DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0208411 A1 (Fukao) in view of US 2008/0102294 A1 (Kitajima).
Fukao discloses a conductive paste ([0009]) for forming a flexible electric circuit ([0003]) for forming an electric circuit on a surface of a flexible base material, comprising: conductive particles (A) ([0041]-[0044]); a resin (B) ([0011]); and a solvent (C) ([0050]),wherein: a temperature Tm for measuring storage elastic modulus of the conductive paste is Tm = 178°C; and the storage elastic modulus at the temperature Tm of a cured product, in which the conductive paste is cured with a condition of 120°C for 30 minutes, is 0.001 to 0.5 GPa ([0013]-[0016]. Fukao does not specifically state that the resin is a thermoplastic resin [claim 1]. Instead, Fukao generically teaches that the resin is an epoxy resin ([0011]). It is well known in the art to use thermoplastic epoxy resin in conductive pastes as evidenced by Kitajima ([0033]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, to use thermoplastic epoxy resin as the resin in the invention of Fukao. The motivation for doing so would have been to use a known material for ease of dispersal.
Furthermore, the modified invention of Fukao teaches, wherein an absolute value of a difference between storage elastic modulus of the flexible base material at the temperature Tm and the storage elastic modulus of the cured product cured with the condition of 1 degree C for 30 minutes is 0 to 0.50 GPa (Fukao [0013]-[0016]) [claim 2], wherein the conductive particles (A) are silver particles (Fukao [0041]) [claim 5], wherein the conductive particles (A) are indefinite form or scale-like in shape (Fukao [0043]) [claim 6], wherein the flexible base material comprises at least one selected from a group consisting of polycarbonate, polyethylene terephthalate (PET) and acrylic resin (Fukao [0072]) [claim 7].
Moreover, the modified invention of Fukao teaches an electric circuit comprising a cured product of the conductive paste according to claim 1 (as described above; [0065]) [claim 8].
Additionally, the modified invention of Fukao teaches a flexible electric circuit body comprising the flexible base material and the electric circuit according to claim 8 (as described above) disposed on a surface of the flexible base material (Fukao [0065]) [claim 9].
In addition, the modified invention of Fukao teaches a method for producing a molded body comprising: forming an electric circuit on a surface of the flexible base material using the conductive paste according to claim 1 (as described above); and forming the molded body by molding the flexible base material on which the electric circuit is formed (Fukao [0065]) [claim 10].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 3 and 4 state the limitation “wherein the thermoplastic resin (B) comprises at least one selected from a group consisting of polycarbonate resin, hydrogenated styrene-based thermoplastic elastomer, and styrene-butadiene-styrene block copolymer.” This limitation, in conjunction with the other claimed features, was neither found to be disclosed in, nor suggested by the prior art.
Conclusion
JEREMY C. NORRIS
Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/JEREMY C NORRIS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847