DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
Claims 1-15 are currently under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anderson (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0273212).
Regarding Claim 1, Anderson discloses a lifting tool (Anderson: Paragraph [0066]) for lifting, installing and/or retrieving oil and gas production equipment or carbon storage equipment, the lifting tool (Anderson: Paragraph [0066]) comprising:
A base (Anderson: 150) configured to be removably connected to the equipment; and
A fixing device (Anderson: 125) mounted to the base (Anderson: 150) and configured to be connected to a lifting line (Anderson: Paragraph [0039]) extending to a lifting device, wherein the lifting tool (Anderson: Paragraph [0066]) is configured such that a position of the fixing device (Anderson: 125) is continuously adjustable along a line (axis between opposing wedge members 170) extending across at least part of the base (Anderson: 150) so as to adjust an offset between the fixing device (Anderson: 125) and a center of gravity of the lifting tool (Anderson: Paragraph [0066])(Anderson: positions of wedge members 170 within 150 are actuated to move the contained equipment horizontally relative to 125).
Regarding Claim 2, Anderson discloses the lifting tool (Anderson: Paragraph [0066]) as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a mechanism (Anderson: 161) for adjusting the position of the fixing device (Anderson: 125).
Regarding Claim 3, Anderson discloses the lifting tool (Anderson: Paragraph [0066]) as claimed in claim 2, wherein the mechanism (Anderson: 161) is configured to be remotely actuated (Anderson: via hydraulic lines 168, 169).
Regarding Claim 4, Anderson discloses the lifting tool (Anderson: Paragraph [0066]) as claimed in claim 2, wherein the mechanism (Anderson: 161) is configured to be actuated by an ROV (Anderson: Paragraph [0053]).
Regarding Claim 5, Anderson discloses the lifting tool (Anderson: Paragraph [0066]) as claimed in claim 2, wherein the mechanism (Anderson: 161) comprises a linear actuator (Anderson: Paragraph [0048]).
Regarding Claim 11, Anderson discloses a method of lifting, installing and/or retrieving oil and gas production equipment or carbon storage equipment, the method comprising:
Attaching the lifting tool (Anderson: Paragraph [0066]) as claimed in claim 1 to the equipment; and
Before or after attaching the lifting tool (Anderson: Paragraph [0066]) to the equipment, adjusting the position of the fixing device (Anderson: 125) to adjust an offset between the fixing device (Anderson: 125) and a center of gravity of the lifting tool (Anderson: Paragraph [0066])(actuating 161 changes the center of gravity).
Regarding Claim 12, Anderson discloses The method as claimed in claim 11 , further comprising connecting the fixing device (Anderson: 125) to a lifting line (Anderson: Paragraph [0039]), wherein when the lifting tool (Anderson: Paragraph [0066]) and the equipment are suspended by the lifting line (Anderson: Paragraph [0039]), the lifting line (Anderson: Paragraph [0039]) is aligned with the center of gravity of a combined weight being lifted via the lifting line (Anderson: Paragraph [0039]).
Regarding Claim 13, Anderson discloses a method of installing oil and gas equipment or carbon storage equipment subsea, the method comprising:
Attaching the lifting tool (Anderson: Paragraph [0066]) as claimed in claim 1 to the equipment;
Connecting the fixing device (Anderson: 125) to a lifting line (Anderson: Paragraph [0039]);
Lowering the equipment with the fixing device (Anderson: 125) offset from the center of the lifting tool (Anderson: Paragraph [0066]) so as to align the lifting line (Anderson: Paragraph [0039]) with the center of gravity of a combined weight being lifted via the lifting line (Anderson: Paragraph [0039])(actuating 161 changes the center of gravity);
Adjusting the position of the fixing device (Anderson: 125) to bring the lifting line (Anderson: Paragraph [0039]) into alignment with the center of gravity of the lifting tool (Anderson: Paragraph [0066]);
Before or after adjusting the position of the fixing device (Anderson: 125), disconnecting the lifting tool (Anderson: Paragraph [0066]) from the equipment; and
Retrieving the lifting tool (Anderson: Paragraph [0066]).
Regarding Claim 14, Anderson discloses a method of retrieving subsea oil and gas equipment or carbon storage equipment, the method comprising:
Connecting the fixing device (Anderson: 125) of a lifting tool (Anderson: Paragraph [0066]) as claimed in claim 1 to a lifting line (Anderson: Paragraph [0039]);
Lowering the lifting tool (Anderson: Paragraph [0066]) to the equipment with the fixing device (Anderson: 125) positioned to align the lifting line (Anderson: Paragraph [0039]) with the center of gravity of the lifting tool (Anderson: Paragraph [0066]);
Connecting the lifting tool (Anderson: Paragraph [0066]) to the equipment;
Before or after connecting the lifting tool (Anderson: Paragraph [0066]) to the equipment, adjusting the position of the fixing device (Anderson: 125) to be offset from the center of gravity of the lifting tool (Anderson: Paragraph [0066])(actuating 161 to open body) so as to align the lifting line (Anderson: Paragraph [0039]) with the center of gravity of a combined weight to be lifted via the lifting line (Anderson: Paragraph [0039]); and
Raising the lifting tool (Anderson: Paragraph [0066]) and the equipment.
Regarding Claim 15, Anderson discloses the method as claimed in claim 13, wherein the adjusting the position of the fixing device (Anderson: 125) is affected by a linear actuator (Anderson: Paragraph [0048]), wherein the linear actuator (Anderson: Paragraph [0048]) is remotely actuated by a hydraulic or electrical signal, or wherein the linear actuator (Anderson: Paragraph [0048]) is actuated by an ROV (Anderson: Paragraph [0053]) or a diver.
Claims 1, 2, and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jiang (CN 207030725 U).
Regarding Claim 1, Jiang discloses a lifting tool for lifting, installing and/or retrieving oil and gas production equipment or carbon storage equipment, the lifting tool comprising:
A base (Jiang: 8, 9) configured to be removably connected to the equipment; and
A fixing device (Jiang: 1, 2, 3) mounted to the base (Jiang: 8, 9) and configured to be connected to a lifting line (Jiang: Figure 1: line extending from top of 3) extending to a lifting device, wherein the lifting tool is configured such that a position of the fixing device (Jiang: 1, 2, 3) is continuously adjustable along a line extending across at least part of the base (Jiang: 8, 9) so as to adjust an offset between the fixing device (Jiang: 1, 2, 3) and a center of gravity of the lifting tool (Jiang: Utility model: object can self-adjust with pully group to reach an equilibrium).
Regarding Claim 2, Jiang discloses the lifting tool (Jiang: Paragraph [0066]) as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a mechanism (Jiang:5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10) for adjusting the position of the fixing device (Jiang: 1, 2, 3).
Regarding Claim 6, Jiang discloses the lifting tool (Jiang: Paragraph [0066]) as claimed in claim 2, wherein the mechanism (Jiang:5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10) comprises a threaded screw (Jiang: 5).
Regarding Claim 7, Jiang discloses The lifting tool as claimed in claim 6, further comprising a drive component (Jiang: 2) having an internal threaded surface for engaging with the threaded screw (Jiang: 5) such that rotation of the threaded screw (Jiang: 5) moves the drive component (Jiang: 2) along the threaded screw (Jiang: 5), wherein the fixing device (Jiang: 1, 2, 3) is configured to move with the drive component (Jiang: 2).
Regarding Claim 8, Jiang discloses the lifting tool (Jiang: Paragraph [0066]) as claimed in claim 7, wherein the drive component (Jiang: 2) comprises a pin (Jiang: pin connecting elements 2 and 3) extending through the fixing device (Jiang: 1, 2, 3) transverse to the threaded screw (Jiang: 5).
Regarding Claim 9, Jiang discloses the lifting tool (Jiang: Paragraph [0066]) as claimed in claim 8, wherein the fixing device (Jiang: 1, 2, 3) comprises a body, the pin (Jiang: pin connecting elements 2 and 3) extending from a first side of the body through an aperture therein to a second, opposite side of the body.
Regarding Claim 10, Jiang discloses The lifting tool (Jiang: Paragraph [0066]) as claimed in claim 9, further comprising a housing (Jiang: 4, 10) in which the threaded screw (Jiang: 5) is mounted, the housing having planar side walls which extend parallel to the threaded screw (Jiang: 5), wherein the body is configured to fit over the housing and to engage with the planar side walls such that the housing acts to guide and or stabilize the movement of the fixing device (Jiang: 1, 2, 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 2, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the applicant argues that “the lifting device” is not cited by Anderson. The applicant also argues that the fixing device 125 of Anderson is not mounted to the base 150 as required and instead is attached to body 110. In reference to the disclosure of Jiang, the applicant further argues that Jiang does not disclose a lifting tool for use with oil and gas production equipment or carbon storage equipment.
The examiner respectfully submits that in the disclosure of Anderson, the examiner respectfully submits that element 125 of Anderson is mounted to 150 by utilizing 110, and as such anticipates the limitations as they are currently presented.
The examiner further submits that with regards to Jiang, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
The Examiner has deleted the incorrect references to paragraphs 39 and 66 in the rejection over Jiang. In view of this updated rejection, this action is hereby made non-final.
Conclusion
DOUGLAS S. WOOD
Examiner
Art Unit 3672
/DOUGLAS S WOOD/Examiner, Art Unit 3672
/Nicole Coy/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3672