Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-6,8-10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Kimura et al. (US20160037358A1) in view of Zhu et al.( US20210400537A1)
Regarding Claim 1, Kimura teaches, A wireless communication system comprising a processor configured to execute operations comprising: relaying, by a relay station apparatus, wireless communication between one or more base station apparatuses and a terminal apparatus by using a plurality of systems [115]- The communication control unit 190, on the other hand, controls overall functions of the relay station 100 by using a processing apparatus such as a CPU (Central Processing Unit) and DSP (Digital Signal Processor).
[52]- The relay stations 100 a and 100 b are radio communication apparatuses having a role to relay a radio signal (that is, a role to perform relay communication) between the base station 10 and one of the mobile stations.
acquiring, by the relay station apparatus, quality information of relay between the relay station apparatus and at least one of the terminal apparatus and each base station apparatus for which the relay station apparatus performs relaying; [136]- Then, the relay station 100 selects the modulation and/or multiplexing method to be used for relay communication based on, for example, the type of each communication link between the mobile station 200 and the base station 10, quality of each link, or the type of data to be transmitted (step S304)
and notifying, by the relay station apparatus, the control apparatus of the acquired quality information [119]- It is also assumed, for example, that link quality between the relay station 100 and the destination node R×A is better than that between the source node T×A or T×B and the relay station 100. transmits the common symbols to the destination node R×A by using the first modulation and/or multiplexing method or the second modulation and/or multiplexing method.
determining, by the control apparatus, a type of data transmission operation for each of a communication path between each base station apparatus and the relay station apparatus [135]- Accordingly, for example, it becomes possible to decide the modulation and/or multiplexing method to be used and assign communication resources in a unified manner by the base station or the like. [53]- In this case, the relay station 100 a positioned between the mobile station 200 a and the base station 10 relays a radio signal between these two nodes.
and notifying the relay station apparatus of the determined type of data transmission operation [135]- n such a case, the relay station receives, for example, information specifying the modulation and/or multiplexing method to be used for relay communication from the base station.
Kimura does not teach, determining a communication path between the relay station apparatus and the terminal apparatus on the basis of the quality information and priority of the terminal apparatus.
Zhu teaches, determining a communication path between the relay station apparatus and the terminal apparatus on the basis of the quality information and priority of the terminal apparatus [49]- MAMS is a programmable framework that provides mechanisms for the flexible selection of network paths in an MX communication environment 100, based on the application needs and/or requirements, as well as adapt to dynamic network conditions when multiple network connections serve a client device 101. The MAMS framework leverages network intelligence and policies to dynamically adapt traffic distribution across selected paths and UP treatments.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kimura , and a communication path between the relay station apparatus and the terminal apparatus on the basis of the quality information and priority of the terminal apparatus as taught by Zhu to use priority to steer modes to gain reliability and throughput on each hop.
Regarding Claim 2, Kimura does not teach, The wireless communication system according to The wireless communication system according to wherein the type of the data transmission operation comprises at least one of redundant transmission, division transmission, or selective transmission.
Zhu teaches, The wireless communication system according to The wireless communication system according to wherein the type of the data transmission operation comprises at least one of redundant transmission, division transmission, or selective transmission. [108]- The GMA Tx entity 510 splits or duplicates traffic over multiple radio links 105 and retransmits packets over a different radio link 105 based on e2e measurements. [117]- In procedure 700, if the message is “On”, the convergence layer sends all traffic to the default link 105 (denoted as a “RAT1 link”); otherwise, the convergence layer will send all traffic to a fallback link (denoted as “RAT2 link”).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kimura The wireless communication system according to The wireless communication system according to wherein the type of the data transmission operation comprises at least one of redundant transmission, division transmission, or selective transmission as taught by Zhu to use priority to steer modes to gain reliability and throughput on each hop.
Regarding Claim 3, Kimura teaches, The wireless communication system according to The wireless communication system according to wherein the control apparatus determines the type of the data transmission operation for each communication path by referring to a table describing a relationship between priority and the type of the data transmission operation. [121]- FIG. 11 is a table illustrating an example of a selection standard in the communication control unit 190 for selecting the modulation and/or multiplexing method used for relay communication. [123]- Whether or not data contained in a radio signal is data for a real-time application can be identified, in the case of LTE, for example, by referring to QCI (QoS Class Identifier) information acquired via the control channel.
Regarding Claim 4,Kimura does not teach, The wireless communication system according to The wireless communication system according to wherein, when the priority of the terminal apparatus represents a first priority, the control apparatus determines a type of a data transmission operation using less resources than an amount of resources used in another type of data transmission operation determined for a second priority higher than the first priority.
Zhu teaches, The wireless communication system according to The wireless communication system according to wherein, when the priority of the terminal apparatus represents a first priority, the control apparatus determines a type of a data transmission operation using less resources than an amount of resources used in another type of data transmission operation determined for a second priority higher than the first priority.[105]- The present disclosure provides dynamic traffic splitting for different optimization targets such as reducing e2e delay (e.g., “low delay”) or minimizing cellular (e.g., 5G/NR, LTE, etc.) usage (e.g., “low cost”). [779]- Example A19 includes the method of example A18 and/or some other example(s) herein, further comprising: disabling, by the convergence layer, the packet duplication process when the selected link transitions.[536]- QoS-aware traffic shaping and queueing (e.g., priority queuing (PQ), Strict Priority (SP), Weighted Round Robin (WRR), etc.).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kimura The wireless communication system according to The wireless communication system according to wherein, when the priority of the terminal apparatus represents a first priority, the control apparatus determines a type of a data transmission operation using less resources than an amount of resources used in another type of data transmission operation determined for a second priority higher than the first priority as taught by Zhu to use priority to steer modes to gain reliability and throughput on each hop.
Regarding Claim 5, Kimura teaches, A control apparatus in a wireless communication system the control apparatus comprising a processor configured to execute operations comprising: 115]- The communication control unit 190, on the other hand, controls overall functions of the relay station 100 by using a processing apparatus such as a CPU (Central Processing Unit) and DSP (Digital Signal Processor).
acquiring, from a relay station apparatus in the wireless communication system, quality information of relay between the relay station apparatus and at least one of a terminal apparatus and each base station apparatus for which the relay station apparatus performs relaying, [136]- Then, the relay station 100 selects the modulation and/or multiplexing method to be used for relay communication based on, for example, the type of each communication link between the mobile station 200 and the base station 10, quality of each link, or the type of data to be transmitted (step S304)
wherein the wireless communication system further comprises the terminal apparatus and said each base station apparatus of a plurality of base station apparatuses; [52]- The relay stations 100 a and 100 b are radio communication apparatuses having a role to relay a radio signal (that is, a role to perform relay communication) between the base station 10 and one of the mobile stations.
determining a type of a data transmission operation for each of a communication path between each base station apparatus and the relay station apparatus; and [135]- Accordingly, for example, it becomes possible to decide the modulation and/or multiplexing method to be used and assign communication resources in a unified manner by the base station or the like. [53]- In this case, the relay station 100 a positioned between the mobile station 200 a and the base station 10 relays a radio signal between these two nodes.
notifying the relay station apparatus of the type of a determined data transmission operation. [119]- It is also assumed, for example, that link quality between the relay station 100 and the destination node R×A is better than that between the source node T×A or T×B and the relay station 100. transmits the common symbols to the destination node R×A by using the first modulation and/or multiplexing method or the second modulation and/or multiplexing method.
Kimura does not teach and a communication path between the relay station apparatus and the terminal apparatus on the basis of the quality information and a priority of the terminal apparatus.
Zhu teaches, and a communication path between the relay station apparatus and the terminal apparatus on the basis of the quality information and a priority of the terminal apparatus.
[49]- MAMS is a programmable framework that provides mechanisms for the flexible selection of network paths in an MX communication environment 100, based on the application needs and/or requirements, as well as adapt to dynamic network conditions when multiple network connections serve a client device 101. The MAMS framework leverages network intelligence and policies to dynamically adapt traffic distribution across selected paths and UP treatments,.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kimura , and a communication path between the relay station apparatus and the terminal apparatus on the basis of the quality information and a priority of the terminal apparatus as taught by Zhu to use priority to steer modes to gain reliability and throughput on each hop.
Regarding Claim 6,Kimura teaches, A relay station apparatus comprising a processor configured to execute operations comprising: acquiring quality information of relay between the relay station apparatus and at least one of a terminal apparatus and each base station apparatus for which the relay station apparatus performs relaying, and the relay station apparatus for each system; [115]- The communication control unit 190, on the other hand, controls overall functions of the relay station 100 by using a processing apparatus such as a CPU (Central Processing Unit) and DSP (Digital Signal Processor). [52]- The relay stations 100 a and 100 b are radio communication apparatuses having a role to relay a radio signal (that is, a role to perform relay communication) between the base station 10 and one of the mobile stations.
determining a type of a data transmission operation for each of a communication path between each base station apparatus and the relay station apparatus and a communication path between the relay station apparatus and the terminal apparatus on the basis of the [135]- Accordingly, for example, it becomes possible to decide the modulation and/or multiplexing method to be used and assign communication resources in a unified manner by the base station or the like. [53]- In this case, the relay station 100 a positioned between the mobile station 200 a and the base station 10 relays a radio signal between these two nodes.
Kimura does not teach, communication path between the relay station apparatus and the terminal apparatus on the basis of the quality information and a priority of the terminal apparatus.
Zhu teaches, communication path between the relay station apparatus and the terminal apparatus on the basis of the quality information and a priority of the terminal apparatus.[49]- MAMS is a programmable framework that provides mechanisms for the flexible selection of network paths in an MX communication environment 100, based on the application needs and/or requirements, as well as adapt to dynamic network conditions when multiple network connections serve a client device 101. The MAMS framework leverages network intelligence and policies to dynamically adapt traffic distribution across selected paths and UP treatments,.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee , communication path between the relay station apparatus and the terminal apparatus on the basis of the quality information and a priority of the terminal apparatus as taught by Zhou to use priority to steer modes to gain reliability and throughput on each hop.
Regarding Claim 8, The control apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the type of the data transmission operation comprises at least one of redundant transmission, division transmission, or selective transmission. [108]- The GMA Tx entity 510 splits or duplicates traffic over multiple radio links 105 and retransmits packets over a different radio link 105 based on e2e measurements. [117]- In procedure 700, if the message is “On”, the convergence layer sends all traffic to the default link 105 (denoted as a “RAT1 link”); otherwise, the convergence layer will send all traffic to a fallback link (denoted as “RAT2 link”).
Regarding Claim 9, Kimura teaches, Regarding Claim 3, Kimura teaches, The wireless communication system according to The wireless communication system according to wherein the control apparatus determines the type of the data transmission operation for each communication path by referring to a table describing a relationship between priority and the type of the data transmission operation. [121]- FIG. 11 is a table illustrating an example of a selection standard in the communication control unit 190 for selecting the modulation and/or multiplexing method used for relay communication. [123]- Whether or not data contained in a radio signal is data for a real-time application can be identified, in the case of LTE, for example, by referring to QCI (QoS Class Identifier) information acquired via the control channel.
Regarding Claim 10,Kimura does not teach, The control apparatus according to claim 5, wherein, when the priority of the terminal apparatus represents a first priority, the control apparatus determines a type of a data transmission operation using less resources than an amount of resources used in another type of data transmission operation determined for a second priority higher than the first priority.
Zhu teaches, The control apparatus according to claim 5, wherein, when the priority of the terminal apparatus represents a first priority, the control apparatus determines a type of a data transmission operation using less resources than an amount of resources used in another type of data transmission operation determined for a second priority higher than the first priority..[105]- The present disclosure provides dynamic traffic splitting for different optimization targets such as reducing e2e delay (e.g., “low delay”) or minimizing cellular (e.g., 5G/NR, LTE, etc.) usage (e.g., “low cost”). [779]- Example A19 includes the method of example A18 and/or some other example(s) herein, further comprising: disabling, by the convergence layer, the packet duplication process when the selected link transitions.[536]- QoS-aware traffic shaping and queueing (e.g., priority queuing (PQ), Strict Priority (SP), Weighted Round Robin (WRR), etc.).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kimura The control apparatus according to claim 5, wherein, when the priority of the terminal apparatus represents a first priority, the control apparatus determines a type of a data transmission operation using less resources than an amount of resources used in another type of data transmission operation determined for a second priority higher than the first priority as taught by Zhu to use priority to steer modes to gain reliability and throughput on each hop.
Conclusion
/ANINDITA SEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478