DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “user-operable length selection means” and “fastening means” in claims 1, 5-8, 11 and 12.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170080312 (hereinafter “Dickerson”) in view of US 20090258735 (hereinafter “Nash”) and US 20190083870 (hereinafter “Kapsalis”).
Regarding claim 1, Dickerson discloses a goal for use in a ball sport that has a net assembly (Fig. 1, 100) comprising:
a net (Fig. 2, 70);
a first flexible post member and a second flexible post member, each of the first flexible post member and the second flexible post member attached to an edge of the net (Fig. 1, 72 left and right), and a flexible crossbar member (Fig. 1, 74) attached to another edge of the net and extending from an upper end of the first flexible post member to an upper end of the second flexible post member; and
a frame (Fig. 1, 12) comprising one or more frame members configured to hold the net assembly in tension to form a goal having an opening defined by the first flexible post member, the second flexible post member and the flexible crossbar member with the net behind the opening to catch, in use, any balls passing through the opening;
Dickerson does not disclose that the flexible crossbar member has a first user-operable length selection means associated therewith, the first user-operable length selection means being operable to adjust a length of the flexible crossbar member and secure the flexible crossbar member at a user- selected length; and
the frame comprises a frame member spanning a width of the goal, wherein the frame member has a second user-operable length selection means associated therewith, the second user-operable length selection means being operable to adjust a length of the frame member and secure the frame member at a user-selected length;
wherein a width of the goal may be is adjustable, in use, by corresponding adjustments of the first user-operable length selection means and the second user-operable length selection means, thereby changing the respective lengths of the flexible crossbar member and the frame member spanning the width of the goal.
Nash discloses a similar sports goal that is telescopically collapsible that may be used for different sports by adjusting the height, width, and length of the structure (Abstract; Para. 0005). Thus, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the frame of Dickerson adjustable, as taught by Nash, to provide the user the ability to practice different sports.
Kapsalis discloses a sports goal with a flexible member that is adjustable through straps and fasteners (Fig. 9B, 945) to support the frame and give proper strength and tautness (Para. 0070). Thus, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the flexible crossbar of Dickerson with adjustable straps and fasteners as taught by Kapsalis to enhance adjustability and structural support of the goal.
Regarding claim 2, modified Dickerson further discloses the goal is configured such that the goal can adopt a plurality of discrete widths (Nash: Para. 0020). Reasons for combination are as stated supra in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, modified Dickerson further discloses the goal is configured such that the width is adjustable to adopt any value within a range of values (Nash: Para. 0020). Reasons for combination are as stated supra in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, modified Dickerson further discloses the frame member spanning the width of the goal is a rear frame member forming part of a base of the frame (Dickerson: Fig. 1, 14).
Regarding claim 5, modified Dickerson further discloses the first user-operable length selection means associated with the flexible crossbar member comprises a mechanical fastening means or a magnetic fastening means (Kapsalis: Fig. 9B, 945). Reasons for combination are as stated supra in claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, modified Dickerson further discloses the second user-operable length selection means associated with the frame member spanning the width of the goal comprises one or more telescopic portions of the frame member (Dickerson: Fig. 1, 14; Nash: Abstract). Reasons for combination are as stated supra in claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, modified Dickerson further discloses the second-user operable length selection means associated with the frame member spanning the width of the goal comprises a spring locking button mechanism (Nash: Fig. 4). Reasons for combination are as stated supra in claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, modified Dickerson further discloses that the first flexible post member has a first user-operable length selection means associated therewith, the first user-operable length selection means being operable to adjust a length of the first flexible post member and secure the first flexible post member at a user-selected length (Dickerson: Fig. 1, 72 – left and Kapsalis: Para. 0070);
the frame has a second user-operable length selection means associated therewith, the second user-operable length selection means being operable to adjust a height of the frame adjacent the first flexible post member and secure the frame at a user-selected height (Dickerson: Fig. 1, 26 and Nash: Abstract; Para. 0005);
the second flexible post member has a third user-operable length selection means associated therewith, the third user-operable length selection means being operable to adjust a length of the second flexible post member and secure the second flexible post member at a user-selected length (Dickerson: Fig. 1, 72 – right and Kapsalis: Para. 0070);
the frame has a fourth user-operable length selection means associated therewith, the fourth user-operable length selection means being operable to adjust a height of the frame adjacent the second flexible post member and secure the frame at a user-selected height (Dickerson: Fig. 1, 28 and Nash: Abstract; Para. 0005);
wherein a height of the goal is adjustable, in use, by corresponding adjustments of the first user-operable length selection means and the second user-operable length selection means and corresponding adjustments of the third user-operable length selection means and the fourth user-operable length selection means, thereby: changing the length of the first flexible post member and the height of the frame adjacent the first flexible post member; and changing the length of the second flexible post member and the height of the frame adjacent the second flexible post member.
Though the frame members (Fig. 1, 26 and 28) that account for height in Dickerson’s goal are not disclosed to be adjustable, Nash discloses a goal with telescoping members to adjust width and height of the goal. Therefore, this combination of teachings renders this limitation obvious. See claim 1 for additional explanation.
Regarding claim 9, modified Dickerson further discloses the goal is configured such that the goal can adopt a plurality of discrete heights (Nash: Para. 0020). Reasons for combination are as stated supra in claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, modified Dickerson further discloses the goal is configured such that the height is adjustable to adopt any value within a range of values (Nash: Para. 0020). Reasons for combination are as stated supra in claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, modified Dickerson further discloses the first user-operable length selection means associated with the first flexible post member comprises a mechanical fastening means or a magnetic fastening means; and/or the third user-operable length selection means associated with the second flexible post member comprises a mechanical fastening means or a magnetic fastening means (Kapsalis: Fig. 9B, 945). Reasons for combination are as stated supra in claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Dickerson discloses a net assembly (Fig. 1, 100) comprising:
a net (Fig. 2, 70);
a first flexible post member and a second flexible post member, each of the first flexible post member and the second flexible post member attached to an edge of the net (Fig. 1, 72 – left and right), and a flexible crossbar member (Fig. 1, 74) attached to another edge of the net and extending from an upper end of the first flexible post member to an upper end of the second flexible post member; and
a frame (Fig. 1, 12) comprising one or more frame members configured to hold the net assembly in tension to form a goal having an opening defined by the first flexible post member, the second flexible post member and the flexible crossbar member with the net behind the opening to catch, in use, any balls passing through the opening;
Dickerson does not disclose that the first flexible post member has a first user-operable length selection means associated therewith, the first user-operable length selection means being operable to adjust a length of the first flexible post member and secure the first flexible post member at a user- selected length;
the frame has a second user-operable length selection means associated therewith, the second user-operable length selection means being operable to adjust a height of the frame adjacent the first flexible post member and secure the frame at a user-selected height;
the second flexible post member has a third user-operable length selection means associated therewith, the third user-operable length selection means being operable to adjust a length of the second flexible post member and secure the second flexible post member at a user-selected length;
the frame has a fourth user-operable length selection means associated therewith, the fourth user-operable length selection means being operable to adjust a height of the frame adjacent the second flexible post member and secure the frame at a user-selected height;
wherein a height of the goal is adjustable, in use, by corresponding adjustments of the first user-operable length selection means and the second user-operable length selection means and corresponding adjustments of the third user-operable length selection means and the fourth user-operable length selection means, thereby: changing the length of the first flexible post member and the height of the frame adjacent the first flexible post member; and changing the length of the second flexible post member and the height of the frame adjacent the second flexible post member.
Nash discloses a similar sports goal that is telescopically collapsible that may be used for different sports by adjusting the height, width, and length of the structure (Abstract; Para. 0005). Thus, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the frame of Dickerson adjustable, as taught by Nash, to provide the user the ability to practice different sports.
Kapsalis discloses a sports goal with a flexible member that is adjustable through straps and fasteners (Fig. 9B, 945) to support the frame and give proper strength and tautness (Para. 0070). Thus, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the flexible crossbar of Dickerson with adjustable straps and fasteners as taught by Kapsalis to enhance adjustability and structural support of the goal.
Thus, in combination, modified Dickerson teaches a height-adjustable sports goal with an adjustable frame and adjustable flexible members. For further explanation, refer to references in claim 8.
Regarding claim 13, modified Dickerson further discloses one or more of the first flexible post member, the second flexible post member and the flexible crossbar member are foldable and/or rollable (Dickerson: Para. 0047; Fig. 1, 72 and 74 – reinforcement tape inherently able to fold).
Regarding claim 14, modified Dickerson further discloses one or more semi-rigid poles (Dickerson: Fig. 1, 26 and 28).
Regarding claim 15, modified Dickerson further discloses the frame comprises one or more pole receiving sleeves and one or more of the pole receiving sleeves receives a lower end of one of the semi-rigid poles (Dickerson: Fig. 1, 22 and 24).
Regarding claim 16, modified Dickerson further discloses one or more of the first flexible post member, the second flexible post member and the flexible crossbar member are foldable and/or rollable (Dickerson: Para. 0047; Fig. 1, 72 and 74 – reinforcement tape inherently able to fold).
Regarding claim 17, modified Dickerson further discloses one or more semi-rigid poles (Dickerson: Fig. 1, 26 and 28).
Regarding claim 18, modified Dickerson further discloses the frame comprises one or more pole receiving sleeves and one or more of the pole receiving sleeves receives a lower end of one of the semi-rigid poles (Dickerson: Fig. 1, 22 and 24).
Conclusion
/S.M.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3711 /EUGENE L KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3711