DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communications filed on 1/2/2025.
Claim 16 is amended.
Claim 15 is cancelled.
Claims 1-14 and 16-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 19 recites the limitations “at least one value unit mount of equal value” “and stores stores the converted value unit amount” which should read “at least one value unit amount of equal value” “and stores the converted value unit amount.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-14, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Under Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test for Products and Processes, the claims must be directed to one of the four statutory categories. All the claims are directed to one of the four statutory categories (NO). ***Though the claims recite “gift giving systems” in the preamble, the body of the claims contain no tangible system components and are being interpreted as signals per se, as discussed below.
Under Step 2A of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test for Products and Processes (see MPEP § 2106 Subsection III), it is determined whether the claims are directed to a judicially recognized exception. Step 2A is a two-prong inquiry.
Under Prong 1, it is determined whether the claim recites a judicial exception (YES). Taking Claim 19 as representative, the claim recites limitations that fall within the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping of abstract ideas, including:
A gift giving system, comprising:
a user module which manages a group of user accounts, wherein the user management module is configured to receive a gift list and stores the gift list in a corresponding user account of a recipient, wherein the gift list unit records at least one item and at least one packaging material corresponding to the item; and
a payment module, wherein the payment module converts the at least one packaging material in the gift list into at least one value unit mount of equal value corresponding to the packaging material, and stores stores the converted value unit amount in the user account corresponding to the recipient.
Certain methods of organizing human activity include:
fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, and mitigating risk)
commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; and business relations)
managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions)
The limitations as emphasized, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a commercial interaction. That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed by people. For example, “manages, receive, records, converts, and stores” in the context of this claim encompasses advertising, and marketing or sales activities.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a commercial interaction but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Under Prong 2, it is determined whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (NO).
The claim recites additional elements beyond the judicial exception(s), including:
A gift giving system, comprising:
a user module which manages a group of user accounts, wherein the user management module is configured to receive a gift list and stores the gift list in a corresponding user account of a recipient, wherein the gift list unit records at least one item and at least one packaging material corresponding to the item; and
a payment module, wherein the payment module converts the at least one packaging material in the gift list into at least one value unit mount of equal value corresponding to the packaging material, and stores stores the converted value unit amount in the user account corresponding to the recipient.
These limitations are not indicative of integration into a practical application because:
The additional elements of claim 19 are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as generic computing hardware) such that they amount to nothing more than mere instructions to implement or apply the abstract idea on a generic computing hardware (or, merely use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea.) Specifically, the additional element of a user module, and a payment module is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of connecting to a platform on a network) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. Further, the additional elements do no more than generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (such as computers or computing networks). For example, stating that modules perform the steps, only generally links the commercial interactions and management of relationships or interactions between people to a computer environment. Employing well-known computer functions to execute an abstract idea, even when limiting the use of the idea to one particular environment, does not integrate the exception into a practical application.
Additionally, the additional elements are insufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claim fails to i) reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, ii) apply the judicial exception with, or use the judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, iii) effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or iv) apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
Accordingly, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Under Step 2B, it is determined whether the claims recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims of the present application do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (NO).
In the case of system claim 19, taken individually or as a whole, the additional elements of claim 19 do not provide an inventive concept. As discussed above under step 2A (prong 2) with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements used to perform the claimed functions amount to no more than a general link to a technological environment.
Even considered as an ordered combination (as a whole), the additional elements do not add anything significantly more than when considered individually.
Therefore, claim 19 does not provide an inventive concept and does not qualify as eligible subject matter.
Claim 1 is a system reciting similar functions as claim 1, and does not qualify as eligible subject matter for similar reasons.
Claims 2-14, 16-18 and 20 are dependencies of claims 1, and 19. The dependent claims do not add “significantly more” to the abstract idea. They recite additional functions that describe the abstract idea and only generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, including:
wherein the gift list further records an electronic gift which is stored in the user module for a gift giver and the recipient to view.. (only generally links the abstract idea to a technological environment)
further comprising a feedback module which allows the recipient to record an unpacking process through a camera as a feedback record to feed back to a gift giver, wherein the unpacking process of the recipient is stored in the recipient's account in the user module. (only generally links the abstract idea to a technological environment, camera is used in its ordinary capacity to record)
further comprising a selection module which is communicated to the feedback module, and if the gift giver receives the feedback record from the recipient, the selection module records that the item is received. (sales activities or behaviors, generally links the abstract idea to a technological environment)
wherein the selection module obtains a record of the corresponding item selection process of the selected item being delivered to the recipient through the user module for learning, so as to form an item selection plan for the recipient, wherein when it is necessary to select an item for the recipient, the selection module provides the item selection plan to assist the gift giver in selecting a gift. (sales activities)
further comprising a packaging management module which is communicated to the selection module and the payment module for providing at least one packaging material for the recipient to select by analyzing the selected item. (only generally links the abstract idea to a technological environment)
wherein the packaging management module further comprises an item analysis module and a packaging display module, wherein the item analysis module is communicated to the packaging display module, wherein the item analysis module analyzes the selected item to obtain current item information and generates a packaging provision plan, and the packaging display module provides at least one packaging material for the recipient to select from the packaging provision plan. (only generally links the abstract idea to a technological environment)
wherein the packaging management module further comprises a packaging design module which provides a corresponding set of packaging elements for the recipient to choose from based on the information obtained from the current item, so as to provide the packaging material by combining the selected packaging elements and display the packaging material by the packaging display module. (only generally links the abstract idea to a technological environment)
wherein the packaging management module further comprises a designer design module which is configured to provide packaging requirements, and the packaging designed by a designer according to the packaging requirements is displayed through the packaging display module, wherein after the packaging is purchased, the payment module pays the designer's remuneration from the value unit amount paid for purchasing the packaging to a corresponding account of the designer. (only generally links the abstract idea to a technological environment)
further comprising a gift list user interface which displays the gift list, wherein the gift list user interface further comprises a gift display area and a value conversion display area, wherein the gift display area presents information about a gift, while the value conversion display area is configured to display the value unit amount of the currently selected gift. (sales activities, only generally links the abstract idea to a technological environment)
wherein the gift list user interface further comprises a digital gift display area for displaying received digital gifts (sales activities, only generally links the abstract idea to a technological environment)
Accordingly, the Examiner concludes that there are no meaningful limitations in the claim that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claim amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. The analysis above applies to all statutory categories of invention.
Claims 1-14, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed invention is directed signals per se.
Claims 1-14, 16-20 are directed to a computer readable medium. Claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification during proceedings before the USPTO. See In re Zletz, 893.2d 319 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer readable medium typically covers forms of non-transitory media and transitory propaganda signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media, particularly when the specification is silent. See MPEP 2111.01. Signals per se are non-statutory subject matter, therefore claims 8-14 are non-statutory. See In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 1356-57 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (See Kappos Memo dated January 26, 2010).
Applicant is advised that amending the claims to recite a “non-transitory computer readable medium” shall overcome the noted rejection. Alternatively, reciting tangible components of the systems within the body of the claim shall overcome the noted rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20120066041 A1 to Mankoff in view of US 20210174338 A1 to Isaacson.
Regarding Claim 1, Mankoff discloses A gift giving system, comprising:
a user module which manages a group of user accounts, wherein the user management module is configured to receive a gift list and stores the gift list in a corresponding user account of a recipient, wherein the gift list unit records at least one item; and ([0025] User database 112 may store information relevant to virtual gifts 108. For example, user database 112 may include an entry linking a consumer's name, one or more addresses for consumer, one or more forms of payment, one or more virtual gifts (gift list recording at least one item), one or more expiration dates associated with the one or more virtual gifts, etc. In some embodiments, user database 112 may link virtual gift 108 to both the purchaser 101 and the recipient 121.)
a payment module which [stores] the at least one item recorded in the gift list into at least one value unit amount of equal value corresponding to the item, wherein the payment module stores the value unit amount in the user account corresponding to the recipient. ([0022] Virtual gifts 108 are any type of paperless or cardless credit or coupon or discount that may be transferrable over network 105 to recipients 121. System 100 makes it easy for a gift purchaser 101 to buy a "gift credit" or virtual gift 108 for a particular merchant or item, and then email or otherwise electronically deliver the virtual gift 108 to recipient 121. [0024] Within or external to the virtual gift store 109 is provided a card matching server 110, which may be used to link virtual gifts 108 stored and associated with consumers' databases 112 with payment transactions that are being cleared through payment system 140. Through these linkages, proper credit can be applied in those instances in which consumers have redeemable virtual gifts 108 stored in their associated databases 112 for products they have purchased. [0051] At step 226, system 100 applies discount of virtual gift 108 to the purchase made by recipient 121. For example, if virtual gift 108 was for 20% off purchases made at merchant 130, then this discount may be automatically applied at the point of sale terminal 132. In another example, if the virtual gift was for $15 credit to use at merchant 130, then this credit may be automatically applied to the final total of the purchase made at the point of sale terminal 132.)
But does not explicitly disclose converts, converts, converted value.
Isaacson, on the other hand, teaches converts, converts, converted value; the at least one item recorded in the gift list into at least one value unit. (([0107] a gift card is established at a first time having a policy, and a recipient, [0108] The policy can include at least one of: a class of goods or services, an amount of money (a value unit), a merchant or group of merchants, a ceiling amount of money to be used in the gift card, a time frame for use of the gift card, one or more recipient accounts that when used can trigger the transfer of money from the giver account to the one or more recipient accounts, and a predetermined period of time in which if all the amount of money associated with the gift card is not used according to the policy, a remainder amount of money is transferred from the giver account to the recipient account.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Mankoff to include the features as taught by Isaacson. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Mankoff in order to enable a recipient to redeem a gift credit (Isaacson, [0013]).
Regarding Claim 2, Mankoff in view of Isaacson teaches the system of claim 1.
Mankoff discloses wherein the gift list records a selection process of the at least one item in the gift giving system for display, thereby assisting the recipient to determine whether to directly accept the item. ([0057] FIG. 5C is an exemplary screen shot 580 of the offer of a virtual gift to a recipient. Link 582 allows recipient to easily be redirected to a web site to register and accept the virtual gift. Link 584 allows recipient to easily accept virtual gift simply by clicking the link, if the recipient is already a registered member with system 100.)
Claims 3-4, 14, 16-18 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20120066041 A1 to Mankoff in view of US 20210174338 A1 to Isaacson in view of US 20170076348 A1 to Jennings.
Regarding Claim 3, Mankoff in view of Isaacson teaches the system of claim 1.
However, the combination of Mankoff and Isaacson does not explicitly teach wherein the gift list further records a packaging material corresponding to the at least one item and a selection process of the packaging material for display, thereby assisting the recipient in determining whether to directly accept the packaging material.
Jennings, on the other hand, teaches wherein the gift list further records a packaging material corresponding to the at least one item and a selection process of the packaging material for display, thereby assisting the recipient in determining whether to directly accept the packaging material. ([0008] the user personally selects a decorative container for the article, and a customized set of items that fit in the decorative container (e.g., re-useable glass jar or vessel). The user can select and/or customize a tag, customize a product label and/or portions of a customized storybook as part of the article or package. The customized article typically takes the form of a gift, which the user is personally creating to for an intended recipient. The user can then order the customized article, which a fulfillment entity or company assembles, places in disposable shipping packaging (e.g., cardboard box), and ships to the intended recipient.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system, as taught by Mankoff and Isaacson to include the features as taught by Jennings. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the combination in order to personalize a gift (Jennings, [0007]).
Regarding Claim 4, Mankoff in view of Isaacson and Jennings teaches the system of claim 3.
Mankoff discloses wherein the gift list further records an electronic gift which is stored in the user module for a gift giver and the recipient to view. ([0057] FIG. 5C is an exemplary screen shot 580 of the offer of a virtual gift to a recipient. Link 582 allows recipient to easily be redirected to a web site to register and accept the virtual gift. Link 584 allows recipient to easily accept virtual gift simply by clicking the link, if the recipient is already a registered member with system 100. [Fig. 5B] “to see this vGift and any others you have purchased, visit My vDrawer”)
Regarding Claim 14, Mankoff in view of Isaacson, teaches the system of claim 1.
However, the combination of Mankoff and Isaacson does not explicitly teach further comprising a gift list user interface which displays the gift list, wherein the gift list user interface further comprises a gift display area and a value conversion display area, wherein the gift display area presents information about a gift, while the value conversion display area is configured to display the value unit amount of the currently selected gift...
Jennings, on the other hand, teaches further comprising a gift list user interface which displays the gift list, wherein the gift list user interface further comprises a gift display area and a value conversion display area, wherein the gift display area presents information about a gift, while the value conversion display area is configured to display the value unit amount of the currently selected gift. ([0097] The “what's inside” pop-up user interface element 364a can also include a list of the components that comprise the article, including container and items, in a components list field 372a. Each component (e.g., decorative container 306, item 308) is identified in a respective line by an image 373, a name or title 374, and a cost or amount 375 (only one of each called out in FIG. 3D) of the respective component. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system, as taught by Mankoff and Isaacson to include the features as taught by Jennings. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the combination in order to personalize a gift (Jennings, [0007]).
Regarding Claim 16, Mankoff in view of Isaacson and Jennings teaches the system of claim 14.
Mankoff discloses wherein the gift list user interface further comprises a digital gift display area for displaying received digital gifts.. ([0057] FIG. 5C is an exemplary screen shot 580 of the offer of a virtual gift to a recipient. Link 582 allows recipient to easily be redirected to a web site to register and accept the virtual gift. Link 584 allows recipient to easily accept virtual gift simply by clicking the link, if the recipient is already a registered member with system 100. [Fig. 5B] “to see this vGift and any others you have purchased, visit My vDrawer”)
Regarding Claim 17, Mankoff in view of Isaacson, and Jennings teaches the system of claim 13.
However, the combination of Mankoff and Isaacson does not explicitly teach wherein the gift list user interface further comprises a repackaging user interface for displaying operations to repackage multiple items, wherein the repackaging user interface further comprises at least one selected item display area and a repackaging display area, wherein the repackaging display area comprises at least one combined packaging display area for displaying at least one packaging material for packaging the at least one item selected in the selected item display area..
Jennings, on the other hand, teaches wherein the gift list user interface further comprises a repackaging user interface for displaying operations to repackage multiple items, wherein the repackaging user interface further comprises at least one selected item display area and a repackaging display area, wherein the repackaging display area comprises at least one combined packaging display area for displaying at least one packaging material for packaging the at least one item selected in the selected item display area.. ([0173] SUGGEST A KNICK THAT WILL FIT: When a container is 80% full, the at least one processor can search for, identify and present additional items that could fit in the remaining 20% of the container's capacity. For example, the at least one processor determines the remaining or available volume of the container or the dimensions of the remaining or available volume of the container. The at least one processor can than search a dataset of items for items that are not larger than the volume or dimensions, for example taking into account compressibility of the items being searched as well as compressibility of the items already selected. The at least one processor can additionally take into account an existing theme when searching, for instance determining that currently selected products are all related to a particular theme or category (e.g., kitchen, spa products, sweets). The at least one processor can populate the results field with the results of the search. [0039] cause the article customization server computing system(s) 102 to provide a “maker stage” and associated tools that allow users to create articles comprised of a decorative, reusable container, a customized set of items that fit in the decorative container, a customized tag, and a customized storybook, as described herein, for example, with reference to FIGS. 3A-3S, below.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system, as taught by Mankoff and Isaacson to include the features as taught by Jennings. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the combination in order to personalize a gift (Jennings, [0007]).
Regarding Claim 18, Mankoff in view of Isaacson, and Jennings teaches the system of claim 13.
However, the combination of Mankoff and Isaacson does not explicitly teach wherein the gift list user interface further provides a packaging demand submission area for submitting packaging requirements for the selected item.
Jennings, on the other hand, teaches wherein the gift list user interface further provides a packaging demand submission area for submitting packaging requirements for the selected item.. ([0173] SUGGEST A KNICK THAT WILL FIT: When a container is 80% full, the at least one processor can search for, identify and present additional items that could fit in the remaining 20% of the container's capacity. For example, the at least one processor determines the remaining or available volume of the container or the dimensions of the remaining or available volume of the container. The at least one processor can than search a dataset of items for items that are not larger than the volume or dimensions, for example taking into account compressibility of the items being searched as well as compressibility of the items already selected. The at least one processor can additionally take into account an existing theme when searching, for instance determining that currently selected products are all related to a particular theme or category (e.g., kitchen, spa products, sweets). The at least one processor can populate the results field with the results of the search. [0039] cause the article customization server computing system(s) 102 to provide a “maker stage” and associated tools that allow users to create articles comprised of a decorative, reusable container, a customized set of items that fit in the decorative container, a customized tag, and a customized storybook, as described herein, for example, with reference to FIGS. 3A-3S, below.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system, as taught by Mankoff and Isaacson to include the features as taught by Jennings. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the combination in order to personalize a gift (Jennings, [0007]).
Regarding Claim 19, Mankoff discloses A gift giving system, comprising:
a user module which manages a group of user accounts, wherein the user management module is configured to receive a gift list and stores the gift list in a corresponding user account of a recipient, wherein the gift list unit records at least one item; and ([0025] User database 112 may store information relevant to virtual gifts 108. For example, user database 112 may include an entry linking a consumer's name, one or more addresses for consumer, one or more forms of payment, one or more virtual gifts (gift list recording at least one item), one or more expiration dates associated with the one or more virtual gifts, etc. In some embodiments, user database 112 may link virtual gift 108 to both the purchaser 101 and the recipient 121.)
a payment module, wherein the payment module [stores] the at least one [item] in the gift list into at least one value unit mount of equal value corresponding to the [item], and stores stores the value unit amount in the user account corresponding to the recipient. ([0022] Virtual gifts 108 are any type of paperless or cardless credit or coupon or discount that may be transferrable over network 105 to recipients 121. System 100 makes it easy for a gift purchaser 101 to buy a "gift credit" or virtual gift 108 for a particular merchant or item, and then email or otherwise electronically deliver the virtual gift 108 to recipient 121. [0024] Within or external to the virtual gift store 109 is provided a card matching server 110, which may be used to link virtual gifts 108 stored and associated with consumers' databases 112 with payment transactions that are being cleared through payment system 140. Through these linkages, proper credit can be applied in those instances in which consumers have redeemable virtual gifts 108 stored in their associated databases 112 for products they have purchased. [0051] At step 226, system 100 applies discount of virtual gift 108 to the purchase made by recipient 121. For example, if virtual gift 108 was for 20% off purchases made at merchant 130, then this discount may be automatically applied at the point of sale terminal 132. In another example, if the virtual gift was for $15 credit to use at merchant 130, then this credit may be automatically applied to the final total of the purchase made at the point of sale terminal 132.)
But does not explicitly disclose converts, converted value; and at least one packaging material corresponding to the item; the at least one packaging material.
Isaacson, on the other hand, teaches converts, converted value; the at least one item recorded in the gift list into at least one value unit. (([0107] a gift card is established at a first time having a policy, and a recipient, [0108] The policy can include at least one of: a class of goods or services, an amount of money (a value unit), a merchant or group of merchants, a ceiling amount of money to be used in the gift card, a time frame for use of the gift card, one or more recipient accounts that when used can trigger the transfer of money from the giver account to the one or more recipient accounts, and a predetermined period of time in which if all the amount of money associated with the gift card is not used according to the policy, a remainder amount of money is transferred from the giver account to the recipient account.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Mankoff to include the features as taught by Isaacson. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Mankoff in order to enable a recipient to redeem a gift credit (Isaacson, [0013]).
Jennings, on the other hand, teaches and at least one packaging material corresponding to the item; the at least one packaging material. ([0008] the user personally selects a decorative container for the article, and a customized set of items that fit in the decorative container (e.g., re-useable glass jar or vessel). The user can select and/or customize a tag, customize a product label and/or portions of a customized storybook as part of the article or package. The customized article typically takes the form of a gift, which the user is personally creating to for an intended recipient. The user can then order the customized article, which a fulfillment entity or company assembles, places in disposable shipping packaging (e.g., cardboard box), and ships to the intended recipient.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system, as taught by Mankoff and Isaacson to include the features as taught by Jennings. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the combination in order to personalize a gift (Jennings, [0007]).
Claim 20 is a system claim that is rejected with the same basis as claim 4.
Claims 5-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20120066041 A1 to Mankoff in view of US 20210174338 A1 to Isaacson in view of US 20170076348 A1 to Jennings in further view of CN 112637618 to Guangzhou.
Regarding Claim 5, Mankoff in view of Isaacson and Jennings teaches the system of claim 3.
However, the combination of Mankoff and Isaacson does not explicitly teach further comprising a feedback module which allows the recipient to record an unpacking process through a camera as a feedback record to feed back to a gift giver, wherein the unpacking process of the recipient is stored in the recipient's account in the user module..
Guangzhou, on the other hand, teaches further comprising a feedback module which allows the recipient to record an unpacking process through a camera as a feedback record to feed back to a gift giver, wherein the unpacking process of the recipient is stored in the recipient's account in the user module.. ([p. 3] generating a live broadcast playback video … responding to the gift sending process playback operation acted on the gift icon, obtaining a gift sending playback video corresponding to the gift icon, and playing the gift sending playback video on the current client.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system, as taught by Mankoff and Isaacson to include the features as taught by Guangzhou. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the combination in order to play back a gift delivery process of a user. (Guangzhou, [p.3]).
Regarding Claim 6, Mankoff in view of Isaacson, Jennings and Guangzhou teaches the system of claim 5.
Mankoff discloses further comprising a selection module which is communicated to the feedback module, and if the gift giver receives the feedback record from the recipient, the selection module records that the item is received.. ([0038] notify purchaser 101 that recipient 121 has received and accepted virtual gift 108 and registered the recipient's 121 existing form of payment 122 to enable redemption of virtual gift 108.)
Regarding Claim 7, Mankoff in view of Isaacson, Jennings and Guangzhou teaches the system of claim 6.
But does not explicitly disclose wherein the selection module obtains a record of the corresponding item selection process of the selected item being delivered to the recipient through the user module for learning, so as to form an item selection plan for the recipient, wherein when it is necessary to select an item for the recipient, the selection module provides the item selection plan to assist the gift giver in selecting a gift.
Isaacson, on the other hand, teaches wherein the selection module obtains a record of the corresponding item selection process of the selected item being delivered to the recipient through the user module for learning, so as to form an item selection plan for the recipient, wherein when it is necessary to select an item for the recipient, the selection module provides the item selection plan to assist the gift giver in selecting a gift. ([0242] The system can recommend to Aaron items to include as suggested items for Lisa, based on what Aaron's social network contacts have selected in similar situations, or based on what other users with similar demographics and a similar gift situation have selected.)
Regarding Claim 8, Mankoff in view of Isaacson, Jennings and Guangzhou teaches the system of claim 7.
However, the combination of Mankoff and Isaacson does not explicitly teach wherein the selection module obtains the record of the corresponding item selection process when the item is delivered to the recipient through the user module for learning, so as to form a packaging selection plan for the recipient, wherein when it is necessary to select the packaging material for the recipient, the selection module provides the packaging selection plan to assist the gift giver in selecting the gift..
Jennings, on the other hand, teaches wherein the selection module obtains the record of the corresponding item selection process when the item is delivered to the recipient through the user module for learning, so as to form a packaging selection plan for the recipient, wherein when it is necessary to select the packaging material for the recipient, the selection module provides the packaging selection plan to assist the gift giver in selecting the gift.. ([0173] SUGGEST A KNICK THAT WILL FIT: When a container is 80% full, the at least one processor can search for, identify and present additional items that could fit in the remaining 20% of the container's capacity. For example, the at least one processor determines the remaining or available volume of the container or the dimensions of the remaining or available volume of the container. The at least one processor can than search a dataset of items for items that are not larger than the volume or dimensions, for example taking into account compressibility of the items being searched as well as compressibility of the items already selected. The at least one processor can additionally take into account an existing theme when searching, for instance determining that currently selected products are all related to a particular theme or category (e.g., kitchen, spa products, sweets). The at least one processor can populate the results field with the results of the search. [0039] cause the article customization server computing system(s) 102 to provide a “maker stage” and associated tools that allow users to create articles comprised of a decorative, reusable container, a customized set of items that fit in the decorative container, a customized tag, and a customized storybook, as described herein, for example, with reference to FIGS. 3A-3S, below.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system, as taught by Mankoff and Isaacson to include the features as taught by Jennings. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the combination in order to personalize a gift (Jennings, [0007]).
Regarding Claim 9, Mankoff in view of Isaacson, Jennings and Guangzhou teaches the system of claim 6.
However, the combination of Mankoff and Isaacson does not explicitly teach further comprising a packaging management module which is communicated to the selection module and the payment module for providing at least one packaging material for the recipient to select by analyzing the selected item.
Jennings, on the other hand, teaches further comprising a packaging management module which is communicated to the selection module and the payment module for providing at least one packaging material for the recipient to select by analyzing the selected item.. ([0173] SUGGEST A KNICK THAT WILL FIT: When a container is 80% full, the at least one processor can search for, identify and present additional items that could fit in the remaining 20% of the container's capacity. For example, the at least one processor determines the remaining or available volume of the container or the dimensions of the remaining or available volume of the container. The at least one processor can than search a dataset of items for items that are not larger than the volume or dimensions, for example taking into account compressibility of the items being searched as well as compressibility of the items already selected. The at least one processor can additionally take into account an existing theme when searching, for instance determining that currently selected products are all related to a particular theme or category (e.g., kitchen, spa products, sweets). The at least one processor can populate the results field with the results of the search. [0039] cause the article customization server computing system(s) 102 to provide a “maker stage” and associated tools that allow users to create articles comprised of a decorative, reusable container, a customized set of items that fit in the decorative container, a customized tag, and a customized storybook, as described herein, for example, with reference to FIGS. 3A-3S, below.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system, as taught by Mankoff and Isaacson to include the features as taught by Jennings. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the combination in order to personalize a gift (Jennings, [0007]).
Regarding Claim 10, Mankoff in view of Isaacson, Jennings and Guangzhou teaches the system of claim 9.
However, the combination of Mankoff and Isaacson does not explicitly teach wherein the packaging management module further comprises an item analysis module and a packaging display module, wherein the item analysis module is communicated to the packaging display module, wherein the item analysis module analyzes the selected item to obtain current item information and generates a packaging provision plan, and the packaging display module provides at least one packaging material for the recipient to select from the packaging provision plan..
Jennings, on the other hand, teaches wherein the packaging management module further comprises an item analysis module and a packaging display module, wherein the item analysis module is communicated to the packaging display module, wherein the item analysis module analyzes the selected item to obtain current item information and generates a packaging provision plan, and the packaging display module provides at least one packaging material for the recipient to select from the packaging provision plan.. ([0173] SUGGEST A KNICK THAT WILL FIT: When a container is 80% full, the at least one processor can search for, identify and present additional items that could fit in the remaining 20% of the container's capacity. For example, the at least one processor determines the remaining or available volume of the container or the dimensions of the remaining or available volume of the container. The at least one processor can than search a dataset of items for items that are not larger than the volume or dimensions, for example taking into account compressibility of the items being searched as well as compressibility of the items already selected. The at least one processor can additionally take into account an existing theme when searching, for instance determining that currently selected products are all related to a particular theme or category (e.g., kitchen, spa products, sweets). The at least one processor can populate the results field with the results of the search. [0039] cause the article customization server computing system(s) 102 to provide a “maker stage” and associated tools that allow users to create articles comprised of a decorative, reusable container, a customized set of items that fit in the decorative container, a customized tag, and a customized storybook, as described herein, for example, with reference to FIGS. 3A-3S, below.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system, as taught by Mankoff and Isaacson to include the features as taught by Jennings. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the combination in order to personalize a gift (Jennings, [0007]).
Regarding Claim 11, Mankoff in view of Isaacson, Jennings and Guangzhou teaches the system of claim 10.
However, the combination of Mankoff and Isaacson does not explicitly teach wherein the packaging management module further comprises a packaging design module which provides a corresponding set of packaging elements for the recipient to choose from based on the information obtained from the current item, so as to provide the packaging material by combining the selected packaging elements and display the packaging material by the packaging display module..
Jennings, on the other hand, teaches wherein the packaging management module further comprises a packaging design module which provides a corresponding set of packaging elements for the recipient to choose from based on the information obtained from the current item, so as to provide the packaging material by combining the selected packaging elements and display the packaging material by the packaging display module.. ([0173] SUGGEST A KNICK THAT WILL FIT: When a container is 80% full, the at least one processor can search for, identify and present additional items that could fit in the remaining 20% of the container's capacity. For example, the at least one processor determines the remaining or available volume of the container or the dimensions of the remaining or available volume of the container. The at least one processor can than search a dataset of items for items that are not larger than the volume or dimensions, for example taking into account compressibility of the items being searched as well as compressibility of the items already selected. The at least one processor can additionally take into account an existing theme when searching, for instance determining that currently selected products are all related to a particular theme or category (e.g., kitchen, spa products, sweets). The at least one processor can populate the results field with the results of the search. [0039] cause the article customization server computing system(s) 102 to provide a “maker stage” and associated tools that allow users to create articles comprised of a decorative, reusable container, a customized set of items that fit in the decorative container, a customized tag, and a customized storybook, as described herein, for example, with reference to FIGS. 3A-3S, below.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system, as taught by Mankoff and Isaacson to include the features as taught by Jennings. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the combination in order to personalize a gift (Jennings, [0007]).
Regarding Claim 12, Mankoff in view of Isaacson, Jennings and Guangzhou teaches the system of claim 11.
However, the combination of Mankoff and Isaacson does not explicitly teach wherein the packaging management module further comprises a designer design module which is configured to provide packaging requirements, and the packaging designed by a designer according to the packaging requirements is displayed through the packaging display module, wherein after the packaging is purchased, the payment module pays the designer's remuneration from the value unit amount paid for purchasing the packaging to a corresponding account of the designer..
Jennings, on the other hand, teaches wherein the packaging management module further comprises a designer design module which is configured to provide packaging requirements, and the packaging designed by a designer according to the packaging requirements is displayed through the packaging display module, wherein after the packaging is purchased, the payment module pays the designer's remuneration from the value unit amount paid for purchasing the packaging to a corresponding account of the designer.. ([0041] allow a user to create a custom article, for example, a gift, with a starting “template” defined by another person or persons, for example, a person who is particularly skilled or recognized at design, decorating, gift giving, or the domestic arts. The person can, for example, be a celebrity or other individual recognized for having a particular talent (e.g., chef, “mixologist” or bartender, home decorator, television personality, stylist, do-it-yourself (DIY) spokesperson). The person can, for example, be a non-celebrity or “regular” user who when creating a custom article is inherently defining a template that can be used by others, [0059] the reward logic 232d can provide or assign a reward (e.g., points, credits, money, merchandise) to a user each time that an article created by the user is ordered, for example, ordered by another user. Additionally or alternatively, the reward logic 232d can provide or assign a reward to a user each time that an article created by the user is selected as a basis or template to create a new or modified article, for example, ordered by another user. Additionally or alternatively, the reward logic 232d can provide or assign a reward to a user each time that an article created based on an article created by the user is ordered.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system, as taught by Mankoff and Isaacson to include the features as taught by Jennings. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the combination in order to personalize a gift (Jennings, [0007]).
Regarding Claim 13, Mankoff in view of Isaacson, Jennings and Guangzhou teaches the system of claim 11.
However, the combination of Mankoff and Isaacson does not explicitly teach wherein the item analysis module is configured to analyze the selected multiple items to obtain information of each item, so as to generate a packaging provision plan which adopts one packaging material to package the selected multiple items, wherein the packaging display module displays the corresponding packaging material according to the packaging provision plan..
Jennings, on the other hand, teaches wherein the item analysis module is configured to analyze the selected multiple items to obtain information of each item, so as to generate a packaging provision plan which adopts one packaging material to package the selected multiple items, wherein the packaging display module displays the corresponding packaging material according to the packaging provision plan.. ([0173] SUGGEST A KNICK THAT WILL FIT: When a container is 80% full, the at least one processor can search for, identify and present additional items that could fit in the remaining 20% of the container's capacity. For example, the at least one processor determines the remaining or available volume of the container or the dimensions of the remaining or available volume of the container. The at least one processor can than search a dataset of items for items that are not larger than the volume or dimensions, for example taking into account compressibility of the items being searched as well as compressibility of the items already selected. The at least one processor can additionally take into account an existing theme when searching, for instance determining that currently selected products are all related to a particular theme or category (e.g., kitchen, spa products, sweets). The at least one processor can populate the results field with the results of the search. [0039] cause the article customization server computing system(s) 102 to provide a “maker stage” and associated tools that allow users to create articles comprised of a decorative, reusable container, a customized set of items that fit in the decorative container, a customized tag, and a customized storybook, as described herein, for example, with reference to FIGS. 3A-3S, below.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system, as taught by Mankoff and Isaacson to include the features as taught by Jennings. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the combination in order to personalize a gift (Jennings, [0007]).
Conclusion
/MICHELLE T KRINGEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3689