DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10-13, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. No. 2021/016644 by Hou et al. (“Hou”).
As to claim 1, Hou discloses a method of driving a display device (Hou, display device and a driving method, Abstract), the display device comprising a backlight assembly (Hou, backlight module 2 includes x light sources 21, Figure 3, [0028]), the backlight assembly comprising a plurality of mutually independent backlight partitions (Hou, light source 21a and light source 21b, Figure 3), each backlight partition comprising a plurality of light-emitting elements in different light-emission colors (Hou, Each light source 21 includes light emitting units which emit light of different colors. For example, each light source 21 may include light emitting units which emit light of red, green, and blue, respectively. Figure 3, [0028]); the method comprising: receiving an image display instruction (Hou, the gray scale for the light emission of each of the sub-pixels can be controlled by controlling the magnitude of the data signal (i.e., voltage) loaded to the sub-pixel. Figure 2, [0026]); and controlling the light-emitting elements in the backlight partitions to emit light sequentially according to the image display instruction (Hu, In step S110, after data signals are loaded to subpixels in one of the display regions, a light emitting unit corresponding to the one of the display regions is turned on and, at the same, time data signals are loaded to subpixels in a next one of the display regions which is adjacent to the one of the display regions. Figure 4, [0030]).
As to claim 2, Hou discloses the method wherein the controlling the light-emitting elements in the backlight partitions to emit light sequentially according to the image display instruction (Hou, Data signal is a driving signal loaded to the sub-pixels to charge pixel electrodes of the sub-pixels, thereby controlling the deflection of the liquid crystal in the liquid crystal layer corresponding to the sub-pixels, adjusting the degree of light transmission of the liquid crystal layer, and controlling the gray scale of the light emission of the sub-pixels. LED signal is a signal to control each light-emitting element to turn on or off. Figure 2, [0022]), comprises: controlling the light-emitting elements in different backlight partitions to emit light during non-overlapping light-emission time periods (Hou, N different sub-pixel frames for each color driving and display, Figure 2); and controlling the light-emitting elements of different light-emission colors in a same backlight partition to emit light during non-overlapping light-emission time periods (Hou, In the N-th frame, from the starting time to the time T/2, each sub-pixel is loaded with the signals Data for displaying the red color and, at this time, each light-emitting element is turned off, and the signal LED is at a low level. From the time T/2 to the end time of the N-th frame, the loading of the signals Data to the sub-pixels is finished. At this time, the R light-emitting element can be turned on, so that the sub-pixels display the red color. In the N-th frame, the duration of the loading of the signals Data to the sub-pixels and the duration of the turning on of the R light-emitting element are both T/2. Figure 2, [0023])(Hou, In the (N+1)-th frame, from the starting time to the time T/2, each sub-pixel is loaded with signals Data for displaying the green color and, at this time, each light-emitting element is turned off, and the signal LED is at a low level. From the time T/2 to the end time of the (N+1)-th frame, the loading of the signals Data to the sub-pixels is finished. At this time, the G light-emitting element can be turned on, so that the sub-pixels display the green color. In the (N+1)-th frame, the duration of the loading of the signals Data to the sub-pixels and the duration of the turning on of the G light-emitting element are both T/2. Figure 2, [0024])(Hou, In the (N+2)-th frame, from the starting time to the time T/2, each sub-pixel is loaded with signals Data for displaying the blue color and, at this time, each light-emitting element is turned off, and the signal LED is at a low level. From the time T/2 to the end time of the (N+2)-th frame, the loading of the signals Data to the sub-pixels is finished. At this time, the B light-emitting element can be turned on, so that the sub-pixels display the blur color. In the (N+2)-th frame, the duration of the loading of the signals Data to the sub-pixels and the duration of the turning on of the B light-emitting element are both T/2. Figure 2, [0025]).
As to claim 3, Hou discloses the method wherein each image frame of the display device comprises a plurality of sub-pixel frames corresponding to the light-emitting elements in different light-emission colors (Hou, Figure 2), wherein each sub-pixel frame comprises a scanning time period and a light-emission time period (Hou, first half of T/2 is the scanning time period and second half of T/2 is the emission period, Figure 2), and duration of the scanning time period is greater than or equal to duration of the light-emission time period (Hou, the periods are first and second halves, Figure 2); and the controlling the light-emitting elements in the backlight partitions to emit light sequentially according to the image display instruction, comprises: in an Nth sub-pixel frame, controlling starting time of the light-emission time period of the backlight assembly to be between the scanning time period of the Nth sub-pixel frame and starting time of the scanning time period of an (N+1)th sub-pixel frame (Hou, In the N-th frame, from the starting time to the time T/2, each sub-pixel is loaded with the signals Data for displaying the red color and, at this time, each light-emitting element is turned off, and the signal LED is at a low level. From the time T/2 to the end time of the N-th frame, the loading of the signals Data to the sub-pixels is finished. At this time, the R light-emitting element can be turned on, so that the sub-pixels display the red color. In the N-th frame, the duration of the loading of the signals Data to the sub-pixels and the duration of the turning on of the R light-emitting element are both T/2. Figure 2, [0023]), N being a positive integer.
As to claim 4, Hou discloses the method wherein the light-emitting elements comprise first light-emitting elements, second light-emitting elements and third light-emitting elements (Hou, Each light source 21 includes light emitting units which emit light of different colors. For example, each light source 21 may include light emitting units which emit light of red, green, and blue, respectively. Figure 3, [0028]), wherein the light-emission colors of the first light-emitting elements, the second light-emitting elements and the third light-emitting elements are different (Hou, Each light source 21 includes light emitting units which emit light of different colors. For example, each light source 21 may include light emitting units which emit light of red, green, and blue, respectively. Figure 3, [0028]); and the controlling the light-emitting elements in the backlight partitions to emit light sequentially according to the image display instruction, comprises: in a plurality of successive sub-pixel frames, controlling the first light-emitting elements, the second light-emitting elements and the third light-emitting elements to emit light sequentially and cyclically. As shown in figure 2 of Hou, each of the different colors are emitted at sequentially in the frame.
As to claim 5, Hou discloses the method wherein the controlling the first light-emitting elements, the second light-emitting elements and the third light-emitting elements to emit light sequentially and cyclically (Hou, the red, green and blue colors are emitted sequentially, Figure 2), comprises: controlling the first light-emitting elements in the backlight partitions to emit light sequentially during a light-emission time period of a sub-pixel frame corresponding to the first light-emitting elements (Hou, In the N-th frame, from the starting time to the time T/2, each sub-pixel is loaded with the signals Data for displaying the red color and, at this time, each light-emitting element is turned off, and the signal LED is at a low level. From the time T/2 to the end time of the N-th frame, the loading of the signals Data to the sub-pixels is finished. At this time, the R light-emitting element can be turned on, so that the sub-pixels display the red color. In the N-th frame, the duration of the loading of the signals Data to the sub-pixels and the duration of the turning on of the R light-emitting element are both T/2. Figure 2, [0023]); and/or controlling the second light-emitting elements in the backlight partitions to emit light sequentially during a light-emission time period corresponding to the second light-emitting elements (Hou, In the (N+1)-th frame, from the starting time to the time T/2, each sub-pixel is loaded with signals Data for displaying the green color and, at this time, each light-emitting element is turned off, and the signal LED is at a low level. From the time T/2 to the end time of the (N+1)-th frame, the loading of the signals Data to the sub-pixels is finished. At this time, the G light-emitting element can be turned on, so that the sub-pixels display the green color. In the (N+1)-th frame, the duration of the loading of the signals Data to the sub-pixels and the duration of the turning on of the G light-emitting element are both T/2. Figure 2, [0024]); and/or controlling the third light-emitting elements in the backlight partitions to emit light sequentially during a light-emission time period corresponding to the third light-emitting elements (Hou, In the (N+2)-th frame, from the starting time to the time T/2, each sub-pixel is loaded with signals Data for displaying the blue color and, at this time, each light-emitting element is turned off, and the signal LED is at a low level. From the time T/2 to the end time of the (N+2)-th frame, the loading of the signals Data to the sub-pixels is finished. At this time, the B light-emitting element can be turned on, so that the sub-pixels display the blur color. In the (N+2)-th frame, the duration of the loading of the signals Data to the sub-pixels and the duration of the turning on of the B light-emitting element are both T/2. Figure 2, [0025]).
As to claim 6, Hou discloses the method wherein the controlling the light-emitting elements in the backlight partitions to emit light sequentially according to the image display instruction, comprises: controlling a falling edge of a light-emission control signal of a backlight partition which is the first to emit light in the plurality of the backlight partitions at the Nth sub-pixel frame, to correspond to a rising edge of a synchronization signal of the (N+1)th sub-pixel frame (Hou, In FIG. 2, VSYNC is a vertical synchronization signal, and the duration of one frame is T. Data signal is a driving signal loaded to the sub-pixels to charge pixel electrodes of the sub-pixels, thereby controlling the deflection of the liquid crystal in the liquid crystal layer corresponding to the sub-pixels, adjusting the degree of light transmission of the liquid crystal layer, and controlling the gray scale of the light emission of the sub-pixels. LED signal is a signal to control each light-emitting element to turn on or off. [0022]).
As to claim 7, Hou discloses the method wherein the controlling the light-emitting elements in the backlight partitions to emit light sequentially according to the image display instruction, comprises: controlling a falling edge of a light-emission control signal of a backlight partition which is the last to emit light in the plurality of the backlight partitions at the Nth sub-pixel frame, to correspond to arising edge of a light-emission control signal of a backlight partition which is the first to emit light in the plurality of the backlight partitions at an (N+2)th sub-pixel frame (Hou, In FIG. 2, VSYNC is a vertical synchronization signal, and the duration of one frame is T. Data signal is a driving signal loaded to the sub-pixels to charge pixel electrodes of the sub-pixels, thereby controlling the deflection of the liquid crystal in the liquid crystal layer corresponding to the sub-pixels, adjusting the degree of light transmission of the liquid crystal layer, and controlling the gray scale of the light emission of the sub-pixels. LED signal is a signal to control each light-emitting element to turn on or off. [0022]).
As to claim 10, Hou discloses a display module (Hou, display device and a driving method, Abstract) comprising a backlight assembly (Hou, backlight module 2 includes x light sources 21, Figure 3, [0028]) and a liquid crystal panel (Hou, display panel 1, Figure 3), wherein the backlight assembly comprises a plurality of mutually independent backlight partitions(Hou, light source 21a and light source 21b, Figure 3), and each backlight partition comprises a plurality of light-emitting elements in different light-emission colors(Hou, Each light source 21 includes light emitting units which emit light of different colors. For example, each light source 21 may include light emitting units which emit light of red, green, and blue, respectively. Figure 3, [0028]), wherein the light-emitting elements in different backlight partitions are driven independently, and the light-emitting elements with a same color in a same backlight partition are driven synchronously (Hou, In FIG. 2, VSYNC is a vertical synchronization signal, and the duration of one frame is T. Data signal is a driving signal loaded to the sub-pixels to charge pixel electrodes of the sub-pixels, thereby controlling the deflection of the liquid crystal in the liquid crystal layer corresponding to the sub-pixels, adjusting the degree of light transmission of the liquid crystal layer, and controlling the gray scale of the light emission of the sub-pixels. LED signal is a signal to control each light-emitting element to turn on or off. Figure 2, [0022]).
As to claim 11, Hou discloses the display module wherein the backlight assembly further comprises a control switch corresponding to each backlight partition (Hou, The control circuit 4 is used to control on and off of each light emitting unit in the two light sources 21a and 21b. Figure 3, [0053]), a first terminal of each light-emitting element in the backlight partition is connected to a first electrode via a corresponding control switch; and a second terminal of each light-emitting element in the backlight partition is electrically connected to a second electrode, wherein second electrodes corresponding to different light-emitting elements are independent from each other (Hou, The control circuit 4 is used to control on and off of each light emitting unit in the two light sources 21a and 21b... The control circuit 4 may be implemented by an integrated circuit or a controller. Figure 3, [0053]).
As to claim 12, Hou discloses the display module wherein the backlight assembly is a direct-type backlight assembly. As shown in figure 3 of Hou, the backlight module 2 is a direct type of backlight assembly.
As to claim 13, Hou discloses a display device comprising the display module (Hou, display device and a driving method, Abstract) according to claim 10.
As to claim 15, Hou discloses the display module wherein the backlight assembly further comprises a control switch corresponding to each backlight partition (Hou, The control circuit 4 is used to control on and off of each light emitting unit in the two light sources 21a and 21b. Figure 3, [0053]), a first terminal of each light-emitting element in the backlight partition is connected to a first electrode via a corresponding control switch; and a second terminal of each light-emitting element in the backlight partition is electrically connected to a second electrode, wherein second electrodes corresponding to different light-emitting elements are independent from each other (Hou, The control circuit 4 is used to control on and off of each light emitting unit in the two light sources 21a and 21b... The control circuit 4 may be implemented by an integrated circuit or a controller. Figure 3, [0053]); wherein the backlight assembly is a direct-type backlight assembly. As shown in figure 3 of Hou, the backlight module 2 is a direct type of backlight assembly.
As to claim 16, Hou discloses the display device wherein the backlight assembly further comprises a control switch corresponding to each backlight partition (Hou, The control circuit 4 is used to control on and off of each light emitting unit in the two light sources 21a and 21b. Figure 3, [0053]), a first terminal of each light-emitting element in the backlight partition is connected to a first electrode via a corresponding control switch; and a second terminal of each light-emitting element in the backlight partition is electrically connected to a second electrode, wherein second electrodes corresponding to different light-emitting elements are independent from each other (Hou, The control circuit 4 is used to control on and off of each light emitting unit in the two light sources 21a and 21b... The control circuit 4 may be implemented by an integrated circuit or a controller. Figure 3, [0053]).
As to claim 17, Hou discloses the display device wherein the backlight assembly is a direct-type backlight assembly. As shown in figure 3 of Hou, the backlight module 2 is a direct type of backlight assembly.
As to claim 18, Hou discloses the display device wherein the backlight assembly further comprises a control switch corresponding to each backlight partition (Hou, The control circuit 4 is used to control on and off of each light emitting unit in the two light sources 21a and 21b. Figure 3, [0053]), a first terminal of each light- emitting element in the backlight partition is connected to a first electrode via a corresponding control switch; and a second terminal of each light-emitting element in the backlight partition is electrically connected to a second electrode, wherein second electrodes corresponding to different light-emitting elements are independent from each other (Hou, The control circuit 4 is used to control on and off of each light emitting unit in the two light sources 21a and 21b... The control circuit 4 may be implemented by an integrated circuit or a controller. Figure 3, [0053]); wherein the backlight assembly is a direct-type backlight assembly. As shown in figure 3 of Hou, the backlight module 2 is a direct type of backlight assembly.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2021/016644 by Hou et al. (“Hou”) in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0024772 by Childers et al. (“Childers”).
As to claim 8, Hou does not expressly disclose the method wherein the controlling the light-emitting elements in the backlight partitions to emit light sequentially according to the image display instruction, comprises: inserting a blank sub-frame between some or all of two adjacent sub-pixel frames.
Childers teaches a display with sub-region backlighting wherein the controlling the light-emitting elements in the backlight partitions to emit light sequentially according to the image display instruction, comprises: inserting a blank sub-frame between some or all of two adjacent sub-pixel frames (Childers, Blanking periods can also be inserted between color sub-frames. For example, if a particular pixel or group of pixels associated with a particular sub-region were to be maximum green with a tiny bit of red and no yellow, a blanking period can be inserted between the green and red sub-frames, giving the LCD additional time to change state. [0046]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hou’s pixel driving to include Childers’ blanking period because such a modification is taught, suggested, or motivated by the art. More specifically, the motivation to modify Hou to include Childers is expressly provided by Childers, stating that the insertion of a blanking period between the sub-frame gives the LCD more time to change state (Childers, [0046]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hou’s pixel driving to include Childers’ blanking period with the motivation of giving the LCD more time to change state. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of improving the viewing properties of the LCD.
Thus, Hou, as modified by Childers, teaches the addition of a blanking period between the sub-frames.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2021/016644 by Hou et al. (“Hou”), in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0024772 by Childers et al. (“Childers”), and in further view of U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0216624 by Kimura (“Kimura”).
As to claim 9, Hou does not expressly disclose the method further comprising: writing pixel data by using overvoltage driving during the scanning time period of the sub-pixel frame.
Kimura teaches a driving device for liquid crystal display panel further comprising: writing pixel data by using overvoltage driving during the scanning time period of the sub-pixel frame (Kimura, he overshoot calculating section 29 is configured to calculate an overshoot amount (increase in gray-level values relative to a target gray level or an gray-level enhancement) corresponding to gray levels (combination of a gray level in one past frame and a gray level in a current frame for displaying) 50 that a proper overvoltage exceeding a target voltage corresponding to a target gray level to be reached at time of completion of a liquid crystal response is applied, that is, an overshooting driving is performed, which enables a liquid crystal to make a sharp response to transition in gray levels and the liquid crystal layer 13 corresponding to the target gray level to provide specified transmittance before the completion of a liquid crystal response and to output the calculated overshoot gray-level data. [0074]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hou’s pixel driving to include Kimura’s overshooting pixel driving because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Hou’s pixel driving as modified by Kimura’s overshooting pixel driving is known to yield a predictable result of providing an overvoltage to the pixel during driving since this ensures that the pixels are at the proper gray-level. Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated including in Hou’s pixel driving the ability to do Kimura’s overshooting pixel driving since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Thus, Hou, as modified by Childers and Kimura, teaches the overvoltage pixel driving.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2021/016644 by Hou et al. (“Hou”) in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0103107 by Kobayashi (“Kobayashi”).
As to claim 14, Hou does not expressly teach wherein the display device is a near-eye display device.
Kobayashi teaches an image display device wherein the display device is a near-eye display device (Kobayashi, by using the liquid crystal panel described in the first or second embodiment of the present invention as the lens 231 of the glasses 230, the display area capable of displaying an image with no color unevenness can be provided on the lens 231. In this case, an observer, who wears the glasses 230, is able to enjoy an image which is displayed in the display area of the lens 231. Figure 28(a), [0233]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hou’s liquid crystal display to include Kobayashi’s glasses with liquid crystal display because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Hou’s liquid crystal display as modified by Kobayashi’s glasses with liquid crystal display is known to yield a predictable result of providing the LCD in glasses since this provides additional placement configurations for the LCD. Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated including in Hou’s liquid crystal display the ability to do Kobayashi’s glasses with liquid crystal display since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Thus, Hou, as modified by Kobayashi, teaches the LCD within the lens of glasses worn on a user’s head.
Conclusion
/BRENT D CASTIAUX/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623