Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 42-44 and 61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Riccardi et al. (PG Pub. 20160122585).
Regarding claim 1, Riccardi et al. teaches an article comprising a textile substrate comprising a surface, a plurality of nanostructures (nanoparticles) comprising a polymer on the surface of the substrate and a layer containing a polymerized silane and/or polymerized siloxane wherein the layer covers a portion of the surface and at least a portion of the plurality of nanostructures and wherein a surface of the article is hydrophobic or oleophobic [0072-0073 and Examples 16-17].
Regarding claim 3, Riccardi et al. teaches a method of forming an article, comprising exposing a surface of a substrate to a plasma comprising a monomer [Abstract] and producing a plurality of nanostructures (nanoparticles) on the surface without etching the surface (etching is not taught), wherein the plurality of nanostructures comprises a polymer formed from the monomer [Abstract], wherein the plurality of nanostructures comprises less than or equal to 0.5 at% fluorine atoms (the nanoparticles contain no fluorine atoms), and wherein a surface of the article is hydrophobic and/or oleophobic [0064, 0072-0073 and Examples 16-17].
Regarding claim 5, the plasma is supplied a power in the claimed range [0059].
Regarding clam 6, Riccardi et al. teach forming a second layer comprising a polymerized silane and/or a polymerized siloxane on the plurality of nanostructures as Riccardi et al. teach a second layer of polymerized silane and/or a polymerized siloxane on the first layer with the nanoparticles [0049, 0068 and Examples 16-17].
Regarding claim 7, the second layer is formed by exposing the substrate to a second plasma comprising a silane and/or a siloxane on the plurality of nanostructures [0049, 0068 and Examples 16-17].
Regarding claim 42, Riccardi et al. teach the substrate and the plurality of nanostructures have different chemical composition [0063-0072].
Regarding claim 43-44, Riccardi et al. teach the plurality of nanostructures are discrete nanostructures and at least a portion of the nanostructures are isolated nanostructures that are not in contact with other nanostructures [Fig. 4].
Regarding claim 61, Riccardi et al. teach the layer comprises a composition gradient between at least two components of polymerized silane and/or polymerized siloxane (example 19 teaches a controlling relative amounts of each monomer of the plasma and the instant specification states “Without wishing to bound by any particular theory, in some embodiments a composition gradient within a layer may be created by controlling a relative amount of each monomer of the plasma.” and therefore, Riccardi et al. teach the composition gradient between at least two components of polymerized silane and/or polymerized siloxane [Example 19].
Claims 14, 23 and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Riccardi et al. (PG Pub. 20200362507, hereinafter referred to as ‘507).
Regarding claims 14, 23, 26, ‘507 teaches a method comprising positioning a metal electrode proximate (greater than 0.1 mm is taught) a first 26 surface of a textile, sputtering metal nanoparticles off the electrode and onto the surface of the textile and an exposing the surface of the textile to a first plasma to form a plurality of nanostructures (‘507 teaches using oxygen and aluminum among other electrodes which would yield oxidized aluminum nanostructures) [Abstract, 0030-0031, 0041-0042, 0044].
Regarding claim 25, ‘507 teaches the electrode(cathode or antenna upper plate) has a greater cross-sectional area than a cross-section of the substrate (PET fabric on lower plate) subjected to the plasma [0067].
Regarding claim 27, the substrate is between the plasma and the electrode [0067].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riccardi et al. (PG Pub. 20160122585)
Regarding claim 9, Riccardi et al. teach plasma in the claimed range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the claimed plasma power for the second plasma containing silane and/or a siloxane in order to improve polymerization or adhesion and arrive at the claimed invention.
Claims 2, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riccardi et al. (PG Pub. 20160122585) in view of Dubois et al. (PG Pub. 20060084282).
Regarding claim 2, Riccardi et al. is silent regarding the claimed elastic modulus of the layer containing a polymerized silane and/or polymerized siloxane. However, Dubois et al. teach using organosilicate monomers with oxycarbosilanes to form film layers that have an elastic modulus in the claimed range in order to improve mechanical properties [0033 and 0036]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the elastic modulus and film of Dubois et al. in Riccardi et al. in order to improve mechanical properties and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 11-12, Riccardi et al. is silent regarding the claimed elastic modulus of the layers containing a polymerized silane and/or polymerized siloxane. However, Dubois et al. teach using organosilicate monomers with oxycarbosilanes to form film layers (first and second layers) that have an elastic modulus in the claimed range in order to improve mechanical properties [0033 and 0036]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the elastic modulus and film layers of Dubois et al. in the first and second layers of Riccardi et al. in order to improve mechanical properties and arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 45 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riccardi et al. (PG Pub. 20160122585) in view of Tricoli et al. (PG Pub. 20170100912).
Regarding claim 45, Riccardi et al. are silent regarding the claimed average roughness. However, Tricoli et al. teaches using nanoparticle treated fabric with an average roughness in the claimed range(0.15-0.05 microns) in order to achieve super hydrophobicity [0148 and 0354]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the average roughness taught by Tricoli et al. in Riccardi et al. in order to achieve super hydrophobicity and arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riccardi et al. (PG Pub. 20160122585) in view of Luzinov et al. (WO 2006132694).
Regarding claim 49, Riccardi et al. are silent regarding the claimed average peak to peak spacing of the plurality of nanostructures. However, Luzinov et al. teaches average peak to peak spacing of the plurality of nanostructures in the claimed range (taught as 100-130nm and the average peak to peak spacing of the plurality of nanostructures is taught as less than 3d where d is the cross-section measure of a single nanostructure which was taught as 100-130nm and therefore equals 0.36 microns or less… it is also noted Luzinov et al. teach embodiments where d =higher amounts including 500nm) in order to attain a suitable topology and structures across the surface and more uniformity across the surface [0010 and 0030, 0036]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the average peak to peak spacing of the plurality of nanostructures of Luzinov et al. in Riccardi et al. in order to attain a suitable topology and structures across the surface and more uniformity across the surface and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 14, 23, 26, Riccardi et al. teaches a method comprising positioning a metal electrode proximate (greater than 0.1 mm is taught) a first 26 surface of a textile, sputtering metal nanoparticles off the electrode and onto the surface of the textile and an exposing the surface of the textile to a first plasma to form a plurality of nanostructures (Riccardi et al. teach using oxygen and aluminum among other electrodes which would yield oxidized aluminum nanostructures) [Abstract, 0030-0031, 0041-0042, 0044].
Regarding claim 25, Riccardi et al. teach the electrode(cathode or antenna upper plate) has a greater cross-sectional area than a cross-section of the substrate (PET fabric on lower plate) subjected to the plasma [0067].
Regarding claim 27, the substrate is between the plasma and the electrode [0067].
Prior Art Not Used but Relevant
CN110665768 teaches an article comprising a textile substrate comprising a surface, a layer containing a polymerized silane and/or polymerized siloxane wherein a surface of the article is hydrophobic or oleophobic
Conclusion
/Shawn Mckinnon/Examiner, Art Unit 1789