yoshiyama in view of Yamamoto has been discussed above.
Yoshiyama in view of Yamamoto does not disclose that the second structure includes a plurality of keyways formed in one of the rotor core and the shaft, and a plurality of protrusions provided on the other of the rotor core and the shaft and engaging with each of the plurality of keyways.
However, Kawabata, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 1 above) the second structure includes a plurality of keyways (58, Page 4, ¶ 8) formed in one of the rotor core (57, Page 4, ¶ 8) and the shaft (55, Page 4, ¶ 8), and a plurality of protrusions (56, Page 4, ¶ 8) provided on the other of the rotor core (57, Page 4, ¶ 8) and the shaft (55, Page 4, ¶ 8) and engaging with each of the plurality of keyways (58, Page 4, ¶ 8).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the actuator disclosed by Yoshiyama in view of Yamamoto such that the second structure includes a plurality of keyways formed in one of the rotor core and the shaft, and a plurality of protrusions provided on the other of the rotor core and the shaft and engaging with each of the plurality of keyways, as disclosed by Kawabata, in order to fix the angle between the rotor core and the shaft (Page 5, ¶ 9: “As shown in FIG. 1, this rotor 57 is provided with salient poles 71 to 74 at four positions on the outer circumference thereof at intervals of 90 degrees. The salient poles 71 to 74 may be formed integrally with the rotor 57, or may be formed as separate members as shown in FIG. The rotor 57 is provided with holes for inserting pins 59 for assembly at four places. After positioning and stacking with the pins 59, the end plates 57A and 57B are arranged before and after the stacked body. In this state, the ends of the pins 59 are welded or caulked to the end plates 57A and 57B to fix the laminated rotor 57. The center portion of the rotor 57 is removed so that the rotating shaft 55 is press-fitted, and a key groove 58 for preventing rotation is further provided. Therefore, the rotating shaft 55 is driven in a state where the key 56 is driven. 55 is inserted into the laminated rotor 57. Thus, the rotor 50 is assembled.”).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshiyama in view of Yamamoto as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yokota et al. (JP 2014073011 A, hereafter referred to as Yokota).
Regarding Claim 6/1, Yoshiyama in view of Yamamoto has been discussed above.
Yoshiyama in view of Yamamoto does not disclose that the first structure includes a flange provided on the stator core and engaging with the housing, a plurality of through holes formed in the housing and the flange and communicating with each other, and a plurality of tie bolts screwed into the plurality of through holes.
However, Yokota, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figures 1-2, and 6) that the first structure includes a flange provided on the stator core (24, Page 2, ¶ 4 ) and engaging with the housing (20, Page 2, ¶ 3), a plurality of through holes (40, Page 3, ¶ 6) formed in the housing (20, Page 2, ¶ 3) and the flange (38, Page 3, ¶ 6) and communicating with each other, and a plurality of tie bolts (42, Page 3, ¶ 6) screwed into the plurality of through holes (40, Page 3, ¶ 6) (Page 3, ¶ 6: “The stator 10 is fixed to the case 20 by fastening bolts 42 that pass through the through holes 40 of the attachment portion 38 to the case 20.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the actuator disclosed by Yoshiyama in view of Yamamoto such that the first structure includes a flange provided on the stator core and engaging with the housing, a plurality of through holes formed in the housing and the flange and communicating with each other, and a plurality of tie bolts screwed into the plurality of through holes, as disclosed by Yokota, in order to simplify mounting of the stator to the housing, lower cost and improve accuracy of manufacturing (Page 9, ¶ 3: “Therefore, according to the present embodiment, the stator 10 can be attached and fixed to the case 20 in a desired positional relationship even if the outer diameter accuracy of the yoke 36 is low, so that the desired electric motor performance is exhibited as the rotating electrical machine 12. It is possible. Further, since it is possible to easily position the axis center of the stator 10 and the axis center of the case 20, the assembly of the stator 10 to the case 20 can be performed at low cost and with high accuracy.”).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shiroshita et al. (JP 2019129649 A) discloses relevant prior art in Figure 3.
Taniguchi discloses relevant prior art in Figures 1-19.
Fukuda et al. (JP 2020038176 A) discloses relevant prior art in Figures 1-7.
Conclusion
/C.F.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/ALEXANDER A SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834