DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the treatment side having a substantially triangular shape (with corresponding intake ports) (claims 16-17) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 2, 5, 6, 8 and 15-17 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Within line 2 of claim 2, please replace “is at spaced least” with “is spaced at least”.
Within the first couple lines of claim 5, the applicant recites, “at least two intake ports”. It appears that the applicant is trying to further define the “at least one intake port” as introduced within claim 1. In order to avoid 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues, the examiner suggests stating something like “wherein the at least one intake port comprising at least two intake ports”.
Within the first couple lines of claim 6, the applicant recites, “a plurality of intake ports”. It appears that the applicant is trying to further define the “at least one intake port” as introduced within claim 1. In order to avoid 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues, the examiner suggests stating something like “wherein the at least one intake port comprising a plurality of intake ports”.
Within the second line of claim 8, the applicant recites, “the intake port or ports extend along at least one straight or covered intake line”. In order to avoid confusion and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues, please replace this recitation with “the at least one intake port extends along at least one straight or curved intake line”. If the applicant wants the intake port of claim 8 to be plural (intake ports), claim 8 would needs to be dependent from one of claims 5 and claim 6 or such language should be introduced within the claim.
Within the last two lines of claim 15, the applicant recites, “a plurality of intake ports”. It appears that the applicant is trying to further define the “at least one intake port” as introduced within claim 1. In order to avoid 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues, the examiner suggests stating something like “a plurality of intake ports of the at least one intake port”.
Within the last two lines of claim 16, the applicant recites, “a plurality of intake ports”. It appears that the applicant is trying to further define the “at least one intake port” as introduced within claim 1. In order to avoid 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues, the examiner suggests stating something like “a plurality of intake ports of the at least one intake port”.
Within the two lines of claim 17, the applicant recites, “at least one intake port”. In order to avoid 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues, the examiner suggests the recitation with something like “at least one of the plurality of intake ports”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. (CN 113186698 A) in view of ZHU (CN 213476404 U).
Regarding claims 1-3, 11 and 14, LI discloses a smoothing appliance comprising: a portable housing having a baseplate (bottom end of 200), a handle (200) and a smoothing head (100) connected to the handle (200), the smoothing head (100) surmounting the handle (200) and the baseplate (bottom end of 200) being in an extension of the handle (200) on an opposite side of the smoothing head (100) (Figures 1, 3 and 5), the appliance further comprising: a steam circuit (170, 130, 211, 300) comprising a steam generator (130) (Figures 1, 3 and 5-7); an air intake circuit (170, 120, 300) comprising a fan (120; note that “the suction device 120 is a suction fan”) configured to be inherently rotated by a motor (it appears that the suction device 120 of LI, as shown in the figures, is a package comprising both a fan/propellers and a motor; regardless, note that the fan/propellers of LI are controlled electronically and therefore must have some form of “motor” to provide rotation), the fan and the motor being disposed in the smoothing head (100) (Figures 1, 3 and 5-7); and wherein the smoothing head (100) comprises a treatment side (around 110) configured to be moved opposite a fabric item (clothes 400; Fig. 4) to be smoothed and a rear side (around 100c) opposite the treatment side, the smoothing head (100) extending in a longitudinal direction between the treatment side and the rear side, the treatment side comprising at least one steam vent (112) connected to the steam circuit and at least one intake port (111) connected to the air intake circuit (Figures 1-7). However, LI fails to disclose wherein an outer plane orthogonal to the longitudinal direction and running through an outermost point of the treatment side relative to the longitudinal direction is spaced at least 1 mm apart from an inner plane parallel to the outer plane and running through the at least one intake port of the treatment side.
ZHU discloses a smoothing appliance comprising a smoothing head (16) with a treatment side wherein an inner plane defined on a surface thereof runs through a plurality of intake ports (12) (Figures 2 and 3). ZHU further discloses the treatment side comprising an outer plane defined by an outer surface of an extended soleplate (steam panel 8) wherein the soleplate (8) includes steam vents (11) disposed thereon in order to diffuse steam and prevent a user from being scolded (by air released from air outlet 13) (Figures 2 and 3). ZHU discloses the outer plane being parallel and spaced from the inner plate (Fig 3); however, ZHU fails to disclose a specific dimension of the spacing. It is considered old and known in the art for a soleplate to have a thickness greater than 4 mm (and thus the spacing to be 4 mm or greater) in order to provide better heat retention, provide better heat/steam distribution and/or provide more efficient wrinkle removal (weight) (for support please note US 8,756,840 B2). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have provided the treatment side of the smoothing head of LI with a soleplate having the at least one stem vent disposed therewithin such that an outer plane orthogonal to the longitudinal direction and running through an outermost point of the treatment side relative to the longitudinal direction is spaced at least 4 mm apart from an inner plane parallel to the outer plane and running through the at least one intake port of the treatment side, in light of the teachings of ZHU and common knowledge in the art, in order to evenly diffuse steam, prevent user injuries and more efficiently remove wrinkles.
Regarding claims 4-6, LI discloses a plurality of intake ports (111) positioned around (close to) an edge of the treatment side (110), the intake ports (111) being grouped around two peripheral areas (left and right areas as shown in figure 2) of the treatment side (110) opposite one another (Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, LI discloses the at least one intake port (111) being slit-shaped and extending along at least one straight line (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, LI in view of ZHU teaches a smoothing appliance as discussed above. Note that the at least one intake port (111) of LI is separated from the at least one steam vent (112) by a distance in a plane orthogonal to the longitudinal direction (Fig. 2). However, neither LI nor ZHU disclose specific dimensions as it relates to the distance between the at least one steam vent and the at least one intake port. It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have provided the distance between the at least one intake port and the at least one steam vent be at least 10 mm because it has been held that the determination of a result-effective variable or a workable/optimum range involves only routine skill in the art (through experimentation) and thus is not a patentable distinguishable feature from the prior art (MPEP 2144.05). Note that the distance between the at least one steam vent and the at least one intake port is a result-effective variable because the distance effects the ability to effectively hold the clothing for proper steaming. Additionally, note that ZHU hints that a healthy, but still functional distance between the intake ports (12) and steam vents (11) aids to prevent injury to a user by reducing the temperature of the air released from the outlet (13) (Fig. 2) (throughout spec).
Regarding claims 12-13, LI in view of ZHU teaches a smoothing appliance comprising an air intake circuit as discussed above. However, LI in view of ZHU fails to disclose specific allowable flow rates of the air intake circuit. It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have configured the air intake circuit of LI in view of ZHU for an air intake flow rate greater than 30 m3/hr and less than 50 m3/hr because it has been held that the determination of a result-effective variable or a workable/optimum range involves only routine skill in the art (through experimentation) and thus is not a patentable distinguishable feature from the prior art (MPEP 2144.05). Note that the air intake flow rate would be a result-effective variable because the amount of air intake effects the suction power thereof and thus the ability to hold the clothing to be ironed.
Regarding claim 15, LI discloses the treatment side (110) having a substantially rectangular shape and comprising a plurality of intake ports (111) disposed along two long sides of the rectangular shape (Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 16-17, LI in view of ZHU teaches a smoothing appliance comprising a treatment side as discussed above. However, LI in view of ZHU fails to teach the treatment side having a substantially triangular shape. Applicant has not disclosed that having a triangular shaped treatment side further solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose besides personal preference. Note that LI discloses the treatment side (110) having a substantially rectangular shape with a plurality of intake ports (111) disposed along two long sides of the rectangular shape (Fig. 2). Moreover, it appears that the treatment side having a substantially rectangular shape, as taught by LI, would perform equally well for holding and steaming clothing items. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have provided the treatment side of LI in view of ZHU with a triangular shape because it appears to be an arbitrary design consideration which fails to patentable distinguish over LI and ZHU.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. (CN 113186698 A) in view of ZHU (CN 213476404 U) and in further view of GELUS (WO 2021/185572 A1).
LI in view of ZHU teaches a smoothing appliance comprising a treatment side as discussed above. However, LI in view of ZHU fails to disclose the treatment side comprising a curved profile. GELUS discloses a smoothing appliance comprising a treatment side comprising a curved profile (“slightly convex”; note treatment surface 5 as shown in figure 3) wherein one with ordinary skill in the art can see that a curved profile would be beneficial in providing a smoother movement of a clothes item thereon. According, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have provided the treatment side of the smoothing appliance of LI in view of ZHU with a curved profile, in light of the teachings of GELUS, in order for a clothing item to more easily slid with respect thereto.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, as cited on attached PTO-892, and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. As discussed within the prior art rejection above, ADKINS et al. (US 8,756,840 B2) discloses that it is common for a sole plate to be 4.0 mm or greater in thickness (Summary Section).
NED
/NATHAN E DURHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732