DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 14 and 20 recites “the or each bolt” lacking antecedent basis. Claims 2-19 are rejected for depending from claim 1. Claim 21 is rejected for depending from claim 20.
Claim 2 recites “a second member” which lacks antecedent basis as this limitation has been used in claim 1 and it is not clear if this refers to the same “second member”. Claim 3 is rejected for depending from claim 2.
Regarding claim 4, “the corresponding first connector anchor member hole and plate hole” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 6 recites “the length” and “the diameter” lacking antecedent basis.
Claim 8 recites “the respective” lacking antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 10, “the same arrangement” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 11, “a further connector” and “associated with the first timber” is not clear as to how associated relates to the first timber.
The claim will be examined as best understood
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 5,966,892 to Platt.
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Platt discloses a connection, comprising a structural first timber (wood, solid lumber, column 1 lines 6-9; fig. 4: 64) member a first connector assembly (fig. 4: 65) associated with the first structural timber member, the first connector assembly comprising a plurality of elongate anchor members (plurality shown in figs. 7a -7c, fig. 9, fig. 12), each anchor member comprising a first end (fig. 4: portion of 65 inside 64) extending into and fixed with respect to the first timber member; and a second end (portion of 65 exposed) protruding from the first timber member, wherein each of the anchor members defines a hole (fig. 1: 8, fig. 4: 66, fig. 10: see bolts) perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the anchor member for receiving a bolt (column 3, lines 64-66) the connection further comprising a plate (fig. 4: 69 and/or 61) connected or connectable to a second member (63 and/or 68), the plate defining at least one hole for receiving a bolt, at least one bolt, the or each bolt configured to extend through at least one of the anchor members and plate, wherein for the or each bolt, at least one of the corresponding anchor member hole or plate hole is oversized so as to receive the corresponding bolt with a clearance fit; and the or each bolt is configured to clamp the plate and anchor member such that relative movement of the plate and first connector assembly is resisted by friction caused by the clamping force provided by the or each bolt.
Regarding claim 2, as best understood, a plurality of bolts is disclosed (fig. 10) and a second member (see multiple members in figs. 4, 9, 10, 12-15 being at least a second), the multiple members (third or more) having second anchor members such as described in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, the holes are oversized to fit bolts and the bolts clamp the plates together to resist movement.
Regarding claim 4, a plurality of holes are disclosed in the plates (as figs. 5, 7a-7c, 9, 10) and sized to fit bolts.
Regarding claim 5, each anchor member has a rod with screw threads (fig. 1: 9) and a bracket (portion 1, fig. 1), the rod has screw threads capable of screwing into wood, and at a second end is located the bracket which contains the holes (8).
Regarding claim 7, each bolt may pass through a pair of anchor members (fig. 4: a bolt may pass through anchor members 61, 65) and they flank plate (69).
Regarding claim 8, a pair of anchor members have the same orientation with respect to the longitudinal axis of a respective timber (fig. 12: see bottom timbers with longitudinally extending anchor members).
Regarding claim 10, as best understood, opposing connector members are disclosed (see opposing fig. 7b, 7c) on opposing faces of a first timber without collision between anchor members (also see fig 9 with plurality of connectors on same timber).
Regarding claim 11, as best understood, claim 11 is rejected for reasons cited in the rejection of claim 10 as a plurality of anchor members are associated with one timber and a third timber is connected.
Regarding claim 12, the anchor member arrangements are the same (as they are the same type of anchors).
Regarding claim 13, parallel connectors are on a first timber (fig. 12: see left timber with connectors at ands and being parallel to each other.
Regarding claim 14, as best understood, claim 14 is rejected for reasons cited in the rejection of claim 1 wherein the group of parts disclosed by Platt constitute a kit of parts.
Regarding claim 15, a building is disclosed (abstract).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, a method is disclosed by Platt with the assembly of the parts rejected in the rejection of claim 1, a building being erected (abstract).
Regarding claim 18, the anchor member of a second connector assembly (65) in a second timber (64), located plate (69) and bolts therethrough, as recited in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is rejected for reasons cited in the rejection of claim 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 5,966,892 to Platt.
Regarding claim 6, Platt discloses the basic claim structure of the instant application but does not disclose specific ratio dimensions. Applicant fails to show criticality for specifically claimed dimensions, therefore it would have been an obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Platt to use the dimensions such as specified in these claims as a mere design choice where larger or smaller members produce stronger or lighter connections where needed by the particular application.
Regarding claim 19, Platt dos not disclose a method of disassembling. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to disassemble the structure for purposes of repair or refitment, disassembly would include loosening bolts and a simple reverse of assembly.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 5,966,892 to Platt in view of U.S. Patent Application No. US 2022/0195685 to Tabata.
Regarding claim 21, Platt does not disclose the members as being concrete. Tabata discloses anchors in concrete [0007], [0033]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Platt by using concrete instead of wood as concrete and would are both used in the construction of buildings and concrete is formed in a manner capable of being shaped as wood beams.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art of record does not disclose the limitations of claim 1 and the first connector assembly comprises a row of at least four anchor members, a first and fourth anchor member are each arranged at a first angle to the surface of the first timber member and a second and third anchor member, located between the first and fourth anchor members, are each arranged at a second angle to the surface of the first timber member.
Conclusion
/BASIL S KATCHEVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633