DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/03/2025 is acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provision of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because fig. 8 shows the steps in a smoothing method, which are not in English.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation “a first actuator”, “a second actuator” in claim 4 and “a third actuator”, “a fourth actuator” in claim 5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 2, line 4, “enables the steam release…” is read as “enable the steam release”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the steam vent” in line 10. It is unclear which steam vent the Applicant wants to mention as there are more than one steam vent by the term “at least one steam vent” recited in line 6. For the purpose of applying art, “the steam vent” in line 10 is interpreted as the at least one steam vent.
Claim 1 recites “the intake port” in line 10. It is unclear which intake port the Applicant wants to mention as there are more than one intake port by the term “at least one intake port” recited in line 7. For the purpose of applying art, “the intake port” in line 10 is interpreted as the at least one intake port.
Any remaining claims are rejected as depending from a rejected base claim.
In the art rejections below the claims have been treated as best understood by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6, 9-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (US 2014/0373402).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a smoothing appliance (fig. 1, apparatus 100) comprising:
a steam circuit (para. [0052], a steam generating device is arranged internally to mount 1),
an air intake circuit (fig. 2, dust collection casing 10, a centrifugal fan formed by centrifugal impellers 11, and a fan motor 12), and
a portable housing (fig. 1) having a handle (fig. 2) coupled to a smoothing head (figs. 2-3, ironing panel 7) having a treatment side (fig. 3, contacting side of the panel 7) configured to be placed opposite a fabric item to be smoothed (abstract), wherein the treatment side comprises at least one steam vent (fig. 3, steam ejection holes 8) connected to the steam circuit comprising a steam generator (fig. 1, para. [0052]) and at least one intake port (fig. 3, air suction holes 9) connected to the air intake circuit comprising a fan (fig. 2, a centrifugal fan formed by centrifugal impellers 11) configured to be rotated by a motor (fig. 2, motor 12), the appliance including a controller (fig. 2, para. [0052], controlling electric switch 5) for controlling steam release through the steam vent and air intake through the intake port (para. [0017], [0052], the controlling electric switch is a multi-position slide switch, so that the apparatus may be controlled in various modes, i.e., it may be controlled to clean the clothing only, or iron the clothing only, or both clean and iron the clothing), wherein the controller is configured to enable the steam release in a first operating mode and configured to enable steam release combined with air intake in a second operating mode (para. [0017]).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches the controller comprises a push button including a push button head configured to enable the steam release when the push button head is depressed over a first depression stroke and enables the steam release combined with the air intake when the push button head is depressed over a second depression stroke (para. [0017], [0052], the multi-position slide switch is configured to enable the steam release (to iron the clothing only) in a first mode and configured to enable the steam release and air intake (to iron the clothing and clean the clothing by suction effect) in a second mode).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang teaches the controller is disposed on the handle of the appliance (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang teaches the appliance comprises a base (fig. 1, mount 1) connected to the smoothing head by a flexible pipe (fig. 1, pipe 3, para. [0022]).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang teaches the base comprises the steam generator (para. [0052]).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang teaches a method for ironing out a fabric item to be pressed using a smoothing appliance (fig. 7, apparatus 300) having a steam circuit (fig. 7, steam generating device 301), an air intake circuit (fig. 7, para. [0067], a fan formed by motor 310 and impellers 311) and a portable housing (fig. 7), the portable housing comprising a handle (fig. 7, 303 and 316) coupled to a smoothing head (fig. 7, an upper portion of the head 303) having a treatment side (fig. 7) configured to be placed opposite a fabric item to be smoothed, wherein the treatment side comprises at least one steam vent (fig. 7, steam ejection holes 306) connected to the steam circuit (para. [0067]) and at least one intake port (fig. 7, air suction holes 307) connected to the air intake circuit (para. [0067]), the method comprising:
placing the treatment side opposite a fabric item (abstract);
contacting the treatment side to the fabric item, the contacting step comprising at least one steam release step with no air intake (para. [0017], [0068], by turning on the heating of the generating device) and at least one steam release step combined with air intake (para. [0017], [0068], by turning on both the motor of the fan and the heating of the generating device); and
stopping the appliance, the stopping step comprising at least one intake stop step and at least one steam release stop step (para. [0017], [0068], by turning off both the motor of the fan and the heating of the generating device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2014/0373402).
Zhang does not clearly teach the second depression stroke extends beyond the first depression stroke.
However, Zhang teaches switch (5) is a multi-position slide switch (para. [0052]) so that apparatus is operated in various modes of operation.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Zhang with the second depression stroke extends beyond the first depression stroke for the benefit of adjusting the modes of operation by sliding the switch between two or more positions. Rearrangement of relative positions of the multi-position slide switch to adjust between operation modes is not patentable. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang does not teach in fig. 1 the controller comprises a first actuator configured to activate the steam release, and a second actuator configured to activate the air intake.
However, Zhang teaches ,in fig. 7, there are two rotary button controlling switches (315); one switch is electrically connected with the motor of the fan for controlling the motor and the other switch is electrically connected with the electric heat tube of the steam generating device for controlling on and off of the heating of the generating device (para. [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify fig. 1 of Zhang with a first actuator configured to activate the steam release, and a second actuator configured to activate the air intake as taught in fig. 7 for the benefit of providing various modes of operation by controlling cleaning and/or ironing the clothing functions.
Regarding claim 5, Zhang does not teach in fig. 1 the controller comprises a third actuator configured to activate the steam release combined with the air intake, and a fourth actuator configured to stop the air intake.
However, Zhang teaches ,in fig. 7, there are two rotary button controlling switches (315); one switch is electrically connected with the motor of the fan for controlling the motor and the other switch is electrically connected with the electric heat tube of the steam generating device for controlling on and off of the heating of the generating device (para. [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify fig. 1 of Zhang with a first actuator configured to activate the steam release, and a second actuator configured to activate the air intake as taught in fig. 7 for the benefit of providing various modes of operation by controlling cleaning and/or ironing the clothing functions.
Then the modified structure Zhang teaches a third actuator (by turning on two switches) configured to activate the steam release combined with the air intake, and a fourth actuator (by turning off the switch connected with the motor of the fan) configured to stop the air intake.
Claims 7-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2014/0373402), as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Javit (US 2020/0071874).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang teaches the handle, the smoothing head (fig. 2)and the steam generator are incorporated into the portable housing (fig. 1, para. [0052]), the portable housing comprising a liquid tank (para. [0052]).
Zhang does not clearly teach a pump configured to supply liquid to the steam generator.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Javit teaches a pump (fig. 1, pump 7) configured to supply liquid to the steam generator (para. [0081]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Zhang with a pump configured to supply liquid to the steam generator as taught by Javit for the benefit of supplying the water from the water tank to the steam generator for generating steam in ironing the clothing.
Regarding claim 8, the modified structure Zhang-Javit teaches the smoothing head is connected to an upper end of the handle (Zhang, fig. 1) and the portable housing comprises a baseplate connected to a lower end of the handle (Zhang, fig. 1, the mount 1 is connected to a lower end of the handle), the steam generator (Zhang, para. [0022], [0052]), the liquid tank (Zhang, para. [0052]) and the pump being disposed in the baseplate (Javit, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang teaches the base comprises a liquid tank (para. [0052]).
Zhang does not clearly teach a pump configured to supply liquid to the steam generator.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Javit teaches a pump (fig. 1, pump 7) configured to supply liquid to the steam generator (para. [0081]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Zhang with a pump configured to supply liquid to the steam generator as taught by Javit for the benefit of supplying the water from the water tank to the steam generator for generating steam in ironing the clothing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892.
/UYEN T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3732