DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the applicant’s filing on January 03, 2025. Claims 1 – 8 have been amended. Claims 9 – 11 are new. Claims 1 – 11 are pending and examined below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on January 03, 2025 has been considered by the Examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. § 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in The Republic of Japan on July 26, 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 5, 7, 9 - 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2017 /0038779 A1 to FUJIMORI (herein after "Fujimori") in view of Japanese Patent No. JP2020030639A to KAI Kensuke. (herein after "Kensuke").
(Note: Claim language is in bold typeface, and the Examiner’s comments and cited passages from the prior art reference(s) are in normal typeface.)
As to Claim 1, (Currently Amended)
Fujimori’s forklift operation assist system discloses a movement control method (see Fig. 2 ~ illustrates a control schematic of fork lift 13 having a monitoring of the fork lift forks by lift height sensor 26,
Fig. 4 ~ illustrates a general control schematic of fork lift 13 relative to UAS 11 which is deployed when the forks 24 of forklift 13 exceed a safe working height, and
see ¶0032 ~ "When the lift height sensor 26 determines that the lifted height of the forks 24 exceeds the first threshold Tl, the vehicle controller 32 outputs an instruction to the rotary wing UAS 11 to start flying and capturing images"), comprising
setting a first position toward a first mobile body and a second position that is an evacuation destination of the first mobile body when an abnormality occurs in the first mobile body (see Fig. 4 and ¶0033 ~ ¶0034), and
setting a first moving route to the first position and a second moving route to the second position (see ¶0035 ~ "When it is determined that the forklift truck 10 is in the load-handling operation with the forks 24 located at a higher lifted height, the vehicle controller 32 instructs the flying rotary-wing UAS 11 to move to a second position S2");
moving a second mobile body including an imaging device to the first position toward the first mobile body based on the first moving route (see ¶0036 ~ "When the rotary-wing UAS 11 is at the second position S2, the field covered by the camera 47 includes the forks 24, the lift bracket 25, and storage portion of the shelf L into or from which a load Wis placed or taken out. In other words, the second position S2 enables the camera 47 to capture images of the forklift truck 10 and the shelf L in one frame of image" and ¶0039).
As shown above, Fujimori’s forklift operation assist system teaches moving the first mobile body (forklift truck 10; Fujimori) when an abnormality occurs in the first mobile body (forklift truck 10; Fujimori)(see ¶0036 and ¶0039; Fujimori), but does not explicitly disclose the aspect of (forklift truck 10; Fujimori) moving to a second position.
On the other hand, KAI Kensuke’s unmanned conveyance system provides more clarification regarding moving the first mobile body and the second mobile body to a second position based on the second moving route when the second mobile body reaches the first position (see ¶0009; Kensuke ~ "unmanned guided vehicle... determines that an abnormal state exists when the guidance detection unit cannot detect" for instance, guidance including but not limited to, guide lines L that unmanned guided vehicle 30 (AGV) would follow, ¶0010 - ¶0011; Kensuke ~ unmanned aerial vehicle 1 captures an image of the environment around the unmanned guided vehicle 30 herein by example being a ceiling area of a warehouse building interior, and ¶0024; Kensuke) wherein the moving the first mobile body to the second position includes causing the imaging device to capture an image of a surrounding (see ¶0023 - ¶0024 and ¶0028 - ¶0029; Kensuke) while positioning the second mobile body within a predetermined distance range from the first mobile body, until the first mobile body reaches the second position. (See ¶0023; Kensuke ~ "flight control unit 211 flies the unmanned aerial vehicle 1 along the flight path", ¶0024; Kensuke ~ "the unmanned guided vehicle 30 can travel along the travel route by following the unmanned aerial vehicle 1", ¶0028 - ¶0029; Kensuke ~ as a result of unmanned guided vehicle 30 (an AGV) being unable to detect guide lines L, it then progressively follows unmanned aerial vehicle 1 from one position to the next, until it reaches the designated position by unmanned aerial vehicle 1, which may include, but not be limited to, a second position.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UAV based imaging capture of Fujimori with the constant image frame capture based upon detected abnormalities, as taught by Kensuke, because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for providing consistent sequential movement control instructions when an abnormality in the forklift 10; Fujimori is detected, thereby enabling benefits, including but not limited to: increased reliability in unmanned vehicle guidance.
.
As to Claim 2, (Currently Amended)
Fujimori / Kensuke discloses the movement control method according to claim 1,
wherein moving the first mobile body to the second position includes
moving the second mobile body toward the second position while keeping a distance from the first mobile body within the predetermined distance range (see ¶0023 - ¶0024 and ¶0028 - ¶0029; Kensuke),
causing the imaging device to capture an image of the surrounding while moving the second mobile body toward the second position (see ¶0023 - ¶0024 and ¶0028 - ¶0029; Kensuke), and
moving the first mobile body so as to follow the second mobile body. (See ¶0023 - ¶0024 and ¶0028 - ¶0029; Kensuke).
As to Claim 3, (Currently Amended)
Fujimori / Kensuke discloses the movement control method according to claim 1,
wherein moving the first mobile body to the second position includes causing the imaging device to capture an image of the surrounding
while positioning the second mobile body at a fixed position on the first mobile body that is proceeding toward the second position. (See ¶0023 - ¶0024 and ¶0028 - ¶0029; Kensuke).
As to Claim 4, (Currently Amended)
Fujimori / Kensuke discloses the movement control method according to claim 1, further comprising
displaying an image based on image data captured by the imaging device and
an image indicating a position of the second mobile body, while the first mobile body is moving to the second position. (See ¶0023 - ¶0024 and ¶0028 - ¶0029; Kensuke).
As to Claim 5, (Currently Amended)
Fujimori/Kensuke discloses the movement control method according to claim 4,
wherein the step of displaying the image includes displaying, on the image based on the image data captured by the imaging device in a superimposed manner, information indicating a route along which the second mobile body moves. (See ¶0004, ¶0008, and ¶0049; Fujimori)
As to Claim 7, (Currently Amended)
Although Fujimori discloses a processing unit 33 (Fig. 2 ~ processing unit 33; Fujimori) which executes instructions that cause a computer to perform, Eckman’s warehouse vehicle tracking system provides more clarification regarding a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fujimori’s processing unit 33 with non-transitory computer readable medium, as taught by Eckman, to provide facility wherein embedded code exists excluding wired, wireless, or other communication links that transport transitory electrical or other signals, thereby enabling benefits, including but not limited to: distinguishing the system such that program code may be executed apart from a transitory, propagating signal, and performed from a permanently stored medium / media and media where data can be stored and later overwritten.
Fujimori/Eckman discloses machine-readable instructions that cause a computer to execute setting a first position toward a first mobile body and a second position that is an evacuation destination of the first mobile body when an abnormality occurs in the first mobile body (see Fig. 4 and ¶0033 ~ ¶0034; Fujimori), and setting a first moving route to the first position and a second moving route to the second position (see ¶0035; Fujimori ~ "When it is determined that the forklift truck 10 is in the load-handling operation with the forks 24 located at a higher lifted height, the vehicle controller 32 instructs the flying rotary-wing UAS 11 to move to a second position S2");
moving a second mobile body including an imaging device to the first position toward the first mobile body based on the first moving route (see ¶0036; Fujimori ~ "When the rotary-wing UAS 11 is at the second position S2, the field covered by the camera 47 includes the forks 24, the lift bracket 25, and storage portion of the shelf L into or from which a load Wis placed or taken out. In other words, the second position S2 enables the camera 47 to capture images of the forklift truck 10 and the shelf L in one frame of image" and ¶0039; Fujimori).
As shown above, Fujimori’s forklift operation assist system teaches moving the first mobile body (forklift truck 10; Fujimori) when an abnormality occurs in the first mobile body (forklift truck 10; Fujimori)(see ¶0036 and ¶0039; Fujimori), but does not explicitly disclose the aspect of (forklift truck 10; Fujimori) moving to a second position.
On the other hand, KAI Kensuke’s unmanned conveyance system provides more clarification regarding moving the first mobile body and the second mobile body to a second position based on the second moving route when the second mobile body reaches the first position (see ¶0009; Kensuke ~ "unmanned guided vehicle... determines that an abnormal state exists when the guidance detection unit cannot detect" for instance, guidance including but not limited to, guide lines L that unmanned guided vehicle 30 (AGV) would follow, ¶0010 - ¶0011; Kensuke ~ unmanned aerial vehicle 1 captures an image of the environment around the unmanned guided vehicle 30 herein by example being a ceiling area of a warehouse building interior, and ¶0024; Kensuke) wherein the moving the first mobile body to the second position includes causing the imaging device to capture an image of a surrounding (see ¶0023 - ¶0024 and ¶0028 - ¶0029; Kensuke) while positioning the second mobile body within a predetermined distance range from the first mobile body, until the first mobile body reaches the second position. (See ¶0023; Kensuke ~ "flight control unit 211 flies the unmanned aerial vehicle 1 along the flight path", ¶0024; Kensuke ~ "the unmanned guided vehicle 30 can travel along the travel route by following the unmanned aerial vehicle 1", ¶0028 - ¶0029; Kensuke ~ as a result of unmanned guided vehicle 30 (an AGV) being unable to detect guide lines L, it then progressively follows unmanned aerial vehicle 1 from one position to the next, until it reaches the designated position by unmanned aerial vehicle 1, which may include, but not be limited to, a second position.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UAV based imaging capture of Fujimori with the constant image frame capture based upon detected abnormalities, as taught by Kensuke, because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for providing consistent sequential movement control instructions when an abnormality in the forklift 10; Fujimori is detected, thereby enabling benefits, including but not limited to: increased reliability in unmanned vehicle guidance.
As to Claim 9, (New)
Fujimori discloses a movement control method (see Fig. 2 ~ illustrates a control schematic of fork lift 13 having a monitoring of the fork lift forks by lift height sensor 26, Fig. 3 ~ illustrates a general control schematic of fork lift 13 relative to UAS 11 which is deployed when the forks 24 of forklift 13 exceed a safe working height, and ¶0032 ~ "When the lift height sensor 26 determines that the lifted height of the forks 24 exceeds the first threshold Tl, the vehicle controller 32 outputs an instruction to the rotary wing UAS 11 to start flying and capturing images"), comprising:
moving a second mobile body including an imaging device to a first position toward a first mobile body when an abnormality occurs in the first mobile body (see Fig. 4 and ¶0033 ~ ¶0034); and
moving the first mobile body to a second position when the second mobile body reaches the first position (see ¶0035 ~ "When it is determined that the forklift truck 10 is in the load-handling operation with the forks 24 located at a higher lifted height, the vehicle controller 32 instructs the flying rotary-wing UAS 11 to move to a second position S2").
As shown above, Fujimori’s forklift operation assist system teaches moving the first mobile body (forklift truck 10; Fujimori) when an abnormality occurs in the first mobile body (forklift truck 10; Fujimori)(see ¶0036 and ¶0039; Fujimori), but does not explicitly disclose the aspect of (forklift truck 10; Fujimori) moving to a second position.
Conversely, KAI Kensuke’s unmanned conveyance system provides more clarification regarding moving of the first mobile body to the second position includes causing the imaging device to capture an image on a side opposite to a traveling direction of the second mobile body on a moving route of the second mobile body (see ¶0009; Kensuke ~ "unmanned guided vehicle... determines that an abnormal state exists when the guidance detection unit cannot detect" for instance, guidance including but not limited to, guide lines L that unmanned guided vehicle 30 (AGV) would follow, ¶0010 - ¶0011; Kensuke ~ unmanned aerial vehicle 1 (UAV) captures an image of the environment around the unmanned guided vehicle 30, and ¶0024; Kensuke. It will be appreciated by one of ordinary skill, that a UAV has the capability to maneuver according to a plurality of degrees of freedom to achieve image capture on a side opposite to a traveling of the UAV) wherein the moving the first mobile body to the second position includes causing the imaging device to capture an image of a surrounding (see ¶0023 - ¶0024 and ¶0028 - ¶0029; Kensuke) while positioning the second mobile body within a predetermined distance range from the first mobile body, until the first mobile body reaches the second position. (See ¶0023; Kensuke ~ "flight control unit 211 flies the unmanned aerial vehicle 1 along the flight path", ¶0024; Kensuke ~ "the unmanned guided vehicle 30 can travel along the travel route by following the unmanned aerial vehicle 1", ¶0028 - ¶0029; Kensuke ~ as a result of unmanned guided vehicle 30 (an AGV) being unable to detect guide lines L, it then progressively follows unmanned aerial vehicle 1 from one position to the next, until it reaches the designated position by unmanned aerial vehicle 1, which may include, but not be limited to, a second position.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UAV based imaging capture of Fujimori with the constant image frame capture based upon detected abnormalities, as taught by Kensuke, because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for providing consistent sequential movement control instructions when an abnormality in the forklift 10; Fujimori is detected, thereby enabling benefits, including but not limited to: increased reliability in unmanned vehicle guidance.
As to Claim 10, (New)
While Fujimori discloses a processing unit 33 (Fig. 2 ~ processing unit 33; Fujimori) which executes instructions that cause a computer to perform, Eckman’s warehouse vehicle tracking system provides more clarification regarding a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having stored thereon machine-readable instructions that cause a computer to execute the system. (See Fig. 7 ~ non-volatile memory ~ non-transitory computer readable medium and Col. 13, Lines 64 - 66 ~ memory 704 stores information within the computing device 700").
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fujimori’s processing unit 33 with non-transitory computer readable medium, as taught by Eckman, to provide facility wherein embedded code exists excluding wired, wireless, or other communication links that transport transitory electrical or other signals, thereby enabling benefits, including but not limited to: distinguishing the system such that program code may be executed apart from a transitory, propagating signal, and performed from a permanently stored medium / media and media where data can be stored and later overwritten.
Fujimori further discloses moving a second mobile body including an imaging device to a first position toward a first mobile body when an abnormality occurs in the first mobile body (see Fig. 4 and ¶0033 ~ ¶0034; Fujimori); and
moving the first mobile body to a second position when the second mobile body reaches the first position (see ¶0035; Fujimori ~ "When it is determined that the forklift truck 10 is in the load-handling operation with the forks 24 located at a higher lifted height, the vehicle controller 32 instructs the flying rotary-wing UAS 11 to move to a second position S2"), wherein
the moving the first mobile body to the second position includes causing the imaging device to capture an image (see ¶0023 - ¶0024 and ¶0028 - ¶0029; Fujimori).
As shown above, Fujimori’s forklift operation assist system teaches moving the first mobile body (forklift truck 10; Fujimori) when an abnormality occurs in the first mobile body (forklift truck 10; Fujimori)(see ¶0036 and ¶0039; Fujimori), but does not explicitly disclose the aspect of (forklift truck 10; Fujimori) moving to a second position.
Conversely, KAI Kensuke’s unmanned conveyance system provides more clarification regarding moving the first mobile body to the second position includes causing the imaging device to capture an image on a side opposite to a traveling direction of the second mobile body on a moving route of the second mobile body (see ¶0009; Kensuke ~ "unmanned guided vehicle... determines that an abnormal state exists when the guidance detection unit cannot detect" for instance, guidance including but not limited to, guide lines L that unmanned guided vehicle 30 (AGV) would follow, ¶0010 - ¶0011; Kensuke ~ unmanned aerial vehicle 1 (UAV) captures an image of the environment around the unmanned guided vehicle 30, and ¶0024; Kensuke. It will be appreciated by one of ordinary skill, that a UAV has the capability to maneuver according to a plurality of degrees of freedom to achieve image capture on a side opposite to a traveling of the UAV) wherein the moving the first mobile body to the second position includes causing the imaging device to capture an image of a surrounding (see ¶0023 - ¶0024 and ¶0028 - ¶0029; Kensuke) while positioning the second mobile body within a predetermined distance range from the first mobile body, until the first mobile body reaches the second position. (See ¶0023; Kensuke ~ "flight control unit 211 flies the unmanned aerial vehicle 1 along the flight path", ¶0024; Kensuke ~ "the unmanned guided vehicle 30 can travel along the travel route by following the unmanned aerial vehicle 1", ¶0028 - ¶0029; Kensuke ~ as a result of unmanned guided vehicle 30 (an AGV) being unable to detect guide lines L, it then progressively follows unmanned aerial vehicle 1 from one position to the next, until it reaches the designated position by unmanned aerial vehicle 1, which may include, but not be limited to, a second position.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UAV based imaging capture of Fujimori with the constant image frame capture based upon detected abnormalities, as taught by Kensuke, because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for providing consistent sequential movement control instructions when an abnormality in the forklift 10; Fujimori is detected, thereby enabling benefits, including but not limited to: increased reliability in unmanned vehicle guidance.
As to Claim 11, (New)
Fujimori discloses a movement control system (see Figs. 2 and 4), comprising:
a first mobile body (see Fig. 4 ~ illustrates a general control schematic comprising a first mobile body (fork lift 13)); and
a second mobile body including an imaging device (see Figs. 3 ~ illustrates a general arrangement of a second mobile body (UAS 11) having a camera 47), wherein
the second mobile body moves to a first position toward the first mobile body when an abnormality occurs in the first mobile body (see Fig. 4 and ¶0033 ~ ¶0034),
the first mobile body moves to a second position when the second mobile body reaches the first position (see ¶0035 ~ "When it is determined that the forklift truck 10 is in the load-handling operation with the forks 24 located at a higher lifted height, the vehicle controller 32 instructs the flying rotary-wing UAS 11 to move to a second position S2").
Kensuke is then relied upon to disclose the second mobile body causes the imaging device to capture an image (see ¶0023 - ¶0024 and ¶0028 - ¶0029; Kensuke) on a side opposite to a traveling direction of the second mobile body on a moving route of the second mobile body (see ¶0009; Kensuke ~ "unmanned guided vehicle... determines that an abnormal state exists when the guidance detection unit cannot detect" for instance, guidance including but not limited to, guide lines L that unmanned guided vehicle 30 (AGV) would follow, ¶0010 - ¶0011; Kensuke ~ unmanned aerial vehicle 1 (UAV) captures an image of the environment around the unmanned guided vehicle 30, and ¶0024; Kensuke. It will be appreciated by one of ordinary skill, that a UAV has the capability to maneuver according to a plurality of degrees of freedom to achieve image capture on a side opposite to a traveling of the UAV) while remaining within a predetermined distance range from the first mobile body, until the first mobile body reaches the second position. (See ¶0023; Kensuke ~ "flight control unit 211 flies the unmanned aerial vehicle 1 along the flight path", ¶0024; Kensuke ~ "the unmanned guided vehicle 30 can travel along the travel route by following the unmanned aerial vehicle 1",¶0028 - ¶0029; Kensuke ~ as a result of unmanned guided vehicle 30 (an AGV) being unable to detect guide lines L, it then progressively follows unmanned aerial vehicle 1 from one position to the next, until it reaches the designated position by unmanned aerial vehicle 1, which may include, but not be limited to, a second position).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UAV based imaging capture of Fujimori with the constant image frame capture based upon detected abnormalities, as taught by Kensuke, because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for providing consistent sequential movement control instructions when an abnormality in the forklift 10; Fujimori is detected, thereby enabling benefits, including but not limited to: increased reliability in unmanned vehicle guidance.
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2017 /0038779 A1 to FUJIMORI (herein after "Fujimori") in view of Japanese Patent No. JP2020030639A to KAI Kensuke. (herein after "Kensuke") as to claim 1 above, and further in view of World Patent No. WO 2019130973 A1 to TSUGIO SUDOU (herein after "Tsugio").
As to Claim 6, (Currently Amended)
Fujimori/Kensuke discloses the movement control method according to claim 1.
However, Fujimori/Kensuke does not explicitly disclose wherein moving the first mobile body to the second position includes moving the first mobile body by a remote control device provided at a position distant from the first mobile body.
On the other hand, Tsugio discloses wherein moving the first mobile body to the second position includes moving the first mobile body by a remote control device provided at a position distant from the first mobile body. (See ¶0136 ~ "administrator Wb can remotely control the drone 3B to acquire image data of the unmanned vehicle 2A while changing the relative position of the drone 3B with respect to the unmanned vehicle 2A").
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UAV based imaging capture of Fujimori with the remote UAV control functionality, as taught by Tsugio, because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for remote piloting, thereby enabling benefits, including but not limited to: lower operational costs, and superior versatility for surveillance, inspection, and logistics.
As to Claim 8, (Currently Amended)
Fujimori disclose a movement control system (see Figs. 2 and 4; Fujimori), comprising:
a first mobile body (see Fig. 4 ~ illustrates a general control schematic comprising a first mobile body (fork lift 13); Fujimori);
a second mobile body including an imaging device (see Figs. 3 ~ illustrates a general arrangement of a second mobile body (UAS 11) having a camera 47; Fujimori);
the second mobile body moves to a first position toward the first mobile body based on the first moving route when an abnormality occurs in the first mobile body (see Fig. 4 and ¶0033 ~ ¶0034; Fujimori), and
the first mobile body and the second mobile body moves move to a second position based on the second moving route when the second mobile body reaches the first position (see ¶0035 ~ "When it is determined that the forklift truck 10 is in the load-handling operation with the forks 24 located at a higher lifted height, the vehicle controller 32 instructs the flying rotary-wing UAS 11 to move to a second position S2").
As shown above, Fujimori’s forklift operation assist system teaches moving the first mobile body (forklift truck 10; Fujimori) when an abnormality occurs in the first mobile body (forklift truck 10; Fujimori)(see ¶0036 and ¶0039; Fujimori), but does not explicitly disclose the aspect of (forklift truck 10; Fujimori) moving to a second position.
On the other hand, KAI Kensuke’s unmanned conveyance system discloses wherein the second mobile body causes the imaging device to capture an image of a surrounding (see ¶0023 - ¶0024 and ¶0028 - ¶0029; Kensuke) while remaining within a predetermined distance range from the first mobile body, until the first mobile body reaches the second position. (See ¶0023; Kensuke ~ "flight control unit 211 flies the unmanned aerial vehicle 1 along the flight path", ¶0024; Kensuke ~ "the unmanned guided vehicle 30 can travel along the travel route by following the unmanned aerial vehicle 1", ¶0028 - ¶0029; Kensuke ~ as a result of unmanned guided vehicle 30 (an AGV) being unable to detect guide lines L, it then progressively follows unmanned aerial vehicle 1 from one position to the next, until it reaches the designated position by unmanned aerial vehicle 1, which may include, but not be limited to, a second position.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UAV based imaging capture of Fujimori with the constant image frame capture based upon detected abnormalities, as taught by Kensuke, because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for providing consistent sequential movement control instructions when an abnormality in the forklift 10; Fujimori is detected, thereby enabling benefits, including but not limited to: increased reliability in unmanned vehicle guidance.
Unlike Fujimori/Kensuke, Tsugio’s work site management system discloses a remote control device (see ¶0136; Tsugio), wherein
the remote control device sets a first position toward a first mobile body and a second position that is an evacuation destination of the first mobile body when an abnormality occurs in the first mobile body, and sets a first moving route to the first position and a second moving route to the second position. (See ¶0136 ~ "administrator Wb can remotely control the drone 3B to acquire image data of the unmanned vehicle 2A while changing the relative position of the drone 3B with respect to the unmanned vehicle 2A"; thereby teaching remote piloting of the drone to the second position of unmanned vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UAV based imaging capture of Fujimori with the remote UAV control functionality, as taught by Tsugio, because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for remote piloting, thereby enabling benefits, including but not limited to: lower operational costs, and superior versatility for surveillance, inspection, and logistics.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s Supervisor, Peter Nolan can be reached Monday through Friday, between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. at (571) 270 – 7016. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ASHLEY L REDHEAD JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661