DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/21/2026 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
In light of the changes made to claim 11, the rejections pertaining to 35 U.S.C. §101 are withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-11, 14 and 16 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krauthamer et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0137428) in view of Arai et al. (“Arai”) (“Integral three-dimensional television with video system using pixel-offset method”, Science and Technology Research Laboratories, NHK (Japan Broadcasting Corporation), 1-10-11 Kinuta, Setagaya, Tokyo 1578510, Japan, 11 February 2013, Vol. 21, No. 3 OPTICS EXPRESS 3477).
In regard to claim 1, Krauthamer teaches a video system comprising:
an aerial imaging optical system that has retroreflective properties and converges, in air, light rays from a three-dimensional object to form an aerial image representing the three-dimensional object (i.e., illusion system 10; the portion of the light beams 54 reflected off the retroreflector 58 may pass through the beam splitter 56 and converge to form an image of the 3D source 20 (e.g., real image 60); real images 60 or aerial images may be generated when light beams appear to converge at a point in space; to a guest 62, the image of the 3D source 20 may appear to be floating in air or supported/connected to an environmental feature) (Fig. 3; para[0042]).
However, Krauthamer does not explicitly teach a first lens array that is disposed at an image-forming position of the aerial image and includes a plurality of first lenses arranged two-dimensionally; and
a camera that includes an imaging lens and an image sensor and captures light rays transmitted from the aerial image through the first lens array to output a three-dimensional element video signal including light ray information related to the light rays from the aerial image.
In the same field of endeavor, Arai teaches a first lens array that is disposed at an image-forming position of the aerial image (See ¶2 of Section 2.1 Configuration and FIG. 1 wherein the system comprises a lens array disposed at an image forming position, this is taken in view of Krauthamar’s teachings with regards to taking aerial images; as an additional note, applicant has admitted to such a teaching from Arai as seen in ¶0003 of the instant application’s publication which describes a technique of using an optical lens to form a real image of a three-dimensional object that is an imaging target and capturing light rays transmitted through a lens array disposed at an image-forming position of the real image to be conventionally known) and includes a plurality of first lenses arranged two-dimensionally (See FIG. 1); and
a camera that includes an imaging lens and an image sensor (See ¶1-2 of Section 2.2 Imaging camera in view of FIG. 1) and captures light rays transmitted from the aerial image through the first lens array to output a three-dimensional element video signal including light ray information related to the light rays from the aerial image (See Abstract, Sections 1. Introduction, 2. Experimental setup and FIG. 1 in view of Krauthmar’s teachings with regards to images being aerial images).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of applicant's invention, to combine the teachings of Arai into Krauthmar because it allows for a correction from creating pseudoscopic imaging problems as described in ¶1 of Section 2.1 Configuration while still allowing for such a system using a lens array consisting of convex lens system as seen in FIG. 1.
In regard to claim 3, Krauthamer and Arai teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Krauthamer teaches wherein the aerial imaging optical system reflects the light rays from the three-dimensional object at least twice to form the aerial image at the image-forming position at which the aerial image is symmetrical to the three-dimensional object with respect to the aerial imaging optical system (i.e., Fig. 6; source 20, beam splitter 56, retroreflector 58, virtual image 152 and real image 60; light beams 54) (Fig. 6; para[0048]-[0050]).
In regard to claim 10, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 1 above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
In regard to claim 11, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 1 above, with the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium taught as seen in ¶0036-0037, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claims 2, 4-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krauthamer et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0137428) in view of Arai et al. (“Arai”) (“Integral three-dimensional television with video system using pixel-offset method”, Science and Technology Research Laboratories, NHK (Japan Broadcasting Corporation), 1-10-11 Kinuta, Setagaya, Tokyo 1578510, Japan, 11 February 2013, Vol. 21, No. 3 OPTICS EXPRESS 3477) and Tomisawa et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,243,125).
In regard to claim 2, Krauthamer and Arai teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. However, Krauthamer does not explicitly teach wherein the camera: (i) outputs the three-dimensional element video signal to an external terminal device; (ii) records the three-dimensional element video signal on an external video recording device; or (iii) outputs the three-dimensional element video signal to a three-dimensional element video display.
In the same field of endeavor, Tomisawa teaches wherein the camera: (i) outputs the three-dimensional element video signal to an external terminal device; (ii) records the three-dimensional element video signal on an external video recording device; or (iii) outputs the three-dimensional element video signal to a three-dimensional element video display (i.e., as shown in Fig. 9, with the use of an IP pens array 61 of the integral photography system, a three-dimensional image (cloud in the drawing) actually having a depth as a real image 6 is formed; display unit 11) (Fig. 9; col. 11, lines 45-51).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of applicant's invention, to combine the teachings of Krauthamer and Tomisawa because Tomisawa teaches forming a real image so that it floats in the air and the viewer can feel the real image as a three-dimensional image by using shading, perspectivism, etc. to form the real image (See, for example, col. 6, line 66-col. 7, line 6 of Tomisawa). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Krauthamer with those of Tomisawa.
In regard to claim 4, Krauthamer and Arai teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. However, Krauthamer does not explicitly teach wherein in plan view of the first lens array, each of the plurality of first lenses is in a circular, rectangular, or hexagonal shape.
In the same field of endeavor, Tomisawa teaches wherein in plan view of the first lens array, each of the plurality of first lenses is in a circular, rectangular, or hexagonal shape (i.e., lens array 12 (a convex lens array); complex lens 28) (Fig. 1; col. 5, lines 61-63; col. 6, lines 55-58).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of applicant's invention, to combine the teachings of Krauthamer and Tomisawa for the same reasons as those discussed above.
In regard to claim 5, Krauthamer and Arai teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. However, Krauthamer does not explicitly teach wherein a shape of a surface of each of the plurality of first lenses is spherical or aspherical.
In the same field of endeavor, Tomisawa teaches wherein a shape of a surface of each of the plurality of first lenses is spherical or aspherical (i.e., each of the plate-like lens arrays 21 has a plurality of convex lens elements 26 arranged in a plane) (Fig. 2; col. 6, lines 45-49).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of applicant's invention, to combine the teachings of Krauthamer and Tomisawa for the same reasons as those discussed above.
In regard to claim 6, Krauthamer and Arai teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. However, Krauthamer does not explicitly teach wherein a curvature of each of the plurality of first lenses in a horizontal direction and a curvature of each of the plurality of first lenses in a vertical direction are same, or the curvature in the horizontal direction is larger than the curvature in the vertical direction.
In the same field of endeavor, Tomisawa teaches wherein a curvature of each of the plurality of first lenses in a horizontal direction and a curvature of each of the plurality of first lenses in a vertical direction are same, or the curvature in the horizontal direction is larger than the curvature in the vertical direction (i.e., each of the plate-like lens arrays 21 has a plurality of convex lens elements 26 arranged in a plane) (Fig. 2; col. 6, lines 45-49).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of applicant's invention, to combine the teachings of Krauthamer and Tomisawa for the same reasons as those discussed above for claim 1.
In regard to claim 8, Krauthamer and Arai teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. However, Krauthamer does not explicitly teach wherein the camera includes a single digital camera or a plurality of digital cameras.
In the same field of endeavor, Tomisawa teaches wherein the camera includes a single digital camera (i.e., area sensor 16 has image pickup devices (CCDs or the like) arranged in a matrix; a collective lens 18 may be arranged between the half mirror 17 and the area sensor 16) (Fig. 6; col. 10, lines 22-27 and 41-47) or a plurality of digital cameras (i.e., area sensor 16 has image pickup devices (CCDs or the like) arranged in a matrix; a configuration may have two area sensors 16) (Fig. 7; col. 10, lines 22-27 and 48-62).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of applicant's invention, to combine the teachings of Krauthamer and Tomisawa for the same reasons as those discussed above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 9, 14, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
EDEMIO NAVAS JR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2483
/EDEMIO NAVAS JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426