DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13 are pending in the present application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/3/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by DeGanello et al. (US PGPUB 2017/0350772 A1, hereinafter DeGanello).
Regarding claim 1, DeGanello teaches a force sensor (see Abstract; see also Fig. 4-5, [0010], [0100]-[0103], and [0122]-[0123], force sensors shown and described) comprising: a first non-conductive substrate (see Fig. 4, 5, and [0100], first non-conductive (lower) substrate 1003) and a second non-conductive substrate (see Fig. 4, 5, and [0100], second non-conductive (upper) substrate 1005); a first electrode (see Fig. 4, 5, and [0100], first electrode 1007a) and a second electrode (see Fig. 4-6 and [0100], second electrode 1007b), the first electrode and the second electrode disposed on the first substrate and offset to each other (see Fig. 4-6, and [0100], first electrode 1007a and second electrode 1007b disposed on the first non-conductive (lower) substrate and offset to each other as shown); and a first conductive layer, disposed on the first substrate and conductively connecting the first electrode and the second electrode with a first layer resistance (see Fig. 4-6, and [0100], first conductive layer 1011 with a first layer resistance disposed on the first (lower) substrate and conductively connect the first electrode 1007a and second electrode 1007b as shown); and a second conductive layer, disposed on the second substrate, the second conductive layer configured to conductively connect the first electrode and the second electrode via the second conductive layer with a second layer resistance when the first non-conductive substrate and the second non-conductive substrate approach each other (see Fig. 4-6, and [0100]-[0103], second conductive layer 1013 with a second layer resistance disposed on the second (upper) substrate and conductively connect the first electrode 1007a and second electrode 1007b when the when the first non-conductive (lower) substrate 1003 and the second non-conductive (upper) substrate 1005 approach each other as described).
Regarding claim 2, DeGanello above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, DeGanello teaches that the first conductive layer covers at least a part of the first electrode and at least a part of the second electrode (see Fig. 4-6 and [0100]-[0103], first conductive layer 1011 covers the first electrode 1007a and second electrode 1007b as shown and described).
Regarding claim 3, DeGanello above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, DeGanello teaches that a surface of the first conductive layer has a microstructure (see Fig. 4-6 and [0122]-[0123], first conductive layer 1011 formed over the electrodes 1007a/1007b and thus forms a microstructure around the electrodes on the bottom surface).
Regarding claim 4, DeGanello above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, DeGanello teaches that the first electrode and the second electrode have an interdigital finger structure (see Fig. 5 and 6, the first electrode 1007a and the second electrode 1007b have an interdigital finger structure as shown).
Regarding claim 5, DeGanello above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, DeGanello teaches that the first non-conductive substrate and the second non-conductive substrate are the same substrate (see [0081], discussion of using single type of substrate).
Regarding claim 6, DeGanello teaches a method for measuring a force with a force sensor (see Abstract; see also Fig. 4-5, [0010], [0100]-[0103], and [0122]-[0123], force sensor and associated methods shown and described), the force sensor comprising: a first electrode (see Fig. 4, 5, and [0100], first electrode 1007a) and a second electrode (see Fig. 4-6 and [0100], second electrode 1007b) offset to the first electrode (see Fig. 4-6, and [0100], first electrode 1007a and second electrode 1007b offset to each other as shown); a first conductive layer conductively connecting the first electrode and the second electrode with a first layer resistance (see Fig. 4-6, and [0100], first conductive layer 1011 with a first layer resistance disposed on the first (lower) substrate and conductively connect the first electrode 1007a and second electrode 1007b as shown); and a second conductive layer (see Fig. 4-6, and [0100]-[0103], second conductive layer 1013), the method comprising the steps of: applying the force to the force sensor (see Fig. 4-6, 13, and [0123], force applied to the force sensor as described); determining a resistance (R) of the force sensor between the first electrode and the second electrode (see Fig. 4-6, 13, and [0123], force applied to the force sensor while resistance of the force sensor between the first electrode 1007a and the second electrode 1007b is measured as described and shown); determining the force from the resistance, the first layer resistance and the second layer resistance (see Fig. 11-13, [0108], [0116], [0121], and [0123], wherein each pressure sensor example is calibrated such that the measured resistance vs force applied is determined based on the first layer resistance and the second layer resistance of the respective first conductive layer 1011 and second conductive layer 1013 of each device design).
Regarding claim 9, DeGanello teaches a method for manufacturing a force sensor (see Abstract; see also Fig. 4-5, [0010], [0100]-[0103], and [0118]-[0123], force sensors shown and described including manufacturing methods) comprising: providing a first non-conductive substrate (see Fig. 4, 5, and [0118]-[0123], first non-conductive (lower) substrate 1003) with a first electrode (see Fig. 4, 5, and [0118]-[0123], first electrode 1007a) and a second electrode (see Fig. 4-6 and [0118]-[0123], second electrode 1007b) offset to the first electrode (see Fig. 4-6, and [0100], first electrode 1007a and second electrode 1007b disposed on the first non-conductive (lower) substrate and offset to each other as shown); creating a first conductive layer on the first non-conductive substrate, such that the first conductive layer conductively connects the first electrode and the second electrode (see Fig. 4-6, and [0118]-[0121], first conductive layer 1011 disposed on the first (lower) substrate 1003 and conductively connects the first electrode 1007a and second electrode 1007b as described); and a surface of the first conductive layer has a microstructure (see Fig. 4-6 and [0118]-[0123], first conductive layer 1011 formed over the electrodes 1007a/1007b and thus forms a microstructure around the electrodes on the bottom surface); and providing a second non-conductive substrate (see Fig. 4, 5, and [0118]-[0123], second non-conductive (upper) substrate 1005) with a second conductive layer (see Fig. 4-6, and [0118]-[0123], second non-conductive (upper) substrate 1005 provided with second conductive layer 1013).
Regarding claim 10, DeGanello above teaches all of the limitations of claim 9.
Furthermore, DeGanello teaches that the creation of the first conductive layer comprises a printing process (see [0118]-[0123], use of printing to create the first conductive layer 1011 described).
Regarding claim 11, DeGanello above teaches all of the limitations of claim 9.
Furthermore, DeGanello teaches the step of positioning the first non-conductive substrate and the second non-conductive substrate (see Fig. 4-6, the first non-conductive substrate 1003 and the second non-conductive substrate 1005 are positioned as shown).
Regarding claim 12, DeGanello above teaches all of the limitations of claim 9.
Furthermore, DeGanello teaches that the first electrode and the second electrode are applied to the first non-conductive substrate with a printing process (see [0118]-[0123], use of printing to apply the first electrode 1007a and the second electrode 1007b to the first non-conductive substrate described).
Regarding claim 13, DeGanello above teaches all of the limitations of claim 9.
Furthermore, DeGanello teaches that the second conductive layer is applied to the second non-conductive substrate with a printing process (see [0118]-[0123], the second conductive layer 1013 is applied to the second non-conductive substrate 1005 via printing as described).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeGanello.
Regarding claim 7, DeGanello above teaches all of the limitations of claim 6.
DeGanello fails to specifically teach that the step of determining the resistance (R) comprises the steps of: applying a voltage (U) between the first electrode and the second electrode; and measuring a current (I) between the first electrode and the second electrode.
However, as described above, DeGanello does teach that the devices are calibrated utilizing resistance measurements between the first electrode and the second electrode (see Fig. 13, resistance measurements between the first electrode 1007a and the second electrode 1007b shown).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to utilize the method of applying a known voltage and measuring current between the first and second electrodes to arrive at the resistance as a part of the method of DeGanello. This is because this method of determining resistance is a well-known method of measuring resistance by utilizing Ohms law (V=IxR) as is known in the art.
Regarding claim 8, DeGanello above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
DeGanello above fails to specifically teach a method for calibrating the force sensor of claim 1, the method comprising the steps of: determining the first layer resistance (R1) of the first conductive layer; and correcting a measurement value of a force (F) applied to the force sensor based on the determined first layer resistance (R1).
However, DeGanello does teach that the force sensor is calibrated based on the first layer resistance and the second layer resistance (see Fig. 5, 6, 13 and [0123], force sensor calibrated by measuring applying force and measuring the total resistance of the first layer resistance and the second layer resistance); and wherein the resistance is measured between the first electrode and second electrode in the absence of applied force (see [0122], first layer resistance measured as described between the first electrode 1007a and the second electrode 1007b).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the force sensor method of DeGanello such that the force sensor was calibrated according to the first layer resistance measurement. This would allow for variations in the deposited layers on the first and second electrodes to be accounted for prior to assembly of the force sensor without requiring a calibration of the final product for each force sensor manufactured.
Conclusion
/NATHANIEL T WOODWARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855