DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application 18880923 filed 1/3/25.
Claim(s) 1-18, 21-22 is/are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1, 10, 21 & 22 is/are unclear to the examiner; what does it mean by stating “receiving a first message frame, wherein the first message frame indicates that an SBP report frame is to be transmitted; and transmitting the SBP report frame”? the claim languages are not very clear what is the claimed invention? To transmit the SBP report frame? To do what? For what purpose? What exactly the Applicant trying to accomplished? What exactly the SBP perform or measure? Please clarify
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-12, 15-18 & 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Luo, U.S. Pub/Patent No. US 20240365380 A1.
As to claim 1, Luo teaches a communication method, applied to a sensing by proxy (SBP) responding device, the method comprising:
receiving a first message frame, wherein the first message frame indicates that an SBP report frame is to be transmitted (Luo, figure 4; page 5, paragraph 94-95; page 6, paragraph 106-108; i.e., [0094] the SBP responder transmits a first SBP report information to the SBP requester, wherein the first SBP report information indicates a setup result of the at least one measurement setup. For example, the first SBP report information indicates a measurement setup established or failed to be successfully established by the sensing responder n in the at least one measurement setup; [0107] a Trigger Frame-based field, indicating whether a measurement procedure of the first measurement
setup is triggered by a trigger frame); and
transmitting the SBP report frame (Luo, figure 4; page 5, paragraph 94-95; page 6, paragraph 106-108; i.e., [0094] the SBP responder transmits a first SBP report information to the SBP requester, wherein the first SBP report information indicates a setup result of the at least one measurement setup. For example, the first SBP report information indicates a measurement setup established or failed to be successfully established by the sensing responder n in the at least one measurement setup; [0107] a Trigger Frame-based field, indicating whether a measurement procedure of the first measurement setup is triggered by a trigger frame).
As to claim 2, Luo teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first message frame is a clear to send (CTS)- to-self frame, a power save (PS)-Poll frame or an SBP report request frame (Luo, figure 4).
As to claim 3, Luo teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein transmitting a poll frame, wherein the poll frame requests a trigger for transmitting the SBP report frame (Luo, figure 4; page 5, paragraph 94-95; page 6, paragraph 106-108; i.e., [0094] the SBP responder transmits a first SBP report information to the SBP requester, wherein the first SBP report information indicates a setup result of the at least one measurement setup. For example, the first SBP report information indicates a measurement setup established or failed to be successfully established by the sensing responder n in the at least one measurement setup; [0106] a Control field, indicating whether the Sensing Requirement Info field includes a field indicating a measurement requirement corresponding to the first measurement setup; [0107] a Trigger Frame-based field, indicating whether a measurement procedure of the first measurement setup is triggered by a trigger frame).
As to claim 6, Luo teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein when the first message frame is the SBP report request frame, the first message frame comprises a wireless local area network (WLAN) sensing measurement setup identifier allocated by the SBP responding device to an SBP initiating device (Luo, figure 4; page 2, paragraph 48; page 12, paragraph 241; i.e., [0048] WLAN; [0241] the SBP response session token), the identifier of the SBP responder, and the measurement setup ID. one or more measurement setup identifiers corresponding to the sensing proxy request. The SBP responder identifies a measurement result reported by the sensing signal receiver by the measurement setup identifiers to correspond to the 3-tuple composed of the identifier of the corresponding SBP requester, the sensing proxy request session token, and the measurement setup ID, and indicates the identifier of the SBP responder, the identifier of the SBP requester, the sensing proxy request session token, and the measurement setup ID in reporting the measurement result to the SBP requester).
As to claim 7, Luo teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the SBP report frame comprises a wireless local area network (WLAN) sensing measurement setup identifier allocated by the SBP responding device to an SBP initiating device (Luo, figure 4; page 2, paragraph 48; page 12, paragraph 241; i.e., [0048] WLAN; [0241] the SBP response session token), the identifier of the SBP responder, and the measurement setup ID. one or more measurement setup identifiers corresponding to the sensing proxy request. The SBP responder identifies a measurement result reported by the sensing signal receiver by the measurement setup identifiers to correspond to the 3-tuple composed of the identifier of the corresponding SBP requester, the sensing proxy request session token, and the measurement setup ID, and indicates the identifier of the SBP responder, the identifier of the SBP requester, the sensing proxy request session token, and the measurement setup ID in reporting the measurement result to the SBP requester).
As to claim 8, Luo teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein transmitting the SBP report frame within a first time interval, wherein the first time interval is determined by the SBP responding device and an SBP initiating device in a wireless local area network (WLAN) sensing measurement setup procedure (Luo, figure 4; page 5, paragraph 94-95; page 6, paragraph 119; i.e., [0094] the SBP responder transmits a first SBP report information to the SBP requester, wherein the first SBP report information indicates a setup result of the at least one measurement setup. For example, the first SBP report information indicates a measurement setup established or failed to be successfully established by the sensing responder n in the at least one measurement setup; [0119] a Sensing Duration field, indicating a required duration for the sensing measurement based on the first measurement setup).
As to claim 9, Luo teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the SBP report frame comprises sensing measurement results of all station devices (STAs) participating in a wireless local area network (WLAN) sensing measurement in a case that an SBP initiating device does not participate in the WLAN sensing measurement, and does not comprise the sensing measurement result of the SBP initiating device in a case that the SBP initiating device participates in the WLAN sensing measurement (Luo, figure 2-4; page 5, paragraph 94-95; page 6, paragraph 106-108; i.e., [0094] the SBP responder transmits a first SBP report information to the SBP requester, wherein the first SBP report information indicates a setup result of the at least one measurement setup. For example, the first SBP report information indicates a measurement setup established or failed to be successfully established by the sensing responder n in the at least one measurement setup; [0106] a Control field, indicating whether the Sensing Requirement Info field includes a field indicating a measurement requirement corresponding to the first measurement setup; [0107] a Trigger Frame-based field, indicating whether a measurement procedure of the first measurement setup is triggered by a trigger frame).
Claim(s) 10-12 & 15-18 is/are directed to a method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 1-3 & 6-9. Therefore, claim(s) 10-12 & 15-18 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 1-3 & 6-9.
Claim(s) 21 & 22 is/are directed to a method and system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim(s) 21 & 22 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo, U.S. Pub/Patent No. US 20240365380 A1 in view of Jang, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2025/0142616 A1.
As to claim 4, Luo teaches the method according to claim 2. But Luo failed to teach the claim limitation wherein transmitting a second message frame, wherein the second message frame indicates a confirmation of transmitting the SBP report frame.
However, Jang teaches the limitation wherein transmitting a second message frame, wherein the second message frame indicates a confirmation of transmitting the SBP report frame (Jang, page 7, paragraph 82; i.e., [0082] an ACK for the transmitted frame is not received).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Luo to substitute peer STA from Jang for M2M from Luo to reducing power consumption to efficiently support a precise sensing procedure (Jang, page 1, paragraph 4).
As to claim 5, Luo-Jang teaches the method according to claim 4. But Luo failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the second message frame is a null frame or an acknowledgment (ACK) frame.
However, Jang teaches the limitation wherein the second message frame is a null frame or an acknowledgment (ACK) frame (Jang, page 8, paragraph 93; i.e., [0093] ACK frame).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Luo to substitute peer STA from Jang for M2M from Luo to reducing power consumption to efficiently support a precise sensing procedure (Jang, page 1, paragraph 4).
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are directed to a method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 4-5. Therefore, claim(s) 13-14 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 4-5.
Listing of Relevant Arts
Sugaya, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20190045538 A1 discloses ACK frame, CTS-to-self frame.
Kim, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20170295541 A1 discloses Ps-Poll/trigger frame; virtual carrier sensing, ACK frame.
Contact Information
THUONG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9:00-6:00.
/THUONG NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416