DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukumoto et al., US Patent Publication 2002/0149561.
Regarding independent claim 1, Fukumoto et al. teaches an interaction method, comprising:
determining a touch operation for a target object in a graphical user interface (paragraph 0168 explains the determination of the touch operation as an input on the touch panel of a touch signal or key operation signal and paragraph 0287 explains the detection of a touch or a press and paragraphs 0146-0147 explain the touch of virtual buttons on the display that is general made as a part of the software of a graphical user interface, rendering its use to be obvious), and determining touch parameter information of the touch operation (paragraphs 0048 and 0169 explain how the touch position is determined); wherein the touch parameter information comprises at least one of following: a touch position (paragraph 0169 explains how the position is determined to be within or outside of a touch button), a touch pressure (paragraphs 0037-0038 specify the detection of the level of touch pressure), a quantity of touch points, a touch area, a touch duration, and a touch sequence;
generating a haptic signal according to the touch parameter information of the touch operation, wherein the haptic signal is configured to drive a haptic feedback apparatus to generate a corresponding haptic feedback effect (paragraphs 0170-0171 and 0196 explain the generation of the haptic signal of the drive signal and how it is used to cause the haptic feedback vibration in response to the touch information); and
when it is detected that the touch parameter information of the touch operation changes, updating the haptic signal according to updated touch parameter information (paragraph 0174 explains that every detected operation input to the touch panel results in this sequence such that updated touches update haptic signals).
Although Fukumoto et al. teaches or renders obvious all of the limitations, the teachings are spread out across the various embodiments. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the embodiments as indicated above. The rationale to combine would be to create a modification within the range of the gist of the invention (paragraph 0403 of Fukumoto et al.).
Regarding claim 2, Fukumoto et al. teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the haptic signal is characterized by at least one of following parameters: a waveform type, a waveform amplitude, and a waveform frequency (paragraphs 0192-0193 explain how the different vibrations of the haptic signal from the drive voltage have different waveform types and amplitudes and frequencies and paragraphs 0165, 0193, 0227, 0248, 0263, and 0281 explain how the frequency of the waveform is used to drive the haptic signal while paragraph 0282 explains how the amplitude of the waveform is used to change the magnitude of the vibration).
Regarding claim 3, Fukumoto et al. teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the generating the haptic signal according to the touch parameter information of the touch operation comprises: determining a corresponding relationship between the touch parameter information and a parameter of the haptic signal according to a type of the target object and a type of the touch operation for the target object (paragraphs 0266 explains how the type of button input results in a different vibration mode); and
generating the haptic signal according to the touch parameter information and the corresponding relationship between the touch parameter information and the parameter of the haptic signal (paragraphs 0265 and 0268 explain how the haptic signal is generated based on the mode established by the touch).
Regarding claim 4, Fukumoto et al. teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein the determining the corresponding relationship between the touch parameter information and the parameter of the haptic signal according to the type of the target object and the type of the touch operation for the target object comprises at least one of following:
when the target object comprises a control bar control (knob depicted in figure 41) and the touch operation for the target object is a sliding operation (paragraph 0279 describes the sliding motion as a drag motion), determining that a waveform frequency of the haptic signal depends on a touch position of the touch operation (paragraphs 0279-0280 explain how the haptic signal is defined by the user position and paragraphs 0165, 0193, 0227, 0248, 0263, and 0281 explain how the frequency of the waveform is used to drive the haptic signal);
when the target object comprises a button control and the touch operation for the target object is a click operation (paragraph 0287 explains the detection of a press or click of a button), determining that a waveform amplitude of the haptic signal (to produce the given strength of vibration as given in paragraphs 0290-0292 based on the explanation of paragraph 0282) depends on a touch pressure of the touch operation (paragraphs 0287 and 0293 explains how the level of pressure is used to determine the input); and
when the target object comprises a multi-touch region and the touch operation for the target object is a click operation, determining that a waveform type of the haptic signal depends on a quantity of touch points of the touch operation (paragraph 0263 explains how the different shapes of the waveform are associated with different buttons or regions of the multi-touch region that are clicked as given in paragraph 0287).
Regarding claim 5, Fukumoto et al. teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein the control bar control is divided into a plurality of first sub-regions along a length direction of the control bar control, and waveform frequencies of haptic signals corresponding to the plurality of first sub-regions change along the length direction of the control bar control (paragraphs 0281-0282 explain that based on the value changing the drive signal is changed where paragraphs 0165, 0193, 0227, 0248, 0263, and 0281 explain how the frequency of the waveform is used to drive the haptic signal);
when the target object comprises the control bar control and the touch operation for the target object is the sliding operation (paragraphs 0279-0280 explains the dragging or sliding of the knob or bar), the generating the haptic signal according to the touch parameter information and the corresponding relationship between the touch parameter information and the parameter of the haptic signal comprises: determining a first sub-region where a contact point is located in the control bar control according to a touch position of the contact point of the sliding operation; and generating the haptic signal according to a waveform frequency corresponding to the first sub-region (paragraphs 0280-0282 explains how the haptic signal is generated based on where the touch position is on the range where paragraphs 0165, 0193, 0227, 0248, 0263, and 0281 explain how the frequency of the waveform is used to drive the haptic signal).
Regarding claim 6, Fukumoto et al. teaches the method according to claim 5, wherein the updating the haptic signal according to the updated touch parameter information comprises: determining a first sub-region where the contact point is located in the control bar control according to an updated touch position of the contact point of the sliding operation; and updating the haptic signal according to a waveform frequency corresponding to the first sub-region (paragraph 0281 explains how the drive is changed based on the changing position of the dragging and paragraphs 0280-0282 explains how the haptic signal is generated based on where the touch position is on the range where paragraphs 0165, 0193, 0227, 0248, 0263, and 0281 explain how the frequency of the waveform is used to drive the haptic signal).
Regarding claim 7, Fukumoto et al. teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein the button control corresponds to a plurality of touch pressure ranges, and waveform amplitudes of haptic signals corresponding to the plurality of touch pressure ranges change with numerical values of the plurality of touch pressure ranges (paragraphs 0282 and 0352 explain how the amplitude controls the magnitude of the vibration and paragraph 0286 explains how the mode of the vibration changes based on the level of pressure, rendering this feature to be obvious in view of the combination of those teachings);
when the target object comprises the button control and the touch operation for the target object is the click operation (as given in paragraph 0287), the generating the haptic signal according to the touch parameter information and the corresponding relationship between the touch parameter information and the parameter of the haptic signal comprises: determining a touch pressure range to which a touch pressure of the click operation belongs according to the touch pressure of the click operation; and generating the haptic signal according to a waveform amplitude corresponding to the determined touch pressure range (paragraphs 0282 and 0352 explain how the amplitude controls the magnitude of the vibration and paragraph 0286 explains how the mode of the vibration changes based on the level of pressure, rendering this feature to be obvious in view of the combination of those teachings).
Regarding claim 8, Fukumoto et al. teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein the updating the haptic signal according to the updated touch parameter information comprises: determining a touch pressure range to which an updated touch pressure belongs according to the updated touch pressure of the click operation; and updating the haptic signal according to a waveform amplitude corresponding to the updated touch pressure range (paragraph 0286 explains how the level of pressure is used to change the vibration where paragraph 0282 explains that amplitude is controlled to change the drive signal).
Regarding claim 9, Fukumoto et al. teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein the multi-touch region corresponds to a plurality of contact point ranges, and waveform types corresponding to the plurality of contact point ranges are different (paragraph 0263 explains how the different shapes of the waveform are associated with different buttons or regions of the multi-touch region that are clicked as given in paragraph 0287);
when the target object comprises the multi-touch region and the touch operation for the target object is the click operation (as given by the touches described in paragraph 0287), the generating the haptic signal according to the touch parameter information and the corresponding relationship between the touch parameter information and the parameter of the haptic signal comprises: determining a contact point range to which a quantity of touch points belongs according to the quantity of touch points of the click operation (paragraph 0263 explains how different buttons or touch points correspond to different areas or ranges); and generating the haptic signal according to a waveform type corresponding to the determined contact point range (paragraph 0263 explains how the different points correspond to different waveform types).
Regarding claim 10, Fukumoto et al. teaches the method according to claim 9, wherein the updating the haptic signal according to the updated touch parameter information comprises: determining a contact point range to which an updated quantity of touch points belongs according to the updated quantity of touch points of the click operation (paragraph 0263 explains how different buttons or touch points correspond to different areas or ranges); and updating the haptic signal according to a waveform type corresponding to the updated contact point range (paragraph 0263 explains how the different points correspond to different waveform types).
Regarding claim 11, Fukumoto et al. teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the haptic feedback effect comprises a haptic feedback effect generated based on a film pressing effect (paragraph 0037 explains that when a button is pushed, the vibration or haptic feedback effect generated is based on the level of pressure of the button or film press as given in paragraphs 0286-0287).
Regarding claim 12, Fukumoto et al. teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining the touch operation for the target object in the graphical user interface comprises:
determining that the touch operation is a touch operation for the target object, when a touch position of the touch operation is located in a region where the target object is located (paragraph 0169 explains the touch determined to be in the region where the target object of the button is located) and a type of the target object matches a type of the touch operation (paragraph 0287 explains the touch type determined to be the type needed to determine the level of pressure).
Regarding independent claim 13, Fukumoto et al. teaches a display touch device, comprising:
a display touch panel (figure 3 shows the display panel 103a and touch panel 102 that combine to form the display touch panel), a processor (CPU (central processing unit) 113 of figure 2 as given in paragraph 0147), and a haptic feedback apparatus (the oscillatory actuator 115 that is driven by the drive signal of the drive signal generation circuit 114 of figure 2 as given in paragraph 0150), wherein the processor is connected with the display touch panel and the haptic feedback apparatus (as shown in figure 2 and described in paragraph 0150);
the display touch panel is configured to acquire touch parameter information of a touch operation in a graphical user interface (paragraphs 0048 and 0169 explain how the touch position is determined and paragraphs 0146-0147 explain the touch of virtual buttons on the display that is general made as a part of the software of a graphical user interface, rendering its use to be obvious); the touch parameter information comprises at least one of following: a touch position (paragraph 0169 explains how the position is determined to be within or outside of a touch button), a touch pressure (paragraphs 0037-0038 specify the detection of the level of touch pressure), a quantity of touch points, a touch area, a touch duration, and a touch sequence;
the processor is configured to: determine a touch operation for a target object in the graphical user interface (paragraph 0168 explains the determination of the touch operation as an input on the touch panel of a touch signal or key operation signal and paragraph 0287 explains the detection of a touch or a press and paragraphs 0146-0147 explain the touch of virtual buttons on the display that is general made as a part of the software of a graphical user interface, rendering its use to be obvious); generate a haptic signal according to touch parameter information of the touch operation (paragraphs 0170-0171 and 0196 explain the generation of the haptic signal of the drive signal and how it is used to cause the haptic feedback vibration in response to the touch information), and when it is detected that the touch parameter information of the touch operation changes, update the haptic signal according to updated touch parameter information (paragraph 0174 explains that every detected operation input to the touch panel results in this sequence such that updated touches update haptic signals); and
the haptic feedback apparatus is configured to generate a corresponding haptic feedback effect according to the haptic signal (paragraphs 0170-0171 and 0196 explain the generation of the haptic signal of the drive signal and how it is used to cause the haptic feedback vibration in response to the touch information).
Although Fukumoto et al. teaches or renders obvious all of the limitations, the teachings are spread out across the various embodiments. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the embodiments as indicated above. The rationale to combine would be to create a modification within the range of the gist of the invention (paragraph 0403 of Fukumoto et al.).
Regarding claim 14, Fukumoto et al. teaches the display touch device according to claim 13, wherein the haptic signal is characterized by at least one of following parameters: a waveform type, a waveform amplitude, and a waveform frequency (paragraphs 0192-0193 explain how the different vibrations of the haptic signal from the drive voltage have different waveform types and amplitudes and frequencies and paragraphs 0165, 0193, 0227, 0248, 0263, and 0281 explain how the frequency of the waveform is used to drive the haptic signal while paragraph 0282 explains how the amplitude of the waveform is used to change the magnitude of the vibration).
Regarding claim 15, Fukumoto et al. teaches the display touch device according to claim 14, wherein the processor is configured to generate the haptic signal according to the touch parameter information of the touch operation by:
determining a corresponding relationship between the touch parameter information and a parameter of the haptic signal according to a type of the target object and a type of the touch operation for the target object (paragraphs 0266 explains how the type of button input results in a different vibration mode); and
generating the haptic signal according to the touch parameter information and the corresponding relationship between the touch parameter information and the parameter of the haptic signal (paragraphs 0265 and 0268 explain how the haptic signal is generated based on the mode established by the touch).
Regarding claim 16, Fukumoto et al. teaches the display touch device according to claim 15, wherein the processor is configured to determine the corresponding relationship between the touch parameter information and the parameter of the haptic signal according to the type of the target object and the type of the touch operation for the target object by at least one of following:
when the target object comprises a control bar control (knob depicted in figure 41) and the touch operation for the target object is a sliding operation (paragraph 0279 describes the sliding motion as a drag motion), determining that a waveform frequency of the haptic signal depends on a touch position of the touch operation (paragraphs 0279-0280 explain how the haptic signal is defined by the user position and paragraphs 0165, 0193, 0227, 0248, 0263, and 0281 explain how the frequency of the waveform is used to drive the haptic signal);
when the target object comprises a button control and the touch operation for the target object is a click operation (paragraph 0287 explains the detection of a press or click of a button), determining that a waveform amplitude of the haptic signal (to produce the given strength of vibration as given in paragraphs 0290-0292 based on the explanation of paragraph 0282) depends on a touch pressure of the touch operation (paragraphs 0287 and 0293 explains how the level of pressure is used to determine the input); and
when the target object comprises a multi-touch region and the touch operation for the target object is a click operation, determining that a waveform type of the haptic signal depends on a quantity of touch points of the touch operation (paragraph 0263 explains how the different shapes of the waveform are associated with different buttons or regions of the multi-touch region that are clicked as given in paragraph 0287).
Regarding claim 17, Fukumoto et al. teaches the display touch device according to claim 16, wherein the control bar control is divided into a plurality of first sub-regions along a length direction of the control bar control, and waveform frequencies of haptic signals corresponding to the plurality of first sub-regions change along the length direction of the control bar control (paragraphs 0281-0282 explain that based on the value changing the drive signal is changed where paragraphs 0165, 0193, 0227, 0248, 0263, and 0281 explain how the frequency of the waveform is used to drive the haptic signal);
when the target object comprises a control bar control and the touch operation for the target object is a sliding operation, the processor is configured to generate the haptic signal according to the touch parameter information and the corresponding relationship between the touch parameter information and the parameter of the haptic signal by:
determining a first sub-region where a contact point is located in the control bar control according to a touch position of the contact point of the sliding operation; and generating the haptic signal according to a waveform frequency corresponding to the first sub-region (paragraphs 0280-0282 explains how the haptic signal is generated based on where the touch position is on the range where paragraphs 0165, 0193, 0227, 0248, 0263, and 0281 explain how the frequency of the waveform is used to drive the haptic signal).
Regarding claim 18, Fukumoto et al. teaches the display touch device according to claim 16, wherein the button control corresponds to a plurality of touch pressure ranges, and waveform amplitudes of haptic signals corresponding to the plurality of touch pressure ranges change with numerical values of the plurality of touch pressure ranges (paragraphs 0282 and 0352 explain how the amplitude controls the magnitude of the vibration and paragraph 0286 explains how the mode of the vibration changes based on the level of pressure, rendering this feature to be obvious in view of the combination of those teachings);
when the target object comprises the button control and the touch operation for the target object is the click operation, the processor is configured to generate the haptic signal according to the touch parameter information and the corresponding relationship between the touch parameter information and the parameter of the haptic signal by:
determining a touch pressure range to which a touch pressure of the click operation belongs according to the touch pressure of the click operation (as given in paragraph 0287); and generating the haptic signal according to a waveform amplitude corresponding to the determined touch pressure range (paragraphs 0282 and 0352 explain how the amplitude controls the magnitude of the vibration and paragraph 0286 explains how the mode of the vibration changes based on the level of pressure, rendering this feature to be obvious in view of the combination of those teachings).
Regarding claim 19, Fukumoto et al. teaches the display touch device according to claim 16, wherein the multi-touch region corresponds to a plurality of contact point ranges, and waveform types corresponding to the plurality of contact point ranges are different (paragraph 0263 explains how the different shapes of the waveform are associated with different buttons or regions of the multi-touch region that are clicked as given in paragraph 0287);
when the target object comprises the multi-touch region and the touch operation for the target object is the click operation (as given by the touches described in paragraph 0287), the processor is configured to generate the haptic signal according to the touch parameter information and the corresponding relationship between the touch parameter information and the parameter of the haptic signal by:
determining a contact point range to which a quantity of touch points belongs according to the quantity of touch points of the click operation (paragraph 0263 explains how different buttons or touch points correspond to different areas or ranges); and generating the haptic signal according to a waveform type corresponding to the determined contact point range (paragraph 0263 explains how the different points correspond to different waveform types).
Regarding claim 21, Fukumoto et al. teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, on which a computer program is stored, wherein when the computer program is executed, acts of an interaction method according to claim 1 are implemented (paragraphs 0011-0012, 0171, and 0173 explain how the method is implemented via instructions from the CPU 113 that acts as the medium implementing a program).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The closest prior art is made of record in the attached notice of references cited.
/PARUL H GUPTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627