DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/11/2026 is acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provision of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 7 be found allowable, claim 16 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites “removable tank” in line 3. It is unclear “removable tank” in claim 20 is the same or different from “a liquid tank” in claim 18. For the purpose of applying art, “removable tank” is interpreted as the same as the liquid tank in claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-10 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2014/0373402) in view of Zhang (US 2013/0086954)(hereinafter Zhang’954).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a smoothing appliance (fig. 1, apparatus 100) comprising:
a steam circuit (para. [0052], a steam generating device is arranged internally to mount 1),
an air intake circuit (fig. 2, dust collection casing 10, a centrifugal fan formed by centrifugal impellers 11, and a fan motor 12), and
a portable housing (fig. 1) having a handle (fig. 2) coupled to a smoothing head (figs. 2-3, a head portion of the device) having a treatment side (fig. 3, contacting side of the panel 7) configured to be placed opposite a fabric item to be smoothed (abstract), wherein the treatment side comprises at least one steam vent (fig. 3, steam ejection holes 8) connected to the steam circuit comprising a steam generator (fig. 1, para. [0052]) and intake ports (fig. 3, air suction holes 9) connected to the air intake circuit comprising a fan (fig. 2, a centrifugal fan formed by centrifugal impellers 11) configured to be rotated by a motor (fig. 2, motor 12), the appliance including a controller (fig. 2, para. [0052], controlling electric switch 5) for controlling steam release through the at least one steam vent and air intake through the intake ports (para. [0017], [0052], the controlling electric switch is a multi-position slide switch, so that the apparatus may be controlled in various modes, i.e., it may be controlled to clean the clothing only, or iron the clothing only, or both clean and iron the clothing), wherein the controller is configured to enable the steam release in a first operating mode and configured to enable steam release combined with air intake in a second operating mode (para. [0017]), wherein the intake ports are configured for air intake that draws the fabric item against the treatment side when the smoothing appliance is in the second operating mode (para. [0051], holes 9 are air suction holes).
Zhang does not teach the first and second intake ports are located on opposite sides of the treatment side.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang’954 teaches the first and second intake ports are located on opposite sides of the treatment side (fig. 2, para. [0012], [0039], steam ejection holes are located at the center of the ironing panel and the air suction holes are located at the periphery of the ironing panel).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Zhang with positions of first and second intake ports located on opposite sides of the treatment side as taught by Zhang’954 for the benefit of providing balance and stability in ironing clothes.
Regarding claim 2, the modified structure Zhang-Zhang’954 teaches the controller comprises a push button including a push button head configured to enable the steam release when the push button head is depressed over a first depression stroke and enable the steam release combined with the air intake when the push button head is depressed over a second depression stroke (Zhang, para. [0017], [0052], the multi-position slide switch is configured to enable the steam release (to iron the clothing only) in a first mode and configured to enable the steam release and air intake (to iron the clothing and clean the clothing by suction effect) in a second mode).
Regarding claim 3, the modified structure Zhang-Zhang’954 does not clearly teach the second depression stroke extends beyond the first depression stroke.
However, Zhang teaches switch (5) is a multi-position slide switch (para. [0052]) so that apparatus is operated in various modes of operation.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure Zhang-Zhang’954 with the second depression stroke extends beyond the first depression stroke for the benefit of adjusting the modes of operation by sliding the switch between two or more positions. Rearrangement of relative positions of the multi-position slide switch to adjust between operation modes is not patentable. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 4, the modified structure Zhang-Zhang’954 does not teach in fig. 1 the controller comprises a first actuator configured to activate the steam release, and a second actuator configured to activate the air intake.
However, Zhang teaches ,in fig. 7, there are two rotary button controlling switches (315); one switch is electrically connected with the motor of the fan for controlling the motor and the other switch is electrically connected with the electric heat tube of the steam generating device for controlling on and off of the heating of the generating device (para. [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify fig. 1 of the modified structure Zhang-Zhang’954 with a first actuator configured to activate the steam release, and a second actuator configured to activate the air intake as taught in fig. 7 of Zhang for the benefit of providing various modes of operation by controlling cleaning and/or ironing the clothing functions.
Regarding claim 5, the modified structure Zhang-Zhang’954 does not teach in fig. 1 the controller comprises a third actuator configured to activate the steam release combined with the air intake, and a fourth actuator configured to stop the air intake.
However, Zhang teaches, in fig. 7, there are two rotary button controlling switches (315); one switch is electrically connected with the motor of the fan for controlling the motor and the other switch is electrically connected with the electric heat tube of the steam generating device for controlling on and off of the heating of the generating device (para. [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify fig. 1 of the modified structure Zhang-Zhang’954 with a first actuator configured to activate the steam release, and a second actuator configured to activate the air intake as taught in fig. 7 of Zhang for the benefit of providing various modes of operation by controlling cleaning and/or ironing the clothing functions.
Then the modified structure Zhang-Zhang’954 teaches a third actuator (by turning on two switches) configured to activate the steam release combined with the air intake, and a fourth actuator (by turning off the switch connected with the motor of the fan) configured to stop the air intake.
Regarding claim 6, the modified structure Zhang-Zhang’954 teaches the controller is disposed on the handle of the appliance (Zhang, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, the modified structure Zhang-Zhang’954 teaches the appliance comprises a base (Zhang, fig. 1, mount 1) connected to the smoothing head by a flexible pipe (Zhang, fig. 1, pipe 3, para. [0022]).
Regarding claim 10, the modified structure Zhang-Zhang’954 teaches the base comprises the steam generator (Zhang, para. [0052]).
Regarding claim 12, the modified structure Zhang-Zhang’954 teaches a method for ironing out a fabric item to be pressed using the smoothing appliance of claim 1, the method comprising:
placing the treatment side opposite a fabric item (Zhang, abstract);
contacting the treatment side to the fabric item, the contacting step comprising at least one steam release step with no air intake (Zhang, para. [0017], [0068], by turning on the heating of the generating device) and at least one steam release step combined with air intake (Zhang, para. [0017], [0068], by turning on both the motor of the fan and the heating of the generating device); and
stopping the appliance, the stopping step comprising at least one intake stop step and at least one steam release stop step (Zhang, para. [0017], [0068], by turning off both the motor of the fan and the heating of the generating device).
Regarding claim 13, the modified structure Zhang-Zhang’954 teaches the steam vent is located between the first and the second intake ports (Zhang’954, fig. 2, para. [0039]).
Regarding claim 14, the modified structure Zhang-Zhang’954 teaches the air intake circuits is bifurcated between the first and the second intake ports (Zhang’954, fig. 2, there are an upper portion of chamber 6 and a lower portion of chamber 6).
Regarding claim 15, the modified structure Zhang-Zhang’954 teaches a treatment plate located on the treatment side of the smoothing head (Zhang, fig. 3, a groove 15 separating steam ejection holes 8 and air suction holes 9 into two plates, a treatment plate is an upper plate of the two plates), the treatment plate, in relation to a longitudinal axis of the handle, is positioned between the controller and one of the first or the second intake ports (annotated Zhang fig. 2 below).
Claims 7-8, 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2014/0373402) in view of Zhang (US 2013/0086954), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Javit (US 2020/0071874).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, the modified structure Zhang-Zhang’954 teaches the handle, the smoothing head (Zhang, fig. 2) and the steam generator are incorporated into the portable housing (Zhang, fig. 1, para. [0052]), the portable housing comprising a liquid tank (Zhang, para. [0052]).
The modified structure Zhang-Zhang’954 does not clearly teach a pump configured to supply liquid to the steam generator.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Javit teaches a pump (fig. 1, pump 7) configured to supply liquid to the steam generator (para. [0081]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure Zhang-Zhang’954 with a pump configured to supply liquid to the steam generator as taught by Javit for the benefit of supplying the water from the water tank to the steam generator for generating steam in ironing the clothing.
Regarding claim 8, the modified structure Zhang-Zhang’954-Javit teaches the smoothing head is connected to an upper end of the handle (Zhang, fig. 1) and the portable housing comprises a baseplate connected to a lower end of the handle (Zhang, fig. 1, the mount 1 is connected to a lower end of the handle), the steam generator (Zhang, para. [0022], [0052]), the liquid tank (Zhang, para. [0052]) and the pump being disposed in the baseplate (Javit, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, the modified structure Zhang-Zhang’954 teaches the base comprises a liquid tank (Zhang, para. [0052]).
The modified structure Zhang-Zhang’954 does not clearly teach a pump configured to supply liquid to the steam generator.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Javit teaches a pump (fig. 1, pump 7) configured to supply liquid to the steam generator (para. [0081]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure Zhang-Zhang’954 with a pump configured to supply liquid to the steam generator as taught by Javit for the benefit of supplying the water from the water tank to the steam generator for generating steam in ironing the clothing.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2014/0373402) in view of Zhang (US 2013/0086954), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yang (US 2012/0023790).
Regarding claim 17, the modified structure Zhang-Zhang’954 does not teach the smoothing appliance weighs less than 2 kg.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches typical electric irons weigh 1.5-3 kg including the weight of the water in a fully filled tank (para. [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure Zhang-Zhang’954 with the teaching that the smoothing appliance weighs less than 2 kg as suggested by Yang as it is well known in the art.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN206289448 (hereinafter CN’448) in view of Zhang (US 2014/0373402) and Bofill (US 2022/0152256).
Regarding claim 18, CN’448 teaches a smoothing appliance (fig. 1), comprising:
a controller (7), and
a handheld housing defining a smoothing head (1), a handle (2), and a bottom surface facing away from the smoothing head (fig. 1), wherein the handle extends from the smoothing head toward the bottom surface, the handheld housing further including a liquid tank (5) located in the handheld housing, the bottom surface defining a terminal end of the smoothing appliance (fig. 1),
wherein the handheld housing includes a steam circuit (fig. 1, steam generator 8) and an air intake circuit (fig. 1, suction channel 4, suction port 301 and fan 3 are controlled by the controller 7), and the smoothing head has a treatment side (101) configured to be placed opposite a fabric item to be smoothed, wherein the treatment side comprises at least one steam vent (104) connected to the steam circuit comprising a steam generator (8) and at least one intake port (102) connected to the air intake circuit comprising a fan (3) configured to be rotated by a motor, the controller configured to control steam release through the steam vent and air intake through the intake port (fig. 1),
wherein the handle, the smoothing head and the steam generator are incorporated into the handheld housing (fig. 1), the handheld housing further comprising a pump (6) configured to supply liquid from the liquid tank to the steam generator.
CN’448 does not teach the controller is configured to enable the steam release in a first operating mode and configured to enable steam release combined with air intake through the at least one intake port in a second operating mode such that the fabric is drawn against the treatment side of the smoothing head.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches the controller is configured to enable the steam release in a first operating mode and configured to enable steam release combined with air intake through the at least one intake port in a second operating mode such that the fabric is drawn against the treatment side of the smoothing head (para. [0017]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine CN’448 with the teaching of Zhang that the controller is configured to enable the steam release in a first operating mode and configured to enable steam release combined with air intake through the at least one intake port in a second operating mode such that the fabric is drawn against the treatment side of the smoothing head, for the benefit of suiting user’s needs, i.e. cleaning the clothing only, ironing the clothing only or both cleaning and ironing the clothing (Zhang, para. [0017]).
The modified structure CN’448-Zhang does not teach the liquid tank having an opening.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Bofill teaches the reservoir has a fill opening (para. [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure CN’448-Zhang with a tank opening as taught by Bofill for the benefit of filling the tank when tank water is used up.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN206289448, Zhang (US 2014/0373402) and Bofill (US 2022/0152256), as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Glassman (US 2011/0225858).
Regarding claim 19, the modified structure CN’448-Zhang-Bofill does not teach the liquid tank includes a transparent shell that defines an outer wall of the liquid tank.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Glassman teaches the liquid tank includes a transparent shell that defines an outer wall of the liquid tank (para. [0013], the water tank 16 is constructed of a transparent material).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure CN’448-Zhang-Bofill with the teaching of Glassman that the liquid tank includes a transparent shell that defines an outer wall of the liquid tank so that the user can see the water level in the liquid tank (Glassman, para. [0013]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN206289448, Zhang (US 2014/0373402), Bofill (US 2022/0152256) and Glassman (US 2011/0225858), as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Guohong (US 2009/0000162).
Regarding claim 20, the modified structure CN’448-Zhang-Bofill-Glassman does not teach the handheld housing including a secondary steam generator located closer to the treatment side of the smoothing head than removable tank.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Guohong teaches a secondary steam generator located closer to the treatment side of the smoothing head than the tank (fig. 3, para. [0005], the steam boiler (4) and the boiling chamber (31) inside the bottom plate respectively form first and second steam generators of the electric steam iron; and fig. 3 shows the boiling chamber (31) closer to the bottom plate than the tank (2)).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure CN’448-Zhang-Bofill-Glassman with a secondary steam generator as taught by Guohong so that the effect of boiling of the water can be improved (Guohong, para. [0006]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, dated 04/08/2026, with respect to the drawing objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection has been withdrawn due to the applicant amendments.
Applicant’s arguments, dated 04/08/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C 112 (b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection to the claims has been withdrawn due to the applicant amendments.
Applicant’s arguments, dated 04/08/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims under 35 U.S.C 102/103 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the amended limitations. However, this argument is not commensurate with the rejected claims, as the limitations have not been previously presented. Thus, the amended limitations have been addressed as analyzed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/UYEN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732