Claims 11, 12, 14, 16, 18, and 19 have been amended.
Claims 11, 12, and 14-19 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on July 20, 2026 have been considered.
With respect to arguments regarding 112(b), the arguments are persuasive, and the 112(b) rejections are withdrawn.
With respect to the argument that combination of art used to reject claims 11 and 13 does not disclose reading out a unique string is read out during production and the biometric credential is linked to at least one identifier for the service hash value, it is not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Maher does not disclose reading out a unique string from the vehicle during production. The correct trusted credentials need to be embedded in the hardware or software of the correct vehicle that is being manufactured, therefore at some point during manufacturing, those trusted credentials needed to be read or scanned to correlate it with the correct vehicle. While Maher does not explicitly teach the unique string being read out during production, Maher does teach a user identifier being read out during production, while Lim teaches reading out a unique string and storing it in a vehicle data set.
Applicant argues that Lim does not disclose that the biometric credential is linked to an identifier as a hash. However, when a user uses biometric authentication, authentication between the device and the second backend server begins, and during that process, a temporary id is obtained which is used to issue a digital key and that temporary id can include a hash value of identifying information, which makes the biometric credentials and hash value linked.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (WO 2020105892 A1, hereinafter referred to as Lim) in view of Maher (US 20130212659 A1, hereinafter referred to as Maher) in further view of Mack (DE 102019205362 A1, hereinafter referred to as Mack) in further view of Hassani (US 10576934 B2, hereinafter referred to as Hassani).
Regarding claim 11, Lim discloses: A method, comprising: reading out from a vehicle, [via a diagnostic service during production of the vehicle], a unique string and [permanently] storing the unique string in a vehicle data set of the vehicle, wherein the vehicle data set is known and accessible via a backend service of a vehicle manufacturer (Lim: Paragraph [0052] states, "The service provider server (210) may include a database of user information such as user account information, such as user ID and password, and information on products or services for sale. For example, when a car company sells a vehicle, it can store information such as the user's ID, password, the identification number of the sold vehicle, and whether the digital key service is used." Paragraph [0053] states, "The backend server (220) may be, for example, a server operated by the manufacturer of the owner device (100), a server operated by a telecommunications company that provides mobile communication services, or a server operated by a service provider that provides digital key services."), but fails to explicitly disclose: reading out from a vehicle, via a diagnostic service during production of the vehicle…and permanently storing.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Maher discloses: reading out from a vehicle, via a diagnostic service during production of the vehicle…and permanently storing (Maher: Paragraph [0130] states, "certain systems, components, and/or devices included in or associated with the vehicle may have keys or other identifying or certification information embedded in their hardware and/or software at the time of manufacture and/or deployment which can be used to facilitate secure communication, authentication, further key exchange or distribution, and/or the like.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Lim and include the above limitation with the teaching of Maher in order to establish a "trusted communication between entities included in the connected vehicle ecosystem map" (Maher: Paragraph [0007]).
This motivation applies to the remainder of the claim.
Lim further discloses: supplying, by a control device of the vehicle to a service infrastructure, the unique string as a reference (Lim: Paragraph [0258] states, "the owner device (100) transmits DKB and UIDB to the service provider server (210) via the first backend server (220). The service provider server (210) stores DKB and UIDB." Paragraph [0259] states, "UIDB may be user information of the target device (300).") or as a hash identifier created temporarily by a time-based one-time password algorithm (Lim: Paragraph [0262] states, "transmits an OTP (Onetime Passcode) to the target device (300) through a second communication channel using the UIDB information. Paragraph [0263] states, "The OTP is random information generated by the service provider server (210), is valid for a specific period of time, and is destroyed thereafter.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Lim and include the above limitation in order to "to verify the user of a target device" (Lim: [0261]).
Lim fails to explicitly disclose: entering, by a user, a service contract for a service with a service provider via a software interface of an application provided by the backend service, wherein the unique string of the control device is required to enter into the service contract.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Mack discloses: entering, by a user, a service contract for a service with a service provider via a software interface of an application provided by the backend service, wherein the unique string of the control device is required to enter into the service contract (Mack, paragraph [0068] states, "The input unit 3 (for example, a smartphone/tablet/PC/vehicle console) can have a user interface where the driver can enter their access data and activate the services they wish to use." Paragraph [0076] states, "The central computing unit 4 records data including driver details and the identification identifier of the authentication unit 2, which are relevant for the authentication of the vehicle 1." Paragraph [0078] states, "The driver of vehicle 1 has the option to subsequently activate additional services that he wishes to use while using authentication unit 2…a query signal B can be sent to the user's input unit 3. The input unit 3 can issue a warning signal upon receiving the query signal B, asking the user whether they wish to use the services at service unit 12 despite the lack of activation. The relevant contract details for the services can be displayed on input unit 3. If the driver consents to these conditions by means of a predetermined user input, the input unit 3 can transmit an activation signal A to the central computing unit 4. The central computing unit 4 can then send the release signal 16 to the service unit 12 and thus authorize the service unit 12 to provide the services of the service identifier F.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Lim as modified by Maher and include the above limitation with the teaching of Mack in order to "enable secure authentication of a vehicle or driver to an infrastructure unit without transmitting sensitive data to the infrastructure unit" (Paragraph [0005]).
Lim further discloses: and determining, by the backend service, the unique string of the control device installed in the vehicle from the vehicle data set and automatically adopting the unique string determined from the vehicle data set (Lim: Paragraph [0113] states, "the owner device (100) may obtain an ephemeral ID eIDA from the service provider server (210) via the first backend server (220). eIDA may be the first ID mentioned in the description of FIGS. 4 and FIGS. 5." Paragraph [0115] states, "eIDA includes information of a user of the owner device (100) (e.g., owner of the owner device (100)) (e.g., phone number, vehicle information, etc. of the user of the owner device (100)) and may further include a value corresponding to said information."), but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein a biometric credential of the user is available or is created during a registration process via at least one vehicle sensor.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hassani discloses: wherein a biometric credential of the user is available or is created during a registration process via at least one vehicle sensor (Hassani: Col 3 lines 65-67 col 4 line 1 states, "the user may capture a selfie using the user's smartphone, or a vision system at the autonomous vehicle may be used to capture a selfie of the user for authentication of the user's identity.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Lim as modified by Maher and Mack and include the above limitation with the teaching of Hassani since "safeguarding information used to verify rider identity may be desired" (Hassani: Col 2 lines 14-15).
This motivation applies to the remainder of the claim.
Lim further discloses: wherein the biometric credential is linked to at least one identifier for the service as a hash value (Lim: Paragraph [0225] states, "the target device (300) can verify whether the user intended the digital key request through methods such as biometric authentication." Paragraph [0226] states, "Next, authentication between the second backend server (230) and the target device (300) can be performed." Paragraph [0027] states, "the target device (300) obtains a temporary ID eIDB from the second backend server (230)." Paragraph [0028] states, "eIDB can be used to identify the target device (300) during the digital key issuance process. eIDB may be used for a single digital key issuance, or may be used for multiple digital key issuances according to a policy." Paragraph [0229] states, "eIDB includes information of device OEM B (e.g., name, address, identifier, etc. of device OEM B or the second backend server (230)), and may further include a value corresponding to said information (e.g., hash value of said information)."), but fails to explicitly disclose: the biometric credential…has been or is saved in a local storage device or in a cloud.
However, Hassani further discloses: the biometric credential…has been or is saved in a local storage device or in a cloud (Hassani: Col 11 lines 37-44 states, "The biometric template may be stored in association with a unique authentication identifier for the user. Biometric templates 162 in FIG. 1 may include baseline extracted biometric feature data for users that have enrolled in the biometric authentication service. At a second user interface 320, a confirmation message may indicate that the user is authenticated and may indicate that the user may access a particular autonomous vehicle."), wherein the service is only activated in the vehicle when the user is recognized as being present or active in the vehicle via biometric authentication (Hassani: Col 4 lines 12-21 states, "The biometric input system 130 may receive the user inputs 110 and may include one or more wake up components 132 to wake the autonomous vehicle 120 when (e.g., during or after, etc.) based on the requested access 112, such as, by the user approaches or contacts the autonomous vehicle 120. Wake up of the vehicle may include starting an engine, initiating a display, presenting one or more user interfaces, and the like. In some instances, the vehicle may not need to be woken up and may remain in an awake state.").
Regarding claim 15, Mack discloses: The method of claim 11, wherein for entering into the service contract, the user accesses the backend service via a central instrument in the vehicle, via a smartphone, or via a device in a service operation having network access [to the vehicle data set] (Mack: Paragraph [0036] states, "The transmission of the coupling signal 5 can, for example, take place via mobile internet…The transmission can be done, for example, directly to the authentication unit 2 via mobile internet or via the input unit 3." Paragraph [0068] states, "The input unit 3 (for example, a smartphone/tablet/PC/vehicle console) can have a user interface where the driver can enter their access data and activate the services they wish to use." Paragraph [0076] states, "The central computing unit 4 records data including driver details and the identification identifier of the authentication unit 2, which are relevant for the authentication of the vehicle 1." Paragraph [0078] states, "The driver of vehicle 1 has the option to subsequently activate additional services that he wishes to use while using authentication unit 2…a query signal B can be sent to the user's input unit 3. The input unit 3 can issue a warning signal upon receiving the query signal B, asking the user whether they wish to use the services at service unit 12 despite the lack of activation. The relevant contract details for the services can be displayed on input unit 3. If the driver consents to these conditions by means of a predetermined user input, the input unit 3 can transmit an activation signal A to the central computing unit 4. The central computing unit 4 can then send the release signal 16 to the service unit 12 and thus authorize the service unit 12 to provide the services of the service identifier F.").
The same motivation to modify with Mack, as in claim 1, applies.
Mack fails to explicitly disclose: a device in a service operation having network access to the vehicle data set.
However, Lim discloses: access to the vehicle data set (Lim: Paragraph [0052] states, "The service provider server (210) may include a database of user information such as user account information, such as user ID and password, and information on products or services for sale. For example, when a car company sells a vehicle, it can store information such as the user's ID, password, the identification number of the sold vehicle, and whether the digital key service is used." Paragraph [0053] states, "The backend server (220) may be, for example, a server operated by the manufacturer of the owner device (100), a server operated by a telecommunications company that provides mobile communication services, or a server operated by a service provider that provides digital key services.").
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Lim as modified by Maher, Mack, and Hassani discloses: The method of claim 11.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hassani discloses: wherein the at least one vehicle sensor is a fingerprint scanner, a retinal scan sensor, a face scan sensor, a body scan sensor, a lidar, or a voice authentication sensor system (Hassani: Col 4 lines 22-27 states, "The biometric input system 130 (e.g., cameras, infrared sensors, facial recognition systems, fingerprint sensors, microphones, etc.) may include one or more feature extraction components 134 that extracts biometric feature data or information from the raw biometric data 114 received as user inputs 110.").
The same motivation to modify with Hassani, as in claim 11, applies.
Regarding claim 17, Mack discloses: The method of claim 11, wherein the service is a toll service (Mack: Paragraph [0074] states, "The procedure provides the driver with a central system through which he can register for various motor vehicle-related services." Paragraph [0075] states, "In general, the solution is applicable to all motor vehicle-related services. In particular, the procedure can be used in connection with automated and cashless payments at petrol stations, automatic vehicle identification and the associated granting of access to parking lots." Examiner's note: due to the lack of description of "toll service" this is interpreted as any payment service.).
The same motivation to modify with Mack, as in claim 11, applies.
Regarding claim 18, Lim discloses: The method of claim 11, wherein the hash identifier is linked to the biometric credential as a fixed identifier (Lim: Paragraph [0225] states, "the target device (300) can verify whether the user intended the digital key request through methods such as biometric authentication." Paragraph [0226] states, "Next, authentication between the second backend server (230) and the target device (300) can be performed." Paragraph [0027] states, "the target device (300) obtains a temporary ID eIDB from the second backend server (230)." Paragraph [0028] states, "eIDB can be used to identify the target device (300) during the digital key issuance process. eIDB may be used for a single digital key issuance, or may be used for multiple digital key issuances according to a policy." Paragraph [0229] states, "eIDB includes information of device OEM B (e.g., name, address, identifier, etc. of device OEM B or the second backend server (230)), and may further include a value corresponding to said information (e.g., hash value of said information).").
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (WO 2020105892 A1, hereinafter referred to as Lim) in view of Maher (US 20130212659 A1, hereinafter referred to as Maher) in further view of Mack (DE 102019205362 A1, hereinafter referred to as Mack) in further view of Hassani (US 10576934 B2, hereinafter referred to as Hassani) in further view of Sainaney (US 20180350160 A1, hereinafter referred to as Sainaney).
Regarding claim 12, Lim discloses: The method of claim 11, wherein the control device supplies the unique string to the service infrastructure [as the reference or as the hash identifier during operation of the vehicle] via the software interface (Lim: Paragraph [0044] states, "The owner device (100) may include a personalized mobile device, but is not limited thereto, and may include various types of electronic devices. For example, the owner device (100) may include a smartphone, tablet PC, PC, camera, and wearable device, etc." Paragraph [0258] states, "the owner device (100) transmits DKB and UIDB to the service provider server (210) via the first backend server (220). The service provider server (210) stores DKB and UIDB." Paragraph [0259] states, "UIDB may be user information of the target device (300)."), but fails to explicitly disclose: as the reference or as the hashID during operation of the vehicle.
However, Lim further discloses: supplies the unique string…as the reference or as the hash identifier [during operation of the vehicle] (Lim: Paragraph [0262] states, "the service provider server (210) transmits an OTP (Onetime Passcode) to the target device (300) through a second communication channel using the UIDB information. Paragraph [0263] states, "The OTP is random information generated by the service provider server (210), is valid for a specific period of time, and is destroyed thereafter." ).
The same motivation to modify Lim, as in claim 1, applies.
Lim fails to explicitly disclose: supplies…during operation of the vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sainaney further discloses: supplies…during operation of the vehicle via the software interface (Sainaney: Paragraph [0064] states, "This interaction may include a subsequent runtime phase in which runtime telematics data is transferred from the on-board electronic system of the vehicle to the telematics device via the OBD link during operation of the vehicle.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Lim as modified by Maher, Mack, and Hassani and include the above limitation with the teaching of Sainaney in order to "to provide a more accurate and more reliable resource for compatibility and accuracy information" (Sainaney: Paragraph [0019]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (WO 2020105892 A1, hereinafter referred to as Lim) in view of Maher (US 20130212659 A1, hereinafter referred to as Maher) in further view of Mack (DE 102019205362 A1, hereinafter referred to as Mack) in further view of Hassani (US 10576934 B2, hereinafter referred to as Hassani) in further view of Park (US 20120290767 A1, hereinafter referred to as Park).
Regarding claim 14, Lim discloses: The method of claim 11, wherein biometric authentication of the user is performed at the user's request [and is compared with the credential saved in the cloud] (Lim: Paragraph [0148] states, "the target device (300) can verify whether the user intended the digital key request through methods such as biometric authentication."), but fails to explicitly disclose: biometric authentication of the user…is compared with the credential saved in the cloud.
However, Hassani discloses: biometric authentication of the user…is compared with the credential saved in the cloud (Hassani: Col 5 lines 43-46 states, "The authentication component 166 may compare the extracted feature data to one or more of the biometric templates 162, and upon determining a suitable match, may determine the associated authentication identifier 164.").
The same motivation to modify with Hassani, as in claim 13, applies.
Hassani fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the user is authorized to use the service in a further vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park discloses: wherein the user is authorized to use the service in a further vehicle (Park: Paragraph [0034] states, "the user may use an application service providing device included in another vehicle as an application service providing device having the same settings as though the user were operating the application in his or her own car.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Lim as modified by Maher, Mack, and Hassani and include the above limitation with the teaching of Park for "providing an application service efficiently" (Park: Paragraph [0008]).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (WO 2020105892 A1, hereinafter referred to as Lim) in view of Maher (US 20130212659 A1, hereinafter referred to as Maher) in further view of Mack (DE 102019205362 A1, hereinafter referred to as Mack) in further view of Hassani (US 10576934 B2, hereinafter referred to as Hassani) in further view of Hausman (US 10699493 B2, hereinafter referred to as Hausman).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Lim as modified by Maher, Mack, and Hassani disclose: The method of claim 11, but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the control device supplies the service infrastructure with further data in addition to the unique string, wherein the further data is a vehicle identification number, a vehicle license plate, a country or state in which the vehicle is registered, a vehicle type, vehicle dimensions, a permissible vehicle weight, payment details, or payment account details.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hausman discloses: wherein the control device supplies the service infrastructure with further data in addition to the unique string, wherein the further data is a vehicle identification number, a vehicle license plate, a country or state in which the vehicle is registered, a vehicle type, vehicle dimensions, a permissible vehicle weight, payment details, or payment account details (Hausman: Col 4 lines 9-14 states, "the information provided may include vehicle make and model, vehicle registration number, year of vehicle manufacture, license plate number, driver's license number, operator contact information, billing information for the operator, operator permanent address, and/or combinations thereof.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Lim as modified by Mack and Maher and include the above limitation with the teaching of Hausman in order to "reduce time and costs and increase efficiency" (Hausman: Paragraph [0026]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHREYAJ RAM BHANDARI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2434
/NOURA ZOUBAIR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434